DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2025, 09/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-9, 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunt et al. 2016/0098688.
Regarding claim 2, Hunt discloses a system (Kiosk system) for evaluating and purchasing electronic devices, the system comprising: a kiosk (kiosk 100) comprising: one or more first cameras (cameras 116 a-c) having a first field of view including an environment external to the kiosk [021]; an internal inspection area (inspection area 108) configured to receive an electronic device from a user for electrical and/or visual evaluation [024-25] [032]; and one or more second cameras (internal cameras 314) having a second field of view including at least a portion of the internal inspection area; and one or more processors operably associated with the kiosk and configured to obtain [024-25], via the one or more first cameras, a first image of an ID of a user [021] [027]; obtain, via the one or more first cameras, a second image of the user [027]; provide verification of an identity of the user based at least partially on a comparison of the first image and the second image [027]; obtain, via the one or more second cameras, one or more third images of the electronic device while the electronic device is positioned within the internal inspection area [024-025] [032]; determine a compensation value for the electronic device based at least partially on an evaluation of the one or more third images [026-27]; and offer to purchase the electronic device for the compensation value [019] [026-27].
Regarding claim 3, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses a display screen (display 104) operably coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the display screen to display the first image and/or the second image to a remote evaluator for manual comparison [025-26] [31] [FIG 1].
Regarding claim 4, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the one or more processors are one or more first processors located remotely from the kiosk, the kiosk further comprises one or more second processors operably coupled to the one or more first cameras and the one or more second cameras, and the one or more first processors are configured to-- obtain the first image and the second image from the one or more second processors, and provide the verification of the identity to the one or more second processors [027].
Regarding claim 5, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the first image of the ID of the user includes an image of a driver's license of the user [027].
Regarding claim 6, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the first image of the ID includes an image of a picture of the user, and wherein the verification of the identity of the user is based at least partially on a comparison of the picture and the second image [027].
Regarding claim 7, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the kiosk further includes a housing, and wherein the one or more first cameras and the one or more second cameras are positioned within the housing [FIG 1].
Regarding claim 8, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the one or more processors include: one or more first processors positioned remotely from the kiosk and configured to obtain the first image and the second image and verify the identity of the user; one or more second processors positioned remotely from the kiosk and configured to obtain the one or more third images and determine the compensation value; and one or more third processors of the kiosk configured to cause a display screen of the kiosk to display the offer to purchase the electronic device [030] [068].
Regarding claim 9, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the evaluation of the one or more third images is performed by the one or more processors [024-26].
Regarding claim 11, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the electronic device is a mobile phone (mobile device 180) [019][ FIG 1].
Regarding claim 12, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hunt further discloses the one or more first cameras include a primary first camera and a secondary first camera, the one or more processors are configured to obtain the first image via the primary first camera, and the one or more processors are configured to obtain the second image via the secondary first camera [021] [025] [027].
Regarding claim 13, Hunt discloses a method of evaluating and purchasing electronic devices, the method comprising: obtaining, via one or more first cameras of a kiosk, a first image of an ID of a user, wherein the one or more first cameras have a field of view including an environment external to the kiosk; obtaining, via the one or more first cameras, a second image of the user; verifying, via one or more processors operably associated with the kiosk, an identity of the user based at least partially on a comparison of the first image and the second image; obtaining, via one or more second cameras of the kiosk, one or more third images of an electronic device while the electronic device is positioned within an internal inspection area of the kiosk; determining, via the one or more processors, a compensation value for the electronic device based at least partially on an evaluation of the one or more third images; and offering, via the one or more processors, to purchase the electronic device for the compensation value [019] [022-32] [FIG 1].
Regarding claim 14, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses verifying the identity of the user includes displaying, via a display screen positioned remotely from the kiosk, the first image and/or the second image to a remote evaluator for the comparison [027].
Regarding claim 15, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses the one or more processors are one or more first processors located remotely from the kiosk, the kiosk further comprises one or more second processors operably coupled to the one or more first cameras and/or the one or more second cameras, obtaining the first image and the second image includes obtaining the first image and the second image from the one or more second processors, and verifying the identity of the user includes providing verification of the identity to the one or more second processors [027].
Regarding claim 16, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses the first image of the ID of the user includes an image of a driver's license of the user [027].
Regarding claim 17, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses obtaining the first image of the ID includes obtaining an image of a picture of the user, and wherein verifying the identity of the user includes comparing the picture in the obtained image and the second image. [026] [067].
Regarding claim 18, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses the one or more processors include: one or more first processors positioned remotely from the kiosk and configured to facilitate verifying the user's identity, one or more second processors positioned remotely from the kiosk and configured to determine the compensation value of the electronic device, and one or more third processors of the kiosk; obtaining the first image and the second image includes transmitting the first image and the second image from the one or more third processors to the one or more first processors for verification; obtaining the one or more third images includes transmitting the one or more third images from the one or more third processors to the one or more second processors for the evaluation; and offering to purchase the electronic device includes transmitting the compensation value from the one or more second processors to the one or more third processors and causing, via the one or more third processors, a display screen of the kiosk to display a purchase offer to the user [021] [026-27].
Regarding claim 19, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses evaluating the one or more third images via the one or more processors to determine a physical condition of the electronic device, wherein the compensation value is based at least partially on the physical condition.
Regarding claim 20, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses evaluating the one or more third images via the one or more processors to determine a make and/or a model of the electronic device, wherein the compensation value is based at least partially on the make and/or the model [023].
Regarding claim 21, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Hunt further discloses evaluating the one or more third images via the one or more processors to determine a make and/or a model of the electronic device, wherein the compensation value is based at least partially on the make and/or the model.
21. (New) The method of claim 13 wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone (019] [FIG 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. 2016/0098688.
Regarding claim 10, Hunt discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. While Hunt discloses a server to process the one or more third images, it fails to explicitly disclose the evaluation of the one or more third images is performed by a remote human operator. Hunt does disclose a human operator evaluating images of a user and their photo ID [027], therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the operator to evaluate the images for a more accurate finding.
Conclusion
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876