Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 recite the limitations “identifying user input comprising a gaming identifier delivery type ..., transferring access to the gaming identifier and user credits …” It is unclear once a user selects a gaming identifier delivery type, how the transfer is done and how the user will get access to what is requested on his client device. The specification is also lacking the specifics on the transfer of the user credits since it actuation system. Clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: on the outcome display
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed at a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. (2014).
Analysis
Based upon consideration of all the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 held to claim an abstract idea and is/are therefore rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. The rationale for this finding is explained below:
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites:
The limitations of:
identifying, by a self-service device comprising a gaming kiosk or a gaming device, user input comprising a gaming identifier delivery type;
transmitting, by the self-service device, a gaming identifier request specifying the gaming identifier delivery type; and
transferring access to the gaming identifier and user credits by performing actions comprising at least one of:
transmitting the gaming identifier to a client device; or
adding the gaming identifier to a player card.
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a gaming device,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “transmitting a gaming identifier request, transferring access to the game identifier, transmitting the gaming identifier.” If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the methods of organizing human activities (managing a gaming transaction)” grouping of abstract ideas. Such activities are abstract ideas under USPTO guidance and case law (e.g., Alice, Electric Power Group, etc.), particularly when implemented on generic computers for economic or organizational purposes.
The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. There is no indication of a technological improvement or a technical solution to a technical problem. The claim does not recite a specific improvement to “a gaming device.” The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform both the ranking and determining steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim recites conventional steps such as “transmitting a gaming identifier request, transferring access to the game identifier, transmitting the gaming identifier.” No element or combination provides a technical improvement or “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible because it is directed to an abstract idea, “methods of organizing human activities (managing a gaming transaction}”, is not integrated into a practical application, and lacks an inventive concept beyond generic computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price et al (US 10,726,670 B2).
As per claim 1, Price et al disclose a computer-implemented method, comprising: identifying, by a self-service device (kiosk) comprising a gaming kiosk or a gaming device (see fig. 1, 104), user input comprising a gaming identifier delivery type (see fig. 1, 108); transmitting, by the self-service device (see fig. 1, 104), a gaming identifier request specifying the gaming identifier delivery type (see fig. 1, 206, 208; unique validation code or identifier); and transferring access to the gaming identifier and user credits by performing actions comprising at least one of: transmitting the gaming identifier to a client device (see fig. 1, terminal 108).
As per claim 2, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: invoking, by the self-service device, a programmatic interface of a redemption service to redeem at least a subset of the user credits (see fig. 1, 104).
As per claim 3, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the gaming identifier request further comprises at least one of: a personal identification number (PIN), a telephone number, or an email address (see fig. 1, 206, 208; unique validation code or identifier).
As per claim 4, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the gaming identifier request causes a gaming system to generate or identify the gaming identifier and associate the gaming identifier with a user account (see fig. 2, 204).
As per claim 5, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein personally identifiable information of the user account is limited to a phone number (inherent feature for the system of Price et al).
As per claim 6, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the gaming identifier to the client device comprises: receiving, by the self-service device, data comprising a gaming identifier; and transmitting, over a network, the gaming identifier from the self-service device to the client device (see fig. 1).
As per claim 7, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the gaming identifier to the client device comprises: generating, by a gaming system that receives the gaming identifier request, a machine readable code comprising the gaming identifier; and generating, by the gaming system, a website that provides access to the machine readable code; and transmitting, by the gaming system to the client device, a link to the website that provides access to the machine readable code (see fig. 1; Price’s system is capable of providing all that is claimed).
As per claim 8, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein adding the gaming identifier to a player card comprises: storing the gaming identifier to a data store of the player card (see fig. 4, memory 420).
As per claim 9, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein adding the gaming identifier to a player card comprises: printing the gaming identifier to a surface of the player card (inherent feature).
As per claim 10, Price et al disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the gaming identifier request further specifies at least one of: an amount of funds or a number of the user credits to associate with the gaming identifier (see fig. 3).
As per claim 11, Price et al disclose one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of: identifying, by a self-service device comprising a gaming kiosk or a gaming device (see fig. 1, 104), user input comprising a gaming identifier delivery type (see fig. 1, 108); transmitting, by the self-service device, a gaming identifier request specifying the gaming identifier delivery type (see fig. 1, 206, 208; unique validation code or identifier); and transferring access to the gaming identifier and user credits by performing actions comprising at least one of: transmitting the gaming identifier to a client device (see fig. 1, terminal 108).
As per claim 12, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the steps further comprise: invoking, by the self-service device, a programmatic interface of a redemption service to redeem at least a subset of the user credits (see fig. 1, 104).
As per claim 13, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the gaming identifier request further comprises at least one of: a personal identification number (PIN), a telephone number, or an email address (see fig. 1, 206, 208; unique validation code or identifier).
As per claim 14, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the gaming identifier request causes a gaming system to generate or identify the gaming identifier and store the gaming identifier in association with the user credits (see fig. 2, 204).
As per claim 15, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein personally identifiable information stored by the gaming system is limited to a phone number (inherent feature for the system of Price et al).
As per claim 16, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein transmitting the gaming identifier to the client device comprises: receiving, by the self-service device, data comprising a gaming identifier; and transmitting, over a network, the gaming identifier from the self-service device to the client device (see fig. 1).
As per claim 17, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein transmitting the gaming identifier to the client device comprises: generating, by a gaming system that receives the gaming identifier request, a machine readable code comprising the gaming identifier; and generating, by the gaming system, a website that provides access to the machine readable code; and transmitting, by the gaming system to the client device, a link to the website that provides access to the machine readable code (see fig. 1; Price’s system is capable of providing all that is claimed).
As per claim 18, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein adding the gaming identifier to a player card comprises: storing the gaming identifier to a data store of the player card (see fig. 4, memory 420).
As per claim 19, Price et al disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the gaming identifier request further specifies at least one of: an amount of funds or a number of the user credits to associate with the gaming identifier (see fig. 3).
As per claim 20, Price et al disclose a system comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors, that when executing the instructions, are configured to perform the steps of: identifying, by a self-service device comprising a gaming kiosk or a gaming device (see fig. 1, 104), user input comprising a gaming identifier delivery type (see fig. 1, 108); transmitting, by the self-service device (see fig. 1, 104), a gaming identifier request specifying the gaming identifier delivery type (see fig. 1, 206, 208; unique validation code or identifier); and transferring access to the gaming identifier and user credits by performing actions comprising at least one of: transmitting the gaming identifier to a client device (see fig. 1, terminal 108).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See references cited on PTO form 892.
/Ronald Laneau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715