DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 4/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, and 21 have been amended. Claims 2-8 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1 and 9-28 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
The objections to the Drawings have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejections of Claims 9-14 and 21-26 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/21/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-20, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mrakovich (US 2006/0028837) in view of Taguwa et al. (US 2021/0387445, hereinafter “Taguwa”). The teachings of Mrakovich have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 1, Mrakovich discloses a method of making a neon-replica LED lighting system (a method of forming an LED system that simulates bare or exposed neon in appearance and performance; see Figs. 1a-2; Abstract; para. [0007], [0027]) comprising disposing a flexible diffuser sleeve over a flexible LED light engine (sections of an LED light engine 50 are overmolded with a thermoplastic 72 which can be flexible, to provide weather resistance, the thermoplastic being clear and having an index of refraction similar to that of epoxy used to mount LEDs 54 and that of the light guide 20 that surrounds the LED light engine, and the entire LED light engine can be co-extruded into a continuous profile of flexible thermoplastic material 74, all of which can only occur prior to the insertion of the LED light engine 50 into light pipe 20; see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0018]-[0019]); disposing a rigid non-glass translucent tube over the flexible diffuser sleeve and the flexible LED light engine (light pipe 20 is a rigid but formable rod 32 comprising an optically clear base material 22 with good transmission, a second layer made of diffusing material 24, and another layer of optically clear material 62 over the optically diffuse layer, the tube 32 comprising a groove 30 into which both the flexible LED light engines 50 and their flexible diffuser sleeves 72 are inserted; see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0007], [0013]-[0020], [0027]); heating at least a portion of the rigid non-glass translucent tube to its glass transition temperature to make at least portion of it pliable (the tube 20 is a rigid but formable rod 32 made of layers having similar glass transition temperatures and which can be heated and formed into a desired shape and retain the desired shape after cooling without losing the original properties of the material; see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0007], [0013]-[0014], [0027]); and shaping at least a portion of the pliable non-glass translucent tube while heated, wherein the pliable non-glass translucent tube returns to rigidity when cooled (the tube 20 is a rigid but formable rod 32 made of layers having similar glass transition temperatures and which can be heated and formed into a desired shape and retain the desired shape after cooling without losing the original properties of the material; see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0007], [0013]-[0014], [0027]); and wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degre beam angle (the LED light engine 50 is co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite directions to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation to produce the rigid non-glass translucent tube.
Taguwa teaches a method of making a thermoplastic resin laminate suitable for optical applications of transparent materials (see Abstract; para. [0003]-[0005], [0010]-[0015]), comprising dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation to produce a rigid non-glass translucent layer (a first layer comprising a thermoplastic resin comprising a material other than amorphous polyester resin including a polycarbonate resin and a polyacrylate (i.e. acrylic) resin, and contains various additives generally used which are added to the resin during the formation process including a light diffusing agent and a stain pigment added prior to the materials being mixed together, which are dissolved by melting during a melting extrusion process, thereby producing a colored transparent or translucent layer; see para. [0017], [0042], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0084]-[0086]).
Therefore, in view of Taguwa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mrakovich by dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation to produce the rigid non-glass translucent tube. One would have been motivated to modify the known method of Mrakovich by dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation to produce the rigid non-glass translucent tube, according to the methods taught by Taguwa, in order to improve the strength of the rigid non-glass translucent tube since acrylic materials are notoriously well-known for their transparency, elasticity, and resistance to breakage, and additionally in order to enable the LED lighting system produced by the method to produce neon-replica lighting of different colors rather than only the color of light emitted by the LEDs themselves.
