Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquisition unit, generation unit, division unit, audio acquisition unit, recording unit in claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170270960 A1 to Yoneda.
Consider claim 1, Yoneda discloses an image capturing apparatus comprising (Par. [0023] and Fig. 1: “the image recording apparatus (recording apparatus) 100 includes an image sensor”):
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a series of image capture data including a plurality of consecutive frames (Par. [0041] and Fig. 3: “In Step S302, the moving image data is recorded into the recording medium 116”); and
a generation unit configured to, in a case where the series of image capture data is to be divided into a plurality of pieces of image capture data and recorded, generate metadata to be added to the divided image capture data (Par. [0046]: “Specifically, information indicating that moving image data to be recorded into the recording medium 118 is continuous with the moving image data that has already been recorded into the recording medium 116 is generated by the moving image management information generator 104, and the generated information is recorded”; Par. [0049]-[0050]: “In order to enable the moving image data recorded into both of the two recording media 116 and 118 to be combined with each other later, in this embodiment, additional information is recorded together with the moving image data … second additional information 601 includes, for example, a file number, a recording mode, an apparatus ID”),
wherein the generation unit generates first metadata relating to the divided image capture data and second metadata relating to the combined image capture data in a case where a plurality of pieces of the divided image capture data are combined, as metadata to be added to the divided image capture data (Par. [0049]-[0050]: “In order to enable the moving image data recorded into both of the two recording media 116 and 118 to be combined with each other later, in this embodiment, additional information is recorded together with the moving image data … In addition to the first additional information 501 described above, second additional information 601 is also recorded. FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B are tables for showing examples of the second additional information 601. As shown in FIG. 6A, the second additional information 601 includes a plurality of items. The second additional information 601 includes, for example, a file number, a recording mode, an apparatus ID”. Note, the abovementioned elements of information 501 and information 601 correspond to the claimed first and second information).
Consider claim 2, Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second metadata is metadata of the first metadata that needs to be updated so as to relate to the combined image capture data in a case where the plurality of pieces of divided image capture data have been combined (Par. [0049]-[0050]: “In order to enable the moving image data recorded into both of the two recording media 116 and 118 to be combined with each other later, in this embodiment, additional information is recorded together with the moving image data … The relay recording information is information for identifying that the moving image data is recorded into both of two recording media. FIG. 5 is a table for showing an example of the first additional information … When the value of the first additional information 501 is “0x31” (second value), for example, this value indicates that the relevant scene is the moving image data recorded by the relay recording and is a first-half scene).
Consider claim 3, Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 1 wherein in a case where the first metadata and the second metadata are metadata synchronized with a frame, the generation unit generates the first metadata and the second metadata as metadata for each frame of the divided image capture data (Par. [0053]: “a time code value “00:00:00:00” is added to the first frame, and the recording is started. After that, at a timing 702, when the recording destination is switched from the recording medium 116 to the recording medium 118, a time code value “00:00:10:15” is added to the last frame of the moving image file 401 that has been recorded into the recording medium 116. Further, a time code value “00:00:10:16” is added to the first frame of the moving image file 402 to be recorded into the recording medium 118 … As shown in FIG. 6B, in second additional information 602 of the moving image file 401, “00:00:00:00” is stored as the start time code value and “00:00:10:15” is stored as the end time code value. Meanwhile, in second additional information 603 of the moving image file 402, “00:00:10:16” is stored as the start time code value and “00:00:29:30” is stored as the end time code value”).
Consider claim 4, Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 1 wherein in a case where the first metadata and the second metadata are metadata that are not synchronized with a frame, the generation unit generates the first metadata and the second metadata as metadata not for each frame of the divided image capture data (Par. [0050]-[0051]: “The file number is information added to each moving image file. The recording mode is, for example, information on the data transfer rate of the recorded moving image data … those pieces of additional information 501 and 502 may be recorded as a file different from the moving image file.” Note, therefore it is implicit that certain metadata, e.g. file number and frame rate need not be indexed for each frame in a moving image file).
