DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 7/18/2025 has been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumo et al. (U.S. 6,192,932) in view of Harris et al. (U.S. 8,322,367).
Izumo discloses a manifold body formed from a single piece of material for use with a fluid delivery system, comprising: a fluid inlet (17) defining a portion of a common fluid channel (14); a fluid outlet (16); a plunger housing (10, 11, 12) of an integrated valve; wherein the fluid inlet is configured to be received by a portion of a common fluid channel defined by an adjacent manifold body (as the inlet is an opening, it is capable of being coupled to another structure), wherein the plunger housing comprises an air passageway (23, 24) and a plunger arm receiving portion (the portion that receives 20, 21), the plunger arm receiving portion comprising a first plunger arm receiving portion configured to receive a plunger head and defines a port of the air passageway (the upper area closer to numeral 20), and a second plunger arm receiving portion defines a portion of the common fluid channel (the lower area in and around 21 in fig. 2), and wherein the air passageway and the common fluid channel are non-fluidly coupled relative to each other (fig. 2).
Izumo does not appear to disclose wherein the fluid inlet, the fluid outlet, and the plunger housing are formed of a single piece of material.
Harris teaches it was known in the art to have a similar manifold that is either formed from multiple components or a single component (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Izumo by having the body formed from a single piece of material as taught by Harris in order to reduce the number of connection components and possible leakage, be able to withstand high pressure (see abstract of Harris) and especially since it has been held that making a component integral which was one separable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP2144.04.
Regarding claim 12, Izumo as modified further discloses wherein the second plunger arm receiving portion is configured to receive an elongated stem of a plunger within the common fluid channel (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Izumo as modified further discloses wherein the fluid outlet is configured to receive a plunger tip of the elongated stem of the plunger for blocking flow from the fluid outlet (fig. 2, see the received at 16).
Regarding claim 14, Izumo as modified further discloses wherein the plunger housing is configured to receive a solenoid valve (the housing is capable of receiving a solenoid, especially at the connection point where ports 23 and 24 are located and similar in location to where the applicant’s solenoid is connected to the plunger housing).
Regarding claim 15, Izumo as modified further discloses wherein the first plunger arm receiving portion defines an air fill space configured to receive air from the port of the air passageway (the space around 20).
Regarding claim 16, Izumo as modified further discloses wherein the plunger housing comprises an air inlet configured to couple the air passageway to an external air pressure port (23 and/or 24).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,767. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a manifold assembly with first and second manifolds with each manifold having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet received by a portion of the common channel of the second manifold, each plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageways of the at least first manifold and second manifold and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other. Claim 1 of the ‘767 patent is seen to recite this structure, either explicitly or implicitly, via the method steps recited. In other words, claim 1 of the instant application is seen to be the apparatus equivalent to the method of claim 1 of the ‘767 patent.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,443,747. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although instant claim 11 recites a manifold assembly having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet configured to be received by a portion of a common channel of a second manifold, the plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageway and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other, the combination of claims 1-2 of the ‘747 patent similarly recite a manifold assembly having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet configured to be received by a portion of a common channel of a second manifold, the plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageway and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other. Claims 1-2 of the ‘747 patent recite additional features such as a plurality of outlets and a plurality of housings. Thus, it is seen that claim 11 of the instant application is encompassed by claims 1-2 of the ‘747 patent.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,092,251. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although instant claim 11 recites a manifold assembly having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet configured to be received by a portion of a common channel of a second manifold, the plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageway and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other, the combination of claim 1 of the ‘251 patent similarly recites a manifold assembly having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet configured to be received by a portion of a common channel of a second manifold, the plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageway and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other. Claim 1 of the ‘251 patent recites additional features such as a plurality of outlets and a plurality of housings. Thus, it is seen that claim 11 of the instant application is encompassed by claim 1 of the ‘251 patent.
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,867,301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although instant claim 11 recites a manifold assembly having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet configured to be received by a portion of a common channel of a second manifold, the plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageway and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other, the combination of claim 1 of the ‘301 patent similarly recites a manifold assembly having an inlet defining a portion of a common fluid channel, a fluid outlet, a plunger housing, the fluid inlet, fluid outlet, and plunger housing formed from a single piece of material, an inlet configured to be received by a portion of a common channel of a second manifold, the plunger housing comprising an air passageway and plunger arm receiving portion and the air passageway and common flow channel no-fluidly coupled relative to each other. Claim 1 of the ‘301 patent recites additional features such as a plurality of outlets and a plurality of housings. Thus, it is seen that claim 11 of the instant application is encompassed by claim 1 of the ‘301 patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 would be allowable if the above double-patenting rejection is overcome.
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art as evidenced above is Izumo in view of Harris. However, Izumo does not disclose multiple manifolds (first and second manifolds) with the same claimed features that are then coupled together with the fluid inlet of the first manifold received by a portion of the common fluid channel defined by the second manifold. It is further not seen to be obvious to make such a modification as Izumo is already being modified by Harris to be formed from a single piece of material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Smith et al. (U.S. 10,746,406) discloses a valve assembly with individual housings coupled together and a portion of one of the housings inserted into a portion of an adjacent housing. However, the earliest effective filing date for Smith is after the earliest effective filing date for the instant application.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753