Regarding claim 15, Mrakovich teaches wherein the flexible LED light engine comprises a double-sided LED strip light comprising a double-sided flexible substrate; a first plurality of LEDs disposed on a first side of the double-sided flexible substrate; and a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a second side of the double-sided flexible substrate, wherein the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are facing in opposing directions (the LED light engine 50 includes LEDs 54 placed on a flexible circuit board or substrate, and can be co-extruded with the LEDs facing in opposing directions to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle, which means that the LEDs must be placed on opposite first and second sides of a double-sided flexible substrate; see para. [0018], [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of LEDs are single-color LEDs (the LEDs can have different or the same color to achieve desired visual effects; see par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 17, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of LEDs are multi-color LEDs (the LEDs can have different or the same color to achieve desired visual effects; see par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Mrakovich teaches wherein the double-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs and a second flexible phosphor layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (a phosphor layer can be created by adding phosphor to the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20, the diffuse layer having properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, or provided as a separate layer 80, and the LED light engine 50 can be co-extruded in the center of the light guide 20 with the LEDs 54 facing in opposing directions, which means that the portion of the phosphor layer 80 (or diffuse layer 24 containing phosphor) which faces the LEDs on one side of the LED light engine is a first flexible phosphor layer and the portion of the phosphor layer 80 (or diffuse layer 24 containing phosphor) which faces the LEDs on the opposite side of the LED light engine is a second flexible phosphor layer; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022], [0024]).
Regarding claim 19, Mrakovich teaches wherein the double-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs and a second flexible diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20 has properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, and the LED light engine 50 can be co-extruded in the center of the light guide 20 with the LEDs 54 facing in opposing directions, which means that the portion of the flexible diffuse layer 24 which faces the LEDs on one side of the LED light engine is a first flexible diffuser layer and the portion of the flexible diffuse layer 24 which faces the LEDs on the opposite side of the LED light engine is a second flexible diffuser layer; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022], [0024]), wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degree beam angle (the LED light engine 50 could be co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite direction to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Mrakovich teaches wherein the double-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs and a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (a phosphor layer can be created by adding phosphor to the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20, the diffuse layer having properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, and the LED light engine 50 can be co-extruded in the center of the light guide 20 with the LEDs 54 facing in opposing directions, which means that the portion of the diffuse phosphor layer 24 which faces the LEDs on one side of the LED light engine is a first flexible phosphor and diffuser layer and the portion of the diffuse phosphor layer 24 which faces the LEDs on the opposite side of the LED light engine as a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022], [0024]), wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degree beam angle (the LED light engine 50 could be co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite direction to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
Regarding claim 27, Mrakovich teaches wherein the heating comprises using a heat gun, strip heater, or oven to heat a portion of the rigid non-glass translucent tube for shaping (the rod 32 which forms the tube 20 is thermoformed into a desired shape using commonly available tools or equipment such as a PVC heating blanket, a heat gun, or a PVC heating box; see par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 28, Mrakovich teaches wherein the shaping comprises using a forming jig and one or more jigs or a recessed forming board to create one or more aesthetic arcuate bends in the pliable non-glass translucent tube (after heating, the rod 32 which forms the tube 20 can be either free formed or placed in a template of the desired shape, so that upon cooling the rod will retain the desired shape as well as the original cross-sectional shape and material properties as a curvilinear LED light source; see para. [0027]-[0028]).
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mrakovich (US 2006/0028837) in view of Steele et al. (US 2017/0138543, previously listed on the three IDS statements filed 11/22/2025, hereinafter “Steele”). The teachings of Mrakovich have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, Mrakovich teaches the method further comprising making a flexible LED light engine comprising arranging a first single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a first flexible substrate (flexible LED light engine 50 has LEDs 54 disposed thereon; see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0007], [0016]-[0020], [0027]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest the flexible LED light engine comprises a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate in a back-to-back arrangement with the first single-sided LED strip light, wherein the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are facing in opposing directions, and binding the first single-sided LED strip light to the second single-sided LED strip light in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve.
Steele teaches a flexible LED light engine (see Fig. 15; Abstract; para. [0109]-[0112]) comprising a first single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a first flexible substrate (LEDs 22 are disposed on a flexible substrate 64; see Fig. 15; Abstract; para. [0109]-[0111], [0173]) and a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate in a back-to-back arrangement (LEDs 22 are also disposed on another flexible substrate 66 which is arranged back-to-back with the first flexible substrate 64; see Fig. 15; Abstract; para. [0109]-[0111], [0173]), wherein the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are facing in opposing directions (as shown in Fig. 15), and the first single-sided LED strip light is bound to the second single-sided LED strip light in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve (the flexible light strips/sheets are affixed to opposite sides of a middle reflective layer 130 using a thin layer of thermally conductive silicone or other thermally conductive adhesive, such that the middle reflective layer forms a flexible binder sleeve holding the two flexible substrates 64 and 66 together back-to-back; see Fig. 15; para. [0109]-[0110], [0173]).
