DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 26 May 2026 is acknowledged. New claims 39-48 read upon the elected Group.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 39, 42-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinedjian (6,695,168).
In re claim 1, Pinedjian discloses a beverage dispenser comprising:
a nozzle (40) comprising a beverage inlet (inlet of 40, fig.3) in fluid communication with a beverage outlet (outlet of 40, bottom of nozzle shown in fig.3) to define a beverage flow path, an open configuration operable to dispense a beverage from the nozzle, and a closed configuration operable to store a volume of beverage within the nozzle; and
a means for selectively purging gas from the nozzle in the closed configuration (valve 64 and controller 150).
In re claim 2, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, where the means for selectively purging comprises a conduit (shown in fig.3) having a conduit inlet in pneumatic communication with a conduit outlet to form a pneumatic flow path, and where the conduit inlet is in pneumatic communication with the beverage flow path, and the conduit outlet is in pneumatic communication with ambient (col.11 ln.42 – col.12 ln.18).
In re claim 3, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 2, where the conduit comprises a channel disposed in the nozzle and positioned at a beverage inlet end portion of the nozzle, the conduit providing pneumatic communication between the beverage flow path and ambient (fig.3).
In re claim 4, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 2, where the means for selectively purging comprises a valve (64) operable to selectively open and close the pneumatic flow path.
In re claim 5, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, where the means for selectively purging comprises a purge port (port at T between 38 and 62) providing pneumatic communication between the beverage flow path and ambient.
In re claim 6, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 5, where the means for selectively purging comprises a valve (64) operable to selectively open and close the purge port.
In re claim 7, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 6, where the valve is manually operable to selectively open and close the purge port (abstract).
In re claim 8, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 6, comprising a control system (150) for selectively opening and closing the purge port.
In re claim 9, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 8, where the control system is configured to selectively open and close the purge port based on a predetermined parameter setting selected from: nozzle purge time, nozzle idle purge time, beverage carbonation level, ambient temperature, beverage temperature, and beverage static pressure (col.11 ln.42 – col.12 ln.18).
In re claim 10, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, comprising a cooling mechanism (34, 48) in thermal communication with at least one of the nozzle and the beverage flow path.
In re claim 11, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, comprising a nozzle cooling line having an inlet in fluid communication with an outlet to define a coolant flow path (fig.3), where the nozzle cooling line is configured to receive refrigerated coolant in the coolant flow path, and where the coolant flow path is in thermal communication with the beverage flow path (fig.3).
In re claim 12, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 11, where the coolant line is at least one of:
In re claim 13, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, comprising an antimicrobial element (fig.9, 148) operable to sanitize a beverage-contacting surface of the nozzle.
In re claim 14, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, where the nozzle comprises an elongate actuator rod portion (rod shown in figs.3-4) slidingly disposed within a bore of an elongate body portion, where the actuator rod portion and the body portion cooperate to form the beverage flow path (figs.3-4).
In re claim 39, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 13, where the antimicrobial element is coupled to the nozzle and positioned to expose a surface of the nozzle to antimicrobial light radiation at an intensity sufficient to initiate inactivity of microorganisms and disinfect the surface of the nozzle (fig.9, col.28 ln.27 – col.30 ln.4).
In re claim 42, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 13, where the nozzle is a bottom filling nozzle (fig.3).
In re claim 43, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 13, where the nozzle is one of a commercial beverage dispensing nozzle, a consumer beverage dispensing nozzle, and an industrial beverage dispensing nozzle (purely functional intended end use, each is anticipated by the nozzle shown in fig.3).
In re claim 44, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, where the means for selectively purging gas comprises a control system configured to selectively purge gas from the nozzle in the closed configuration based on a predetermined parameter setting selected from: nozzle purge time, nozzle idle purge time, beverage carbonation level, ambient temperature, beverage temperature, and beverage static pressure (col.11 ln.42 – col.12 ln.18).
In re claim 45, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 44, where the control system is configured to selectively purge gas from the nozzle in the closed configuration with the nozzle storing a volume of beverage (col.11 ln.42 – col.12 ln.18).
In re claim 46, Pinedjian discloses the dispenser of claim 1, where the means for selectively purging gas is configured to purge gas from the nozzle in the closed configuration with the nozzle storing a volume of beverage (col.11 ln.42 – col.12 ln.18).
In re claim 47, see the rejection of claims 1 and 5-9 as similar reasoning applies.
In re claim 48, see the rejections of claims 1-9 as similar reasoning applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinedjian in view of Barron (11,541,135).
In re claim 40-41, Pinedjian discloses the use of an ultraviolet light source in order to maintain sterility of the nozzle. However, Pinedjain fails to disclose the explicitly claims light sources of claims 40-41.
Barron teaches another light source for disinfection wherein the antimicrobial element comprises an antimicrobial/UV-free antimicrobial LED (col.6 ln.17-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to utilize the specific anti-microbial LED as taught by Barron, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07. Additionally, Barron teaches the motivation for selection such a light source over a UV light, e.g. antimicrobial LED are generally safe for human exposure while UV lights are not. Selection of a specific disinfecting light source is akin to find the last piece in a puzzle—it requires no skill.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the rejection for the discussion of one of the cited but not relied upon references.
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753