DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The following title is suggested: “Display Device and Method for Providing a Registered Avatar Image Corresponding to a User” or a title more indicative of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2011-186145 A, hereinafter referenced “Yamada”) in view of Sun (KR 10-2014-0065762 A, hereinafter referenced “Sun”).
In regards to claim 1. Yamada discloses a display device (Yamada, para [0018]) comprising:
-a communication interface (Yamada, Fig. 2 and para [0019]; Reference discloses KIOSK terminal 1 is an information processing device in which a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 11, RAM (Random Access Memory) 12, ROM (Read Only Memory) 13, auxiliary storage device 19, input/output devices such as a touch panel display 14 and speaker 15, a network interface 16, a short-range communication interface 17, a printer 18, and a human presence sensor 20 are electrically connected);
-a display (Yamada, para [0018]; Reference discloses one or more KIOSK terminals 1 are installed near the display 34 of the digital signage device 3);
-a camera (Yamada, para [0023]; Reference discloses in the KIOSK terminal 1 according to this embodiment, an input/output device consisting mainly of a touch panel display 14 and buttons is used as the input/output device…gesture input using a camera (not shown), etc. may also be used);
-at least one processor including processing circuitry (Yamada, para [0022]; Reference discloses the CPU 11 is a central processing unit that processes instructions and data deployed in the RAM 12, etc., and controls the RAM 12, auxiliary storage device 19, input/output devices, etc);
-memory storing one or more instructions (Yamada, para [0022]; Reference discloses RAM 12 is the main memory, controlled by the CPU 11, and various instructions and data are written to and read from it);
-and wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the display device to: obtain an image using the camera (Yamada, para [0041]; Reference discloses for example, KIOSK terminal 1 is equipped with a camera (not shown in the diagram) capable of capturing an image of a person standing in front of KIOSK terminal 1. After the participant button is pressed, the camera is used to capture an image of the person),
-identify an electronic device by controlling the communication interface while obtaining the image (Yamada, para [0041]; Reference discloses for example, KIOSK terminal 1 is equipped with a camera (not shown in the diagram) capable of capturing an image of a person standing in front of KIOSK terminal 1. After the participant button is pressed, the camera is used to capture an image of the person, and the captured image is appropriately corrected to create an avatar. Para [0043] discloses In steps S204 and S205, the user terminal 4 is held over the KIOSK terminal 1, and short-range communication takes place between the KIOSK terminal 1 and the user terminal 4 (i.e. identify an electronic device by controlling the communication interface)),
-obtain a registered avatar image associated with the electronic device (Yamada, para [0043]; Reference discloses KIOSK terminal 1 detects when a user holds user terminal 4 over the reading area and obtains the user terminal ID from the contactless IC card on user terminal 4… Furthermore, the URL provided from the KIOSK terminal to the user terminal here includes, as parameters, the user terminal ID acquired by the KIOSK terminal and identification information (for example, the bingo card ID and avatar ID) used to identify the event program and avatar acquired in step S202 (i.e. obtained registered avatar image associated with user terminal ID or electronic device)),
-identify a user associated with the electronic device based on the image (Yamada, para [0044]; Reference discloses in this case, the user terminal 4 notifies the server device 2 of the user terminal ID, the event program, and identification information for identifying the avatar, as parameters attached to the URL. For example, the ID (IDm) set on the contactless IC card of user terminal 4 can be used as the user terminal ID. When server device 2 receives access from user terminal 4, it saves the user terminal ID notified by user terminal 4 and registers the user associated with this user terminal ID as an event participant (i.e. identify a user associated with the electronic device based on the image)),
-
Yamada does not explicitly disclose but Sun teaches
-and generate and display an augmented reality image associated with the image based on replacing at least a part of the user in the image with the registered avatar image (Sun, para [0052], [0054]; Reference at [0052] discloses extracts the user's face from the user image. Para [0053] discloses step of receiving style information to be applied to the user's face extracted from the user. Para [0056] discloses in the above step S430, a user's face image with style information applied is generated. Therefore, the user can modify the extracted child's hairstyle and color or have them wear a hat, as shown in (c) of Fig. 2. Para [0058] discloses for example, as shown in (d) of Fig. 2, a character video that the child wants to experience and a character within the video are selected and input. Para [0060] discloses A user face image with style information, such as changing the hairstyle or wearing a hat, applied to the face area of the character image selected in step S450 above is synthesized to generate a 2D or 3D composite image in real time (i.e. replacing selected character image with child’s face interpreted as generate and display an augmented reality image associated with the image based on replacing at least a part of the user in the image with the registered avatar image)).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
In regards to claim 2. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 1.