Therefore, in view of Steele, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mrakovich by making the flexible LED light engine with a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate in a back-to-back arrangement with the first single-sided LED strip light, wherein the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are facing in opposing directions, and binding the first single-sided LED strip light to the second single-sided LED strip light in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve. One would have been motivated to modify the known method of Mrakovich by making the flexible LED light engine with a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate in a back-to-back arrangement with the first single-sided LED strip light, wherein the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are facing in opposing directions, and binding the first single-sided LED strip light to the second single-sided LED strip light in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve, as taught by Steele, in order to provide an alternate method of achieving a 360 degree viewing angle with a more modular light strip design.
Regarding claim 10, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of LEDs are single-color LEDs (the LEDs can have different or the same color to achieve desired visual effects; see par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of LEDs are multi-color LEDs (the LEDs can have different or the same color to achieve desired visual effects; see par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 12, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs (a phosphor layer can be created by adding phosphor to the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20, the diffuse layer having properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, or provided as a separate layer 80 over the LED light engine 50; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the second single-sided LED strip light further comprises a second flexible phosphor layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs.
Steele further teaches wherein the first single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs, and the second single-sided LED strip light further comprises a second flexible phosphor layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (phosphors 132 are disposed over the first plurality of LEDs 22 on the first substrate 64 and over the second plurality of LEDs 22 on the second substrate 66; see Fig. 15; par. [0109]).
Therefore, in view of Steele, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Mrakovich by disposing a second flexible phosphor layer over the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to further modify the known method of Mrakovich by disposing a second flexible phosphor layer over the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light, as taught by Steele, in order to ensure the light emitted by the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light undergoes wavelength conversion to be emitted at a desired wavelength similar to the first plurality of LEDs and thus ensure an even color distribution on both opposite sides.
Regarding claim 13, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first single-sided LED strip light further comprises first flexible diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs (the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20 has properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, the diffuse layer being disposed over the LED light engine 50; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022]), and wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degree beam angle (the LED light engine 50 could be co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite directions to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the second single-sided LED strip light further comprises a second flexible diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs.
Steele further teaches wherein the first single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs, wherein the second single-sided LED strip light further comprises a second flexible diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (lenses 136 are disposed over the plurality of LEDs 22 on the first substrate 64 and over the second plurality of LEDs 22 on the second substrate 66; see Fig. 15; par. [0109]), and wherein the flexible LED light engine has a 360 degree beam angle (LEDs 22 are disposed on opposing substrates 64 and 66 facing in opposite directions to emit light in opposite directions and thus achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see Fig. 15; para. [0109]-[0111]).
Therefore, in view of Steele, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Mrakovich by disposing a second flexible diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to further modify the known method of Mrakovich by disposing a second flexible diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light, as taught by Steele, in order to ensure the light emitted by the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light is diffused in a manner similar to the light emitted by the first plurality of LEDs and thus ensure an even light distribution on both opposite sides.
Regarding claim 14, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs (a phosphor layer can be created by adding phosphor to the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20, the diffuse layer having properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, the diffuse phosphor layer being disposed over the LED light engine 50; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022]), and wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degree beam angle (the LED light engine 50 could be co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite directions to achieve a 360-degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the second single-sided LED strip light further comprises a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs.
Steele further teaches wherein the first single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs, wherein the second single-sided LED strip light further comprises a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (phosphors 132 and lenses 136 are disposed over the first plurality of LEDs 22 on the first substrate 64 and the second plurality of LEDs 22 on the second substrate 66; see Fig. 15; par. [0109]), and wherein the flexible LED light engine has a 360-degree viewing angle (LEDs 22 are disposed on opposing substrates 64 and 66 facing in opposite directions to emit light in opposite directions and thus achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see Fig. 15; para. [0109]-[0111]).
Therefore, in view of Steele, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Mrakovich by disposing a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to further modify the known method of Mrakovich by disposing a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light, as taught by Steele, in order to ensure the light emitted by the second plurality of LEDs on the second single-sided LED strip light undergoes wavelength conversion and is diffused to be emitted at a desired color wavelength similar to the first plurality of LEDs and thus ensure an even color and light distribution on both opposite sides.
