DETAILED ACTION
The instant detailed action is in response to Applicant's submission filed on 21 April 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: controller in claim 14, support for which was taken as FIG 1: 110 and Paragraph [0026] of the Specification.
REJECTIONS NOT BASED ON PRIOR ART
Double Patenting
Claim 1-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of U.S. Patent No 12314578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader than and encompass the subject matter of the claims of the patent.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US PG PUB No. 2020/0341840)
As per claim 1, a memory (see FIG 3: 70) comprising:
a first storage region configured to store therein upper data (see Chang FIG 11: 134 Zone 1 and [0078]); and
a second storage region configured to store therein lower data (see Chang FIG 11: 134 Zone 2 and [0078]),
wherein a refresh rate for the first storage region and a refresh rate for the second storage region are different from each other (see Chang [0039]).
As per claim 2, the memory of claim 1, wherein:
the upper data include more integers than the lower data, and the lower data include more decimal numbers than the upper data (see Chang [0043]).
As per claim 3, the memory of claim 1,
wherein the refresh rate for the first storage region is higher than the refresh rate for the second storage region (see Chang [0078]).
As per claim 4, the memory of claim 1,
further comprising a refresh control circuit configured to control a refresh operation on the first and second storage regions in response to a refresh command so that the respective first and second storage regions are refreshed at different refresh rates from each other (see Chang FIG 3: 132 and [0064]).
As per claim 5, the memory of claim 1,
further comprising a refresh control circuit configured to control a refresh operation to be performed on both the first storage region and the second storage region in response to a first refresh command and controlling a refresh operation to be performed on the first storage region in response to a second refresh command (see Chang FIG 3: 132 and [0064]).
As per claim 6, the memory of claim 1,
wherein the first storage region has a storage characteristic different from that of the second storage region (see Chang [0078]).
As per claim 7, the memory of claim 6,
wherein the first storage region has a flip-flop storage characteristic (see Chang [0113]).
As per claim 8, the memory of claim 6,
wherein the second storage region with a nonvolatile storage characteristic that perform a refresh operation to maintain stored data (see Chang [0035]).
Claims 9,11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prins (US PG PUB No. 2009/0172257)
As per claim 9, a method for operating a memory system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a memory controller, a write request including host write data and a host write address from a host (see Prins FIG 5: 501);
separating, by the memory controller, the host write data into upper data and lower data (see Prins [0087]);
generating, by the memory controller, a first write address and a second write address based on the host write address (see Prins [0088]);
directing, by the memory controller, a memory to perform an operation of writing the upper data into a first storage region that is selected based on the first write address (see Prins [0104]);
storing, by the memory, the upper data into the first storage region (see Prins [105]);
directing, by the memory controller, the memory to perform an operation of writing the lower data into a second storage region that is selected based on the second write address (see Prins [0104]); and
storing, by the memory, the lower data into the second storage region (see Prins [0105]).
[Prins discloses splitting data and storing the data into different storage areas and further discloses MLC (see e.g., Prins [0651]).]
As per claim 11, the method of claim 9, wherein:
the upper data include more integers than the lower data, and the lower data include more decimal numbers than the upper data (see Prins [0651]).
[Prins broadly discloses storing data where the data is taken as inclusive of integers and floating point data.]
As per claim 12, the method of claim 9, wherein:
the host write data include a plurality of numbers each of which is 2N bits, and the separating includes separating, from the host write data, upper N bits of each of the plurality of numbers as the upper data and lower N bits of each of the plurality of numbers as the lower data, where N is an integer greater than 0 (see Prins [0651]).
[Prins broadly discloses storing data where the data is taken as inclusive of integers and floating point data.]
As per claim 13, the method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving, by the memory controller, a read request including a host read address from the host (see Prins FIG 4: 401 and [0113]);
generating, by the memory controller, a first read address and a second read address based on the host read address (see Prins FIG 4: 402 and [0114]);
directing, by the memory controller, the memory to perform a read operation for the first storage region that is selected based on the first read address (see Prins FIG 4: 403 and [0115]);
reading, by the memory, the upper data from the first storage region (see Prins FIG 4: 404 and [0116]);
directing, by the memory controller, the memory to perform a read operation for the second storage region that is selected based on the second read address (see Prins FIG 4: 403 and [0115]);
reading, by the memory, the lower data from the second storage region (see Prins FIG 4: 404 and [0116]);
generating, by the memory controller, host read data by combining the read upper and lower data; and providing, by the memory controller, the host with the host read data (see Prins FIG 4: 407 and [0119])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prins (US PG PUB No. 2009/0172257) in view of Chang (US PG PUB No. 2020/0341840).
As per claim 10, the method of claim 9, wherein further comprising
However, Prins does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Chang discloses
refreshing, by the memory, the first storage region at a first refresh rate and the second storage region at a second refresh rate, the first refresh rate being greater than the second refresh rate (see Chang [0039]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to refresh regions as taught by Chang.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of more fine grain refresh control (see Chang [0068]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to further refresh the storage regions as taught by Chang for the benefit of fine grain refresh control to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
Claims 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US PG PUB No. 2020/0341840) in view of Prins (US PG PUB No. 2009/0172257)
As per claim 14, a memory system comprising:
a memory including first and second storage regions and configured to refresh the first storage region at a first rate and the second storage region at a second rate (see Chang [0068]); and
However, Chang does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Trika discloses a controller configured to:
separate first and second parts from a data piece in response to a write request provided together with the data piece (see Prins [0087]);, and
control the memory to store the first and second parts into the respective first and second storage regions (see Prins [0104]);.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to separate first and second parts of a data piece in response to a write request
As per claim 15, the memory system of claim 14,
wherein the first rate is greater than the second rate (see Chang [0068]).
As per claim 16, the memory system of claim 14, wherein:
the data piece represents a rational number, the first part represents an integer part of the rational number, and the second part represents a decimal part of the rational number (see Prins [0651]).
[Prins broadly discloses storing data where the data is taken as inclusive of integers and floating point data.]
As per claim 17, the memory system of claim 14, wherein:
the first part is a predetermined number of upper bits within the data piece, and the second part is remaining lower bits within the data piece (see Prins [0651]: “MLC”).
As per claim 18, the memory system of claim 14, wherein the controller is
further configured to:
read the first and second parts from the respective first and second storage regions in response to a read request for the data piece (see Prins FIG 4: 404 and [0116]), and
combine the read first and second parts into the data piece to be provided as a response to the read request (see Prins FIG 4: 407 and [0119]).
As per claim 19, the memory system of claim 14,
wherein the controller is further configured to control the memory to refresh the first and second storage regions (see Chang [0068]).
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
2020/0051616 : A memory device applies different refresh rates to target data (or objective data) according to data characteristics (i.e., required reliability levels). The memory device includes a memory cell array provided with a plurality of memory cells, a row decoder configured to selectively activate word lines of the memory cell array in response to a row address signal, and a refresh controller configured to output the row address signal in response to the row address signal. The refresh controller controls a refresh ratio of a first storage region and a second storage region contained in the memory cell array in response to a changeable refresh control value (Abstract).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/KALPIT PARIKH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137
KALPIT . PARIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2137