Yamada further discloses
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to obtain location information of the electronic device and identification information of the electronic device by using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication technology or ultra-wideband (UWB) communication technology (Yamada, para [0025] and [0044]; Reference at [0025] discloses Furthermore, in this embodiment, the short-range communication interface 47 provided by the user terminal 4 is a short-range communication interface 47 that can communicate with a short-range communication IC card reader/writer built into the KIOSK terminal 1, that is, a contactless IC card. However, other communication methods, such as contact-type IC card communication, wireless LAN, Bluetooth®, RFID, etc., may be used for communication between the KIOSK terminal 1 and the user terminal (i.e. cause the display device to obtain location information of the electronic device by using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication technology). Para [0044] discloses in this case, the user terminal 4 notifies the server device 2 of the user terminal ID, the event program, and identification information for identifying the avatar, as parameters attached to the URL (i.e. obtained identification information of the electronic device).
In regards to claim 3. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 2.
Yamada further discloses
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to obtain the registered avatar image by one of: receiving, from a server, the registered avatar image associated with the electronic device, obtaining the registered avatar image from the memory of the display device, or receiving the registered avatar image from the electronic device via the communication interface based on the identification information of the electronic device (Yamada, para [0049]; Reference discloses in steps S208 and S209, the digital signage device 3 periodically confirms participating users with the server device 2, and the avatars of all participating users are displayed on the digital signage. During registration, the digital signage device 3 periodically queries (polls) the server device 2 to confirm participant information for the event. Server device 2 identifies users who are registered as event participants by holding user terminal IDs, and transmits the event program and avatar for each user to digital signage device 3 (i.e. receiving, from a server, the registered avatar image associated with the electronic device)).
In regards to claim 11. Yamada discloses an operation method of a display device (Yamada, para [0008]), the operation method comprising:
-obtaining an image using a camera (Yamada, para [0041]; Reference discloses for example, KIOSK terminal 1 is equipped with a camera (not shown in the diagram) capable of capturing an image of a person standing in front of KIOSK terminal 1. After the participant button is pressed, the camera is used to capture an image of the person);
-identifying an electronic device by controlling a communication interface while obtaining the image (Yamada, para [0041]; Reference discloses for example, KIOSK terminal 1 is equipped with a camera (not shown in the diagram) capable of capturing an image of a person standing in front of KIOSK terminal 1. After the participant button is pressed, the camera is used to capture an image of the person, and the captured image is appropriately corrected to create an avatar. Para [0043] discloses In steps S204 and S205, the user terminal 4 is held over the KIOSK terminal 1, and short-range communication takes place between the KIOSK terminal 1 and the user terminal 4 (i.e. identify an electronic device by controlling the communication interface);
-obtaining a registered avatar image associated with the electronic device (Yamada, para [0043]; Reference discloses KIOSK terminal 1 detects when a user holds user terminal 4 over the reading area and obtains the user terminal ID from the contactless IC card on user terminal 4… Furthermore, the URL provided from the KIOSK terminal to the user terminal here includes, as parameters, the user terminal ID acquired by the KIOSK terminal and identification information (for example, the bingo card ID and avatar ID) used to identify the event program and avatar acquired in step S202 (i.e. obtained registered avatar image associated with user terminal ID or electronic device));
-identifying a user associated with the electronic device based on the image (Yamada, para [0044]; Reference discloses in this case, the user terminal 4 notifies the server device 2 of the user terminal ID, the event program, and identification information for identifying the avatar, as parameters attached to the URL. For example, the ID (IDm) set on the contactless IC card of user terminal 4 can be used as the user terminal ID. When server device 2 receives access from user terminal 4, it saves the user terminal ID notified by user terminal 4 and registers the user associated with this user terminal ID as an event participant (i.e. identify a user associated with the electronic device based on the image));
Yamada does not explicitly disclose but Sun teaches
-and generating and displaying an augmented reality image associated with the image based on replacing at least a part of the user in the image with the registered avatar image (Sun, para [0052], [0054]; Reference at [0052] discloses extracts the user's face from the user image. Para [0053] discloses step of receiving style information to be applied to the user's face extracted from the user. Para [0056] discloses in the above step S430, a user's face image with style information applied is generated. Therefore, the user can modify the extracted child's hairstyle and color or have them wear a hat, as shown in (c) of Fig. 2. Para [0058] discloses for example, as shown in (d) of Fig. 2, a character video that the child wants to experience and a character within the video are selected and input. Para [0060] discloses A user face image with style information, such as changing the hairstyle or wearing a hat, applied to the face area of the character image selected in step S450 above is synthesized to generate a 2D or 3D composite image in real time (i.e. replacing selected character image with child’s face interpreted as generate and display an augmented reality image associated with the image based on replacing at least a part of the user in the image with the registered avatar image)).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
In regards to claim 12, please see the citations and rejection for corresponding display device claim 2.