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mrakovich (US 2006/0028837) in view of Heijmans et al. (US 2024/0183501, previously listed on the three IDS statements filed 11/22/2025, hereinafter “Heijmans”). The teachings of Mrakovich have been discussed above.
However, regarding claim 21, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest the method further comprises making the flexible LED light engine by folding a single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row disposed on a left side of a single side of a flexible substrate and a second plurality of LEDs arranged in a second row disposed on a right side of the single side of the flexible substrate along a longitudinal bend line such that the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are in a back-to-back arrangement and facing in opposing directions, and binding the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve.
Heijmans teaches a method of making a flexible LED light engine (single sided LED filament 1100 (also referred to as LED filament 1000); see Fig. 1c; Abstract; para. [0167]-[0168]), comprising folding a single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row disposed on a left side of a single side of a flexible substrate and a second plurality of LEDs arranged in a second row disposed on a right side of the single side of the flexible substrate along a longitudinal bend line such that the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are in a back-to-back arrangement and facing in opposing directions (a plurality of sources of light 100 including second sources of light 120 (i.e. a first plurality of LEDs) are disposed in a row on a left side of a flexible support 1115, and additional sources of light including third sources of light 130, fourth sources of light 140, and fifth sources of light 150 (i.e. a second plurality of LEDs) are disposed in rows to the right of the first plurality of LEDs 120 on opposite sides of a line about which the support substrate is folded in half longitudinally, so that the first plurality of LEDs 120 are disposed on a first LED filament side 1110 facing opposite to a second LED filament side 1120 containing the second plurality of LEDs 130, 140, and 150; see Fig. 1c; para. [0079]-[0080], [0141], [0154], [0166]-[0168]), and binding the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve (an intermediate layer 440 which comprises a thermally conductive element 450 which holds the flexible substrate 1115 in the folded arrangement; see Fig. 1c; para. [0079]-[0080], [0148]-[0149], [0154], [0156]-[0157], [0167]-[0168]).
Therefore, in view of Heijmans, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mrakovich by making the flexible LED light engine by folding a single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row disposed on a left side of a single side of a flexible substrate and a second plurality of LEDs arranged in a second row disposed on a right side of the single side of the flexible substrate along a longitudinal bend line such that the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are in a back-to-back arrangement and facing in opposing directions, and binding the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve. One would have been motivated to modify the known method of Mrakovich by making the flexible LED light engine by folding a single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row disposed on a left side of a single side of a flexible substrate and a second plurality of LEDs arranged in a second row disposed on a right side of the single side of the flexible substrate along a longitudinal bend line such that the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are in a back-to-back arrangement and facing in opposing directions, and binding the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve, as taught by Heijmans, in order to provide an alternate means of providing a 360 degree viewing angle without using an additional substrate or a single double-sided substrate.
Regarding claim 22, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of LEDs are single-color LEDs (the LEDs can have different or the same color to achieve desired visual effects; see par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 23, Mrakovich teaches wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of LEDs are multi-color LEDs (the LEDs can have different or the same color to achieve desired visual effects; see par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 24, Mrakovich teaches wherein the flexible LED light engine further comprises a first flexible phosphor layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs (a phosphor layer can be created by adding phosphor to the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20, the diffuse layer having properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, or provided as a separate layer 80 over the LED light engine 50; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich modified by Taguwa fail to disclose or fairly suggest the flexible LED light engine is a single-sided LED strip light which further comprises a second flexible phosphor layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs.
Heijmans further teaches wherein the single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs and a second flexible phosphor layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (a layer of light transmissive material 445, like silicone, in which luminescent materials can be embedded, is disposed over the first plurality of LEDs 120 and the second plurality of LEDs (130, 140, 150); see Fig. 1c; para. [0145]-[0146]; the Examiner notes that the same light transmissive material 445 is used in each of the embodiments in Figs. 1a-1c).
Therefore, in view of Heijmans, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Mrakovich by providing the flexible LED light engine as a single-sided LED strip light and disposing a second flexible phosphor layer over the second plurality of LEDs. One would have been motivated to further modify the known method of Mrakovich by providing the flexible LED light engine as a single-sided LED strip light and disposing a second flexible phosphor layer over the second plurality of LEDs, as taught by Heijmans, in order to provide an alternate means of providing a 360 degree viewing angle without needing an additional substrate, and to ensure the light emitted by the second plurality of LEDs on the other half of the folded single-sided LED strip light undergoes wavelength conversion to be emitted at a desired color wavelength similar to the first plurality of LEDs and thus ensure an even color distribution on both opposite sides.
