DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the control unit” in claims 16-20 and “the basis weight detection unit” in claim 16.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Note the structure of the detection unit and basis weight detection unit is described in paragraphs [0028]-[0030] and the structure of the control unit is described in paragraph [0031].
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 17, it appears that some language may be missing from the last three lines of the claim. From the context of the claim language, it appears that the phrase --to perform-- should be inserted after the term “not” in line 4.
With respect to claim 18, again it appears that some language may be missing from the claim and it is suggested that the phrase --to perform-- be inserted after the term “not” in line 2.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monden (US 2022/0146977 A1) in view of Matsumoto (US 2019/0146393 A1).
With respect to claim 16, note Monden teaches an image forming system (Fig. 1) including an image forming apparatus 1, and a post- processing apparatus 4 which is connected to a downstream side of the image forming apparatus in a conveyance direction of a sheet P and which performs punching processing of forming a punch hole in a sheet conveyed along a conveyance path from the image forming apparatus, the image forming system comprising:
a punch unit 62, provided in the post-processing apparatus, which includes a punch member 202 that performs the punching processing on the sheet P conveyed from the image forming apparatus while the punch member rotates;
a control unit 101 configured to control rotation of the punch member such that the punch member performs the punching processing on the sheet P conveyed from the image forming apparatus while the punch member 202 rotates at a rotation speed corresponding to a conveyance speed of the sheet (see paragraph [0024]); and
a basis weight detection unit 111 configured to detect a basis weight of the sheet conveyed along the conveyance path toward the punch unit (see paragraph [0045]),
wherein the control unit further controls the punching processing on the sheet P based on the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit (see paragraph [0045]. Particular attention is invited to Figures 1-3D and paragraphs [0044]-[0051] of Monden. However, Monden does not explicitly teach that the control unit controls whether or not to perform the punching processing based on the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit. Matsumoto teaches an image forming system including a basis weight detecting unit and a post-processing device such as a cutter, wherein the system determines whether a post-processing activity should occur or not based on the detected basis weight of the paper. See, in particular, paragraphs [0034], [0036], [0042], [0054]-[0055], [0079], [0083][0127]-and [0130] of Matsumoto. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the control unit of Monden to also control whether or not the punching processing is performed based on the basis weight detected to prevent unnecessary motion of the punching unit when undesired paper types are fed through the system.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,298,699 B2 (hereafter referred to as US ‘699). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each encompass an image forming system including a punch unit, control unit, and basis weight detection unit as recited.
With respect to claim 16, note claims 1 and 11 of US ‘699 each teach an image forming system including an image forming apparatus, and a post- processing apparatus which is connected to a downstream side of the image forming apparatus in a conveyance direction of a sheet and which performs punching processing of forming a punch hole in a sheet conveyed along a conveyance path from the image forming apparatus (see column 21, lines 22-29 and column 22, line 64-column 23, line 3), the image forming system comprising:
a punch unit, provided in the post-processing apparatus, which includes a punch member that performs the punching processing on the sheet conveyed from the image forming apparatus while the punch member rotates (column 21, lines 30-34 and column 23, lines 4-8);
a control unit configured to control rotation of the punch member such that the punch member performs the punching processing on the sheet conveyed from the image forming apparatus while the punch member rotates at a rotation speed corresponding to a conveyance speed of the sheet (see column 21, lines 46-50 and column 23, lines 15-20); and
a basis weight detection unit configured to detect a basis weight of the sheet conveyed along the conveyance path toward the punch unit (see column 21, lines 38-40 and column 23, lines 9-11),
wherein the control unit further controls whether or not to perform the punching processing on the sheet based on the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit (see column 21, lines 51-55 and column 23, line 21-column 24, line 5.
With respect to claim 17, claims 8 and 11 of US ‘699 each teach a temperature and humidity sensor configured to detect a temperature and a humidity in an installation environment of the image forming system, wherein the control unit controls whether or not the punching processing on the sheet based on the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit and an absolute moisture content in air obtained based on information output from the temperature and humidity sensor (see column 22, lines 35-47 and column 23, lines 12-14 and column 23, line 21-column 24, line 5).
With respect to claim 18, claims 8 and 11 of US ‘699 each teach wherein the control unit controls whether or not the punching processing on the sheet based on the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit and a total number of times the punching processing is performed by the punch unit (see column 22, lines 35-47 and column 23, lines 12-14 and column 23, line 21-column 24, line 5).
With respect to claim 19, claims 9 and 12 of US ‘699 each teach wherein the control unit controls the post-processing apparatus to discharge the sheet without performing the punching processing on the sheet in a case where the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit is greater than a basis weight threshold, and wherein the basis weight threshold is set to a lower value the higher the absolute moisture content is (see column 22, lines 49-55 and column 24, lines 7-13).
With respect to claim 20, claims 10 and 13 of US ‘699 each teach wherein the control unit controls the post-processing apparatus to discharge the sheet without performing the punching processing on the sheet in a case where the basis weight detected by the basis weight detection unit is greater than a basis weight threshold, and wherein the basis weight threshold is set to a lower value as the total number of times increases (see column 22, lines 57-63 and column 24, lines 15-21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishikata et al. (US 2017/0052498 A1) teaches an image forming system including a punch unit having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853