DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-20 do not use “means for “(or “step for”) language, or generic placeholders for “means” coupled with functional language without recitation of sufficient structure for carrying out the claimed functions and therefore do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is directed to a computer-readable storage medium that stores a program causing a processor to execute the control method according to claim 14. However, the claim is not limited to nontransitory embodiments, and the specification does not provide a definition limiting the meaning of this term to only nontransitory embodiments (specification, paragraphs 149, 187, 231). The claim therefore can be reasonably interpreted as encompassing transitory signal embodiments, which are nonstatutory (In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). If the specification includes written description support, this rejection can be overcome by including the term “nontransitory” in the claim (see USPTO Official Gazette notice 1351 OG 212.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatsu et al. (US-2023/0283907-A1) in view of Lee, at al. (US-2018/0295292-A1)
[Claim 1]
Regarding claim 1, Nagatsu teaches an imaging apparatus comprising:
an imaging element having an imaging surface on which light from a subject is incident (Nagatsu, in Figure 4A teaches an image pickup apparatus 100, that includes an image sensor 121 where light incident on the image sensor 121 passes through the optical filter 160, paragraph 0042) ;
a switcher (Nagatsu , Figure 2, multifunction button113 and driving circuit 137 and motor 201 used for controlling the insertion/removal of the optical filter 160 , paragraph 0087) switching a state of the light incident on the imaging surface between a first state and a second state different from the first state, the state being changed by an optical filter (Nagatsu , teaches in Figure 4A, that illustrates a state (inserted state) in which the optical filter 160 is inserted into an opening 190 provided inside the mount portion 103 of the image pickup apparatus 100 and overlaps the opening 190. The opening 190 defines the imaging range. Thereby, the light incident on the image sensor 121 passes through the optical filter 160, and a variety of imaging expressions are available due to the effect of the optical filter 160. For example, in a case where an ND filter is inserted as the optical filter 160, incident light is attenuated, and long-exposure imaging and overexposure suppression can be acquired even in a bright environment, paragraph 0042. Nagatsu further teaches in Figure 4A, the image pickup apparatus that can operate in a configuration where it can insert and retract the optical filter 160 to and from the optical axis 1000 without interfering with the internal parts or internal units of the image pickup apparatus 100, and the optical filter 160 can be easily switched between the inserted state (i.e. a first state) and the retracted state (i.e. second state) ,paragraph 0049. Nagatsu further teaches an optical filter 160 the image pickup apparatus 100 includes the optical filter 160 and the control unit (MPU 130) configured to provide exposure control. The optical filter 160 is movable between the first position at which the optical filter 160 is inserted into the imaging range (opening 190) of the image sensor and the second position at which the optical filter 160 is retracted from the imaging range. The first position is the position where the optical filter 160 covers the imaging range (the imaging area including the optical axis 1000), and the second position is the position where the optical filter 160 does not overlap the imaging range. The control unit provides the exposure control in a case where the optical filter is located at the first position and the in-focus state cannot be obtained by moving a focus lens, paragraph 0083.;
a display device displaying information( Nagatsu , in Figure 2 teaches a display panel 111, paragraph 0147); and
a processor controlling the imaging element, the switcher, and the display device (Nagatsu , teaches a liquid crystal monitor 111 displays a variety of setting screens, captured images, and live-view images of the image pickup apparatus and an MPU 130 is a small central processing unit (CPU) (control unit) built in the image pickup apparatus 100. A switch sense circuit 133, a power supply circuit 134 an optical filter driving circuit 137, and a piezoelectric element driving circuit 145 are connected to the MPU 130. The MPU 130 controls the operation of the image pickup apparatus 100, processes input information, and instructs and controls each element. The MPU 130 has an EEPROM, which can store time information from the time measuring circuit 131 and various setting information, paragraph 0026,),
Nagatsu does not teach wherein the processor determines whether the state is the first state or the second state, in response to determining that the state is the first state, the processor controls the display device to display first information indicative of a first range of a shooting distance that is capable of being set in the first state, in response to determining that the state is the second state, the processor controls the display device to display second information indicative of a second range of the shooting distance that is capable of being set in the second state.
