DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed on 04/18/2025
Application is a CON of 18/353,827 now a patent 12,301,999 B2 which is a CON of 17/373,595 now a patent 11,743,586 B2
Application claims a DP date of July 13, 2020
Claims 1, 8 and 16 are independent
Claims 1-20 are pending
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/09/2025 and 04/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Number 11,743,586 B2 and 12,301,999 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table.
1. Application: A camera, comprising: a lens group comprising one or more lens elements;
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: A camera, comprising: a lens group comprising one or more lens elements;
an image sensor to capture image data based on light that has passed through the lens group;
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: an image sensor to capture image data based on light that has passed through the lens group;
movable frame fixedly coupled with the lens group or the image sensor;
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a movable frame fixedly coupled with the lens group or the image sensor;
a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator
one or more stationary structures;
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: one or more stationary structures;
a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator to move the movable frame relative to the one or more stationary structures, comprising:
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator to move the movable frame relative to the one or more stationary structures, comprising:
a coil fixedly coupled with the movable frame, such that the coil moves together with the movable frame; and
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a coil fixedly coupled with the movable frame, such that the coil moves together with the movable frame; and
a magnet fixedly coupled with the one or more stationary structures; and
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a magnet fixedly coupled with the one or more stationary structures; and
a flex circuit that provides an electrical connection between the coil and the one or more stationary structures,
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a flex circuit that provides an electrical connection between the coil and the one or more stationary structures
wherein a portion of the flex circuit provides service loop that allows motion of the movable frame enabled by the VCM actuator, and
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: and wherein a portion of the flex circuit provides a service loop including one or more discrete folds that allows motion of the movable frame enabled by the VCM actuator,
wherein the flex circuit conveys electrical signals between the one or more stationary structures and the coil via the electrical connection.
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: wherein the flex circuit conveys electrical signals between the one or more stationary structures and the coil via the electrical connection
2. Application: wherein the flex circuit comprises: a fixed end portion fixedly coupled with the one or more stationary structures; a movable end portion fixedly coupled with the coil; and
2. Patent 11,743,586 B2: wherein the flex circuit comprises: a fixed end portion fixedly coupled with the one or more stationary structures
1. Patent 11,743,586 B2: wherein the moveable end portion of the flex circuit is fixedly coupled with the coil
an intermediate portion that extends from the fixed end portion to the movable end portion and that provides the service loop.
2. Patent 11,743,586 B2: an intermediate portion that extends from the fixed end portion to the moveable end portion and that provides the service loop.
3. Application: wherein the movable frame comprises a lens carrier fixedly coupled with the lens group.
3. Patent 11,743,586 B2: wherein the movable frame comprises a lens carrier fixedly coupled with the lens group.
4. Application: wherein: the flex circuit is a first flex circuit; the one or more stationary structures comprise at least one of: a base structure; or
a stationary portion of a second flex circuit that is attached to the base structure, wherein the second flex circuit is capable of routing electrical signals between the first flex circuit and at least one of: an image sensor package that includes the image sensor; or
one or more external components that are external to the camera
4. Patent 11,743,586 B2 wherein: the flex circuit is a first flex circuit; the one or more stationary structures comprise at least one of: a base structure; or
4. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a stationary portion of a second flex circuit that is attached to the base structure, wherein the second flex circuit is capable of routing electrical signals between the first flex circuit and at least one of: an image sensor package that includes the image sensor; or
4. Patent 11,743,586 B2: one or more external components that are external to the camera
5. Application: wherein: the one or more stationary structures comprise a base structure; and the camera further comprises:
5. Patent 11,743,586 B2: wherein: the one or more stationary structures comprise a base structure; and the camera further comprises:
a bearing suspension arrangement to suspend the lens carrier from the base structure, wherein the lens carrier is configured to move on ball bearings so as to allow motion enabled by the VCM actuator.
5. Patent 11,743,586 B2: a bearing suspension arrangement to suspend the lens carrier from the base structure, wherein the lens carrier is configured to move on ball bearings so as to allow motion enabled by the VCM actuator.