Regarding claim 25, Mrakovich teaches wherein the flexible LED light engine comprises a first flexible diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs (the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20 has properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, over the LED light engine 50; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022]), and wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360 degree beam angle (the LED light engine 50 could be co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite directions to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest the flexible LED light engine is a single-sided LED strip light which further comprises a second flexible diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs.
Heijmans further teaches wherein the single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs and a second flexible diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (a layer of light transmissive material 445, like silicone, in which luminescent materials can be embedded, is disposed over the first plurality of LEDs 120 and the second plurality of LEDs (130, 140, 150); see Fig. 1c; para. [0145]-[0146]; the Examiner notes that the same light transmissive material 445 is used in each of the embodiments in Figs. 1a-1c), and wherein the flexible LED light engine has a 360 degree beam angle (light is emitted from both the first LED filament side 1110 and the second LED filament side 1120 on opposite sides of the flexible substrate 1115 which therefore provides a full 360 degree viewing angle; see Fig. 1c; para. [0167]-[0168]).
Therefore, in view of Heijmans, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Mrakovich by providing the flexible LED light engine as a single-sided LED strip light and disposing a second flexible diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs. One would have been motivated to further modify the known method of Mrakovich by providing the flexible LED light engine as a single-sided LED strip light and disposing a second flexible diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs, as taught by Heijmans, in order to provide an alternate means of providing a 360 degree viewing angle without needing an additional substrate, and to ensure the light emitted by the second plurality of LEDs on the other half of the folded single-sided LED strip light undergoes wavelength conversion to be emitted at a desired color wavelength similar to the first plurality of LEDs and thus ensure an even light distribution on both opposite sides.
Regarding claim 26, Mrakovich teaches wherein the flexible LED light engine further comprises a first flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs (a phosphor layer can be created by adding phosphor to the optically diffuse layer of material 24 of the rigid non-glass translucent tube 20, the diffuse layer having properties similar to the flexible thermoplastic 74 and is therefore considered flexible, over LED light engine 50; see Fig. 2; para. [0018], [0022]), and wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360 degree beam angle (the LED light engine 50 could be co-extruded in a center of the light guide tube 20 with LEDs facing in opposite directions to achieve a 360 degree viewing angle; see par. [0024]).
However, the teachings of Mrakovich fail to disclose or fairly suggest the flexible LED light engine is a single-sided LED strip further comprising a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs.
Heijmans further teaches wherein the single-sided LED strip light further comprises a first flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the first plurality of LEDs and a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer disposed over the second plurality of LEDs (a layer of light transmissive material 445, like silicone, in which luminescent materials can be embedded, is disposed over the first plurality of LEDs 120 and the second plurality of LEDs (130, 140, 150); see Fig. 1c; para. [0145]-[0146]; the Examiner notes that the same light transmissive material 445 is used in each of the embodiments in Figs. 1a-1c), and wherein the flexible LED light engine has a 360 degree beam angle (light is emitted from both the first LED filament side 1110 and the second LED filament side 1120 on opposite sides of the flexible substrate 1115 which therefore provides a full 360 degree viewing angle; see Fig. 1c; para. [0167]-[0168]).