However, Lee teaches an electronic device 100 (Lee, Figure 1) that includes a camera module and a processor is configured to receive a signal for adjusting a focus associated with an external object by using the camera, verify a state of the electronic device associated with the reception of the signal, select (i.e. processor determine whether it is a first state or a second state) corresponding unit information among the first unit information and the second unit information, based at least partly on the state, and move the lens driving part depending on the corresponding unit information to adjust the focus associated with the external object, paragraph 0010.
Furthermore, Lee teaches the processor is configured to receive a signal for adjusting a focus (i.e. first information indicative of first range of shooting distance) associated with an external object by using the camera, verify (i.e. response to a determining) a state of the electronic device associated with the reception of the signal, select corresponding unit information(i.e. first information) among the first unit information, paragraph 0010). Lee further teaches in Figure 6, a first state 651 (i.e. first state with an inserted filter, whereas the second state will be similar to first state but without the filter inserted but retracted.), where as illustrated in state 651, the electronic device 100 may output a first focus manipulation object 660 (or a controller or a virtual controller) and a camera control object 670 on the display 650. A first focus location indicator 661 in the first focus manipulation object 660 may move in a first focus stroke area 662 in response to a user touch. For example, in response to a touch selection input to select the first focus location indicator 661(i.e. display device displaying first information) and a touch movement input to move in a specified direction (e.g., an upper-side direction or a bottom-side direction), the first focus location indicator 661 may move in the upper-side direction or the bottom-side direction in the first focus stroke area 662. As the first focus location indicator 661 moves in the first focus stroke area 662, paragraphs 0098-0100.
Lee teaches of using two camera modules integrated in the same device to execute first state (651) and the second state (653) displays the focus distance with a range as shown in Figure 6 with a first focus location indicator 661 in the first focus manipulation object 660 may move in a first focus stroke area 662 in response to a user touch, paragraph 0100. However, as described earlier, the first state with the first camera unit and the combination of inserted and retracted filter is considered. Lee the first user interface output to the display 160 may include the first focus adjustment object associated with the focus adjustment of the first camera module 210. The second user interface output to the display 160 may include the second focus adjustment object associated with the focus adjustment of the second camera module 220. Since the focus locations of the first camera module 210 and the second camera module 220 are different from each other or the first camera module 210 and the second camera module 220 have different focus sharpness variations with respect to the same user input, the first focus adjustment object and the second focus adjustment object may have different sizes or lengths. According to various embodiments, the first user interface or the second user interface, which is output to the display 160, may further include an auxiliary object for focus fine adjustment. Alternatively, in the case where an external device (e.g., a remote controller capable of generating an input signal associated with the focus location adjustment, or the like) is connected with regard to the focus adjustment, the display 160 may output a screen associated with an external device connection state, a focus adjustment value input through the external device, a focus adjustment state, or the like, paragraph 0056.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu with Lee with the motivation to display first and second information according to a camera configuration, e.g. the first camera module 210 and the second camera module 220 have different focus sharpness variations with respect to the same user input, the first focus adjustment object and the second focus adjustment object may have different sizes or lengths, paragraph 0056.
[Claim 2]
Regarding claim 2, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1,
Nagatsu does not teach wherein the first information and the second information include at least one of a numeral, a letter, a picture, and a bar related to the shooting distance.
Lee teaches in Figure 6, a first state 651 where the electronic device 100 activate at least one camera module in compliance with the activation of a camera function and may output a user interface associated with the control of the activated at least one camera module on a display 650. For example, as illustrated in state 651, the electronic device 100 may output a first focus manipulation object 660 (or a controller or a virtual controller) (i.e. first information) and a camera control object 670 on the display 650, paragraph 0099. The first focus manipulation object 660 includes a location indicator 661 (i.e. a bar related to the shooting distance), paragraph 0100.
In the second state (i.e. filter retracted) activate at least one camera module in compliance with the activation of a camera function and may output a user interface associated with the control of the activated at least one camera module on a display 650. For example, as illustrated in state 651, the electronic device 100 may output a first focus manipulation object 660 (or a controller or a virtual controller) (i.e. first information) and a camera control object 670 on the display 650, paragraph 0099. The first focus manipulation object 660 includes a location indicator 661 (i.e. a bar related to the shooting distance), paragraph 0100.