6. Application: wherein: the movable frame comprises a stage that is fixedly coupled with the image sensor; the one or more stationary structures comprise a base structure; and
6. Patent 11,743,586 B2: wherein: the movable frame comprise a stage that is fixedly coupled with the image sensor; the one or more stationary structures comprise a base structure; and
the camera further comprises: a bearing suspension arrangement to suspend the stage from the base structure, wherein the stage is configured to move on ball bearings so as to allow motion enabled by the VCM actuator.
6. Patent 11,743,586 B2: the camera further comprises: a bearing suspension arrangement to suspend the stage from the base structure, wherein the stage is configured to move on ball bearing so as to allow motion enabled by the VCM actuator.
7. Application: further comprising: a position sensor for detecting a position of the movable frame, wherein the position sensor is fixedly coupled with the flex circuit and positioned proximate the coil.
3. Patent 11,743,586 B2: further comprising: a position sensor for detecting position of the movable frame, wherein the position sensor is fixedly coupled with the flex circuit and positioned proximate the coil..
Claims 8-20 are similarly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Number 11,743,586 B2 and 12,301,999 B2.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hubert et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0141248 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, Hubert discloses a camera (Fig 1 – camera 100), comprising:
a lens group comprising one or more lens elements (Fig 1- optics assembly 102 which is disclosed to carry one or more lenses 104);
an image sensor (Fig 1 – image sensor 108) to capture image data based on light that has passed through the lens group (¶0052; camera 100 includes an image sensor 108 for capturing a digital representation of light transiting the lens 104);
a movable frame fixedly coupled with the lens group or the image sensor (In ¶0007 Hubert discloses the camera having an actuator module to provide AF or OIS; In ¶0052 he discloses that the AF VCM 110 moves the optical assembly 102. This also includes the suspension assembly 112; Further in ¶0053 he discloses that the OIS VCM 120 for moving the dynamic platform 122 );
one or more stationary structures (Fig 1 – static platform 126; );
a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (Fig 1-2, voice coil motor 110 for AF and OIS Voice coil motor 120) to move the movable frame relative to the one or more stationary structures (¶0052; axial motion (AF) voice coil motor 110 for focusing by moving the optics assembly 102 containing the lens 104 along the optical axis of the lens 104; ¶0053; transverse motion OIS voice coil motor for moving the dynamic platform 122 in a plurality of directions orthogonal to the optical axis), comprising:
a coil fixedly coupled with the movable frame, such that the coil moves together with the movable frame (In ¶0026 Hubert discloses that the OIS Coils are mounted on the dynamic platform and in ¶0053 he discloses that the OIS coils 132 may be mounted on the dynamic platform 122 and in ¶0028 he further discloses that the autofocus coils are fixedly mounted to the lens carrier mounting attachment for producing forces for moving a lens carrier in a direction of an optical axis and in ¶0052 he discloses that the focusing coils 118 are fixedly mounted to the lens carrier 106); and
a magnet fixedly coupled with the one or more stationary structures (In ¶0026 Hubert discloses that OIS permanent magnets are mounted on the static platform to provide additional force; and further in ¶0028 he discloses about plurality of shared magnets mounted to the base and in ¶0052 he discloses plurality of shared magnets 116 mounted to the actuator base 114); and
a flex circuit that provides an electrical connection between the coil and the one or more stationary structures (In ¶0037 Hubert discloses that the OIS coils are mounted on a flexible printed circuit board mechanically connected to the actuator base and mechanically isolated from the AF VCM; In ¶0054, Hubert further discloses that the flexures 124 mechanically/electrically connect an image sensor 108 in which is fixed relative to a dynamic platform 122; in ¶0055 Hubert further discloses that the OIS coils 132 are mounted on flexible printed circuit 134 carrying power to the OIS coils 132),
wherein a portion of the flex circuit provides service loop that allows motion of the movable frame enabled by the VCM actuator (In ¶0006, Hubert discloses that the flexures may be configured to provide stiffness to the VCM actuator while allowing the dynamic platform to move along a plane that is orthogonal to the optical axis; In ¶0029 Hubert discloses that VCM actuator allows translation of optics along the optical axis, and OIS VCM actuator allows an image sensor to translate in a plane perpendicular to optical axis and in some embodiments sensor is mounted on flat flexure where the electrical traces connect image sensor and I/O terminals), and
wherein the flex circuit conveys electrical signals between the one or more stationary structures and the coil via the electrical connection (In ¶0037 Hubert discloses that flexible printed circuits carry power to the coils for operation of the OIS VCM and in ¶0055 he further discloses that the OIS coils 132 are mounted on FCP 134 carrying power to the OIS coils 132).
