DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the 19/182,778 application filed on 04/18/2025.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the source impedance curve" in line 2 and “the load impedance curve” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the current output” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam (US 2023/0130351) in view of Ren et al. (CN207588797 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 1 and 4-5, Lam discloses a system (figs. 1-4) comprising:
at least one satellite (102) including:
an artificial light source (energy beam 108 as laser light [0026]) configured to project light onto earth or another celestial body (fig. 1); and
a photovoltaic array 210 configured to power the artificial light source (fig. 4),
wherein there is a direct electrical connection between one or more cells of the photovoltaic array and the artificial light source that is unconditioned (fig. 4 shows direct electrical connection via the transmission lines between the solar collector 402, which has the photovoltaic array [0034], and the energy generator 406 that converts electrical power to laser energy [0035]; fig. 4 and paragraphs [0034-0035] also do not disclose any intervening electrical circuits that modify the electrical connection between the solar collector and the energy generator, which qualifies the electrical connection as being unconditioned as claimed).
Lam further discloses the solar energy collector (fig. 5B) includes a rectifier circuit with impedance matching circuit in order to provide maximum output voltage for the rectenna with minimum transmission losses [0038].
Lam is silent regarding at least a portion of the photovoltaic array matches an effective load impedance of the artificial light source.
Ren discloses a photovoltaic system; wherein, a portion of the photovoltaic array is configured to match the effective load impedance of the external load (paragraph [0031] of the translation document discloses “properly matches the load so that the load impedance is equal to the impedance of the power supply system”) to ensure the output of maximum power [0031].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the photovoltaic array of Lam with the circuitry of the photovoltaic array to configure load impedance matching between the external load, i.e. the energy generator, and the photovoltaic array as suggested by Ren in order to ensure maximum power output from the photovoltaic array (Ren, [0031]).
Regarding the limitation of claim 4, the modified system of Lam in view of Ren satisfies the limitation because the current output of the photovoltaic array is the only source of power for the artificial light source as shown in fig. 4 of Lam; therefore, the current output of the photovoltaic array provide the current limiting for the artificial light source as claimed.
Regarding the limitation of claim 5, the modified system of Lam in view of Ren satisfies the limitation because the load impedance matching effect disclosed by Ren already takes into account all the associated parameters, including the claimed current-voltage response of the load or the claimed artificial light source.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam (US 2023/0130351) in view of Ren et al. (CN207588797 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 4-5 above, and further in view of McKenna et al. (US 2022/0236509).
Addressing claim 2, Lam is silent regarding the at least one module of the artificial light source as claimed.
McKenna discloses optical fiber cable for converting electrical power to optical power and transport the optical power over great distance [0003] as the structural equivalence to the claimed artificial light source; wherein, the artificial light source includes a plurality of laser diodes [0036] coupled to a plurality of delivery fibers [0038] for transmitting optical power [0038].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the system of Lam in view of Ren with the known optical fiber module disclosed by McKenna in order to obtain the predictable result of transmitting optical power from long distances (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143) with significantly low loss (McKenna, [0008]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam (US 2023/0130351) in view of Ren et al. (CN207588797 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Li (CN113644876 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 6, Lam and Ren are silent regarding the claimed bandwidth shunt or fixed shunt.
Li discloses a photovoltaic array protection circuit comprising a bypass shunting unit [n0023] that is the structural equivalence to the claimed fixed shunt.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the circuitry of the photovoltaic array of Lam in view of Ren with the bypass shunt disclosed by Li in order to improve the safety and stability of the photovoltaic module and the system (Li, [n0004]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,525,827. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The limitations of claims 1 and 3 are similarly recited in claim 1 of US Pat. No. ‘827.
The limitations of claims 2 and 4-6 are similarly recited in claims 2-5, respectively, of US Pat. No. ‘827.
Allowable Subject Matter
Pending the 35 USC 112, second paragraph, rejection and the Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejection above, claim 3 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 03/18/2026