[Claim 11]
Regarding claim 11, Nagatsu in view Lee teach all the limitation of claim 1, wherein the switcher includes a driver that moves the optical filter between a filtering position and a retracted position, the filtering position is a position where the optical filter is disposed in front of the imaging surface of the imaging element and where the light passes through the optical filter before reaching the imaging surface, the retracted position is a position where the optical filter is out of front of the imaging surface.
Additionally, Nagatsu teaches a multifunction button 113, when pressed in the inserted state illustrated in FIG. 9, the switch sense circuit 133 detects the pressing. At this time, The MPU 130 transmits an instruction to drive the motor 201, and the motor 201 starts rotating through the optical filter driving circuit 137, paragraph 0043. Furthermore, Nagatsu teaches a switching function of insertion/retraction of the optical filter 160 to the multifunction button 113. Nagatsu further teaches in Figure 4A illustrates a state (inserted state) in which the optical filter 160 is inserted into an opening 190 provided inside the mount portion 103 of the image pickup apparatus 100 and overlaps the opening 190. The opening 190 defines the imaging range. Thereby, the light incident on the image sensor 121 passes through the optical filter 160, and a variety of imaging expressions are available due to the effect of the optical filter 160. For example, in a case where an ND filter is inserted as the optical filter 160, incident light is attenuated, and long-exposure imaging and overexposure suppression can be acquired even in a bright environment, paragraph 0042.
[Claim 12]
Regarding claim 12, Nagatsu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the switcher includes an inserter that inserts and removes the optical filter to and from a filtering position, and wherein the filtering position is a position where the optical filter is disposed in front of the imaging surface of the imaging element and where the light passes through the optical filter before reaching the imaging surface.
Additionally, Nagatsu teaches a switching function of insertion/retraction of the optical filter 160 to the multifunction button 113. Figure 4A illustrates a state (filter inserted state) in which the optical filter 160 is inserted into and overlaps an opening 190 provided inside the mount unit 103 of the image pickup apparatus 100. The opening 190 defines the imaging range. Thereby, the light incident on the image sensor 121 passes through the optical filter 160, and a variety of imaging expressions are available due to the effect of the optical filter 160. For example, an ND filter inserted as the optical filter 160 can attenuate the incident light, and provide long-exposure imaging and white-out suppression even in a bright environment, paragraph 0070. Nagatsu further teaches This structure can insert and retract the optical filter 160 to and from the optical axis 1000 without interfering with the internal parts or internal units of the image pickup apparatus 100. Therefore, the optical filter 160 can be incorporated without making larger the image pickup apparatus 100, and the optical filter 160 can be easily switched between the inserted state and the retracted state, paragraph 0077.
[Claim 13]
Regarding claim 13, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1, wherein further comprising: a detector detecting the first state and the second state, wherein the processor determines whether the state is the first state or the second state based on a result detected by the detector.
Additionally, Nagatsu teaches in Figure 9, and in step S800, the MPU 130 acquires the defocus map. Next, in step S801, the MPU 130 determines whether the optical filter 160 is inserted. In a case where the optical filter 160 is not inserted (or retracted, i.e. second state)), the flow proceeds to step S812. In step S812, the MPU 130 drives the focus lens 141 and ends this flow. On the other hand, in a case where the optical filter 160 is inserted( i.e. first state), the flow proceeds to step S802. In step S802, the MPU 130 acquires optical filter information, paragraph 0063.
[Claim 14]
Claim 14 is directed to a method corresponding to an apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
[Claim 15]
Claim 15 is directed to a method corresponding to an apparatus claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 2.
[Claim 20]
Regarding claim 20, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 14, wherein a computer-readable storage medium that stores a program causing a processor to execute the control method according to claim 14.
