DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 27-45 are new and pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 1-26 are cancelled.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 05/26/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the main shaft 26 and the solid wire leader 60 appear to be referring to the same wire segment and contrast the description in the claims. It is unclear if these are intended to be separate structures or if one is meant to be a portion of the same structure. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim 43, 44 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 43 is missing a period at the end of the claim.
Claim 44 “is at about twice”; “at” appears to be an additional word.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 27-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12279604 in view of (US 2315295 A) to Stogermayr.
Claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12279604 include limitations which describe all of the limitations of claims 27-45 of the instant invention, including the main shaft, the solid wire leader, the first and second resistance points and their positionings, the lure holding end (and loop) the entry point, a line attachment end, the arced section crossing the main shaft to create the resistance point and bending away from both sides of the main shaft, and the line holding element is a closed wire twist.
Claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12279604 differ from the instant claims in that they do not explicitly disclose:
The first length of the solid wire leader is greater than the second length of the main shaft.
This is taught by (US 2315295 A) to Stogermayr, wherein the solid wire leader comprises a first length and the main shaft comprises a second length; wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is greater than the second length of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the length of annotated S1 > the length of S2).
Where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the solid wire leader to be greater than the main shaft such that the hooks and lures may be spaced apart to prevent tangling.
The first length of the solid wire leader is at least about twice the second length of the main shaft, or is about twice the second length of the main shaft.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the first length of the solid wire leader S1 twice the second length of the main shaft S2, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, the specification does not provide any criticality for this specific length of the first length of the solid wire leader with respect to the main shaft, as the length of the solid wire leader with respect to the length of the main shaft is not described in the specification. The motivation for making the solid wire leader twice the second length of the main shaft would be to provide the user with a spacing between the lure holding portion and the line holding portion to prevent entanglement.
The side of the arced section with the entry point is longer than the side of the arced section which is on the opposite side of the main shaft.
This is taught by (US 2315295 A) to Stogermayr, wherein the side of the arced section with the entry point is longer than the side of the arced section which is on the opposite side of the main shaft (Stogermayr; see FIG 1 or FIG 4 where the portion of the wire with the entry point 16 (the portion length including 16 to the right side of the FIG), is longer than the side of the arced section on the opposite side of S2, which is on the rear side of S2 facing away from the viewer).
Where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the arced section with the entry point to be longer than the opposing arced section to ensure a line or lure is stably secured onto the wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims and disclosure throughout refer to a “solid wire leader” and a “main shaft”, however it is unclear based on the drawings, specification, and claims, what these structures are and how they are different from one another. For example, in FIG 3a, the main shaft 26 appears to be the straight portion of the device between elements 28 and 30. However, in FIG 4, the solid wire leader 60 appears to be referring to at least part of the same straight portion. However in the claims, these are described as two separate structures which extend from each other, with the main shaft being connected to the lure holding end while the solid wire leader is attached to the line attachment, and with an entry point being between the two.
It is unclear if applicant intended to indicate that the solid wire leader is a part or portion of the main shaft, or if the main shaft is a separate and distinct part of the same straight portion of the device.
Claim 35 recites “a line holding element at the main shaft”. This limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what applicant means by “at the main shaft”, and whether or not this is missing a word such as ‘at an end of the main shaft’ or ‘at a position on the main shaft’, as examples.
Claims 28-33, 35-39, 41-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 28-33, 35-39, and 41-45 all depend on cancelled claims, making it unclear as to their relevant dependencies. The claims have been examined as best understood for the 35 USC 102/103 rejections below.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 29-37, 39-43, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 2315295 A) to Stogermayr.
In regards to claim 27, Stogermayr anticipates a monolithic device for connecting a lure, comprising: a main device axis comprising a solid wire leader (Stogermayr as best understood; annotated S1 of 10, see FIG 1) and a main shaft (Stogermayr as best understood; annotated S2 of 10, see FIG 1), the main shaft extending from the solid wire leader along the main device axis (Stogermayr; S2 extending from S1 with 16 between them); a line attachment end configured at one end of the solid wire leader (Stogermayr; the line attachment end at the upper end of FIG 1 extending from S1); a lure holding end configured at one end of the main shaft (Stogermayr; a lure holding end at the lowermost end of FIG 1 at an end of the main shaft S2); a lure holding loop at the lure holding end (Stogermayr; lure holding loop comprised of lower of 16, 15, 11, 17, 14, 13, 12); an entry point configured between the solid wire leader and the main shaft (Stogermayr; the entry point being at 16, which is a point between segments S1 and S2); and wherein the solid wire leader comprises a first length and the main shaft comprises a second length; wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is greater than the second length of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the length of S1 > the length of S2).
In regards to claim 29, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 1, further comprising a first resistance point (Stogermayr; annotated S3 being the first resistance point being about the first curve starting at 16 which engages with the straight part of 10).
In regards to claim 30, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 3, wherein the first resistance point is created at the entry point configured between the solid wire leader and the main shaft (Stogermayr; annotated S3; first resistance point being about the first curve starting at 16, the entry point, and the straight part of 10; being between the entry point and the solid wire leader S1 and the main shaft S2).
In regards to claim 31, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 3, further comprising a second resistance point (Stogermayr; see annotated S4).
In regards to claim 32. Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 5, wherein the second resistance point is created at the lure holding loop (Stogermayr; see annotated S4, where S4 is at the lure holding loop created by 11, 17, 14, 13, 12).
In regards to claim 33, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 1, wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is at least about twice the second length of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the length of the solid wire leader S1 is at least about twice the second length of the main shaft S2, see FIG 1 where S1 is greater than twice the length of S2).
