DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No. US 2015/0167523 A1 to Tsutsumi et. al. (Tsutsumi).
In Reference to Claim 1
An engine device comprising:
an exhaust gas purification device including:
a first case (33); and
a second case (34), wherein the first case (33) and the second case (34) are connected via a tube (35, 36A) (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 1-5 and paragraph [0032] “The first and second aftertreatment units 31, 32 each include: a first exhaust gas emission control system 33 provided upstream in the flow direction of the exhaust gas; a second exhaust gas emission control system 34 provided downstream in the flow direction; a mixing pipe 35 through which the first and second exhaust gas emission control systems 33, 34 are in communication with each other; and a urea supply device 36 that is provided between the first exhaust gas emission control system 33 and the mixing pipe 35 and includes an elbow pipe 36A”); and
a urea-water injection body (36) for injecting urea water into the tube (35, 36A) is placed above the first case (33) (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 1-5 and paragraph [0047] “After the exhaust gas passes through the oxidation catalysts 33A, particular matter in the exhaust gas is collected by the soot filters 33B. The exhaust gas then radially flows out of the first exhaust gas emission control systems 33 through the outflow pipes 41A and flows into the elbow pipes 36A. In the elbow pipe 36A, the urea solution is sprayed into the exhaust gas from the urea supply device 36. While passing through the mixing pipes 35, in which the flow direction is again changed to the front-and-rear direction, the exhaust gas is well mixed with the sprayed urea solution. The exhaust gas then radially flows into the second exhaust gas emission control systems 34 through the inflow pipe 42A”).
In Reference to Claim 2
The engine device according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the urea-water injection body (36) is provided above an exhaust outlet of the first case (33) (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 1-5 and paragraph [0047] “After the exhaust gas passes through the oxidation catalysts 33A, particular matter in the exhaust gas is collected by the soot filters 33B. The exhaust gas then radially flows out of the first exhaust gas emission control systems 33 through the outflow pipes 41A and flows into the elbow pipes 36A. In the elbow pipe 36A, the urea solution is sprayed into the exhaust gas from the urea supply device 36. While passing through the mixing pipes 35, in which the flow direction is again changed to the front-and-rear direction, the exhaust gas is well mixed with the sprayed urea solution. The exhaust gas then radially flows into the second exhaust gas emission control systems 34 through the inflow pipe 42A”).
In Reference to Claim 3
The engine device according to claim 2 (see rejection to claim 2 above), wherein a straight portion (35) of the tube (35, 36A) is provided downstream of the urea-water injection body (36A) in a direction of exhaust gas flow (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 2-5 and paragraph [0032] “The first and second aftertreatment units 31, 32 each include: a first exhaust gas emission control system 33 provided upstream in the flow direction of the exhaust gas; a second exhaust gas emission control system 34 provided downstream in the flow direction; a mixing pipe 35 through which the first and second exhaust gas emission control systems 33, 34 are in communication with each other; and a urea supply device 36 that is provided between the first exhaust gas emission control system 33 and the mixing pipe 35 and includes an elbow pipe 36A”).
In Reference to Claim 4
The engine device according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein a flow direction of the exhaust gas changes between an upstream side (flow from #41A) and a downstream side (flow to #35) of the urea-water injection body (36) (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 2-5 and paragraphs 32-33, 36 and 47).
In Reference to Claim 5
The engine device according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein at least a portion (lower part of #36A where it meets #41A) of the tube (35, 36A) extends vertically (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 2-5 and paragraphs 32 and 47).
In Reference to Claim 6
The engine device according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein one of the cases (34) is placed on a top surface of the engine (7), and the other (33) is placed on a side surface of the engine (7) (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 2-5 and paragraph [0038] “The first and second aftertreatment units 31, 32 are provided at the right and left shoulders of the engine 7 in such a manner that the pair of first exhaust gas emission control systems 33 are spaced from each other in the right-and-left direction and the pair of second exhaust gas emission control systems 34 are located close to each other between the first exhaust gas emission control systems 33. The first exhaust gas emission control system 33 of each of the first and second aftertreatment units 31, 32 is laterally displaced from a position just above the engine 7 while being below the second exhaust gas emission control system 34 provided at a position just above the engine 7. The mixing pipe 35 is provided between the first and second exhaust gas emission control systems 33, 34 while being above the first exhaust gas emission control system 33”).
In Reference to Claim 8
The engine device according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the second case (34) is disposed above a flywheel housing (25) (see at least Tsutsumi Figs. 2-5 and paragraphs 34, 38 and 41).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No. US 2015/0345360 A1 to Himoto et. al. (Himoto).
In Reference to Claim 1
An engine device comprising:
an exhaust gas purification device including:
a first case (one of #41 or #42); and
a second case (one of #42 or #41), wherein the first case (one of #41 or #42) and the second case (one of #42 or #41) are connected via a tube (52); and
a urea-water injection body (49) for injecting urea water into the tube (52) is placed above the first case (one of #41 or #42) (see at least Himoto Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 41, 50-52).
In Reference to Claim 7
The engine device according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the second case (42) is positioned lower than the first case (41) vertically (see at least Himoto Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 41, 50-52).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,690,034 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of patent ‘034 teaches all the recitation of claims 1-8 of the current application.
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,092,056 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of patent ‘056 teaches all the recitation of claims 1-8 of the current application.
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,643,960 in view of Pub No. US 2015/0345360 A1 to Himoto et. al. (Himoto). Claim 1 of patent ‘056 teaches having two exhaust cases does not teach having a urea-water injection body for injecting urea water into the tube is placed above the first case. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the current application that an urea-water injection body for injecting urea water into the tube is placed above the first case. For example, Himoto teaches to have the urea injector (49) in the tube (52) which is above the first case (41). Himoto teaches that having such structure provide urea to the selective catalytic reduction device (42) in order to purify the exhaust gas (see at least Himoto Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, and paragraphs 51-54). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims 1-7 of the current application with the urea injector located on the tube which is above the first case in order to purify the exhaust gas.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,297,763 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 of patent ‘763 teaches all the recitation of claims 1-8 of the current application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 9,745,718 B2 to Mochimaru (Mochimaru) teaches exhaust system with two cases and an urea injector in between the cases.
/BRANDON D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 June 24, 2026