Nagatsu further teaches that the embodiment(s) of the disclosure can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer-executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), paragraph 0085.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatsu et al. (US-2023/0283907-A1) in view of Lee, at al. (US-2018/0295292-A1), further in view of Matsumoto, Satoru (US-2019/0394409-A1)
[Claim 3]
Regarding claim 3, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Nagatsu in view of Lee do not teach wherein the processor changes a display on the display device in response to determining that a set shooting distance is outside the first range in the first state or in response to determining that the set shooting distance is outside the second range in the second state.
However, Matsumoto teaches in Figure 9, wherein in a normal mode(i.e. first state 901) is an example of the display of the distance range indicator in the normal mode. An indicator 311 of the focus-capable range is displayed from 0.1 m to the telephoto end (the right end of the bar 305). Meanwhile, the AF-unable focus range 310 is displayed from 0.09 m to 0.1 m. In this case, focus is possible through both AF and MF in the focus range from 0.1 m to infinity, but focus is possible through neither AF nor MF in the focus range from 0.09 m to 0.1 m, paragraph 0135.
Matsumoto, further teaches in a macro mode (i.e. second state) 902 is an example of the display of the distance range indicator in the macro mode. The indicator 311 of the focus-capable range is displayed in a range of from 0.09 m to 0.15 m. Meanwhile, the AF-unable focus range 310 is displayed from 0.15 m to the telephoto end (the right end of the bar 305). In this case, focus is possible through both AF and MF in the focus range from 0.09 m to 0.15 m, but focus is possible through neither AF nor MF in the focus range from 0.15 m to infinity, paragraph 0136.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu and Lee with Matsumoto with the motivation to provide a user interface with good usability, which takes into account the unique beyond infinity area of the lens unit, the focus range in which shooting is possible, and the like, can be provided, which makes it possible to assist the focusing operations of the user, paragraph 0144.
[Claim 5]
Regarding claim 5, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Nagatsu in view of Lee do not teach wherein the processor adjusts the shooting distance to within the first range in response to determining that a set shooting distance is outside the first range in the first state, and wherein the processor adjusts the shooting distance to within the second range in response to determining that the set shooting distance is outside the second range in the second state.
However, Matsumoto teaches the first information and the second information at least include a bar related to the shooting distance, (Matsumoto, Figure 9, a first state determined by the controller as a normal mode where a macro mode switch 150 (Figure 2B) is off. In this normal mode (i.e. first state) the focus range is possible from 0.1m to infinity. 901 is an example of the display of the distance range indicator in the normal mode. The indicator 311 of the focus-capable range is displayed from 0.1 m to the telephoto end (the right end of the bar 305), paragraph 0135. In a macro mode (i.e. second state) when macro mode switch 150 is on, the focus range in which focus is possible is from 0.09 m to 0.15 m. Meanwhile, the AF-unable focus range 310 is displayed from 0.09 m to 0.1 m. In this case, focus is possible through both AF and MF in the focus range from 0.1 m to infinity, but focus is possible through neither AF nor MF in the focus range from 0.09 m to 0.1 m, paragraphs 0134-0135. Furthermore, Matsumoto teaches 902 is an example of the display of the distance range indicator in the macro mode. The indicator 311 of the focus-capable range is displayed in a range of from 0.09 m to 0.15 m. Meanwhile, the AF-unable focus range 310 is displayed from 0.15 m to the telephoto end (the right end of the bar 305), paragraph 0136.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu and Lee with Matsumoto with the motivation to provide a user interface with good usability, which takes into account the unique beyond infinity area of the lens unit, the focus range in which shooting is possible, and the like, can be provided, which makes it possible to assist the focusing operations of the user, paragraph 0144.
[Claim 8]
Regarding claim 8, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Nagatsu in view of Lee do not teach wherein in response to determining that the state is the first state, the processor determines the first range based on information about first shooting distance limited in the first state, and wherein in response to determining that the state is the second state, the processor determines the second range based on information about second shooting distance limited in the second state.
However, Matsumoto teaches an image capturing apparatus wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the electronic device to perform a method comprising: adjusting a focus distance of a lens unit; obtaining, from the lens unit, first information relating to a first range being a focus range of the lens unit and second information relating to a second range being a part of the focus range, the second range in which adjustment in the adjusting is limited; and controlling, on the basis of the first information and the second information, a display device so as to display the first range and the second range to be distinguishable from each other.