In regards to claim 34, Stogermayr anticipates a monolithic device for connecting a lure, comprising: a main device axis comprising a solid wire leader (Stogermayr as best understood; annotated S1 of 10, see FIG 1) and a main shaft (Stogermayr as best understood; annotated S2 of 10, see FIG 1), the main shaft extending from the solid wire leader along the main device axis (Stogermayr; S2 extending from S1 with 16 between them); a lure holding loop (Stogermayr; lure holding loop comprised of lower 16, 15, 11, 17, 14, 13, 12); an entry point (Stogermayr; the entry point being at 16); an arced section extending from the entry point; and wherein the arced section crosses the main shaft to create a first resistance point (Stogermayr; see where the wire at 16 arcs across the main shaft S2 to create a first resistance point a device would need to pass in order to be secured within the loop).
In regards to claim 35, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 8, further comprising a line holding element at the main shaft (Stogermayr as best understood; 11 being a line holding element at the area of the main shaft S2).
In regards to claim 36, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 8, wherein the arced section bends away from the main shaft on both sides of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the arced section of the wire that extends from 16 and bends about S2 has two portions on either side of S2 which bends away from S2 in order to wrap around S2. See annotated FIG below).
In regards to claim 37, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 8, wherein the solid wire leader comprises a first length and the main shaft comprises a second length; wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is greater than the second length of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the length of S1 > the length of S2).
In regards to claim 39, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 8, further comprising a second resistance point (Stogermayr; see annotated S4).
In regards to claim 40, Stogermayr anticipates a monolithic device for connecting a lure, comprising; a main device axis comprising a solid wire leader (Stogermayr as best understood; annotated S1 of 10, see FIG 1) and a main shaft (Stogermayr as best understood; annotated S2 of 10, see FIG 1), the main shaft extending from the solid wire leader along the main device axis (Stogermayr; S2 extending from S1 with the main device axis along 10); a line holding element configured at one end of the solid wire leader (Stogermayr; the line attachment end at the upper end of FIG 1 extending from S1); a lure holding loop configured at one end of the main shaft (Stogermayr; lure holding loop comprised of 16, 15, 11, 17, 14, 13, 12 at the end of main shaft S2); an entry point (Stogermayr; the entry point being at 16); an arced section extending from the entry point (Stogermayr; see where the wire at 16 arcs across the main shaft S2); and wherein the side of the arced section with the entry point is longer than the side of the arced section which is on the opposite side of the main shaft (Stogermayr; see FIG 1 or FIG 4 where the portion of the wire with the entry point 16 (the portion length including 16 to the right side of the FIG), is longer than the side of the arced section on the opposite side of S2, which is on the rear side of S2 facing away from the viewer).
In regards to claim 41, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 14, wherein the arced section crossing the main shaft creates a first resistance point (Stogermayr; see where the wire at 16 arcs across the main shaft S2 to create a first resistance point a device would need to pass in order to be secured within the loop).
In regards to claim 42, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 14, wherein the arced section bends away from both sides of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the arced section of the wire that extends from 16 and bends about S2 has two portions on either side of S2 which bends away from S2 in order to wrap around S2. See annotated FIG).
In regards to claim 43, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 14, wherein the solid wire leader comprises a first length and the main shaft comprises a second length; wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is greater than the second length of the main shaft (Stogermayr; the length of S1 > the length of S2).
In regards to claim 45, Stogermayr anticipates the monolithic device of claim 14, further comprising a second resistance point (Stogermayr; see annotated S4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2315295 A) to Stogermayr in view of (US 2720014 A) to Caldwell.
In regards to claim 28, Stogermayr teaches the monolithic device of claim 1, further comprising a line holding element at the line attachment end (Stogermayr; 11, 17), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the line holding element comprises a closed wire twist.
Caldwell teaches wherein the line holding element (Caldwell; uppermost eyelet in FIG 1) at the line attachment end (Caldwell; the line attachment end comprised of 12, 9, 6), wherein the line holding element comprises a closed wire twist (Caldwell; the closed wire twist creating the eyelet, see FIG 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stogermayr such that the line holding element at 17 which connects to a fishing line is modified into a line holding element eyelet with a closed wire twist such as taught by Caldwell. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an area that secures a fishing line and prevents entanglement with the hook connections, while still providing room for a hook connecting line to be threaded onto 12.
Claim(s) 38, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2315295 A) to Stogermayr.
In regards to claim 38, Stogermayr teaches the monolithic device of claim 11, wherein the tackle member may be any desired length (Stogermayr; Col 1 lines 56-Col 2 lines 11).
Stogermayr fails to explicitly teach wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is about twice the second length of the main shaft.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the first length of the solid wire leader S1 twice the second length of the main shaft S2, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, the specification does not provide any criticality for this specific length of the first length of the solid wire leader with respect to the main shaft, as the length of the solid wire leader with respect to the length of the main shaft is not described in the specification. The motivation for making the solid wire leader twice the second length of the main shaft would be to provide the user with a spacing between the lure holding portion and the line holding portion to prevent entanglement.
In regards to claim 44, Stogermayr teaches the monolithic device of claim 17, wherein the tackle member may be any desired length (Stogermayr; Col 1 lines 56-Col 2 lines 11).
Stogermayr fails to explicitly teach wherein the first length of the solid wire leader is at about twice the second length of the main shaft.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the first length of the solid wire leader S1 twice the second length of the main shaft S2, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, the specification does not provide any criticality for this specific length of the first length of the solid wire leader with respect to the main shaft, as the length of the solid wire leader with respect to the length of the main shaft is not described in the specification. The motivation for making the solid wire leader twice the second length of the main shaft would be to provide the user with a spacing between the lure holding portion and the line holding portion to prevent entanglement.
Conclusion
/KATELYN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647