This action is in response to the application filed on 04/18/25.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/23/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 6B shows a terminal comprising a first end portion (620), a middle portion (625), and a second end portion (630). However, paragraph 47 of the specification discloses a middle portion (630), a first end portion (620) and a second end portion (625).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 12 and 16, the limitation of “or both with the lower amount of wire bends and with the greater amount of wire bend radius compared to the wire being connected to the terminal at a location on the PCB where the terminal is located” renders the claim indefinite in that it is unclear what are the boundaries of the claim. How does the terminal allow both a lower amount of wire bend or a greater amount of wire bend radius? What are the limits of said bends? Also, the limitation of “the wire being connected to the terminal at a location on the PCB” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the limitation of “to conduct a higher amount of current than any other wire in the power tool” renders the claim indefinite in that “a higher amount” has not limit and it is unclear if “any other wire” is part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purohit et al. (2022/0247280).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 15, Purohit discloses a power tool comprising: a housing (12) including a battery pack receiving portion (15) configured to removably receive a battery pack (16); a motor (100) situated within the housing; an output device (22) configured to provide a moveable output to perform a task, wherein the motor is configured to drive the output device; and a printed circuit board (PCB; 202; Fig. 8) situated within the housing, wherein the PCB includes a terminal (220) configured to electrically couple to a wire to electrically couple a first component (i.e. motor) of the power tool (par. 65-66) with a second component (i.e. power switching elements 210; par. 47) of the power tool; wherein the terminal extends away from the PCB to allow the wire to connect to the terminal with a lower amount of wire compared to the wire being connected to the terminal at a location on the PCB where the terminal is located (Figs. 9-11; par. 66); wherein the terminal includes a first end portion (226; Fig. 9) that is connected to the PCB (202; Fig. 8), a second end portion (224) opposite the first end portion, the second end portion configured to connect to the wire (via holes 240), and a middle portion extending between the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 9); and wherein at least part of the middle portion is surrounded by an insulative housing (232) of a terminal clip (222) that is attached to the PCB.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Purohit discloses wherein the PCB (202) includes a plurality of the terminals that are each electrically coupled to a respective wire (wires are not shown numerically; pars. 65-66); and wherein at least a location of the first ends of the terminals (226) with respect to each other is different than a location of the second ends (240) of the terminals with respect to each other (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, it is deemed that Purohit’ wires are connected to the terminals conduct an amount of current to the motor higher than the current on the minus power wires (par. 52).
Regarding claim 8, Purohit discloses wherein the PCB includes switching elements (210) configured to drive the motor by allowing current to flow to the wire; and wherein the terminal clip includes a heat sink to contact the switching elements to dissipate heat produced by the switching elements (i.e. potting compound; pars. 46, 63-64 and 67).
Regarding claim 11, Purohit discloses a transmission mechanism (i.e. gear components; par. 38) coupled between the motor and the output device, wherein the transmission mechanism is configured to transmit rotational energy from the motor to the output device.
Regarding claim 12, Purohit’s disclosed all the claimed element of the power tool, as disclosed above, and is capable provide the method step of assembling the components as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-7, 9-10, 13 and 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 16, wherein the terminal extends from the first end portion in a first direction perpendicularly upward from a top surface of the PCB, then in a second direction parallel to the top surface of the PCB, and then in the first direction perpendicularly upward and in a third direction laterally sideways to the second end portion.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, wherein the wire connects to the motor at a forward side of the motor between the motor and the output device.
Regarding claim 9, wherein a portion of the middle portion of the terminal is exposed from the insulative housing of the terminal clip to allow the portion of the middle portion to contact a switching element of the switching elements to dissipate heat produced by the switching element.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the terminal clip includes a hole configured to allow air to flow through the terminal clip and past the switching elements to dissipate heat produced by the switching elements.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731