Matsumoto, teaches in Figure 9, a first state determined by the controller as a normal mode where a macro mode switch 150 (Figure 2B) is off. In this normal mode (i.e. first state) the focus range is possible from 0.1m to infinity. 901 is an example of the display of the distance range indicator in the normal mode. The indicator 311 of the focus-capable range is displayed from 0.1 m to the telephoto end (the right end of the bar 305), paragraph 0135. In a macro mode (i.e. second state) when macro mode switch 150 is on, the focus range in which focus is possible is from 0.09 m to 0.15 m. Meanwhile, the AF-unable focus range 310 is displayed from 0.09 m to 0.1 m. In this case, focus is possible through both AF and MF in the focus range from 0.1 m to infinity, but focus is possible through neither AF nor MF in the focus range from 0.09 m to 0.1 m, paragraphs 0134-0135. Furthermore, Matsumoto teaches 902 is an example of the display of the distance range indicator in the macro mode. The indicator 311 of the focus-capable range is displayed in a range of from 0.09 m to 0.15 m. Meanwhile, the AF-unable focus range 310 is displayed from 0.15 m to the telephoto end (the right end of the bar 305), paragraph 0136.
Matsumoto teaches an adjustment of focus distance with display of the distance range indicator provides a user interface for assisting focus adjustment operation by the user in accordance with the characteristics of the attached lens unit. Accordingly, a user interface with good usability, which takes into account the unique beyond infinity area of the lens unit, the focus range in which shooting is possible, and the like, can be provided, which makes it possible to assist the focusing operations of the user, paragraph 0144.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu and Lee with Matsumoto with the motivation to provide a user interface with good usability, which takes into account the unique beyond infinity area of the lens unit, the focus range in which shooting is possible, and the like, can be provided, which makes it possible to assist the focusing operations of the user, paragraph 0144.
[Claim 16]
Claim 16 is directed to a method corresponding to an apparatus claim 3. Therefore, claim 16 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 3.
[Claim 18]
Claim 18 is directed to a method corresponding to an apparatus claim 5. Therefore, claim 18 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 5.
[Claim 19]
Claim 19 is directed to a method corresponding to an apparatus claim 8. Therefore, claim 19 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 8.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatsu et al. (US-2023/0283907-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-2019/0394409-A1), further in view of Iinuma, Futoshi (US-2021/0223496-A1)
[Claim 6]
Regarding claim 6, Nagatsu in view of Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1,
Nagatsu in view of Lee do not teach wherein the optical filter comprises: a first optical filter; and a second optical filter having a refractive index or a thickness different from that of the first optical filter, wherein the first state is a state in which the state of the light is changed by the first optical filter, and wherein the second state is a state in which the state of the light is changed by the second optical filter.
However, Iinuma teaches a similar imaging apparatus 100 in Figure 4, including: a first optical filter; a first holding frame, holding the first optical filter; at least two first supports, slidably supporting a first side member and a second side member of the first holding frame, respectively; a first motor; a first transmission, transmitting power from the first motor to the first holding frame to drive the first holding frame to slide along the two first supports, causing the first optical filter to be inserted into or recede from an optical path of a photographic apparatus; a second optical filter; a second holding frame, holding the second optical filter; at least two second supports, being arranged adjacent to the at least two first supports respectively, and slidably supporting a first side member and a second side member of the second holding frame respectively; a second motor; and a second transmission, transmitting power from the second motor to the second holding frame to drive the second holding frame to slide along the two second supports, causing the second optical filter to be inserted into or recede from the optical path, where a distance from an optical axis of the photographing apparatus to one of the at least two first supports that supports the first side member of the first holding frame is different from a distance from the optical axis to one of the at least two second supports that supports the first side member of the second holding frame, and a distance from the optical axis to the other one of the at least two first supports that supports the second side member of the first holding frame is different from a distance from the optical axis to the other one of the at least two second supports that supports the second side member of the second holding frame, paragraph 0006. Iinuma further teaches photographing apparatus including an image sensor 120 receiving light passing through an optical filtering apparatus; causing the first optical filter to be inserted into or recede from an optical path of a photographic apparatus; a second optical filter; a second holding frame, holding the second optical filter; at least two second supports, being arranged adjacent to the at least two first supports respectively, and slidably supporting a first side member and a second side member of the second holding frame respectively, paragraph 0007.
