DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 1, on line 8, “interior” should be “internal” (see claim 11, line 2 and paragraph 0034, line 1, paragraph 0035, lines 1, 2 and 5, etc.). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 3, an antecedent basis for “the height of the lower portion” (see line 2) has not been defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Coster Catalogue, Coster Technologie Speciali S.P.A. catalogue (as cited by the Applicant on the IDS filed 9/19/25).
In regard to claim 1, the Coster catalogue discloses an actuator nozzle (see page 128, Model V05.992 in section 2.1.10) comprising:
a lower portion (see the reproduced figure below) comprising a base configured to connect to a container, the base comprising a lower orifice;
an upper portion comprising a tapered section on one side of the upper portion, the tapered section tapers inward as the tapered section extends upward from the lower portion, the upper portion further comprising a substantially vertical section on an opposite side of the upper portion from the tapered section; and
an upper orifice in fluid communication with the lower orifice by an internal channel of the actuator nozzle, the upper orifice angled downward from a top of the tapered section of the upper portion to a top of the substantially vertical section of the upper portion.
In regard to claim 2, the upper orifice has a shape that is oval and has a maximum width adjacent to the top of the tapered section.
In regard to claim 3, the lower portion of the actuator nozzle is substantially symmetrical throughout an entirety of a height of the lower portion.
In regard to claims 4 and 5, the tapered section of the upper portion includes a pressure point configured to actuate and/or permit actuation of a valve on which the actuator nozzle is mounted.
In regard to claim 6, the pressure point and the upper orifice face opposite directions.
In regard to claim 8, the tapered section of the upper portion has a height greater than that of the substantially vertical section of the upper portion.
In regard to claim 9, the actuator nozzle is mounted on a pressurized container.
In regard to claim 11, the actuator nozzle is mounted on a valve configured to reversibly open and close the internal channel of the actuator nozzle.
In regard to claim 12, the Coster catalogue discloses a method of attaching the actuator nozzle to a pressurized container (see, for example, page 7).
In regard to claim 14, attaching the actuator nozzle to the pressurized container comprises mounting the actuator nozzle on a valve that is part of or attached to the container.
In regard to claim 15, the Coster catalogue discloses a method of directing a fluid product from the container through the actuator nozzle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Coster catalogue in view of Stegeman (U.S. Patent 8,863,995).
In regard to claim 7, although the Coster catalogue does not disclose the actuator nozzle is partially or entirely made of plastic, attention is directed to the Stegeman reference, which discloses another actuator nozzle wherein the nozzle is at least partially made from plastic (see column 3, lines 30-35) in order to enable the nozzle to be conveniently and effectively produced. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the actuator nozzle in the Coster catalogue can be made at least partially from plastic in order to enable the nozzle to be conveniently and effectively produced.
Claims 10, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Coster catalogue in view of Kuehner et al. (U.S. Patent 6,488,974, hereinafter Kuehner).
In regard to claim 10, the Coster catalogue discloses the actuator nozzle is for dispensing a foam product (see pages 119 and 128; model V05.992 is in section 2.1.10, which are disclosed as actuators for foam). Although the Coster catalogue does not disclose the container contains a foaming liquid creamer, attention is directed to the Kuehner reference, which discloses another actuator nozzle for a pressurized container wherein the container contains a foaming liquid creamer (see the abstract) in order to enable a user to dispense a foaming liquid creamer if desired. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the container in the Coster catalogue can container a foaming liquid creamer in order to enable a user to dispense a foaming liquid creamer if desired.
In regard to claim 13, as discussed above, the container in the Coster catalogue can obviously contain a foaming liquid creamer.
In regard to claim 16, although the Coster catalogue in view Kuehner discloses directing the fluid product through the actuator nozzle comprises forming a jet stream of the fluid from the upper orifice and/or deflecting the fluid product between outer edges of the upper orifice to create a foam product onto what the upper orifice is facing. Although the Coster catalogue in view Kuehner does not disclose the foam product is dispensed onto a beverage, as claimed, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the foam can obviously be dispensed onto a beverage (or any other surface) without effecting the overall operation of the device should a user so choose to employ the device.
In regard to claim 17, directing the fluid through the actuator nozzle onto a beverage can be done without tools or utensils.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Dubois et al. reference is cited as being directed to the state of the art as another actuator nozzle comprised of a lower portion and an upper portion having a tapered section and substantially vertical section.
DJW
7/22/2026
/DAVID J WALCZAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754