In regards to claim 13, please see the citations and rejection for corresponding display device claim 3.
In regards to claim 15. Yamada discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing one or more instructions, the one or more instructions that when executed by a processor of a display device (Yamada, para [0013]), cause the processor to:
-obtain an image using a camera (Yamada, para [0041]; Reference discloses for example, KIOSK terminal 1 is equipped with a camera (not shown in the diagram) capable of capturing an image of a person standing in front of KIOSK terminal 1. After the participant button is pressed, the camera is used to capture an image of the person);
-identify an electronic device by controlling a communication interface while obtaining the image (Yamada, para [0041]; Reference discloses for example, KIOSK terminal 1 is equipped with a camera (not shown in the diagram) capable of capturing an image of a person standing in front of KIOSK terminal 1. After the participant button is pressed, the camera is used to capture an image of the person, and the captured image is appropriately corrected to create an avatar. Para [0043] discloses In steps S204 and S205, the user terminal 4 is held over the KIOSK terminal 1, and short-range communication takes place between the KIOSK terminal 1 and the user terminal 4 (i.e. identify an electronic device by controlling the communication interface);
-obtain a registered avatar image associated with the electronic device (Yamada, para [0043]; Reference discloses KIOSK terminal 1 detects when a user holds user terminal 4 over the reading area and obtains the user terminal ID from the contactless IC card on user terminal 4… Furthermore, the URL provided from the KIOSK terminal to the user terminal here includes, as parameters, the user terminal ID acquired by the KIOSK terminal and identification information (for example, the bingo card ID and avatar ID) used to identify the event program and avatar acquired in step S202 (i.e. obtained registered avatar image associated with user terminal ID or electronic device));
-identify a user associated with the electronic device based on the image (Yamada, para [0044]; Reference discloses in this case, the user terminal 4 notifies the server device 2 of the user terminal ID, the event program, and identification information for identifying the avatar, as parameters attached to the URL. For example, the ID (IDm) set on the contactless IC card of user terminal 4 can be used as the user terminal ID. When server device 2 receives access from user terminal 4, it saves the user terminal ID notified by user terminal 4 and registers the user associated with this user terminal ID as an event participant (i.e. identify a user associated with the electronic device based on the image));
Yamada does not explicitly disclose but Sun teaches
-and generate and display an augmented reality image associated with the image based on replacing at least a part of the user in the image with the registered avatar image (Sun, para [0052], [0054]; Reference at [0052] discloses extracts the user's face from the user image. Para [0053] discloses step of receiving style information to be applied to the user's face extracted from the user. Para [0056] discloses in the above step S430, a user's face image with style information applied is generated. Therefore, the user can modify the extracted child's hairstyle and color or have them wear a hat, as shown in (c) of Fig. 2. Para [0058] discloses for example, as shown in (d) of Fig. 2, a character video that the child wants to experience and a character within the video are selected and input. Para [0060] discloses A user face image with style information, such as changing the hairstyle or wearing a hat, applied to the face area of the character image selected in step S450 above is synthesized to generate a 2D or 3D composite image in real time (i.e. replacing selected character image with child’s face interpreted as generate and display an augmented reality image associated with the image based on replacing at least a part of the user in the image with the registered avatar image)).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2011-186145 A) in view of Sun (KR 10-2014-0065762 A) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Park (US 2015/0244990 A1, hereinafter referenced “Park”).
