DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 13 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “the ventilation channel is in fluid communication with the ventilation space, so that [[the]] a gas enters the ventilation space through the ventilation channel”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kossakovski (US-10370020-B2).
With regards to claim 13, Kossakovski discloses a handle assembly (2 Figure 2), comprising:
a base (housing of flow guide 30, Figure 3), defining a base cavity (shown Figure 7); and
a handle (5 Figure 2) being arranged in the base cavity, and a ventilation space (26 Figure 3) is provided between the base and an outer periphery of the handle (Col. 2 Line 62 – Col. 3 Line 2);
wherein the base comprises a peripheral wall (31 Figure 5) arranged around the outer periphery of the handle (32’ Figure 5) and a bottom wall (left wall, Figure 5) arranged on an inner side of the handle, the bottom wall of the base is provided with a ventilation channel (22 Figure 3), and the ventilation channel is in fluid communication with the ventilation space, so that the gas enters the ventilation space through the ventilation channel (Col. 2 Line 62 – Col. 3 Line 2).
With regards to claim 14, Kossakovski discloses the handle assembly according to claim 13, further comprising:
a flow guide component (30 Figure 5) arranged in the base cavity, at least partially extending into the ventilation space (26 Figure 3), and surrounding at least part of the outer periphery of the handle (5 Figure 2); and
wherein the flow guide component defines a flow guide cavity and has an inlet and at least one first outlet, the inlet and the at least one first outlet are in communication with the flow guide cavity, and the first outlet is located in the ventilation space (Col. 11 Lines 4-28);
wherein the inlet is in communication with the ventilation channel (22 Figure 3), and the at least one first outlet is arranged toward the ventilation space, so that the gas ejected from the ventilation channel is capable of entering the ventilation space through the flow guide component (Col. 11 Lines 4-28).
With regards to claim 18, Kossakovski discloses the handle assembly according to claim 13, wherein the gas (delivered by 21, Figure 4) originates from an air-conditioning system of a vehicle (Col. 10 Lines 55-58) or (interpreted as requiring only one of associated limitations) an air pump independent of the air-conditioning system of the vehicle.
With regards to claim 19, Kossakovski discloses the handle assembly according to claim 14, further comprising:
a heating component (17 Figure 2) being arranged in the flow guide cavity (of flow guide component 30, Figure 5) and configured to heat the gas in the flow guide cavity (26 Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kossakovski in view of Grover (US-20220372798-A1). All citations refer to the Kossakovski reference unless otherwise noted.
With regards to claim 1, Kossakovski discloses a handle system (2 Figure 2), comprising:
a base (housing of flow guide 30, Figure 3) defining a base cavity (shown Figure 7);
a handle (5 Figure 2) arranged in the base cavity, and a ventilation space (26 Figure 3) is provided between the base and an outer periphery of the handle (Col. 2 Line 62 – Col. 3 Line 2); and
an anti-freeze control unit (15 Figure 2) configured to (interpreted as a statement of intended use, Kossakovski’s device is capable of performing the claimed function) allow a gas to enter the ventilation space, so as to prevent the handle from being frozen (Col. 5 Lines 1-24).
Kossakovski is silent on the sensing of environmental information that determines whether freezing will occur.
However, Grover teaches a related temperature control unit (300 Figure 10) for a vehicle component (10 Figure 10) using temperature and/or humidity sensors to determine the plausibility of the presence of a layer of ice (Para. 0037). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Grover’s sensors with Kossakovski’s anti-freeze control unit, such that the anti-freeze control unit is configured to allow a gas to enter the ventilation space according to environmental information that determines whether freezing will occur, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to add Grover’s sensors to allow passive maintenance of a user’s preferred environmental conditions.
With regards to claim 2, Kossakovski discloses the handle system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a humidity sensor (Para. 0037 – Grover) being in communication connection with the anti-freeze control unit (15 Figure 2) and configured to measure a humidity of air where the handle (5 Figure 2) is located; and
a temperature sensor (Para. 0037 – Grover) being in communication connection with the anti-freeze control unit and configured to measure a temperature of the air where the handle is located.
With regards to claim 3, Kossakovski in view of Grover teaches the handle system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a gas delivery device (21 Figure 3) being in communication connection with the anti-freeze control unit (15 Figure 2) and configured to deliver a gas into the ventilation space (26 Figure 3), wherein the anti-freeze control unit is configured to control activation and deactivation of the gas delivery device (Col. 2 Line 62 – Col. 3 Line 11).
