Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 06/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, and 6 have been amended. Claims 15-17 have been added. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application. Objection to claims 1-17 and objection to title are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JANG (US 20210200407 A1) in view of HAN (US 20210193754 A1) and further in view of YANG (US 20200159350 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3; substrate 111);
a plurality of transistors (Fig. 3; transistor 130) disposed on the substrate (substrate 111);
a plurality of light emitting elements (Fig. 3; light emitting elements 120) disposed in an active area (active area AA);
a connection electrode connected to one of the plurality of transistors and one of the plurality of light emitting elements (Fig. 3; connection electrode connected the drain electrode 138 of the transistor 130 and the anode 122 of the light emitting element 120);
an encapsulation layer (Fig. 3; encapsulation layer 140) disposed on the plurality of light emitting elements (light emitting elements 120);
a touch buffer layer (Fig. 3; buffer layer 148) disposed on the encapsulation layer (encapsulation layer 140);
a touch sensing structure, wherein at least a portion of the touch sensing structure (Figs. 2-3; touch sensing structure includes a plurality of touch electrodes 152 and 154) is disposed on the touch buffer layer (buffer layer 148), and wherein the touch sensing structure includes a plurality of touch electrodes (Figs. 2-3; touch sensing structure includes a plurality of touch electrodes 152 and 154);
a touch pad (Figs. 2-3; touch pad 170) disposed in a non-active area (non-active area NA) and configured for electrical connection to the plurality of touch electrodes (touch electrodes 152 and 154); and
a plurality of touch link lines (Figs. 2-3; routing lines 160) connecting the touch pad (touch pad 170) and the plurality of touch electrodes (touch electrodes 152 and 154) and disposed in the non-active area (non-active area NA), wherein:
the plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 2; touch electrodes 152 and 154) are disposed along one direction (X-direction or row direction);
the plurality of touch link lines includes first touch link lines (Fig. 2; first routing lines 160 connected to touch pad through center region of non-active area NA, or first routing lines 160 connected to touch electrodes 154e) and second touch link lines (Fig. 2; second routing lines 160 connected to touch pad through side or corner region of non-active area NA, or first routing lines 160 connected to touch electrodes 152e);
at least a portion of at least one first touch link line among the first touch link lines includes a zigzag shape (Figs. 6-7; a portion of first routing lines 160 has a zigzag shape);
the plurality of touch link lines includes a first layer, a second layer and a third layer (Figs. 8B and 11-12; first routing lines 160 having a three layer structure).
JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses a substrate (substrate 111), but does not disclose including a first polyimide substrate, an interlayer insulating layer and a second polyimide substrate. However, HAN (e.g., Figs. 1 and 5-7) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by JANG, comprising: an OLED display panel (e.g., Fig. 5) and a touch sensor (e.g., Fig. 6). HAN (e.g., Figs. 1 and 5-7) discloses the display device comprising: a substrate (Fig. 5 and [0060]; substrate 101) including a first polyimide substrate (polyimide substrate 101a), an interlayer insulating layer (insulating layer 101b) and a second polyimide substrate (polyimide substrate 101c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the substrate as taught by HAN to the display device of JANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display substrate with high-temperature resistance, superior flexibility, and high dielectric strength.
JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) also discloses a touch pad (touch pad 170), but does not disclose a plurality of touch pads. In addition, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses the plurality of touch link lines including a first layer, a second layer and a third layer (Figs. 8B and 11-12; multi-layered structure); but does not disclose a width of the first layer is greater than a width of the third layer. However, YANG (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by JANG, comprising: an OLED display panel (e.g., Fig. 4) and a touch sensor (e.g., Fig. 5). YANG (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7) discloses the display device comprising:
a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 5; touch electrodes TE) are disposed along one direction (X-direction or row direction);
a plurality of touch pads (Fig. 5; touch pad TP) disposed in a non-active area (non-active area NDA);
the plurality of touch pads (Fig. 5; touch pad TP) are disposed along the one direction (X-direction or row direction);
a plurality of touch link lines (Fig. 5; routing lines TL and RL) connecting the plurality of touch pads the touch pad (touch pad TP) and the plurality of touch electrodes (touch electrodes TE).
