DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species (1) and claims 1 – 12 in the reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/24/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the slide a retaining device through a central groove in the screw, in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The same rejection applies to the use of “screw” in claims 11 and 12,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 10, the recitation of “slide a retaining device through a central groove in the screw” is found to have no support in the original disclosure, wherein the retaining device 60 is connected to shaft 22, and at a distance from screw 12, and the original specification refers to retaining device 60 move or slide relative to shaft 22, ¶66. Applicant may provide support for such limitation from the original disclosure or amend the claim to be consistent with the original disclosure to overcome this rejection.
For the sake of examination, claim 10 is interpreted as referring to sliding a retaining device through a central groove in a screwdriver connected to the screw.
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the recitation of “fixing the guidewire relative to the screw” makes the claim unclear and vague as for not specifying how the guidewire and the screw being fixed to each other, clarification is requested.
For the sake of examination, claim 1 is interpreted as referring to a use of a screw driver to allow fixing the guidewire to the screw.
In claim 1, the recitation of “releasing the guidewire from the screw such that the guidewire remains fixed in position as the screw is advanced” makes the claim unclear and vague, wherein the claim requires the wire to be fixed relative to the screw not to the screw to be released therefrom, additionally, the claim does not specify the guidewire remains fixed in position relative to what, clarification is requested.
For the sake of examination, claim 1 is interpreted as referring to releasing the guidewire relative to the screw to allow relative movement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 10 – 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rampersaud et al. (US Pub. 2015/0201985 A1).
Claim 1, Rampersaud discloses a method for advancing a cannulated screw into tissue [abstract, ¶1, Figs. 1 – 27], the method comprising:
advancing a guidewire through an internal lumen in a screw [¶¶53 – 71, wire 112 advanced through at least a portion of channel 192 of screw 136];
fixing the guidewire relative to the screw [¶70, Figs. 15 - 17];
advancing the screw and the guidewire into the tissue [¶¶71 – 72]; and
releasing the guidewire from the screw such that the guidewire remains fixed in position as the screw is advanced [¶¶73 – 74].
Rampersaud discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further, Rampersaud discloses:
Claim 2, wherein a distal tip of the guidewire is advanced distally of a distal tip of the screw [¶69, Fig.1].
Claim 3, attaching a distal end of a screwdriver to a head of the screw and rotating the screwdriver to advance the screw into the tissue [¶¶68 – 72, Fig.26].
Claim 4, fixing the guidewire to the screwdriver such that the screw and the guidewire are advanced together [¶70, Figs.15 – 17 and 26].
Claim 5, setting a fixed distance that the guidewire will advance with the screw [¶¶70 – 72, Fig.26].
Claim 6, releasing the guidewire from the screwdriver when the guidewire has advanced the fixed distance [¶¶72 – 73, Fig.26].
Claim 10, slide a retaining device through a central groove in the screw and rotating the retaining device into a lateral groove to fix the guidewire relative to the screw [the claimed retaining device is equivalent to the combination of 64, 70, and 78, ¶¶47 – 70, Fig.26].
Claim 11, rotating a knob on the retaining device to advance the screw and tighten the screw against the guidewire [rotating knob 64 advances screw defined by at least a threaded portion of 70 by 96 and tighten 70 against the wire, ¶¶47 – 70, Figs.15 – 18 and 26].
Claim 12, rotating the retaining device into the central groove to release the screw from the guidewire [¶¶72 – 73, Fig.26].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rampersaud et al. (US Pub. 2015/0201985 A1) in view of LeBoeuf et al. (US Pub. 2020/0229881 A1).
Rampersaud discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above.
Rampersaud does not disclose (as of claim 7) fixing a position of a screw barrel relative to the tissue with a support arm and threadably coupling the screwdriver to the screw barrel; (as of claim 8) setting a screwing axis for the screwdriver with the support arm; (as of claim 9) controlling the support arm with a robotic control system.
LeBoeuf teaches an analogous method [abstract, Figs. 1 – 9] comprising fixing a position of a screw barrel relative to the tissue with a support arm and securely coupling the screwdriver to the screw barrel [at least a portion of 608 defines barrel to be secured to the driver 608, and at least a portion by 602 defines a support arm, ¶¶53 – 60]; (as of claim 8) setting a screwing axis for the screwdriver with the support arm [¶60]; (as of claim 9) controlling the support arm with a robotic control system [610, Fig. 6 and ¶53 - ¶56].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to combine the teachings of Rampersaud and LeBoeuf, and incorporate the screw barrel, support arm and robotic system of LeBoeuf in the method of Rampersaud. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the method of Rampersaud by enhancing positioning accuracy, trajectory maintenance, and procedural efficiency while reducing the need for continuous manual support by the surgeon [LeBoeuf, ¶35].
Though, LeBoeuf teaches securing tool 608 within tubular member 606, thereby demonstrating a recognized need to maintain the two components in a fixed positional relationship during manipulation of the assembly [LeBoeuf, ¶35].
The combination of Rampersaud and LeBoeuf does not explicitly disclose that the screwdriver is threadbly coupled to the screw barrel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to employ a threaded engagement between the shaft and tubular member of the system of the combination of Rampersaud and LeBoeuf, wherein threaded connections were well-known mechanical fastening mechanisms used to releasably secure a shaft within a tubular member while resisting axial displacement and rotational misalignment during transmission of torque. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that substituting a threaded coupling for another known securing mechanism would have been a simple design choice yielding the predictable result of maintaining a secure connection between the screwdriver and barrel during robotic manipulation and screw insertion, while still permitting deliberate disengagement when desired. Such substitution merely involves the use of one known equivalent fastening technique for another to achieve the recognized objective of securely coupling the components together.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL S HANNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775