DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 4/18/2025 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiang et al. [US 2018/0314636].
Claim 1, Qiang et al. discloses a controller of a storage system, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory [par. 0015, 0030, 0031; processor 402, memory 408 running software instructions], wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: power on the memory, based on the storage system entering a wake-up mode [par. 0004, 0020; performing a power cycle, power up operation, recovering from a sleep command]; restore first data by using a header of the first data stored in the memory [par. 0020; during the next power up operation, a track erased caused by a power cycle may be recovered from a copy of a pre stored used band data in the MSP 106. Headers and footers in the MSP may be used to identify the corresponding user band ID during a power up operation. The user band data 126 represents the claimed first data and the MSP header 122 is used to identify and restore it.]; and control the storage system using the first data [par. 0020 and 0023; wherein writing restored data back to the disk tracks to repair an error constitutes the act of operating or controlling the storage system].
Claim 2, Qiang et al. discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: restore second data by decompressing compressed second data stored in the memory [par. 0011; wherein overlapping tracks to increase density in conceptually a form of compression of the disk space and reading it back and rewriting it is a form of decompressing it].
Claim 3, Qiang et al. discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the header of the first data comprises a memory address of the first data and a size of the first data [par. 0020 wherein a user band ID acts as a memory address since it identifies where the data belongs and a band or track has a fixed known physical size].
Claim 4, Qiang et al. discloses the controller of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: load the first data stored in the memory address from another memory of the storage system according to the header of the first data [par. 0019 and 0020 wherein the system describes moving data between the user band 120 and the media scratch pad 106].
Claims 7-10 and 13-16 are rejected using the same rationale as that of claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 11-12, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiang et al. [US 2018/0314636] in view of Buer [US 2006/0090084]
Claim 5, Qiang et al. discloses the controller of claim 1 but does not teach the first data is instruction-tightly- coupled memory (l-TCM) data. Buer discloses the use of instruction-tightly-coupled memory for the storage of data [par. 0080-0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use I-TCM for the storage of instructions because it acts as a dedicated, ultra fast VIP connection straight to the processor, thus ensuring that the drive’s code runs instantly without getting stuck in computer traffic.
Claim 6, Qiang et al. discloses the controller of claim 2 but does not teach the second data is data-tightly-coupled memory (D-TCM) data. Buer discloses the use of data-tightly-coupled memory for the storage of data [par. 0080-0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use D-TCM for the storage of the second data because it gives the processor a lightning fast private workspace to quickly unpack and read heavy data tables without slowing down the rest of the storage system.
Claims 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected using the same rationale as claims 5-6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Faulhaber et al. [US 2015/0100820]; Protecting Volatile Data of a Sotage Device in Response to a State Reset. See Claim 17.
/MIDYS ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133