DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2025 and 10/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 describes providing a training pattern to a memory device and then evaluating a performance of the memory device based on the training pattern. Claim 15 then says to write a value of a respective parameter value of an operating parameter associated with a first one of a plurality of set points. It is unclear how the value of the respective parameter value of an operating parameter associated with a first one of a plurality of set points has any connection to the providing a training pattern and evaluating a performance of the memory. There is no mention of how the evaluation of performance of a memory device based on a training pattern produces the parameter value, where the operating parameter is defined, or what a plurality of set points has to do with evaluating the performance of the memory device. There needs to be more information added to the claim so that it is clear how the value of the parameter value is found or created, what the operating parameters are and where the plurality of set points fit in with the training pattern and the performance of the memory device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,934,831. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed towards the same functionality.
Comparing claim 1 of the instant application to claim 1 of the ‘831 patent, both teach writing first and second parameter codes for an operating parameter in a mode register, and writing a third parameter code for a control parameter and setting a current operating condition of the memory to one of a plurality of operating conditions. The main difference is that claim 1 of the instant application is directed towards a memory controller, while claim 1 of the ‘831 patent is directed toward an apparatus. This difference is not enough to make the claims patentably distinct. Dependent claims 2-8 are rejected for at least their dependence upon rejected claim 1 above.
Comparing claim 8 of the instant application to claim 1 of the ‘831 patent, both teach wiring a value to a mode register of a memory device to cause ethe memory device to switch between a plurality of set points based on the value written the mode register. The examiner is interpreting the “set points” of the instant application to be equivalent to the “parameter codes” of the ‘831 patent. The main difference is that claim 8 of the instant application is directed towards a memory controller, while claim 1 of the ‘831 patent is directed toward an apparatus. This difference is not enough to make the claims patentably distinct. Dependent claims 10-11 are rejected for at least their dependence upon rejected claim 8 above.
Comparing claim 15 of the instant application to claims 9-10 of the ‘831 patent, they teach evaluate a performance of the memory device based on a training pattern and write a value of a respective parameter value of an operating parameter associated with a first one of a plurality of set points (Claim 10, perform training operations for the first and second operating conditions to determine the first and second parameter codes for the operating parameter). While claims 9 and 10 do not specifically describe “provide a training pattern to the memory device”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, that in order for the controller to perform the training operations that it is necessary for the training metrics or “training pattern” to be provided. The other difference is that claim 8 of the instant application is directed towards a memory controller, while claim 1 of the ‘831 patent is directed toward an apparatus. This difference is not enough to make the claims patentably distinct. Dependent claims 16-20 are rejected for at least their dependence upon rejected claim 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al (US 8,335,941, hereinafter referred to as Chang).
As per claim 8:
Chang discloses a memory controller configured to write a value to a mode register of a memory device to cause the memory device to switch between a plurality of set points based on the value written to the mode register (Chang: Claim 6, monitoring a data volume of a buffer to determine whether to switch to one of the modes, changing operating parameters to enter the new modes, interpreting the buffer as the mode register and the operating parameters as the set points).
As per claim 9:
Chang discloses writing the value to the mode register further causes the memory device to switch a plurality of operating parameters associated with the plurality of set points simultaneously (Chang: Claim 6, “each of the operating parameter sets has individual values of a circuit voltage supplied to the circuit, a memory voltage supplied to the memory, a memory frequency for operating the memory, and a processor frequency for operating the processor”).
As per claim 10:
Chang discloses set points of the plurality of set points are associated with different operating frequencies of the memory device (Chang: Claim 6 “each of the operating parameter sets has individual values of… a memory frequency for operating the memory”).
Conclusion
/ZACHARY K HUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181