DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on April 18, 2025 for application number 19/182,899. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 6, 2025 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe Mitsunori (JP H07279787 A), hereinafter “Watanabe”.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses an internal combustion engine (Overview section) comprising: an oil tank (paragraph 24); a carburetor (Fig. 1 (20)); and a fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)) including an inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)), an outlet port (Fig. 1 (23, 25)) in fluid communication with the carburetor (Fig. 1 (20)), and a filler skirt (Fig. 4 (lower part of element 41)) extending from the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) into an internal volume defined by the fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)), wherein the filler skirt (Fig. 4 (lower part of element 41)) extends into the internal volume a predefined distance to define a vapor lock volume (paragraphs 6-15), the fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)) being movable between a first orientation and a second orientation that is rotationally offset from the first orientation by between about sixty degrees and about one hundred and twenty degrees (paragraphs 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 16, 37), and in the second orientation, a portion of the internal volume is oriented above the filler skirt (Fig. 5 (lower part of element 41)), and wherein the vapor lock volume is greater than or equal to the portion of the internal volume so that a maximum fuel level is below the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) when the fuel tank is in the second orientation (paragraphs 6-16, 30-32, 37).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 1, wherein the fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)) includes a floor (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)), a top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)), and a plurality of sidewalls extend between the floor (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)) and the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 2, wherein the inlet port (Fig. 2 (in the vicinity of element 42)) extends through the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 2, wherein the filler skirt (Fig. 2 (lower part of element 41)) extends in a direction away from the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)) and toward the floor (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 1, further comprising a first oil drain port formed in the oil tank (paragraphs 24-29).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 1, wherein the carburetor (Fig. 1 (20)) includes a fuel bowl that defines a fuel level and a vent opening arranged above the fuel level, so that fuel within the fuel bowl is prevented from leaking out through the vent opening when the fuel tank is in the second orientation (paragraphs 11-25).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 1, wherein the first orientation is a horizontal orientation and the second orientation is a vertical orientation (Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe discloses a fuel tank (Fig. 2 (40)) for an internal combustion engine (Overview section), the fuel tank (Fig. 2 (40)) comprising: an inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)); an outlet port (Fig. 1 (23, 25)); a top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)); a bottom wall (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)); a plurality of sidewalls, each extending between the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)) and the bottom wall (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)), wherein the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)), the bottom wall (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)), and the plurality of sidewalls combine to define an internal volume (inside element 40); and a filler skirt (Fig. 4 (lower part of element 41)) extending from the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) into the internal volume (inside element 40), wherein the filler skirt (Fig. 4 (lower part of element 41)) extends into the internal volume (inside element 40) a predefined distance to define a vapor lock volume (paragraphs 6-15), the fuel tank (Fig. 2 (40)) being movable between a first orientation and a second orientation that is rotationally offset from the first orientation by between about sixty degrees and about one hundred and twenty degrees (paragraphs 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 16, 37), and in the second orientation, a portion of the internal volume is oriented above the filler skirt (Fig. 5 (lower part of element 41)), and wherein the vapor lock volume is greater than or equal to the portion of the internal volume so that a maximum fuel level is below the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) when the fuel tank is in the second orientation (paragraphs 6-16, 30-32, 37).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe discloses the fuel tank of claim 12, wherein the filler skirt (Fig. 2 (lower part of element 41)) extends in a direction away from the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)) and toward the bottom wall (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe discloses the fuel tank of claim 12, wherein the inlet port (Fig. 2 (in the vicinity of element 42)) extends through the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe Mitsunori (JP H07279787 A), hereinafter “Watanabe”, in view of J.R. Gretzinger (US Patent No. 2,933,192), hereinafter “Gretzinger”.
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 5.
Watanabe fails to disclose that the first oil drain port is configured to be releasably connected to an oil cartridge with the oil cartridge.
However, Gretzinger discloses a first oil drain port (Gretzinger (59)) that is configured to be releasably connected to an oil cartridge with the oil cartridge (Gretzinger (Fig. 1 (57))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Watanabe by incorporating the teachings of Gretzinger because oil cartridges are old and well known in the art of filtering engine oil.