Since Hubert in Fig 16 and in ¶0202-¶0203 discloses one or more processors 1610 coupled to a system memory 1620 that may be capable of executing instructions Hubert discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Hubert discloses wherein the flex circuit comprises: a fixed end portion fixedly coupled with the one or more stationary structures; a movable end portion fixedly coupled with the coil; and an intermediate portion that extends from the fixed end portion to the movable end portion and that provides the service loop (In ¶0142 (and Fig 12a and 12b) Hubert discloses that in some embodiments, a flex circuit 1202 may include a first end that is fixed to the dynamic platform 1206, a second end that is fixed to the static platform 1208 and a middle portion between the first end and the second end. Furthermore, the middle portion of the flex circuit 1202 may include an amount of slack that facilitates relative movement between the first and second ends of the flex circuit 1202. The slack is interpreted as the “service loop”).
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, Hubert discloses wherein the movable frame comprises a lens carrier fixedly coupled with the lens group (In ¶0007 Hubert discloses the camera having an actuator module to provide AF or OIS; In ¶0052 he discloses that the AF VCM 110 moves the optical assembly 102. Hubert further discloses this in ¶0065 and in Fig 7A-7C that in some embodiments of frames and flexures 700 , it could be used to provide autofocus through optics assembly movement).
Regarding Claim 15, Hubert discloses wherein the one or more processors (Fig 16 and in ¶0202-¶0203 discloses one or more processors 1610) are configured to cause the VCM actuator to move the lens group in at least one direction parallel to an optical axis defined by the one or more lens elements (In ¶0028, Hubert discloses that an AF coil fixedly mounted to the lens carrier for producing forces for moving a lens carrier in a direction of an optical axis; and in ¶0052 he further discloses that AF VCM 110 is used for focusing light from the lens by moving the optics assembly 102 containing the lens 104 along an optical axis of the lens 104).
Regarding Claim 16, Hubert discloses a flex circuit for a camera (Fig 1 – camera 100; in ¶0006 Hubert discloses including a flexure module that may be used in optical image stabilization), the flex circuit (Fig 1-2 flexible member 124; ) comprising:
a fixed end portion to couple with one or more stationary structures of the camera (In ¶0053 Hubert discloses that the flexible member 124 is used for connecting to a static platform 126);
a movable end portion to couple with a movable coil of a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (in ¶0026 Hubert discloses that the OIS coils are mounted on the dynamic platform) of the camera (In ¶0053 Hubert discloses that the flexible member 124 is used for connecting the image sensor frame member 122, also referred to as the dynamic platform; In ¶0142 Hubert discloses that the flex circuit 1202 may include a first end that is fixed to the dynamic platform 1206 and an second end fixed to a static platform 1208), wherein the movable coil is to electromagnetically interact with a stationary magnet of the VCM actuator, so as to produce Lorentz forces that move a movable frame of the camera, together with the movable coil, relative to the one or more stationary structures (In ¶0026 Hubert further discloses that in some embodiments OIS permanent magnets are mounted on the static platform to provide additional Lorentz force); and
an intermediate portion to convey electrical signals between the fixed end portion and the movable end portion (In ¶0054, Hubert further discloses that the flexures 124 mechanically/electrically connect an image sensor 108 in which is fixed relative to a dynamic platform 122; in ¶0055 Hubert further discloses that the OIS coils 132 are mounted on flexible printed circuit 134 carrying power to the OIS coils 132),
wherein the intermediate portion provides service loop that allows motion of the movable frame enabled by the VCM actuator (In ¶0006, Hubert discloses that the flexures may be configured to provide stiffness to the VCM actuator while allowing the dynamic platform to move along a plane that is orthogonal to the optical axis; In ¶0142 (and Fig 12a and 12b) Hubert discloses that in some embodiments, a flex circuit 1202 may include a first end that is fixed to the dynamic platform 1206, a second end that is fixed to the static platform 1208 and a middle portion between the first end and the second end. Furthermore, the middle portion of the flex circuit 1202 may include an amount of slack that facilitates relative movement between the first and second ends of the flex circuit 1202. The slack is interpreted as the “service loop”).
