DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Vulpillieres et al. US 2016/0340052.
Regarding claim 1, DV discloses an aircraft propulsion system, see title, comprising: an engine assembly 7 including a fan that rotates to move air to create thrust; a cowl that surrounds at least a portion of the engine assembly, 2, 4, 5, 6, the cowl including an outer surface arranged away from the engine assembly that provides an aerodynamic surface, see fig. 8, the nacelle has an outer aerodynamic structure shown as the radially outer surface for instance as element 13 of fig. 10, and a thrust reverser 10 connected to the cowl and configured to provide reverse thrust while in a reverse position, see fig. 4; wherein the thrust reverser includes a blocker door 10 and a blocker door hinge 16, the blocker door is connected to the blocker door hinge, see para. [0040], and the blocker door is configured to pivot around a hinge line between a forward position and a reverse position, see figs. 2-3, the blocker door hinge includes a spherical joint, labeled above, configured to connect the blocker door to the cowl via the hinge bolt, and the hinge line intersects with an axis of rotation of the spherical joint, the hinge line goes through the spherical joint shown in fig. 10.
Regarding claim 5, DV discloses the hinge bolt is not positioned along an axis that is parallel to the hinge line as show in annotated fig. 10 above.
Regarding claim 7, DV discloses the outer surface of the cowl forms a continuous circumference and the hinge bolt is arranged entirely within the outer surface. Referring to fig. 10, the outer surface of the cowl forms a continuous circumference at least at the trailing edge or the leading edge portion 2, and the hinge is entirely within the outer surface 13 as shown in fig. 10.
Regarding claim 8, DV discloses the hinge is displaced from an engine centerline. See fig. 10, the hinge is in the outer nacelle and thus radially spaced from the engine centerline axis.
Regarding claim 9, DV discloses the blocker door forms a curved panel and has a circumference that decreases from a forward end to an aft end along the engine centerline. See 4, the curved panel 18 can be seen in the deployed position with the forward end being larger than the aft end, the forward end is radially outward of the aft end in the deployed position.
Regarding claim 11, DV discloses the blocker door further comprises a controllable actuator that causes the blocker door to be rotated away from a central axis of the engine assembly to be positioned in the reverse position. See para. [0041], the doors are moved by an actuator.
Regarding claim 12, DV discloses a nozzle, wherein an entirety of a forward edge of the blocker door is in contact with the nozzle when the blocker door is in the forward position. See fig. 8, the fixed nozzle portion 11 is entirely in contact with the blocker doors 10 when in the closed position as shown in fig. 6.
Regarding claim 13, DV discloses an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a cowl that surrounds at least a portion of an engine assembly, the cowl including an outer surface configured to provide an aerodynamic surface and extending around the engine assembly, the cowl comprising: a nozzle comprising a fixed structure, and a thrust reverser positioned adjacent to the nozzle, the thrust reverser configured to move between a forward position and a reverse position, wherein the thrust reverser is connected to the cowl and includes a blocker door including a blocker door hinge, and the blocker door is configured to rotate about a hinge line between the forward position in which a forward edge of the blocker door is adjacent the nozzle and the reverse position in which the forward edge is moved away from the nozzle to provide a reverse thrust while in the reverse position, and the blocker door hinge includes a spherical joint connecting the blocker door to the cowl via a hinge bolt, the hinge bolt is positioned at an angle to the hinge line and the hinge line intersects an axis of rotation of the spherical joint. Referring to claim 1, 5 above, DV discloses all elements.
Regarding claim 14, DV discloses the angle of the hinge bolt to the hinge line is greater than zero degrees. Referring to annotated fig. 10 above, the hinge line and the hinge bolt are arranged at an angle greater than zero.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
At the outset, the Examiner is directing the Applicant to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.121. The Applicant may not strike claim limitations from the claim without providing the appropriate strike out. Failure to comply with the rules will result in non-compliant amendments.
The Applicant has struck from their claims, the limitation “the blocker door hinge includes a hinge bolt that is misaligned with the hinge line”. Given the change in scope, new prior art previously not applied is attached.
Additionally, the Examiner notes with regard to claim 13, the claim scope includes conventional thrust reversers since claim 14 clarifies the scope of claim 13 includes hinges bolts with zero angle difference to the hinge line. See for example Dubois US 4,960,243. The Applicant should consider a limitation defining the outer surface forming a continuous surface at an axial location where the hinge is located which appears to be the subject matter for which improvement is made on the cited prior art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741