Therefore, in view of Heijmans, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Mrakovich by providing the flexible LED light engine as a single-sided LED strip light and disposing a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs. One would have been motivated to further modify the known method of Mrakovich by providing the flexible LED light engine as a single-sided LED strip light and disposing a second flexible phosphor and diffuser layer over the second plurality of LEDs, as taught by Heijmans, in order to provide an alternate means of providing a 360 degree viewing angle without needing an additional substrate, and to ensure the light emitted by the second plurality of LEDs on the other half of the folded single-sided LED strip light undergoes wavelength conversion to be emitted at a desired color wavelength similar to the first plurality of LEDs and thus ensure an even color and light distribution on both opposite sides.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to Mrakovich (US 2006/0028837) that Mrakovich fails to specifically disclose the step of “dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation to produce a rigid non-glass translucent tube” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 11), the Examiner agrees, which is why Mrakovich has never been relied on to teach this feature. Instead, as previously discussed in the rejection of now-cancelled Claims 2-7 in Sections 28-30 on pgs. 12-15 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 1/22/2026, the secondary reference Taguwa (US 2021/0387445) for teaching these features.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that Mrakovich fails to specifically disclose “disposing a flexible diffuser sleeve over a flexible LED light engine” because “There is no separate “flexible diffuser sleeve” disposed over the LED light engine prior to insertion into (or disposition of) the outer tube” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 11), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mrakovich describes the sections of the flexible LED light engine 50 being overmolded with a thermoplastic 72 which can be flexible, to provide weather resistance, the thermoplastic being clear and having an index of refraction similar to that of epoxy used to mount LEDs 54 as well as that of the light guide 20 that surrounds the LED light engine, and the entire LED light engine can be co-extruded into a continuous profile of flexible thermoplastic material 74, all of which can only occur prior to the insertion of the LED light engine 50 into light pipe 20 (see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0018]-[0019]). It is this flexible thermoplastic 72 which is disposed over the LED light engine 50 that is considered a flexible diffuser sleeve as it is a flexible diffuser which is sleeved over the LED light engine 50.
Therefore, Mrakovich teaches “disposing a flexible diffuser sleeve over a flexible LED light engine” as recited in Claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that Mrakovich fails to specifically disclose “disposing the rigid non-glass translucent tube over the flexible diffuser sleeve and the flexible LED light engine” because “Mrakovich forms the light guide first, then inserts the LED light engine into a pre-formed groove in that guide”, whereas “The claimed method performs the opposite sequence: the tube is disposed over the already-assembled diffuser-sleeve-covered LED light engine, after which the assembled structure is heated and shaped. Mrakovich contains no such post-assembly disposition step” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 11), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, the first method step recited in amended Claim 1 is “dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation to produce a rigid non-glass translucent tube”, followed by the step of “disposing a flexible diffuser sleeve over a flexible LED light engine”, then “disposing the rigid non-glass translucent tube over the flexible diffuser sleeve and the flexible LED light engine”, followed by “heating at least a portion of the rigid non-glass translucent tube to its glass transition temperature to make at least a portion of it pliable”, and finally “shaping at least a portion of the pliable non-glass translucent tube while heated, wherein the pliable non-glass translucent tube returns to rigidity when cooled”. Accordingly, the order of method steps presented in amended Claim 1 can be summarized as first forming the rigid non-glass translucent tube, then disposing a flexible diffuser sleeve over a flexible LED light engine and disposing the rigid non-glass translucent tube over the now-assembled diffuser-sleeve-covered LED light engine, then heating and shaping the assembled structure. However, Claim 1 does not explicitly require that these method steps have to be performed in this exact order. Applicant’s argument is therefore narrower than the scope of Claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that Mrakovich fails to specifically disclose “wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degree beam angle” and instead “Mrakovich’s light guide is illustrated and described as providing light emission “Up to 330°”” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 12), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mrakovich specifically mentions in para. [0024] that the LED light engine is “co-extruded in center of light guide with LEDs facing in opposing directions to achieve a 360° viewing angle”, which is mentioned as a preference again in par. [0028].
Therefore, Mrakovich clearly and explicitly teaches “wherein the neon-replica LED lighting system has a 360-degree beam angle” exactly as recited in amended Claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to Taguwa that “Taguwa does not disclose or suggest (1) forming a rigid non-glass translucent tube (a cylindrical structure), (2) dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation of such a tube, or (3) producing a monolithic rigid translucent tube having the specific integrated properties recited in amended claim 1” because “Taguwa is entirely silent regarding tubes, cylindrical extrusions, or the incorporation of both color dyes and diffusers directly into acrylic material in the manner required by amended claim 1” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pgs. 12-13), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, the Examiner notes that Mrakovich already teaches a rigid non-glass translucent tube (light rod/guide 20; see Figs. 1a-2; para. [0007], [0013]-[0020], [0027]). Accordingly, since the primary reference Mrakovich already teaches a rigid non-glass translucent tube, there is no need for the secondary reference Taguwa to also teach a tube in order to reject amended Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, only that Taguwa teach a rigid non-glass translucent structure used in a lighting system and formed by dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation of the translucent structure.
