DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong [U.S. 2010/0321940 A1] in view of Kiba et al. [U.S. 2022/0146074 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Zhong discloses a light emitting module [a stage lighting fixture 1, see figure 1] comprising: a light source [a light source 3]; a first lens [a double-convex lens L10] disposed above the tight source [3]; and a second lens [a double-concave lens L9] disposed above the first lens [L10]; wherein: the first lens [a double-convex lens L10] comprises: a lower face comprising a first convex face [L10, see figure 1] projecting towards the light source, and an upper face comprising a second convex face [L10, see figure 1] projecting towards the second lens [L9]; and at least one of an upper face or a lower of the second lens [a double-concave lens L9] comprises a concave face (figure 1). However, Zhong does not show that, in a top view, an area of the second convex face is smaller than an area of the first convex face; and a mobile device having a display part.
Kiba et al. teaches a mobile device having a display part [mobile phones, paragraph 0179] and a light source device [200, see figure 1B] having a lens [10] and a light source [30], in a top view, an area of the second convex face [11a] is smaller than an area of the first convex face [11b] (figure 1B, paragraphs 0040, 0057 and 0179).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the light emitting module of Zhong with the lens as taught by Kiba et al., in various applications, for purpose of providing an advantageous way that, the light emitted from the light-emitting surface to be projected into the area of irradiation that is point-symmetric with respect to a single point on the optical axis. For example, when the plurality of light-emitting parts of the light source are individually turned on, illumination light having an intensity distribution corresponding to the light emission distribution of the light source can be projected into the irradiation area.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Zhong discloses the upper face of the second lens [a double-concave lens L9] and the lower face of the second lens each comprise a concave face (figure 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Zhong discloses a lens support part [a frame 19 supporting lenses L9, L10] disposed outward of the light source [3] in a top view [from axis A, figure 1] and supporting at least the first lens [L10].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Kiba et al. teaches the lens support part [20] comprises a projected portion [a second flange portion 24, see figure 1B] on the inner lateral face; the upper face of the first lens [10] further comprises a first outer end part [at 12a, a flange part 12, figure 1B] surrounding the second convex face [11b] in a top view; and the first lens [10] is configured to be supported by the lens support part [20] as the first outer end part [at surface 12a] is bonded to a lower face of the projected portion [flange portion 24] of the lens support part (figure 1B, abstract, paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the lens support part of the light emitting module of Zhong with the lens support part as taught by Kiba et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way that, the light source device and the lens structure having good adhesion between the support part and the lens.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Kiba et al. teaches the lower face [11b] of the first lens [10] is exposed from the lens support part [24] (figure 1B).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Kiba et al. teaches a substrate [40] comprising an upper face [40a] on which the light source [30] is mounted (figure 1B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 8, 12, 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 3, 4, 8, 12, 13 and 17, each recites further details of the light emitting module, which are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aberle U.S. 2018/0176349 A1 discloses mobile telephone devices including a camera with a lens and a light integrated in the body of the devices.
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875