YANG (Figs. 16 and 19-20, Fig. 20 is reproduced for reference) further discloses
the plurality of touch link lines include a first layer, a second layer and a third layer (Figs. 16 and 19-20 show routing lines TL/RL have a multi-layered structure, e.g., Fig. 20 shows the routing line TL including a first layer TSL4-1, a second layer TSL4-2, and a third layer TSL3);
a width of the first layer is greater than a width of the third layer (e.g., Fig. 20, first layer TSL4-1 has a width W11, third layer TSL3 has a width W10, W11>W10), and
each of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer is conductive ([0186], [0191], [0201], and [0205]; TL21 is formed of metal conductive material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching YANG to the display device of JANG in view of HAN. The combination/motivation would be to provide touch pads and routing lines to a touch sensor for electrical connection and signal transmission.
Regarding claim 2, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, YANG (e.g., Figs. 4-5 and 7) discloses wherein: the plurality of touch link lines have trapezoidal shapes (e.g., Figs. 16 and 20; routing lines TL/RL have trapezoidal shapes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching YANG to the display device of JANG in view of HAN for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 4, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses wherein: the first touch link lines correspond to a central portion of the non-active area (Fig. 2; first routing lines 160 connected to touch pad through center region of non-active area NA), and the second touch link lines correspond to a corner portion of the non-active area (Fig. 2; second routing lines 160 connected to touch pad through corner region of non-active area NA).
Regarding claim 5, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses wherein: the first touch link lines include a region of a first width in another direction different from the one direction in a region corresponding to a region where the zigzag shape is arranged (Figs. 6-7; a portion of first routing line 60 having a zigzag shape has a width in Y- direction); and the second touch link lines include a region of a second width with respect to the another direction (Figs. 6-7; a portion of second routing line 60 having a zigzag shape has a width in Y- direction).
Regarding claim 6, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses wherein: a region of the first touch link lines having a first width and the region of the second touch link lines having a second width are arranged side by side with respect to the one direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7; first routing lines 160 in a region C1 with a width and second routing lines 160 in a region C2 with a width); the region of the first width and the region of the second width are arranged between a ground line and the plurality of touch electrodes in another direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7; in Y direction, regions C1 and C2 are arranged between a base line defined by the edge of substrate 111 and the touch electrodes); the second touch link lines arranged in the region of the second width extend in the one direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7; second routing lines 160 are arranged in a region C2 in Y direction); and the number of the first touch link lines arranged in the region of the first width is less than the number of the second touch link lines arranged in the region of the second width (e.g., 2 and Figs. 6-7; a number of first routing lines 160 connected to touch pad through center region is less than a number of second routing lines 160 connected to touch pad through side region).
Regarding claim 8, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses wherein: a resistance of the first touch link lines is same as a resistance of the second touch link lines (Abstract, [0002], [0007], [0075]-[0076], [0080], and [0088]; routing lines 160 have same resistance).
Regarding claim 9, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses wherein: the zigzag shape includes a plurality of contiguous segments (e.g., Figs. 6-7, Fig. 7B is reproduced for reference); the plurality of contiguous segments include: a first contiguous segment (segment S1); a second contiguous segment (segment S2) directly adjacent to the first contiguous segment (segment S1); and a third contiguous segment (segment S3) directly adjacent to the second contiguous segment (segment S2); at least a portion of the first contiguous segment (segment S1) and at least a portion of the third contiguous segment (segment S3) extend along the one direction (X direction) and overlap each other with respect to another direction (Y direction); and the another direction (X direction) is different from the one direction (Y direction).
Annotated version of JANG’s Fig. 7B
Regarding claim 10, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 9, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8, Fig. 7B is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein: at least a portion of the second contiguous segment (segment S2) extends along the another direction (Y direction).
Regarding claim 11, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 9, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8, Fig. 7B is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein: the plurality of contiguous segments further include: a fourth contiguous segment (segment S4) directly adjacent to the third contiguous segment (segment S3); and a fifth contiguous segment (segment S5) directly adjacent to the fourth contiguous segment (segment S4); and the at least a portion of the third contiguous segment (segment S3) and at least a portion of the fifth contiguous segment (segment S5) extend along the one direction (X direction) and overlap each other with respect to the another direction (Y direction).
Regarding claim 12, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG ‘350 discloses the display device of claim 11, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8, Fig. 7B is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein: at least a portion of the second contiguous segment (segment S4) extends along the another direction (Y direction); and at least a portion of the fourth contiguous segment (segment S4) extends along the another direction (Y direction).
