Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/21/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0327371 by Sharma et al. (Sharma).
With respect to claim 1, Sharma teaches 1. A method, comprising:
receiving, at a first edge compute site of a telecommunications network, raw data from a first device over a first access network; (Paragraphs 231-236, Fig. 8, 9 – cloud edge compute site receives raw data such as sensor data used by a corresponding edge site that includes a local model)
determining, by the first edge compute site, that the raw data needs to be modified for consumption by a first model; (Paragraphs 231-236, Fig. 8, 9 - based on an initiated model update request, cloud site determines to process the received raw data)
modifying the raw data to generate modified data; (Paragraphs 231-236, Fig. 8, 9 - cloud site processes the received raw data to produce modified data such as inferences and predictions)
modifying the first model using the modified data to generate a modified first model; (Paragraphs 231-236, Fig. 8, 9 - based on a comparison of the resulting modified data with received outputs from the edge device, an update to the model can be made. Other examples include comparisons of multiple models for finding the best performance/accuracy)
sending the modified first model to at least one device connected to the first edge compute site; (Paragraphs 231-236, Fig. 8, 9 - updated model is redeployed to edge )and
using the modified first model to automatically affect operation of at least one of the first edge compute site or the at least one device. (Paragraphs 231-236, Fig. 8, 9 - updated model is redeployed to edge and subsequently used by the edge for processing data locally)
With respect to claim 2, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first edge compute site, second modified data related to a second model, from a second edge compute site. (Paragraph 81, 124, 236 – cloud site manages provisioning and orchestration of one or more edge computing platforms. Accordingly the updating process can occur for other cloud managed edge platforms as described in the rejection of claim 1.)
With respect to claim 3, Sharma teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: modifying the second model at the first edge compute site; and providing, by the first edge compute site, the modified second model to the second device. (Paragraph 81, 124, 236 – cloud site manages provisioning and orchestration of one or more edge computing platforms. Accordingly the updating process can occur for other cloud managed edge platforms as described in the rejection of claim 1.)
With respect to claim 9, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the raw data comprises extracting feature pairs from the raw data. (Paragraph 102, 172 – processing of raw data can include extraction of feature pairs)
Claims 10-12 are similar in scope to claims 1-3 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of US 9,294,507 by Roth et al. (Roth).
With respect to claim 4, Sharma teaches the method of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose evaluating the second modified data to determine a security value for the second modified data; based on determining the security value, determining, by the first compute site, whether to provide the second modified data to the second device.
Roth teaches data can be associated with a security value which can determine whether the data can be provided to other devices (Col. 4 lines 8-15, Col. 5 lines 15-38 security tag associated with data can restrict transmission of the data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the data of Sharma include a security value as in Roth. One would be motivated to have this as it is advantageous to be able secure data that is of sensitive nature.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 4 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of US 2019/0036716 by Kasaragod et al. (Kasaragod).
With respect to claim 5, Sharma teaches the method of claim 2, but does not disclose providing the second modified data by the first edge compute site to the second device over the first access network.
Kasaragod teaches edge compute sites may form tiers such that data may be modified at one site and sending that modified data to another device. (Fig. 13 paragraphs 139-146). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the compute site of Sharma provide the modified data to another device as in Kasaragod. One would be motivated to have this for providing redundancy as well as dynamic levels of accuracy and processing power (Kasaragod Paragraphs 141, 143).
With respect to claim 6, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a network orchestration system at the first edge compute site the modified first model to the second device. (Paragraph 81, 124, 236 – cloud site manages provisioning and orchestration of one or more edge computing platforms. Accordingly the updating process can occur for other cloud managed edge platforms as described in the rejection of claim 1.)
Sharma does not explicitly disclose instructions to provide the modified data to a second edge compute site. Kasaragod teaches edge compute sites may form tiers such that data may be modified at one site and sending that modified data to another device. (Fig. 13 paragraphs 139-146). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the compute site of Sharma provide the modified data to another device as in Kasaragod. One would be motivated to have this for providing redundancy as well as dynamic levels of accuracy and processing power (Kasaragod Paragraphs 141, 143).
With respect to claim 7, Sharma as modified teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving updated instructions from the network orchestration system at the first edge compute site to no longer provide updates to modified data or the modified first model to the second edge compute site. (Based on the Combination in claim 6, Kasaragod teaches in paragraph 142-153 various decision points determining whether to send data to a higher tier or not)
With respect to claim 8, Sharma as modified teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, from the network orchestration system at the first edge compute site, instructions to provide the raw data to a third edge compute site but not provide the raw data to the second edge compute site. (Based on the Combination in claim 6, Kasaragod teaches in paragraph 142-153 various decision points determining whether to send data to a higher tier or not)
Claims 14-17 are similar in scope to claims 5-8 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,528,193. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. patent 11,528,193 contain every element of claims 1-19 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims 1-19 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. "A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim." In re Lonqi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,750,469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. patent 11,750,469 contain every element of claims 1-19 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims 1-19 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. "A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim." In re Lonqi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,090. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-18 of U.S. patent 12,284,090 contain every element of claims 1-17 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims 1-17 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. "A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim." In re Lonqi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651.
Conclusion
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455