Iinuma teaches an imaging device with option to use of a first optical filter and a second optical filter. Using multiple filters provide increased filtering options.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu and Lee with Iinuma so that the combination would provide the option to adjust greater filtering option.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatsu et al. (US-2023/0283907-A1) in view of Lee et al. (US-2019/0394409-A1), further in view of Iinuma, Futoshi (US-2021/0223496-A1) and further in view of Shimotsu et al. (US-2022/0385839-A1)
[Claim 7]
Regarding claim 7, Nagatsu in view of Lee and further in view of Iinuma teach all the limitations of claim 6.
Nagatsu in view of Lee and in view of Iimuma do not teach wherein the second optical filter has a refractive index or a thickness greater than that of the first optical filter.
Shimotsu teaches a similar imaging apparatus teaches a switchable turret filter 40, where a focal length in visible light that is transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is shorter than a focal length in near-infrared light that is transmitted through the second optical filter 42. To correct a difference in focal length, an ND value of the first optical filter 41 ( specification, a second optical filter) is set to a value greater than an ND value of the second optical filter 42 (specification, a first optical filter). The ND value is a product of a refractive index and a thickness, and represents an optical path length, paragraph 0072.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu and Iinuma with Shimotsu with the motivation to use first and second filters that have different thickness or refractive index to provide to reduce deviation between focusing position for visible light and a focusing position for near-infrared light, paragraph 0074.
Claim 4, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatsu et al. (US-2023/0283907-A1) in view of Lee, at al. (US-2018/0295292-A1), in view of Matsumoto, Satoru (US-2019/0394409-A1), and further in view of Sawa, Yasutaka (US-2014/0267869-A1)
[Claim 4]
Regarding claim 4, Nagatsu in view of Lee, and in view of Matsumoto teach all the limitations of claim 3.
Nagatsu, in view of Lee and further in view of Matsumoto do not teach wherein the processor changes the display on the display device to display a message on the display device.
Sawa teaches a similar photographing apparatus 1 with interchangeable lens 20, in Figure 1, that includes a control unit 23 is configured by a microcomputer or the like, and a distance and focusing calculation unit 11c determines a current focusing position and object position (object distance) based on the calculated defocus amount, and then drives a lens for adjusting focusing depending on the defocus amount to perform auto focus, paragraph 0055. Sawa further teaches that a message for how to adjust the focus and/or aperture may be displayed by the display control unit 11a because an adjustment method for focusing may be obtained based on signals from the distance and focusing calculation unit 11c and lens information calculation unit 11d, paragraph 0130.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu, Lee and Matsumoto with Sawa with the motivation to aid photographer to adjust the focus and aperture and obtain desired photographic effect, paragraph 0129.
[Claim 10]
Regarding claim 10, Nagatsu in view of Lee, and further in view of Matsumoto teach all the limitations of claim 8.
Nagatsu in view of Lee and further in view of Matsumoto teaches an imaging apparatus with an interchangeable lens but do not teach wherein the processor acquires information about lens shooting distance of a lens, determines the first range based on the first shooting distance and the lens shooting distance, and determines the second range based on the second shooting distance and the lens shooting distance.
Sawa teaches a similar photographing apparatus 1 with interchangeable lens 20, in Figure 1, that includes a control unit 23 is configured by a microcomputer or the like, and a distance and focusing calculation unit 11c determines a current focusing position and object position (object distance) based on the calculated defocus amount, and then drives a lens for adjusting focusing depending on the defocus amount to perform auto focus. The distance and focusing calculation unit 11c can obtain any needed calculation parameters from the stored lens information, paragraph 0055.