Regarding Claim 17, Hubert discloses wherein the movable end portion is coupled with the movable coil such that the electrical signals are capable of supplying a drive current to the movable coil (Hubert discloses this in the flow chart of Fig 13 and explains in ¶0144).
Regarding Claim 18, Hubert discloses wherein: the movable frame is a lens carrier to which a lens group comprising one or more lens elements of the camera is attached; and the intermediate portion is to allow the movable end portion to move together with the lens group (In ¶0065 and in Fig 7A-7C Hubert discloses embodiments where flexures 700 of a camera having an actuator module to be used to provide autofocus through optics assembly movement; and since in ¶0052 and Fig 1-2, Hubert discloses that the optics assembly 102 containing lens 104 and the axial motion VCM 110 moveably mounts lens carrier 106 to the actuator 114, it is clear that when the lens carrier moves, it will move the lens group within).
Regarding Claim 19, Hubert discloses wherein:
the movable frame is a stage to which an image sensor package comprising an image sensor is attached (In ¶0053 he discloses that the OIS VCM 120 for moving the dynamic platform 122; In ¶0054, Hubert further discloses that the flexures 124 mechanically/electrically connect an image sensor 108 in which is fixed relative to a dynamic platform 122;); and
the intermediate portion is to allow the movable end portion to move together with the image sensor (In ¶0054, Hubert further discloses that the flexures 124 mechanically/electrically connect an image sensor 108 in which is fixed relative to a dynamic platform 122;).
Regarding Claim 20, Hubert discloses wherein the intermediate portion comprises one or more bend regions (Fig 6 discloses the one or more bend regions in flexure 614);
the movable frame is a stage to which an image sensor package comprising an image sensor is attached (Fig 6 – dynamic platform 610 and image sensor 604; ¶0062 - ¶0064); and
the intermediate portion is to allow the movable end portion to move together with the image sensor (In ¶0006, Hubert discloses that the flexures may be configured to provide stiffness to the VCM actuator while allowing the dynamic platform to move along a plane that is orthogonal to the optical axis; In ¶0142 (and Fig 12a and 12b) Hubert discloses that in some embodiments, a flex circuit 1202 may include a first end that is fixed to the dynamic platform 1206, a second end that is fixed to the static platform 1208 and a middle portion between the first end and the second end. Furthermore, the middle portion of the flex circuit 1202 may include an amount of slack that facilitates relative movement between the first and second ends of the flex circuit 1202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubert et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0141248 A1) in view of Sharma et al. (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0020822 A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Hubert discloses orientation sensors (In ¶0165 Hubert discloses one or more orientation sensors 1468) but fails to clearly disclose further comprising: a position sensor for detecting a position of the movable frame, wherein the position sensor is fixedly coupled with the flex circuit and positioned proximate the coil.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Sharma discloses further comprising: a position sensor for detecting a position of the movable frame (Fig 8A-8C illustrate example position sensing arrangement and in ¶0075 - ¶0083 he further describes the movement of the position sensor 802. In ¶0039, Sharma discloses that the OIS coils 104 are movable relative to the magnets 102), wherein the position sensor is fixedly coupled with the flex circuit (Fig 9A and 9B and ¶0085 illustrate flexure arrangements 900 that includes a voice coil motor actuator for shifting the image sensor along multiple axes) and positioned proximate the coil (Fig 8A-8C illustrate that the positions sensor 802a-d is positioned in the center of OIS coil 104).
Hubert and Sharma are combinable because both are optical image stabilization of an imaging device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the position sensor as taught by Sharma in the imaging module disclosed by Hubert.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “include a position sensing arrangement of one or more position sensors to provide position feedback for a control loop controlling the position of the image sensor” as disclosed by Sharma in ¶0004.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hubert and Sharma to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7 and 14.
Conclusion
/PADMA HALIYUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 August 4, 2026