Taguwa teaches a thermoplastic resin laminate suitable for optical applications of transparent materials (see Abstract; para. [0003]-[0005], [0010]-[0015]), comprising a rigid non-glass translucent layer comprising an acrylic material (see para. [0017], [0047]-[0049]) containing various additives generally used which are added to the thermoplastic acrylic resin during the formation process of the layer, including a light diffusing agent and a stain pigment being added prior to the material being mixed together (see para. [0042], [0051]). Taguwa additionally describes the thermoplastic resin laminate being prepared by means of a melt extrusion method, with the resin temperature at the time of extrusion being preferably 200-320 degrees C, which causes the thermoplastic resin laminate obtained to have excellent smoothness and transparency while preventing a poor outer appearance and coloring (see para. [0084]-[0086]).
By definition, dissolving something means that something is causes to pass into solution, or melted/liquefied (see the chemistry definitions 2a and 2b of “dissolve” at https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dissolve). Similarly, the same dictionary defines “melt” or “melting” as altering something from a solid to a liquid state, usually by heat, and also as when something dissolves or disintegrates (see the definitions 1, 2a, and 2b of “melt” at https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/melt). This means that the high temperatures described during this extrusion and mixing process will cause any diffusing and color pigments added to be melted and therefore dissolved within the mixture used to form the thermoplastic laminate.
Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that any thermoplastic diffuser formed by the method of Taguwa is not restricted to solely being formed as a layer, sheet, or otherwise planar form factor, but rather that the formation method of Taguwa can be used to produce a rigid non-glass thermoplastic diffuser having any suitable shape based on the desired application.
Therefore, although Taguwa lacks any disclosure that the thermoplastic diffuser layer has a tube shape, Taguwa still teaches this rigid non-glass thermoplastic diffuser is formed by “dissolving one or more color dyes and one or more diffusers with acrylic material during formation” as recited in amended Claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that “Claims 2-7 depend directly or indirectly from amended independent claim 1 and are patentable over Mrakovich and Taguwa for at least the same reasons” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 13), the Examiner notes that the amendment filed 4/21/2026 cancelled Claims 2-7, and therefore none of these claims are currently pending.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to Claim 9 that Steele (US 2017/0138543) “does not disclose or suggest … arranging a first single-sided LED strip light (comprising a first plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a first flexible substrate) and a second single-sided LED strip light (comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate) in a back-to-back arrangement with the LEDs facing in opposite directions, and then binding the two separate single-sided LED strip lights together in that back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve to form the core flexible LED light engine” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pgs. 13-14), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Steele teaches a flexible LED light engine (see Fig. 15; Abstract; para. [0109]-[0112]) comprising a plurality of LEDs 22 disposed on a flexible substrate 64 (see Fig. 15; Abstract; para. [0109]-[0111], [0173]). Accordingly, Steele teaches a first single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs 22 disposed on a single side of a first flexible substrate 64. Steele additionally teaches another plurality of LEDs 22 are disposed on another flexible substrate 66 which is arranged back-to-back with the first flexible substrate 64 (see Fig. 15; Abstract; para. [0109]-[0111], [0173]), such that the first plurality of LEDs on the first substrate 64 and the second plurality of LEDs on the second substrate 66 face in opposing directions (as shown in Fig. 15). Accordingly, Steele teaches a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs 22 disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate 66 in a back-to-back arrangement with the first flexible substrate 64. Therefore, Steele necessarily teaches the method step of “arranging a first single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a first flexible substrate and a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate in a back-to-back arrangement” as recited in Claim 9, as otherwise Steele’s structure as illustrated in Fig. 15 could not exist.
Further, Steele teaches the flexible substrates 64 and 66 are affixed to opposite sides of a middle reflective layer 130 using a thin layer of thermally conductive silicone or other thermally conductive adhesive, which makes the middle reflective layer form a flexible binder sleeve holding the two flexible substrates together back-to-back (see Fig. 15; para. [0109]-[0110], [0173]). Accordingly, Steele teaches the first single-sided LED strip light (the first flexible substrate 64 and its LEDs 22) is bound to the second single-sided LED strip light (the second flexible substrate 66 and its LEDs 22) in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve 130, and therefore necessarily teaches the method step of “binding the first single-sided LED strip light to the second single-sided LED strip light in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve” as recited in Claim 9, as otherwise the back-to-back structural arrangement of Steele’s Fig. 15 embodiment could not exist.