Sawa teaches a focusing area bar display 56 corresponds to an in-focus range. More specifically, a lower end 56a of the bar 56 corresponds to the shortest photographing distance and an upper end 56b of the bar 56 corresponds to the infinite distance. The display control unit 11a causes the focus aid generation unit 11e to display an object position display 57a which indicates an object position, on the focusing area bar display 56. Note that the object may be an object corresponding to the position of the live view image touched by the photographer. Additionally, at step S36, the display control unit 11a causes the focus aid generation unit 11e to display a rear depth of field display 57b, which indicates a range of the rear depth of field, and a front depth of field display 57c, which indicates a range of the front depth of field, on the focusing area bar display 56, paragraph 0069.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu, Lee and Matsumoto with Sawa with the motivation to allow for interchangeable lens s changed, the minimum photographing distance and infinite distance will often differ from those values of the previously used lens, depending on lens characteristics. In some example embodiments, these distances may be normalized and the focusing area bar display 56 may be always displayed in a constant size. Normalizing and displaying the focusing area bar display 56 in a constant size enables the manual focus operation with a same feeling all the time even when a different lens is attached. In some example embodiments, the focusing area bar display 56 is always displayed at the same relative position of the live view image, paragraph 0076.
[Claim 17]
Claim 17 is directed to a method corresponding to an apparatus claim 4. Therefore, claim 17 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 4.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatsu et al. (US-2023/0283907-A1) in view of Lee, at al. (US-2018/0295292-A1), in view of Matsumoto, Satoru (US-2019/0394409-A1), and in view of Iinuma, Futoshi (US-2021/0223496-A1), further in view of Shimotsu et al. (US-2022/0385839-A1)
[Claim 9]
Regarding claim 9, Nagatsu in view of Lee and further in view of Matsumoto teach all the limitations of claim 8.
Nagatsu in view of Lee and further in view of Matsumoto do not teach further comprising:
a filter device including the optical filter and a filter memory that stores information about shooting distance limited by the optical filter,
wherein
the optical filter includes:
a first optical filter; and
a second optical filter having a refractive index or a thickness different from that of the first optical filter, wherein
the first state is a state in which the state of the light is changed by the first optical filter, wherein
the second state is a state in which the state of the light is changed by the second optical filter, wherein
the filter memory includes:
a first filter memory that stores information about the first shooting distance limited by the first optical filter; and
a second filter memory that stores information about the second shooting distance limited by the second optical filter, wherein
the processor acquires information about the first shooting distance from the first filter memory, and wherein the processor acquires information about the second shooting distance from the second filter memory.
Iinuma teaches a similar imaging apparatus 100 in Figure 4, including: a first optical filter; a first holding frame, holding the first optical filter; at least two first supports, slidably supporting a first side member and a second side member of the first holding frame, respectively; a first motor; a first transmission, transmitting power from the first motor to the first holding frame to drive the first holding frame to slide along the two first supports, causing the first optical filter to be inserted into or recede from an optical path of a photographic apparatus; a second optical filter; a second holding frame, holding the second optical filter; at least two second supports, being arranged adjacent to the at least two first supports respectively, and slidably supporting a first side member and a second side member of the second holding frame respectively; a second motor; and a second transmission, transmitting power from the second motor to the second holding frame to drive the second holding frame to slide along the two second supports, causing the second optical filter to be inserted into or recede from the optical path, where a distance from an optical axis of the photographing apparatus to one of the at least two first supports that supports the first side member of the first holding frame is different from a distance from the optical axis to one of the at least two second supports that supports the first side member of the second holding frame, and a distance from the optical axis to the other one of the at least two first supports that supports the second side member of the first holding frame is different from a distance from the optical axis to the other one of the at least two second supports that supports the second side member of the second holding frame, paragraph 0006. Iinuma further teaches photographing apparatus including an image sensor 120 receiving light passing through an optical filtering apparatus; causing the first optical filter to be inserted into or recede from an optical path of a photographic apparatus; a second optical filter; a second holding frame, holding the second optical filter; at least two second supports, being arranged adjacent to the at least two first supports respectively, and slidably supporting a first side member and a second side member of the second holding frame respectively, paragraph 0007.