Consider claim 10, Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a recording unit configured to record each piece of the divided image capture data in a different storage medium among a plurality of storage media (Par. [0024] and Fig. 1: recording media 116 and 118).
Consider claim 11, Yoneda discloses the moving image combining apparatus based on the same rationale as the image capturing apparatus of claim 1 and because Yoneda further teaches an image combining apparatus for reversing the dividing process of claim 1 (Par. [0056]: “FIG. 9 and FIG. 10 are flowcharts for illustrating processing of combining the moving image files performed by the image processing apparatus 800. The processing illustrated in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10 is executed by the CPU 801”).
Consider claim 12, the apparatus is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 2.
Consider claim 13, the apparatus is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 3.
Consider claim 14, Yoneda discloses the method of controlling an image capturing apparatus based on the same rationale as the image capturing apparatus of claim 1.
Consider claim 15, Yoneda discloses the method of controlling an image combining apparatus based on the same rationale as the image combining apparatus of claim 11.
Consider claim 16, Yoneda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for performing a method of controlling an image capturing apparatus based on the same rationale as the image capturing method of claim 14 and because Yoneda further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for performing the method (Par. [0055]).
Consider claim 17, Yoneda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for performing a method of controlling an image combining apparatus based on the same rationale as the image combining method of claim 15 and because Yoneda further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for performing the method (Par. [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda.
Consider claim 7, Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 1 wherein the second metadata includes a time code that is determined based on a frame rate at which each frame of the series of image capture data is acquired (Par. [0053]: time code metadata is added to each frame. Yoneda does not explicitly describe the time code as based on the frame rate, but it is implicit, or at least obvious, that the determined time code is based on a frame rate such as to implement the user defined frame rate discussed in Par. [0037]).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda in view of US 20130202271 A1 to Ishihara.
Consider claim 8, Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a division unit configured to divide the series of image capture data into a plurality of pieces of image capture data (Par. [0068]: “the two moving image files 401 and 402 that have been recorded continuously to both of the two recording media 116 and 118 are detected based on the additional information to be combined. Therefore, a series of moving images that have been divided to be recorded into a plurality of recording media 116 and 118 and combined into one moving image file can be acquired”).
Yoneda fails to explicitly disclose wherein the division unit divides the series of image capture data by dividing each predetermined number of frames of the series of image capture data into a plurality of pieces of image capture data.
In analogous art, Ishihara discloses wherein the division unit divides the series of image capture data by dividing each predetermined number of frames of the series of image capture data into a plurality of pieces of image capture data (Par. [0046]-[0047]: “in the case of dividing the moving image data of 4K into two channels and outputting, the moving image data is alternately allocated to each channel every frame and is output. Therefore, the moving image data which is output by each channel is output as moving image data in which the number of frames of the original moving image data is reduced into 1/2”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Yonada in view of the above teachings of Ishihara such that the moving image data which is input for a period of time from the start to stop of the recording is divided into a plurality of files and recorded and those plurality of files are managed as one scene or clip (Ishihara: Par. [0070]).
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda in view of Ishihara, further in view of US 20060233534 A1 to Haupt et al. (hereinafter “Haupt”).
Consider claim 9, modified Yoneda discloses the image capturing apparatus of claim 8, further comprising an audio acquisition unit configured to acquire audio (Ishihara: Par. [0027]), but modified Yoneda fails to explicitly disclose wherein the division unit divides the series of image capture data such that each piece of the divided image capture data includes identical audio data over the predetermined number of frames.
In analogous art, Haupt discloses wherein the division unit divides the series of image capture data such that each piece of the divided image capture data includes identical audio data over the predetermined number of frames ([Abstract]: “The disclosed method allows packing audio samples and video samples into constant size containers, e.g. MXF containers, so that there is an integer amount of audio samples within the time period needed for one video frame”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of modified Yonada further in view of the above teachings of Haupt because then a decoder can find the start of an arbitrary frame or field by applying an address offset within the file, without the need to decode the file itself (Haupt: Par. [0008]).
Conclusion
STEPHEN R. SMITH
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484