DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites a product in a particular use which renders the claim indefinite as to whether the product (the adhesive of the preamble) or the use of the adhesive in a particular endeavor required by the claim. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite the language of Claim 8 of the parent application which matured into U.S. 12,281,242: “The adhesive of Claim 1, wherein the adhesive is capable of bonding a castable urethane to a substrate.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agag (WO2017053402) as evidenced by Teschendorf (U.S. 5,266,611) in view of Kuwahara (US20200024493 – priority to JP2018134826 – English translation provided).
Agag exemplifies adhesive compositions with phenoxy resin and MDI-uretdione, zinc acetylacetonate and cyclohexane (¶[0081]).
Catalyst is not required even though exemplified as there are exemplified adhesives without catalyst. See ¶[0084] or ¶[0106] for instance. Therefore, it is obvious to practice the invention of Agag, in particular the above example, without the catalyst as Agag teaches this is optional. This reads over Claim 10.
Agag exemplifies and generally teaches phenoxy resin which is carboxylated phenoxy resin in water (PKHW-35) (¶[0044]) Agag does not teach the carboxylation is grafted nor based on methyl methacrylate or methacrylic acid as recited by the common technical feature.
Teschendorf provides evidence in Column 6 lines 20-30 that PKHW-35 is a phenoxy resin grafted with one or more methacrylate or methacrylic acid.
The above example of ¶[0081] does not teach or suggest the phenoxy resin that is used. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Agag, in particular that of the example of ¶[0081], with PHKW-35 because Agag teaches the use of such resin in ¶[0044].
The PHKW-35 resin reads over the phenoxy grafted resin of Claim 1.
With respect to the silanes listed by Claims 1-4, Agag teaches allyl methoxy silane in the composition but does not teach a silane as recited by Claim 1-4.
Kuwahara, working in the field of adhesives based on phenoxy resins similar to Applicant and Agag, teaches the use of silane coupling agents including vinyl trimethoxy silane and 3-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane and 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane. (¶[0073] in US Document / ¶[0037] in JP2018134826 priority document translation provided) The vinyl trimethoxy silane of Agag is considered to be equivalent to allyl methoxy silane as the silane is reasonably suggested to have extra methoxy groups (to be trimethoxy) and complete the silane and vinyl is a related group to allyl. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the allyl methoxy silane, which Agag does not teach any purpose or function, must be related to vinyl trimethoxy silane known to be used in adhesive compositions.
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Agag as discussed above by substituting 3-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane or 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane for the allyl methoxy silane as Kuwahara teaches these compounds are silane coupling agents used in phenoxy adhesives and are functionally equivalent, as in serving the same function in the adhesive compositions. This represents the simple substitution of known prior art elements, known silane coupling agents, for the predictable result of an adhesive with more adhesive strength due to the addition of a silane coupling agent.
The 3-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane reads over the epoxy silane of Claim 1, Claim 2, Claim 3 and the 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane read over Claim 4.
Cyclohexane as above reads over Claim 5 and Claim 6.
The MDI-uretidone reads over Claim 7.
The adhesives are one part formulations reading over Claim 11. See also ¶[0014].
Claim 12 is read over by the above modified adhesive of Agag without catalyst and with 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane. Further, the uretidone exemplified is not required by Agag. See ¶[0017]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Agag, in particular that of ¶[0081], such that the uretdione is not present because Agag teaches it is optional in ¶[0017].
Therefore, the only components of the above modified composition are the PHKW-35, the 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane/3-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane epoxy silanes and the cyclohexane carrier solvent. This reads over the consisting of language of Claim 12.
Claims 13 and 14 are future intended uses of the adhesive of Claim 1. There is nothing of record to suggest the adhesive of Agag cannot be used to bond casted urethane nor against metal substrates. Agag even exemplifies stainless steel substrates (¶[0088]) as an example of a rigid substrate and teaches the adhesive are used for bonding elastomers (urethanes ¶[0009]). This reads over the limitations of Claim 13 and Claim 14.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 8-9 of U.S. Patent No.12,281,242. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they constitute an obvious variant of the claims of 12,281,242 for the reasons outlined below.
Claim 1 of 12,281,242 recites the limitations of instant Claim 1 but for the requirement the silane be an amino silane, epoxy silane, mercapto silane and/or isocyanato-silane.
Claim 2 of 12,281,242 recites the silane is specifically 3-glycidoxy propyl trimethoxy silane along with other limitations for Claim 2 of 12,281,242’s variant of the invention of Claim 1 of 12,281,242.
It would have bene obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Claim 1 of 12,281,242 using the specific variant of Claim 2 of 12,281,242 as the base adhesive because 12,281,242 recites this variant of the adhesive of Claim 1.
This reads over instant Claim 1, Claim 2, Claim 3, Claim 4, Claim 7, Claim 8, Claim 10, Claim 11, Claim 12.
Claim 3 of 12,281,242 depends from Claim 1 of 12,281,242 and therefore would now comprise Claim 1 and Claim 2 of 12,281,242. These limitations read over instant Claim 5 and Claim 6.
Claim 8 and 9 of 12,281,242 depends from Claim 1 of 12,281,242 and therefore would now comprise Claim 1 and Claim 2 of 12,281,242. These limitations read over instant Claim 13 and Claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable upon resolution of the non-statutory double patenting rejections of record.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Agag (WO2017053402) which teaches the MMA/MAA phenoxy resins with uretdione / silane as recited but fails to teach or suggest the use of the blocked hexamethylene in addition to the MDI-uretdione of Agag. Agag specifically teaches only dimeric MDI-uretdiones in ¶[0038] and there does not appear to be any teaching of suggestion as to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to practice Agag with a polymeric version of the dimeric MDI-uretdione even though it is known without the use of hindsight.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766