Iinuma teaches an imaging device with option to use of a first optical filter and a second optical filter. Using multiple filters provide increased filtering options.
Shimotsu teaches a similar imaging apparatus that includes
a switchable turret filter 40, that includes an optical filter 41 (specification second , and a second optical filter 42.
Shimotsu teaches a similar imaging apparatus teaches a switchable turret filter 40, where a focal length in visible light that is transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is shorter than a focal length in near-infrared light that is transmitted through the second optical filter 42. To correct a difference in focal length, an ND value of the first optical filter 41 is set to a value greater than an ND value of the second optical filter 42. The ND value is a product of a refractive index and a thickness, and represents an optical path length, paragraph 0072. Shimotsu further teaches in Figure 11, a first state in S18 where first optical filter 41 is a band-pass filter that transmits visible light. In a second mode as shown in step S12, a second optical filter 42 is second optical filter 42 is a band-pass filter that transmits near-infrared light, paragraph 0069.
Shimotsu further teaches where a focal length in visible light that is transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is shorter than a focal length in near-infrared light that is transmitted through the second optical filter 42. To correct a difference in focal length, an ND value of the first optical filter 41 ( specification, a second optical filter) is set to a value greater than an ND value of the second optical filter 42 (specification, a first optical filter). The ND value is a product of a refractive index and a thickness, and represents an optical path length, paragraph 0072.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagatsu, Lee and Matsumoto with Iinuma and Shimotsu to provide the option of using first optical filter and a second optical filter with the motivation to reduce deviation between focusing position for visible light and focusing position for near-infrared light, paragraph 0074.
Additionally, Nagatsu teaches a wherein the filter memory includes: a first filter memory that stores information about the first shooting distance limited by the first optical filter; and a second filter memory that stores information about the second shooting distance limited by the second optical filter, wherein the processor acquires information about the first shooting distance from the first filter memory, and wherein the processor acquires information about the second shooting distance from the second filter memory.
Nagatsu teaches where the image pickup apparatus 100 in a totally automatic imaging mode (auto mode). FIG. 9 is a flowchart of AF processing in the totally automatic imaging mode. As described above, the user can set a variety of imaging modes of the image pickup apparatus 100 by operating the mode switching dial 109. The totally automatic imaging mode is an imaging mode in which the F-number, the shutter speed, and the ISO speed are automatically set according to the luminance (brightness) of the object. In a case where the user starts imaging and AF processing starts, first, in step S800, the MPU 130 acquires the defocus map. Next, in step S801, the MPU 130 determines whether the optical filter 160 is inserted. In a case where the optical filter 160 is not inserted (or retracted), the flow proceeds to step S812. In step S812, the MPU 130 drives the focus lens 141 and ends this flow. On the other hand, in a case where the optical filter 160 is inserted, the flow proceeds to step S802. In step S802, the MPU 130 acquires optical filter information. The optical filter information is information about the thickness and refractive index of the optical filter 160 as described above, paragraphs 0062-0063.
Nagatsu as such teaches acquiring information during the filter inserted mode the MPU 130 acquires defocus map, optical filter information that includes thickness and refractive index, paragraph 0063. Next, in step S803, the MPU 130 determines whether or not an in-focus state on the object is obtained in the retracted state but an in-focus state on the object is not obtained in the inserted state. The determination as to whether or not the in-focus state is obtained is made, for example, by calculating the defocus amount of the image based on a well-known method and by determining whether or not the calculated defocus amount falls within a predetermined range, paragraph 0064. The MPU 130 has an EEPROM, which can store time information from the time measuring circuit 131 and various setting information, paragraph 0026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following show additional prior art systems/methods for imaging apparatus:
Sato; Yoshitaka US-20240147067-A1
FUJIWARA; Shinya US-20240119599-A1
INOUE; Nagisa US-20230280638-A1
JUNG; Kioh US-20220311940-A1
Yoshida; Koji US-10873695-B2
JUNG; Yumin US-20200322544-A1
NAKAYA; Hiroyuki US-20200318508-A1
/MEHEDI HASSAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/Timothy J Henn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639