In regards to claim 4. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 1.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Park teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to obtain location information of the user included in the image by processing the image (Park, para [0088]; Reference discloses in detail, if it is determined that the image includes the user, the controller 150 may analyze the image acquired through the image acquirer 130 to acquire user information. According to an exemplary embodiment, the user information may include user position information, user ID information, etc).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
Yamada and Park are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding device communication features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the view sensor features of Park in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the view sensor features of Park allows for use of a view sensor within an environment to capture and detect a user and provide corresponding information and functionality such as location and position for generating control information on the electronic device thus increasing smoothness of operation for the user regarding a corresponding electronic device, applicable to electronic device systems such as those taught in Yamada and Sun.
In regards to claim 14, please see the citations and rejection for corresponding display device claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2011-186145 A) in view of Sun (KR 10-2014-0065762 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jung (US 2017/0069071 A1, hereinafter referenced “Jung”).
In regards to claim 5. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 1.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Jung teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to detect one or more users in the image based on a skeleton detection processing of the image (Jung, para [0020]; Reference discloses when the RGB-D image data whose depth data has been corrected is input, the person region extractor may divide the ROI extracted by the ROI extractor into groups based on 3D distance, remove invalid groups using skeleton information to find a valid group, extract pixels of the RGB image corresponding to grouped depth data values, and extract an RGB region of the person from the original image using the extracted RGB pixels. (i.e. detect one or more users in the image based on a skeleton detection processing of the image)).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
Yamada and Jung are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding use of image capture/processing features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the depth image person extraction features of Jung in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the depth image person extraction features of Jung allows for use of techniques for capturing and extracting a person region based on a red/green/blue-depth (RGB-D) image to more accurately distinguish a user from a background image, applicable to the user image capturing functions such as those taught in Yamada and Sun.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2011-186145 A) in view of Sun (KR 10-2014-0065762 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hyung (KR-10-2014-0009785 A, hereinafter referenced “Hyung”).
In regards to claim 6. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 2.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Hyung teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to identify the user associated with the electronic device based on location information of the user detected in the image and the location information of the electronic device (Hyung, page lines 36-46; Reference disclose the information processing method according to the present invention comprises the steps of: (a) checking a pattern of motion sensed from at least one sensor provided in the wireless terminal in an application provided in a user wireless terminal; and (b) the motion pattern. If the motion pattern is a motion pattern that satisfies a predetermined criterion, transmitting the location information of the user wireless terminal and identification information of the user wireless terminal to an server in an application provided to the user wireless terminal; and (c) Confirming, by the server, whether there is an adjacent user wireless terminal within a predetermined time and a predetermined range at the location of the user wireless terminal based on the location information of the user wireless terminal, and (d) identified in step (c). (i.e. motion sensing for transmitting location of user of wireless terminal and identification info via server interpreted as cause the display device to identify the user associated with the electronic device based on location information of the user detected in the image and the location information of the electronic device).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
Yamada and Hyung are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding use of user device identification features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the information processing features of Hyung in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the information processing features of Hyung allows for use of techniques for sensing motion patterns of a user wireless device and detecting of location of adjacent user wireless devices for using various criteria to determine user profile information for the neighboring device thus improving the ability to share user information more conveniently, applicable to the multi-user device environments taught in Yamada and Sun.
In regards to claim 7. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 1.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Hyung teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to identify a first user whose distance from the electronic device is less than or equal to a threshold as being the user associated with the electronic device (Hyung, page lines 36-46; Reference disclose the information processing method according to the present invention comprises the steps of: (a) checking a pattern of motion sensed from at least one sensor provided in the wireless terminal in an application provided in a user wireless terminal; and (b) the motion pattern. If the motion pattern is a motion pattern that satisfies a predetermined criterion, transmitting the location information of the user wireless terminal and identification information of the user wireless terminal to an server in an application provided to the user wireless terminal; and (c) Confirming, by the server, whether there is an adjacent user wireless terminal within a predetermined time and a predetermined range at the location of the user wireless terminal based on the location information of the user wireless terminal, and (d) identified in step (c). Processing to output to the user wireless terminal a list of identification information set in advance so as to identify the own wireless terminal; and (e) selection information for at least one or more targets of the basic information list from the user wireless terminal. If is received, providing the user profile information for the adjacent user wireless terminal corresponding to the selection information to the user wireless terminal (i.e. motion pattern that satisfies a predetermined criterion regarding adjacent user wireless terminal interpreted as identify a first user whose distance from the electronic device is less than or equal to a threshold as being the user associated with the electronic device)).
