DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed 06/23/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled;
Claims 21-40 are new;
Claims 21-40 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2025 and 10/23/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the Application on 04/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) include:
Control element (6): Trigger
Actuating element (6): Trigger
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 29-31 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (US 20210237249; Fischer).
Regarding Claim 21 Fischer discloses a work apparatus, comprising:
a housing (14);
a motor support unit (74) configured as a separate component from the housing (14), the housing (14) being fixed to the motor support unit (74); (par 33)
a drive motor (42) arranged in the housing (14),the drive motor (42) being an electric motor for driving a tool (par 40), and attached to the motor support unit (74); and
a receptacle housing (38, 38”) configured as a separate component from the motor support unit (74) for receiving at least one battery pack (34) for supplying the drive motor (42) with electrical power,
wherein the receptacle housing (38, 38”) is fixed to the housing (14), and
wherein the receptacle housing (38, 38”) and the motor support unit (74) are configured and arranged relative to each other in such a way that the receptacle housing (38, 38”) is able to move relative to the motor support unit (74) in order to reduce or prevent direct transmission of inertial forces emanating from the receptacle housing (38, 38”) to the motor support unit (74) in an event of an impact load on the work apparatus (10, 10”). (par 43)
Regarding Claim 22 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses the motor support unit (74) and the receptacle housing (38, 38”) are connected to one another only via the housing (14).
Regarding Claim 23 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses the motor support unit (74) and the receptacle housing (38, 38”) are arranged spaced apart from each other.
Regarding Claim 24 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses each connection between the housing (14) and the motor support unit (74) and each connection between the housing (14) and the receptacle housing (38, 38”) is free of a separately formed antivibration element.
Regarding Claim 25 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses the receptacle housing (14) has at least two receptacles (38, 38”) for receiving two battery packs (34), and wherein an opening (Fig. 2) through which the motor support unit (74) projects is provided between the two receptacles (38, 38”).
Regarding Claim 29 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses the work apparatus (10) has a rear handle (26) and a front handle (50),wherein a control element (Annotated Fig. 2) for controlling the drive motor (42) is coupled to the rear handle (26),wherein the motor support unit (74) has a rear end (Annotated Fig. 2) and a front end (Annotated Fig. 2),wherein the rear end (Annotated Fig. 2) faces away from the tool (par 40) and the front end (Annotated Fig. 2) faces towards the tool (par 40), and wherein the rear handle (26) is attached in a rear region of the motor support unit (74) and the front handle (50) is attached in a front region of the motor support unit (74).
Regarding Claim 30 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses the rear handle (26) is attached at the rear end (Annotated Fig. 2) and wherein the front handle (50) is attached at the front end (Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 31 Fischer discloses work apparatus, comprising:
a housing (14);
a motor support unit (74) configured as a separate component from the housing (14), and connected to the housing (14);
a drive motor (42) arranged in the housing (14), the drive motor (42) being an electric motor, and attached to the motor support unit (74); and
a receptacle housing (38, 38”) having a first receptacle (38) and a second receptacle (38”) for receiving one battery pack (34) each,
wherein the motor support unit (74) is arranged at least partially between the first receptacle (38) and the second receptacle (38”). (Fig. 17) (par 49-51)
Regarding Claim 39 Fischer discloses the invention as described above. Fischer further discloses the work apparatus (10”) has a rear handle (26) and a front handle (50),wherein the rear handle (26) is coupled to an actuating element (Annotated Fig. 2) for controlling the drive motor (42),wherein the motor support unit has a rear end (Annotated Fig. 2) and a front end (Annotated Fig. 2), and wherein the rear end (Annotated Fig. 2) faces away from a tool (par 40) and the front end (Annotated Fig. 2) faces towards the tool (par 40), and wherein the rear handle (26) is attached in a rear region of the motor support unit (74) and the front handle (50) is attached in a front region of the motor support unit (74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20210237249)
Regarding Claim 27 Fischer discloses the claimed invention except for the housing is formed from plastic.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the housing from plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20210237249) in view of Takeuchi (US 20250112519)
Regarding Claim 40 Fischer discloses the claimed invention except for the work apparatus is a cut-off machine or a chainsaw.
Takeuchi teaches a motor unit (10) that includes a housing (84), motor support unit (100), a motor (86) and a receptacle housing (24). Takeuchi further teaches a motor unit can be attached to multiple types of work apparatuses including a cut off machine (4e) where Takeuchi teaches a motor unit can be applied to a variety of work apparatus for the purposes of improving the versatility of the apparatus.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power tool of Fischer to include a cut off machine as taught by Takeuchi since Takeuchi teaches that such a modification provides a motor unit that can be applied to a variety of work apparatus for the purposes of improving the versatility of the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26, 28, and 32-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 26 the Prior Art does not teach a component rigidity of the motor support unit is greater than a component rigidity of the housing.
Regarding Claim 28 the Prior Art does not teach the motor support unit is formed from a magnesium alloy.
Regarding Claim 32 the Prior Art does not teach the motor support unit has a middle section, wherein the middle section has a first curvature and a second curvature, and wherein the first curvature and the second curvature run in opposite directions to each other.
Regarding Claim 37 the Prior Art does not teach the motor support unit (10) is a motor support plate formed from a magnesium alloy.
Conclusion
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731