Therefore, Steele clearly and explicitly teaches the method limitations of “making the flexible LED light engine by arranging a first single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a first flexible substrate and a second single-sided LED strip light comprising a second plurality of LEDs disposed on a single side of a second flexible substrate in a back-to-back arrangement, wherein the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are facing in opposite directions, and binding the first single-sided LED strip light to the second single-sided LED strip light in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve” exactly as recited in Claim 9.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to Claim 21 that Heijmans (US 2024/0183501) “does not disclose or suggest the specific flexible LED light engine recited in claim 21: folding a single-sided LED strip light having a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row and a second plurality of LEDs arranged in a second row, both disposed on the same single side of a flexible substrate, along a longitudinal bend line such that the LEDs end up in a back-to-back arrangement, and then binding that folded assembly with a flexible binder sleeve” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pgs. 14-15), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Heijmans teaches a flexible LED light engine and method of making it (single sided LED filament 1100, which is also referred to as LED filament 1000; see Fig. 1c; Abstract; para. [0167]-[0168]), comprising a plurality of sources of light 100 including second light sources 120 that define a first plurality of light sources disposed in a row on a left side of a flexible support 1115, and additional sources of light including third sources of light 130, fourth sources of light 140, and fifth sources of light 150 that collectively define a second plurality of light sources and are disposed in rows to the right of the first plurality of LEDs 120 on opposite sides of a line about which the support substrate is folded longitudinally, so that the first LEDs 120 are disposed on a first LED filament side 1110 facing opposite to a second LED filament side 1120 containing the second plurality of LEDs 130, 140, and 150 (see Fig. 1c; para. [0079]-[0080], [0141], [0154], [0166]-[0168]). As explained by Heijmans, this folding occurs along a length axis of the LED filament itself (see para. [0079]-[0080], [0167]-[0168]). Accordingly, Heijmans teaches the method step of “making the flexible LED light engine by folding a single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row disposed on a left side of a single side of a flexible substrate and a second plurality of LEDs arranged in a second row disposed on a right side of the single side of the flexible substrate along a longitudinal bend line such that the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are in a back-to-back arrangement and facing in opposite directions” as recited in Claim 21.
Further, Heijmans describes the folding occurring so that the flexible support 1115 sandwiches an intermediate layer 440 that comprises a thermally conductive element 450 that holds the flexible substrate in the folded arrangement, which means the intermediate layer is a flexible binder sleeve (see Fig. 1c; para. [0079]-[0080], [0148]-[0149], [0154], [0156]-[0157], [0167]-[0168]). The intermediate layer 440 is described as comprising a metal layer (see para. [0159]), and the flexible support 1115, once folded around the intermediate support, can then folded into a filament shape such as that shown in Fig. 3. Accordingly, Heijmans teaches the method step of “binding the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve” as recited in Claim 21.
Therefore, Heijmans clearly and explicitly teaches “making the flexible LED light engine by folding a single-sided LED strip light comprising a first plurality of LEDs arranged in a first row disposed on a left side of a single side of a flexible substrate and a second plurality of LEDFs arranged in a second row disposed on a right side of the single side of the flexible substrate along a longitudinal bend line such that the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs are in a back-to-back arrangement and facing in opposing directions, and binding the first plurality of LEDs and the second plurality of LEDs in the back-to-back arrangement with a flexible binder sleeve” exactly as recited in Claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Crompvoets et al. (US 2019/0096954) teaches an LED lighting system comprising a non-glass translucent diffuser disposed over a plurality of LEDs and formed by dissolving a color dye constituent into a translucent encapsulant constituent, adding a metallic particle constituent used to diffuse light by scattering, mixing thoroughly, and Gielen et al. (US 2017/0051895) teaches an LED lighting system comprising a rigid non-glass translucent tube comprising a translucent sheet shaped in the form of a tube and comprising diffusing elements to scatter light propagating through the material and a wavelength converting material such as organic phosphors which can be dissolved/dispersed in a matrix material which can be PMMA (polymethyl methacrylate), which can be dissolved/dispersed in the matrix material.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875