Yamada and Hyung are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding use of user device identification features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the information processing features of Hyung in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the information processing features of Hyung allows for use of techniques for sensing motion patterns of a user wireless device and detecting of location of adjacent user wireless devices for using various criteria to determine user profile information for the neighboring device thus improving the ability to share user information more conveniently, applicable to the multi-user device environments taught in Yamada and Sun.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2011-186145 A) in view of Sun (KR 10-2014-0065762 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Woo (KR-10-2014-0077273 A, hereinafter referenced “Woo”).
In regards to claim 8. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 1.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Woo teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to: receive, from the electronic device, a facial image of the user associated with the electronic device, and identify the user associated with the electronic device by identifying the facial image in the image (Woo, para [0012]; Reference discloses an embedded camera in the TV that uses facial recognition technology to identify users).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
Yamada and Woo are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding use of user identification features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the user identification and content facilitating features of Woo in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the user identification and content facilitating features of Woo allows for easier facilitation to access content by allowing a display device to identify the user of the device therefore simplifying overall operation, applicable to the display devices taught in Yamada and Sun.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2011-186145 A) in view of Sun (KR 10-2014-0065762 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nims (US 2009/0144639 A1, hereinafter referenced “Nims”).
In regards to claim 9. Yamada in view of Sun teach the display device of claim 1.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Nims teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to: receive, from the electronic device, information about an avatar display mode, and conceal the user identified in the image or display the registered avatar image of the user based on the information about the avatar display mode (Nims, para [0082]; Reference discloses in FIG. 16D, if a social network page owner has set their avatar and avatar widget to private, an alternate avatar widget or image 1611 may be displayed to a viewer. Widget or image 1611 may include a message notifying the viewer that the avatar is set to private. Setting an avatar widget or avatar to private may indicate that the owner only wants a certain select group of people to be able to view the owner's widget and athletic performance information or that no one may see the widget or avatar except for the owner).
Yamada and Sun are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image processing via user mobile devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada to include the user customized video character features of Sun in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face thus improving the sense of realism within a media experience, applicable to avatar rendering systems such as those taught in Yamada.
Yamada and Nims are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding avatar rendering features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the interactive avatar features of Nims in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the interactive avatar features of Nims allows for use of avatar visualizations within various virtual networks as users can customize appearance as well as set privacy functions to hide their actual identity and improving safety while using public platforms, applicable to the avatar/character display devices taught in Yamada and Sun.
In regards to claim 10. Yamada in view of Sun in further view of Nims teach the display device of claim 9.
Yamada and Sun does not explicitly disclose but Nims teaches
-wherein the one or more instructions are configured to, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the display device to: based on the avatar display mode indicating a decorate mode, display at least the part of the user identified in the image as the registered avatar image (Nims, para [0048]; Reference discloses the user may further customize or otherwise alter the pre-designed avatar (e.g., color scheme and the like) to generate a more desirable representation of themselves. The avatar module of an alternate embodiment may allow the user to upload or otherwise create an avatar of substantially or entirely custom design (i.e. decorating mode)), and based on the avatar display mode indicating a hide mode, conceal at least the part of the user identified in the image (Nims, para [0082]; Reference discloses in FIG. 16D, if a social network page owner has set their avatar and avatar widget to private, an alternate avatar widget or image 1611 may be displayed to a viewer (i.e. decorating mode since alternate avatar is provided. Widget or image 1611 may include a message notifying the viewer that the avatar is set to private. Setting an avatar widget or avatar to private may indicate that the owner only wants a certain select group of people to be able to view the owner's widget and athletic performance information or that no one may see the widget or avatar except for the owner).
Yamada and Nims are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding avatar rendering features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image processing device of Yamada, in view of the user customized video character features of Sun, to include the interactive avatar features of Nims in order to provide the user with a system that allows for implementing short range communication between and mobile devices and a stationary image processing device where identification information of the user of the mobile device can be obtained and used for participating in an event and displaying a corresponding avatar as taught by Yamada while incorporating the user customized video character features of Sun to allow for use of a processing system that provides customized characters within a video in real time through synthesizing a user’s face with a character’s face. Further incorporating the interactive avatar features of Nims allows for use of avatar visualizations within various virtual networks as users can customize appearance as well as set privacy functions to hide their actual identity and improving safety while using public platforms, applicable to the avatar/character display devices taught in Yamada and Sun.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614