DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the cylindrical container". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 is rejected based on its dependency on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 3-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Higuchi et al, US Patent Publication 2020/002894.
Regarding claim 1, Higuchi teaches a sheet manufacturing apparatus (see abstract) comprising:
a powdered-and-granular-material supply unit that supplies powdered and granular material (additive supply unit [0103]);
a mixing unit (item 50) that mixes fibers and the supplied powdered and granular material to form a mixture [0098-0110];
a deposition unit that deposits the mixture to form a web [0112]; and
a forming unit that compresses the web to form the web into a sheet [0064], wherein the powdered-and-granular-material supply unit includes a holding unit that detachably holds a container (additive cartridge [0103]) configured to store the powdered and granular material, a powdered-and-granular-material tank that receives the powdered and granular material discharged from the container [0103], and
a screw that conveys the powdered and granular material in the powdered-and-granular-material tank outward from the powdered-and-granular-material supply unit [0161].
Regarding claim 3, Higuchi further teaches a supply pipe communicating with the powdered-and-granular-material tank and connected to the mixing unit (item 54 [0161-0170]), wherein a part of the screw is disposed in the powdered-and- granular-material tank [0161], one end of the screw is disposed in the supply pipe (see figure 1), and the powdered and granular material in the powdered-and-granular-material tank is supplied to the mixing unit through the supply pipe by rotation of the screw [0161].
Regarding claim 4, Higuchi further teaches the use of a control unit (item 110) that utilizes stored tables to make adjustments to all of the different elements [0151] including the addition of additives form the supply through activation and modification of the feeder [0162-0163]. Higuchi is silent on the sue of a sensor unit, but the presence of storage tables to compare values against to enact chares by the controller provides an implicit teaching that the measurements must be taken in order for them to be compared. This would have to occur with some form of sensor unit, and since the claims do not specify what type of sensor or its location or function, the implicit teaching of a sensory unit is sufficient to read on the claims as currently written.
Regarding claim 6, Higuchi further teaches the use of controlling the speed and movement of the screw in order to feed the material form supply into the mixing unit [0162], reading on the limitations of an auger screw.
Regarding claim 7, Higuchi further teaches wherein the number of revolutions per unit time is determined according to manufacturing conditions of the sheet [0162].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al, US Patent Publication 2020/0002894 in view of Scott et al, US Patent publication 2015/0131406.
Regarding claim 2, Higuchi further teaches wherein the powdered-and-granular-material tank includes a first storage tank that stores the powdered and granular material fallen from the cylindrical container (item 52),
a second storage tank (item 52a is a supply unit [0161]) that stores the powdered and granular material swept out of the first storage tank [0161], and
the screw conveys the powdered and granular material outward from the second storage tank (screw feeder [0161]).
Higuchi teaches the act of controlling the metering of the materials into the feeder but is simply silent on the use of a paddle that sweeps out the powdered and granular material from the first storage tank.
In the same field of endeavor of controlling the metering of materials out of a storage tank, Scott teaches that the first powder supply consists of a hopper that includes a paddle to rotate and move the powder into the powder supply passage [0048] as it is eventually fed to the auger feeder system [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the conventional means of powder transportations within a holding device with a sweeping paddle as taught by Scott in the Higuchi device as this is a simple addition of a known element to arrive at a predictable end result of controlling the movement of the powder through the hopper and into the screw in a conventional fashion.
Regarding claim 5, Scott remains as applied above and teaches that the ratio of length of the paddle to length of the first storage tank is 50% or more and 100% or less in a direction parallel to an axis around which the paddle rotates (see figures as the paddle is held within the hopper and transported directly into the screw feeder).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 19/336584, 19/183977, and 15/768276 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the intimations are identical except for the copending applications do not have the same explicit positioning of the screw feeder and simply focus on the concept of its inclusion. The use and positioning of the screw feeder is an obvious engineering action in view of the teachings of feeding the powder form the supply to the mixer as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748