DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A Method of Completing a Well.
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, “the” should be inserted before “test”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 12, 14-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0337185 (McLauchlan et al.).
As concerns claim 1, McLauchlan et al. discloses a method of completing a well, the method comprising: installing a lower completion 240 in the well by running the lower completion using a running string 220, the lower completion having a lower connection assembly 290, the running string having a running connection assembly connected to the lower completion (implicit, as it is a work string, see, e.g., 0021, 0024), the lower connection assembly comprising at least one lower connector 270, at least one lower control line (not separately referenced, see 0026), and at least one downhole component (0022, may be flow control devices, 250, sensors 255, and/or packers 2699/265), the at least one lower connector connected to the at least one lower control line (0015, 0026), the at least one downhole component connected to the at least one lower control line, the running connection assembly having an electronic controller 280 connected to at least one running connector, the at least one running connector connected to the at least one lower connector (figure 2); remotely communicating the electronic controller with the at least one downhole component via the at least one running connector and the at least one lower connector connecting the at least one running control line with the at least one lower control line (0025); removing the running string from the well by: remotely actuating the at least one running connector with the electronic controller to unmate from the at least one lower connector (see paragraphs 0025-0028, wherein the flow control devices 250 are located in 280, and when the close the running tool is retrieved); and disconnecting the running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly (0028); and installing an upper completion 410 in the well by: running the upper completion in the well (figure 4 and figure 5), the upper completion having at least one upper control line and an upper connection assembly 590, the upper connection assembly comprising at least one upper connector 485 connected to the at least one upper control line (not separately referenced); connecting the upper connection assembly to the lower connection assembly (see figures 4 and 5); and actuating the at least one upper connector to mate with the at least one lower connector (0030).
As concerns claim 2, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein remotely actuating the at least one running connector with the electronic controller to unmate from the at least one lower connector comprises: wirelessly telemetering a signal to the electronic controller; and actuating, with the electronic controller, at least one actuator of the running connection assembly to move the at least one running connector from a mated condition to an unmated condition with the at least one lower connector (this would merely be a reversal of the connection procedure, wireless telemetry is disclosed at least at 0030).
As concerns claim 4, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein remotely communicating the electronic controller with the at least one downhole component comprises: interrogating the at least one downhole component in a communication from the electronic controller; and obtaining a result at the electronic controller in response to the communication (0015).
As concerns claim 5, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising wirelessly telemetering the result from a telemetry unit of the electronic controller to surface (Id.).
As concerns claim 6, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 4, wherein interrogating the at least one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises interrogating a sensor connected to the at least one lower control line; and wherein obtaining the result comprises obtaining a reading from the sensor (0012-0013).
As concerns claim 7, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 4, wherein interrogating the at least one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises operating a control valve connected to the at least one lower control line in a test operation; and wherein obtaining the result comprises obtaining the result from test operation (see at least 0010).
As concerns claim 8, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein disconnecting the running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly comprises disengaging a connection mechanism of the running connection assembly from a profile of the lower connection assembly (this is merely reversing the connection procedure, see figure 4 and figure 5).
As concerns claim 12, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein connecting the upper connection assembly to the lower connection assembly comprises: axially engaging the upper connection assembly on the lower connection assembly; radially engaging an upper alignment profile of the upper connection assembly to a lower alignment profile of the lower connection assembly; and aligning the at least one upper connector with the at least one lower connector using the upper alignment profile and the lower alignment profile (see figure 4 and figure 5, the profiles of the upper and lower connectors can be seen, although not separately referenced).
As concerns claim 14, McLauchlan et al. discloses a method of completing a well, the method comprising: installing a lower completion 240 in the well using a running connection assembly of a running string 220 connected to a lower connection assembly 290 of the lower completion; remotely communicating an electronic controller 280 on the running string with at least one downhole component of the lower completion via at least one running connector of the running connection assembly in a mated condition with at least one lower connector of the lower connection assembly (0025-0026, figure 4 and figure 5); and removing the running string from the well by: remotely actuating, with the electronic controller, at least one actuator on the running connection assembly to move the at least one running connector from the mated condition to an unmated condition with the at least one lower connector; and disconnecting the running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly (0027-0028, the examiner notes that this is a mere reversal of the connection steps, see figure 4 and figure 5).
As concerns claim 15, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising installing an upper completion in the well by: running the upper completion 410 in the well; connecting an upper connection assembly of the upper completion to the lower connection assembly of the lower completion (via connection assembly 590); and actuating at least one upper connector of the upper connection assembly to mate with the at least one lower connector (figure 4 and figure 5).
As concerns claim 18, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein remotely communicating the electronic controller with the at least one downhole component comprises: interrogating the at least one downhole component in a communication from the electronic controller; obtaining a result at the electronic controller in response to the communication; and wirelessly telemetering the result from a telemetry unit of the electronic controller to surface (0010, 0015).
As concerns claim 19, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 18, wherein at least one of: the at least one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises interrogating a sensor on the lower completion, and obtaining the result comprises obtaining a reading from the sensor; and interrogating the at least one downhole component in the communication from the electronic controller comprises operating a control valve of the lower completion in a test operation; and wherein obtaining the result comprises obtaining the result from the test operation (0010, 0015).
As concerns claim 20, McLauchlan et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein disconnecting the running connection assembly from the lower connection assembly comprises disengaging a connection mechanism of the running connection assembly from a profile of the lower connection assembly (this is simply a reversal of the connection procedure, see figure 4 and figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9-11, 13 and 16-17 are objected to as depending from rejected base claims, but may be allowable if rewritten into independent form or incorporated including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims, as the claimed features are not disclosed, taught or suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES G SAYRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679