DETAILED ACTION
The response of 21 April 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered. The amendments to the specification and to claim 7 are noted. In view thereof, the objection to claim 7 is withdrawn. With respect to the amendments to claims 1 and 14, it is noted that the amended language does not add any additional structure to the claim, i.e., it would not be feasible to disconnect the assembly until the connectors are disconnected, as the assembly would still, of course, be connected. The rejections will be maintained and made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 12, 14-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0337185 A1 (McLauchlan et al.).
As concerns claim 1, McLauchlan et al. discloses a method of completing a well, the method comprising: installing a lower completion 240 in the well by running the lower completion using a running string 220, the lower completion having a lower connection assembly 290, the running string having a running connection assembly connected to the lower completion (implicit in the work string, see 0021, 0024), the lower connection assembly comprising at least one lower connector 270, at least one lower control line (0026), and at least one downhole component (illustrated, 250, 255, 265), the at least one lower connector connected to the at least one lower control line, the at least one downhole component connected to the at least one lower control line, the running connection assembly having an electronic controller 280 connected to at least one running connector 285, the at least one running connector connected to the at least one lower connector (see figure 2 at 290); remotely communicating the electronic controller with the at least one downhole component via the at least one running connector and the at least one lower connector connecting the at least one running control line with the at least one lower control line (0025); removing the running string from the well by: remotely actuating the at least one running connector 285 with the electronic controller and moving the at least one running connector to unmate from the at least one lower connector 270; and disconnecting the running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly after the at least one running connector is unmated from the at least one lower connector; (this is the position shown in figure 3, and shows the running connection and equipment removed from the well, this would certainly not occur until after the connectors were “unmated” and installing an upper completion in the well by: running the upper completion in the well, the upper completion having at least one upper control line and an upper connection assembly 485, the upper connection assembly comprising at least one upper connector connected to the at least one upper control line; connecting the upper connection assembly to the lower connection assembly 270; and actuating the at least one upper connector and moving the at least one upper connector to mate with the at least one lower connector (this is shown moving from figure 4 to figure 5).
As concerns claim 2, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein remotely actuating the at least one running connector with the electronic controller and moving the at least one running connector to unmate from the at least one lower connector comprises: wirelessly telemetering a signal to the electronic controller; and actuating, with the electronic controller, at least one actuator of the running connection assembly to move the at least one running connector from a mated condition to an unmated condition with the at least one lower connector (this is merely a reversal of the connection procedure, wireless telemetry is discussed at 0030).
As concerns claim 4, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein remotely communicating
the electronic controller with the at least one downhole component comprises: interrogating the at least one
downhole component in a communication from the electronic controller; and obtaining a result at the electronic
controller in response to the communication (0015).
As concerns claim 5, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising wirelessly
telemetering the result from a telemetry unit of the electronic controller to surface (Id.).
As concerns claim 6, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 4, wherein interrogating the at least
one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises interrogating a sensor
connected to the at least one lower control line; and wherein obtaining the result comprises obtaining a reading
from the sensor (0012-0013).
As concerns claim 7, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 4, wherein interrogating the at least
one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises operating a control
valve connected to the at least one lower control line in a test operation; and wherein obtaining the result
comprises obtaining the result from test operation (see at least 0010).
As concerns claim 8, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein disconnecting the
running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly comprises disengaging a connection mechanism
of the running connection assembly from a profile of the lower connection assembly (this is merely reversing the
connection procedure, see figure 4 and figure 5).
As concerns claim 12, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein connecting the upper
connection assembly to the lower connection assembly comprises: axially engaging the upper connection assembly
on the lower connection assembly; radially engaging an upper alignment profile of the upper connection assembly to a lower alignment profile of the lower connection assembly; and aligning the at least one upper connector with
the at least one lower connector using the upper alignment profile and the lower alignment profile (see figure 4
and figure 5, the profiles of the upper and lower connectors can be seen, although not separately referenced).
As concerns claim 14, McLauchlan et al. discloses a method of completing a well, the method comprising: installing a lower completion 240 in the well using a running connection assembly of a running string 220 connected to a lower connection assembly 290 of the lower completion; remotely communicating an electronic controller 280 on the running string with at least one downhole component of the lower completion via at least one running connector of the running connection assembly in a mated condition with at least one lower connector of the lower connection assembly (0025-0026, figure 4, figure 5); and removing the running string from the well by: remotely actuating, with the electronic controller, at least one actuator on the running connection assembly 290 to move the at least one running connector 285 from the mated condition to an unmated condition with the at least one lower connector 270; and disconnecting the running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly after the at least one running connector is in the unmated condition from the at least one lower connector (this is the position shown in figure 3, and would occur once the connectors 285 and 270 are “unmated”).
As concerns claim 15, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising installing an upper completion in the well by: running the upper completion in the well; connecting an upper connection assembly 490 of the upper completion to the lower connection assembly of the lower completion; and actuating at least one upper connector of the upper connection assembly by moving the at least one upper connector 485 to mate with the at least one lower connector 270.
As concerns claim 18, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein remotely
communicating the electronic controller with the at least one downhole component comprises: interrogating the
at least one downhole component in a communication from the electronic controller; obtaining a result at the
electronic controller in response to the communication; and wirelessly telemetering the result from a telemetry
unit of the electronic controller to surface (0010, 0015).
As concerns claim 19, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 18, wherein at least one of: the at
least one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises interrogating a
sensor on the lower completion, and obtaining the result comprises obtaining a reading from the sensor; and interrogating the at least one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller
comprises operating a control valve of the lower completion in a test operation; and wherein obtaining the result
comprises obtaining the result from the test operation (0010, 0015).
As concerns claim 20, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein disconnecting the
running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly comprises disengaging a connection mechanism
of the running connection assembly from a profile of the lower connection assembly (this is simply a reversal of the connection procedure, see figure 4 and figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9-11, 13 and 16-17 were previously identified as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/JAMES G SAYRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672