Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para [0007] " should be corrected to “…placed over the attachment”.
“Figure 2 illustrates a top view of a pile to rotary pile driver coupling interface;” however; the drawing illustrates a perspective view of a pile to rotary pile driver coupling interface.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gochis, Bernard J. U.S. Patent 9,068,318.
Regarding Claim 1, Gochis discloses a pile (24) comprising: an interior (area between (49) centering rings on Fig. 2A where upper pile shaft 42 and lower drive shaft 44 are connected); a first end (46); a second end (48); a coupling plate (40, drive key plate); and through holes (Col. 4, Ln. 12-15, through holes are inherent to using bolts for fastening.) said coupling plate being located within said interior between said first end and said through holes; said coupling plate including a keyhole (50, the interior is understood to be inherent to a keyed opening, Col. 4, Ln. 32-35) configured to engage a key (34) of a rotary pile driver tool.
Regarding Claim 2, Gochis discloses the coupling plate (40) attached to the interior (area between (49) centering rings on Fig. 2A where upper pile shaft 42 and lower drive shaft 44 are connected). “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this instance, the final product achieved by welding the coupling plate and interior attached together is disclosed by Gochis; therefore, the method of welding the coupling plate to the interior does not signify patentable weight.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suver, Paul W. U.S. Patent Application Publication US-20050201836-A1.
Regarding Claim 9, Suver discloses a rotary pile driver tool (Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0040) comprising: a pile jacket member (76, named as drive head in Suver) having an interior (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, pipe pile is placed inside the drive head 76) and configured such that a coupling end of a pile fits in said interior (Para. 0040); and a key (68) located within said interior of said pile jacket member (76); said key being configured to engage a keyhole (70) of a coupling plate of a pile.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, Suver discloses a square and rectangle cross section key (68, Fig. 19). Squares are held to be a special case of rectangles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gochis, Bernard J. U.S. Patent 9,068,318.
Regarding Claims 3-6 and 8, Gochis discloses in Col. 4, lines 35-39 a keyhole shaped with a hexagon (Figs. 3A, 3B) and further explicitly disclosed “…that any other shape or pattern could be utilized to form keyed opening.” Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the keyhole be any form or shape as desired or expedient to include rectangle, square, pentagon and plaque shape based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant’s specification has not stated any criticality to the shape of the keyhole being critical to a rectangle, square, pentagon or plaque as evidenced by paragraphs 0075 and 0078 of applicant’s specification and it has been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47."
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gochis, Bernard J. U.S. Patent 9,068,318 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smed, Ole Falk U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0086214.
Regarding Claim 7, Gochis fails to disclose multiple keyholes to engage keys of a rotary pile driver. However, Smed teaches a torque applicator with multiple keys (23, 25, 27) configured to engage with keyholes (13, 15, 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the single key and keyhole design of Gochis to include multiple keys and keyholes, as taught by Smed for the motivation of utilizing multiple keys and keyholes so as to ensure the force is centered when turning as referenced by Smed paragraphs [0009] and [0014].
Claims 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suver, Paul W. U.S. Patent Application Publication US-2005/0201836-A1.
Regarding Claims 12, 13, and 15, Suver discloses a rotary pile driver tool (Figs. 2 and 3) with key (68) where said key has a square shape. However, it is explicitly stated this key has a “non-circular cross-sectional shape” in Para. [0040]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the key be any form or shape as desired or expedient to include, pentagon, hexagon, and plaque shaped keys based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant’s specification has not stated any criticality to the shape of the key being critical to a pentagon hexagon, or plaque shape as evidenced by paragraphs 0075 and 0078 of applicant’s specification and it has been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suver, Paul W. U.S. Patent Application Publication US-20050201836-A1 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Smed, Ole Falk U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0086214.
Regarding Claim 14, Suver does not explicitly disclose multiple keys of a rotary pile driver tool configured to engage keyholes of a coupling plate of a pile. However, Smed teaches a torque applicator with multiple keys (23, 25, 27) configured to engage with keyholes (13, 15, 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the single key and keyhole design of Gochis to include multiple keys and keyholes, as taught by Smed for the motivation of utilizing multiple keys and keyholes so as to ensure the force is centered when turning as referenced by Smed paragraphs [0009] and [0014].
Conclusion
Wang et al. US PGPUB 2024/0084539 teaches a rotary pile with a cross section with varying potential cross section used in a rotational effect. Suver, Paul W. US Patent Application Publication 2013/0272799 teaches a rotary pile with a keyhole and a continuous grouting method. Hunter, Steven US Patent 10,024,019 teaches a coupler device for helical piles with a similar socket wrench style of pile installation. Whitsett, Micheal U.S. Patent 7,494,299 teaches a rotary pile driver with specially shaped end portions for connecting sections of a pile and through holes further securing those end joints.
/JOSHUA MAYS BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678