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 5, wherein the first oil drain port (Gretzinger (59)) is formed in a first wall of the oil tank (paragraphs 24-30), wherein the first wall forms a bottom wall when the fuel tank is in the first orientation (Fig. 2 (40)).
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Watanabe discloses the internal combustion engine of claim 8, further comprising a second oil drain port formed in a second wall of the oil tank, wherein the second wall forms the bottom wall when the fuel tank is in the second orientation (paragraphs 28, 35, 37).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartz et al. (US Patent No. 5,261,215), hereinafter “Hartz”, in view of Watanabe Mitsunori (JP H07279787 A), hereinafter “Watanabe”.
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe discloses a lawn mower (Abstract), comprising: a cutting blade (col. 1, lines 35-37).
Hartz does not explicitly disclose an internal combustion engine including: an oil tank; a carburetor; and a fuel tank including an inlet port, an outlet port in fluid communication with the carburetor, and a filler skirt extending from the inlet port into an internal volume defined by the fuel tank, wherein the filler skirt extends into the internal volume a predefined distance to define a vapor lock volume, the fuel tank being movable between a first orientation and a second orientation that is rotationally offset from the first orientation by between about sixty degrees and about one hundred and twenty degrees, and in the second orientation, a portion of the internal volume is oriented above the filler skirt, and wherein the vapor lock volume is greater than or equal to the portion of the internal volume so that a maximum fuel level is below the inlet port when the fuel tank is in the second orientation.
However, Watanabe discloses an internal combustion engine (Overview section) including: an oil tank (paragraph 24); a carburetor (Fig. 1 (20)); and a fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)) including an inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)), an outlet port (Fig. 1 (23, 25)) in fluid communication with the carburetor (Fig. 1 (20)), and a filler skirt (Fig. 4 (lower part of element 41)) extending from the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) into an internal volume defined by the fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)), wherein the filler skirt (Fig. 4 (lower part of element 41)) extends into the internal volume a predefined distance to define a vapor lock volume (paragraphs 6-15), the fuel tank (Fig. 4 (40)) being movable between a first orientation and a second orientation that is rotationally offset from the first orientation by between about sixty degrees and about one hundred and twenty degrees (paragraphs 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 16, 37), and in the second orientation, a portion of the internal volume is oriented above the filler skirt (Fig. 5 (lower part of element 41)), and wherein the vapor lock volume is greater than or equal to the portion of the internal volume so that a maximum fuel level is below the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) when the fuel tank is in the second orientation (paragraphs 6-16, 30-32, 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Hartz by incorporating the teachings of Watanabe in order to avoid the spill of fuel when the lawn mower is in the vertical orientation.
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Watanabe discloses the lawn mower of claim 15, wherein the fuel tank (Fig. 2 (40)) includes a floor (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)), a top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)), and a plurality of sidewalls extend between the floor (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)) and the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 17, the modified invention of Watanabe discloses the lawn mower of claim 16, wherein the inlet port (Fig. 4 (in the vicinity of element 42)) extends through the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 18, the modified invention of Watanabe discloses the lawn mower of claim 17, wherein the filler skirt (Fig. 2 (lower part of element 41)) extends in a direction away from the top wall (Fig. 2 (top part of element 40)) and toward the floor (Fig. 2 (bottom part of element 40)).
Regarding claim 19, the modified invention of Watanabe discloses the lawn mower of claim 15, the oil tank includes a first oil drain port formed in the oil tank (paragraphs 24-29).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14 and 34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,603. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 15 and 20 are basically claims 1, 14 and 34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,603 with minor English language syntax differences. Further on, claims 1, 14 and 34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,603 anticipates claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 15 and 20 of the instant present application. Still further, please refer to the following table for the correspondence of claims between the present application and U.S. Patent No. 12,281,603:
Application (19/182,899)
Claims
Patent (U.S. Patent No. 12,281,603)
Claims
1, 6, 7, 12
1
15
14
20
34
Therefore, claims 1, 14 and 34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,603 anticipate claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 15 and 20 of the instant present application separately alone or altogether.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747