Regarding claim 13, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses further comprising: a bending area (Figs. 2-3; bending area BA) between the touch pad (Figs. 2-3; touch pad 170) and the touch sensing structure (Figs. 2-3; touch electrodes 152 and 154). JANG discloses a touch pad (touch pad 170), but does not disclose a plurality of touch pads. However, YANG discloses a plurality of touch pads (Fig. 5; touch pads TP). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching YANG to the display device of JANG in view of HAN for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 14, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 13, JANG (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) discloses wherein: the plurality of touch link lines (Figs. 2-3; routing lines 160) disposes on the bending area (Figs. 2-3; bending area BA), and the plurality of touch link lines (Figs. 2-3; routing lines 160) is connected to the touch pad (Figs. 2-3; touch pad 170) and the touch sensing structure (Figs. 2-3; touch electrodes 152 and 154). JANG discloses a touch pad (touch pad 170), but does not disclose a plurality of touch pads. However, YANG discloses a plurality of touch pads (Fig. 5; touch pads TP). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching YANG to the display device of JANG in view of HAN for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 15, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, YANG (e.g., Figs. 4-5, 7, 16 and 19-20, Fig. 20 is reproduced on page 6 for reference) discloses wherein the second layer (layer TSL4-2) is disposed on the first layer (layer TSL4-1), and the third layer (layer TSL3) is disposed on the second layer (layer TSL4-2).
Regarding claim 16, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, YANG (e.g., Figs. 4-5, 7, 16, and 19-20, Fig. 20 is reproduced on page 6 for reference) discloses wherein the second layer (layer TSL4-2) is disposed directly on the first layer (layer TSL4-1), and the third layer (layer TSL3) is disposed directly on the second layer (layer TSL4-2).
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JANG (US 20210200407 A1) in view of HAN (US 20210193754 A1) and YANG (US 20200159350 A1) and further in view of BAEK (US 20190196619 A1).
Regarding claim 7, JANG in view of HAN and further in view of YANG discloses the display device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein: the second touch link lines do not have the zigzag shape. However, BAEK (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 9) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by JANG, wherein: the second touch link lines do not have the zigzag shape (Figs. 6 and 9; routing lines SL do not have zigzag shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching BAEK to the touch display device of JANG in view of HAN and YANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide alternative routing line arrangement for a touch sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 3 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display device including a touch sensor. The closet prior arts, JANG (US 20210200407 A1), HAN (US 20210193754 A1), YANG (US 20200159350 A1), and BAEK (US 20190196619 A1), individually or in combination, discloses a display device, comprising: a substrate including a first polyimide substrate, an interlayer insulating layer and a second polyimide substrate; a plurality of transistors disposed on the substrate; a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in an active area; a connection electrode connected to one of the plurality of transistors and one of the plurality of light emitting elements; an encapsulation layer disposed on the plurality of light emitting elements; a touch buffer layer disposed on the encapsulation layer; a touch sensing structure, wherein at least a portion of the touch sensing structure is disposed on the touch buffer layer, and wherein the touch sensing structure includes a plurality of touch electrodes; a plurality of touch pads disposed in a non-active area and configured for electrical connection to the plurality of touch electrodes; and a plurality of touch link lines connecting the plurality of touch pads and the plurality of touch electrodes and disposed in the non-active area, wherein: the plurality of touch electrodes are disposed along one direction; the plurality of touch pads are disposed along the one direction; the plurality of touch link lines includes first touch link lines and second touch link lines; at least a portion of at least one first touch link line among the first touch link lines includes a zigzag shape; the plurality of touch link lines include a first layer, a second layer and a third layer; a width of the first layer is greater than a width of the third layer; and each of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer is conductive, but fails to teach wherein: a height of each of the first and third layers is less than a height of the second layer and wherein: the width of the first layer is same as a width of a lower surface of the second layer; and the width of the third layer is same as a width of an upper surface of the second layer.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
8. Applicant has amended claim 1. Applicant further argues that the cited references do not disclose the new limitations of amended claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. YANG (Fig. 20 is reproduced for reference) discloses the routing line TL including a first layer TSL4-1, a second layer TSL4-2, and a third layer TSL3; the first layer TSL4-1 has a width W11, third layer TSL3 has a width W10, and W11>W10, and each of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer is formed of metal conductive material ([0186], [0191], [0201], and [0205]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623