DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 04/18/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dargis (US 2011/0154469) in view of Yeom (US 2007/0192847).
Claim 1, Dargis teaches:
A system comprising:
at least one hardware processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations comprising: (e.g., [0017]-[0018], [0020])
receiving, by a server network and from a client network, a first request to update an access control list to include an external address; (e.g., [0025], “a web browser 112 resident at the client device 110 may send an authentication request message 115 to the authentication server 130…The authentication request message 115 may include, for example, a source IP address and source port identification” [0026], “The access authorization message 125 transmitted to the blocking device 140 may identify this new source port, which information may be used, for example, to modify and access control list (ACL) maintained at the blocking device 140”)
obtaining, by the server network, authorization to update the access control list using an access token of the first request; (e.g., [0024], “the authentication server 130 may be configured to transmit access authorization messages 125 that identify an authorized source address and source port, such that the blocking device 140 may responsively modify the access criteria to allow passage of messages from this address and source port to the protected server 160. In some embodiments, the identified source port is determined based on source port information provided to the authentication server 130 by the client device 110”)
in response to the obtaining of the authorization, updating, by the server network, the access control list to include the external address; (e.g., [0026], “The access authorization message 125 transmitted to the blocking device 140 may identify this new source port, which information may be used, for example, to modify and access control list (ACL) maintained at the blocking device 140”)
receiving, by the server network, a second request to perform an action, the second request including the address; and based on determining that the address in the second request is included in the updated access control list, performing the action. (e.g., [0023], “The blocking device 140 generally controls access to the protected server 160 based on access criteria that may, for example, allow only packets with authorized network (e.g., IP) addresses and port numbers to pass between the internet 120 and the protected server 160” [0024], “the authentication server 130 may be configured to transmit access authorization messages 125 that identify an authorized source address and source port, such that the blocking device 140 may responsively modify the access criteria to allow passage of messages from this address and source port to the protected server 160” [0029], “the blocking device 140 may be configured, for example, to provide a transparent firewall…The blocking device 140 may, for example, block all traffic that is not specifically authorized by its ACL, while also listening for SNMPv3 access authorization messages 125 from the authentication server 130”)
Dargis does not appear to explicitly teach but Yeom teaches:
an external Internet Protocol (IP) address. (e.g., [0061], “The ACL or firewall rules stored in the ACL memory 112b are updated in real-time according to information/instruction inputted from the IP/port check module 112a” [0062], “Therefore, the firewall 112 judges whether to allow or disallow passage of a received packet according to afore-mentioned ACL. Through this process, this embodiment of the invention enables dynamic network security using firewall” [0067], “upon receiving IP/port information from the VoIP ALG 111 interworking with the IP/port/protocol check module 112a, the ACL memory 112b updates such IP/port information in the ACL so that the IP/port information is stored and managed therein. Then, by using the updated ACL, the IP/port/protocol check module 112a can allow/disallow receipt of packets” [0075], “ALG 111 acquires…IP/port/protocol information when regenerating a signaling payload according to NAT/PT rule…and then transmits it to the IP/port/protocol check module 112a of the firewall 111” [0076], “Upon receiving the IP/port/protocol information for packet receipt allowance/disallowance provided from the VoIP ALG 111, the IP/port check module 112a of the firewall 112 sets the received IP/port/protocol information to be exempted from firewall rule application. That is, the IP/port/protocol information for packet receipt allowance/disallowance is updated in the ACL of the ACL memory 112b of the firewall 112 so that the information is stored and managed therein”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings described by Yeom into the invention of Dargis, and the motivation for such an implementation would be for the purpose of providing reliable firewall construction, overcoming restriction of firewall rule application, and providing convenience in operation and setting (Yeom [0012], [0014], [0098]).
Claim 4, Dargis-Yeom teaches:
wherein the first request comprises an external port identifier. (e.g., Dargis [0025])
Claim 5, Dargis-Yeom teaches:
wherein the updating of the access control list to include the external IP address comprises updating the access control list to include the external port identifier. (e.g., Dargis [0024], [0026])
Claim 6, Dargis-Yeom teaches:
wherein the performing of the action is further based on determining that a port included in the second request is included in the updated access control list. (e.g., Dargis [0023]-[0024], [0029])
Claim 9, Dargis-Yeom teaches:
wherein the external IP address was assigned to a client application by an edge component of the client network. (e.g., Yeom [0064], [0075]-[0076])
Same motivation as presented in claim 1 would apply.
Claim 10, Dargis-Yeom teaches:
wherein the external IP address was generated by the edge component using a network address translation (NAT) process. (e.g., Yeom [0064], [0075]-[0076])
Same motivation as presented in claim 1 would apply.
Claim 11, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 1 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 14, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 4 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 15, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 5 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 16, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 6 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 18, this claim is directed to a method containing similar limitations as recited in claim 1 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claims 2-3, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dargis (US 2011/0154469) in view of Yeom (US 2007/0192847) further in view of Birgisson et al. (US 2017/0220793).
Claim 2, Dargis-Yeom teaches the access token (see above) and does not appear to explicitly teach but Birgisson teaches:
an access token is restricted to being valid for only a limited period of time. (e.g., [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings described by Birgisson into the invention of Dargis-Yeom, and the motivation for such an implementation would be for the purpose of preventing replay attacks and protecting against security breaches in resource-constrained computing environments due to the limits on computing or storage resources that are available or when there is limited or unreliable network connectivity (Birgisson [0004]).
Claim 3, Dargis-Yeom teaches the access token (see above) and does not appear to explicitly teach but Birgisson teaches:
an access token is restricted to being valid for only a limited set of one or more geographical locations. (e.g., [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings described by Birgisson into the invention of Dargis-Yeom, and the motivation for such an implementation would be for the purpose of preventing replay attacks and protecting against security breaches in resource-constrained computing environments due to the limits on computing or storage resources that are available or when there is limited or unreliable network connectivity (Birgisson [0004]).
Claim 12, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 2 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 13, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 3 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 19, this claim is directed to a method containing similar limitations as recited in claim 2 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claim 20, this claim is directed to a method containing similar limitations as recited in claim 3 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Claims 7-8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dargis (US 2011/0154469) in view of Yeom (US 2007/0192847) further in view of Williams et al. (US 2023/0020193).
Claim 7, Dargis-Yeom teaches the obtaining of the authorization to update the access control list (see above) and does not appear to explicitly teach but Williams teaches:
performing a multi-factor authentication to confirm that an updating of the access control list is to be performed. (e.g., [0409]-[0410])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings described by Williams into the invention of Dargis-Yeom, and the motivation for such an implementation would be for the purpose of preventing malevolent actor or hacker attacks and providing failsafe measures that enhances the security and integrity of data items stored (Williams [0534]-[0535]).
Claim 8, Dargis-Yeom teaches the performing of the action (see above) and does not appear to explicitly teach but Williams teaches:
performing of an action is further based on a successful multi-factor authentication process. (e.g., [0414])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings described by Williams into the invention of Dargis-Yeom, and the motivation for such an implementation would be for the purpose of preventing malevolent actor or hacker attacks and providing failsafe measures that enhances the security and integrity of data items stored (Williams [0534]-[0535]).
Claim 17, this claim is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing similar limitations as recited in claim 7 and is rejected using the same rationale to combine the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 11,178,150 discloses methods for enforcing access control list based on managed application and devices thereof.
/AMIE C. LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436