With regards to claim 4, Kossakovski discloses the handle system according to claim 3, wherein the gas delivery device (21 Figure 4) is an air-conditioning device of a vehicle (Col. 10 Lines 55-58) or (interpreted as requiring only one of associated limitations) an air pump independent of the air-conditioning device of the vehicle.
With regards to claim 5, Kossakovski discloses the handle system according to claim 4, wherein the gas delivery device (21 Figure 4) is configured to (interpreted as a statement of intended use, Kossakoski’s device is capable of performing the claimed function) be activated at predetermined time intervals to deliver gas to a space at the outer periphery of the handle (5 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 6, Kossakovski discloses the handle system according to claim 5, further comprising:
a heating component (17 Figure 2) being in communication connection with the anti-freeze control unit (15 Figure 2) and configured to heat the gas (Col. 12 Lines 29-42), so that the heated gas enters the ventilation space (26 Figure 3).
With regards to claim 7, Kossakovski discloses the handle system according to claim 1, wherein the environmental information on whether freezing will occur comprises a humidity of air where the handle (5 Figure 2) is located, rain or snowfall for that day from weather forecast, and a temperature of the air where the handle is located (Para. 0037 – Grover).
With regards to claim 8, Kossakovski in view of Grover teaches the handle system according to claim 1, wherein the base (housing of flow guide 30, Figure 3) comprises a peripheral wall arranged around the outer periphery of the handle (5 Figure 2) and a bottom wall (left wall, Figure 5) arranged on an inner side of the handle, the bottom wall of the base is provided with a ventilation channel (22 Figure 3), and the ventilation channel is in fluid communication with the ventilation space (26 Figure 3), so that the gas enters the ventilation space through the ventilation channel (Col. 2 Line 62 – Col. 3 Line 2).
With regards to claim 9, Kossakovski in view of Grover teaches the handle system according to claim 8, further comprising:
a flow guide component (30 Figure 5) arranged in the base cavity, at least partially extending into the ventilation space (26 Figure 3), and surrounding at least part of the outer periphery of the handle (5 Figure 2); and
wherein the flow guide component defines a flow guide cavity and has an inlet and at least one first outlet, the inlet and the at least one first outlet are in communication with the flow guide cavity, and the first outlet is located in the ventilation space (Col. 11 Lines 4-28);
wherein the inlet is in communication with the ventilation channel (22 Figure 3), and the at least one first outlet is arranged toward the ventilation space, so that the gas ejected from the ventilation channel is capable of entering the ventilation space through the flow guide component (Col. 11 Lines 4-28).
With regards to claim 20, Grover discloses an anti-freeze method for a handle, the anti-freeze method comprising:
a step S01 of acquiring environmental information that determines whether freezing will occur (Para. 0037);
a step S02 of determining whether the handle will be frozen according to the environmental information that determines whether freezing will occur (Para. 0037).
Grover is silent on a step S03 of ventilating.
However, Kossakovski teaches ventilating a space at an outer periphery of the handle, so as to prevent the handle from being frozen, when it is determined that the handle will be frozen (Col. 2 Line 62 – Col. 3 Line 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kossakovski’s ventilation means as an alternative to Grover’s mechanical means when it is determined that the handle will be frozen according to the environmental information that determines whether freezing will occur, a space at an outer periphery of the handle, so as to prevent the handle from being frozen, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to use such a method to maintain operability of a handle in freezing conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 15-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant's device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the claimed invention. With regards to claims 10 and 15, Kossakovski teaches a device satisfying the preceding claims. However, the prior art does not teach wherein the handle has an outer handle surface, and the at least one first outlet surrounds at least part of the outer periphery of the handle and is configured such that a ventilation direction of the first outlet is perpendicular to the outer handle surface, so that the gas blown out from the first outlet moves substantially perpendicular to the outer handle surface. Therefore, such an arrangement is not taught by the prior art, nor can the Examiner can find teaching or motivation to suggest such a modification to one of ordinary skill in the art without fundamentally altering the principles of operation of the device or otherwise relying upon the benefit of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20260001514-A1: Applicant’s copending application.
US-10879897-B2: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-20240102867-A1: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-11634062-B1: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-8884191-B2: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-20110121599-A1: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-12326017-B2: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-11697952-B2: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
US-11674338-B2: A related vehicle handle arrangement.
Conclusion
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675