DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the 112(f) interpretation have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the response filed 17 June 2026, the applicant argues that the claimed “discriminator” does not invoke 112(f) because paragraph [0045] connotes sufficient structure. However, this is not how interpretation under 112(f) works. Simply disclosing structure in the specification does not mean that 112(f) is not invoked. Please read MPEP § 2181. Thus, the interpretation under 112(f) is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 17 June 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“discriminator is configured to…” in claim 9 (Paragraph [0045] of the specification says the discriminator is a neural network.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0302163) in view of Mikutel et al. (US 2018/0300301).
Regarding claim 1, Shi et al. disclose a computer (Figure 10), comprising:
a display (Figure 10, display 1016 and paragraphs [0075] and [0078].); and
a processor (Figure 10, processor 1014 and paragraphs [0075] and [0078].) configured to:
generate strokes according to an input made by an electronic pen on the display (Figure 8, step 802 and paragraph [0054].);
control the display to display the strokes in groups, wherein each group includes one or more strokes forming a unit (Figure 8, step 804 and paragraph [0055].);
obtain semantic attributes of the groups of strokes using a discriminator subjected to machine learning to infer a semantic attribute of each of the groups, wherein the semantic attribute of each group includes a value of the group, wherein the value represents semantic content of the group including at least one of a handwritten character string represented by the group or a name of a hand-drawn object represented by the group (Figure 8, steps 806-810 and paragraphs [0056]-[0057].); and
for each of the groups, acquire an output (Figure 8, step 812 and paragraph [0058].).
Shi et al. fail to teach, for each of the groups, acquire content corresponding to the semantic attribute of the group by searching content using at least the value of the semantic attribute, and display the content on the display.
Mikutel et al. disclose of acquiring content corresponding to the semantic attribute of a group by searching content using at least a value of the semantic attribute, and display the content on the display (Figure 4C, 426 to Figure 4D, and see paragraphs [0052]-[0053]. The inked words “composite volcano” 426 are written and selected, then an inked drawing data resource is searched based on the value of the semantic attribute [written words], and the content 440-1, 440-2, etc. is displayed).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination Shi et al. performs the same function as it does separately of providing determining a user handwritten object as a character string [word] or a hand-drawn object, and Mikutel et al. performs the same function as it does separately of searching a content database based on a handwritten character string [word(s)] and displaying content.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in determining a user handwritten object as a character string [word] or a hand-drawn object and also of searching a content database based on a handwritten character string [word(s)] and displaying content.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to analyze the strokes to form the groups based on at least one of an order of the strokes; positions of the strokes; shapes of the strokes; or a pen pressure of the electronic pen (Shi et al.: Figure 2 at 208 and Figure 3, and paragraph [0026], word detection is performed, as explained, to determine position 304, thus the analysis is “based on” positions of the strokes.).
Regarding claim 3, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the semantic attribute includes a type of the group (As explained above, the semantic attribute is either a word [text] or a drawing, which are types of a group.).
Regarding claim 4, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 3, wherein the type is at least one of a text, a drawing, a mathematical equation, a chemical formula, a list, or a table (As explained above, the type is a text or drawing.).
Regarding claim 6, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the value represents a handwritten character (Shi et al.: Figure 8, steps 806-810 and paragraphs [0056].).
Regarding claim 7, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to obtain the semantic attributes which are output from a digital ink server that analyzes the groups of strokes using the discriminator subjected to machine learning (Shi et al.: Figure 2 at 208 and Figures 3-4, and paragraph [0026]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the discriminator is a neural network (Shi et al.: Figure 4.).
Regarding claim 9, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the discriminator is configured to receive input of feature amounts of the strokes and to output labels of semantic attributes (Shi et al.: Figures 3-4 and paragraph [0028].), wherein the feature amounts include at least one of coordinates of starting points of the strokes, coordinates of intermediate points of the strokes, coordinates of ending points of the strokes, or curvatures of the strokes (Shi et al.: Paragraph [0057], lines and shapes are “curvatures of the strokes.”).
Regarding claim 10, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to acquire the content corresponding to the semantic attribute by searching in a content server that stores multiple pieces of content (Mikutel et al.: See the explanation in claim 1, and Figure 4C, 426 to Figure 4D, and see paragraphs [0052]-[0053].).
Regarding claim 11, Shi et al. and Mikutel et al. disclose the computer according to claim 1, wherein the semantic attributes are stored in association with the groups in a digital ink data structure (Mikutel et al.: Figure 1, 112 is an inked drawing data resource, and paragraph [0026].).
Regarding claim 12, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
14 July 2026