DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a sheet support portion (corresponding in the instant application to 102), a regulation portion (corresponding in the instant application to 104), a brake unit (corresponding in the instant application to 106) in claims 14-21, a brake member (corresponding in the instant application to 107) and a brake urging portion (corresponding in the instant application to 108) in claims 15-18, a brake release member (corresponding in the instant application to 105) in claim 17, a feeding portion (corresponding in the instant application to 30) in claim 19, and an image forming portion (corresponding in the instant application to 20) in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekido (JP 2007076887 A).
As to claim 14, Sekido teaches a sheet support apparatus (figure 1) comprising:
a sheet support portion (1) configured to support a sheet (paragraph [0032]);
a regulation portion (one of 2) supported by the sheet support portion (1) such that the regulation portion (one of 2) is configured to move in a first direction (direction of arrow Fw in figure 1) and a second direction opposite to the first direction (direction of Fn in figure 1), the first direction being a direction orthogonal to both a sheet conveyance direction and a vertical direction (figure 1), the regulation portion being configured to regulate a position of a downstream edge, in the first direction, of the sheet supported by the sheet support portion (paragraph [0035]; and
a brake unit configured to produce a first frictional force (Fn) between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the second direction (direction of arrow Fn in figure 1), and produce a second frictional force (Fw) larger than the first frictional force (figure 1 and paragraph [0039]) between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the first direction (direction of arrow Fw in figure 1; paragraph [0039]).
As to claim 19, Sekido teaches further comprising a feeding portion (6, 52) configured to feed a sheet (paragraph [0032]), supported by the sheet support portion (1), in a feeding direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction are orthogonal to the feeding direction (figures 1 and 3).
As to claim 21, Sekido teaches an image forming apparatus (figure 3) comprising:
the sheet support apparatus (1) according to claim 14 (as noted above in detail for claim 14); and
an image forming portion (53, 54, 56, 57, 59, 61, 62, 64) configured to form an image on a sheet fed from the sheet support apparatus (paragraphs [0025]-[0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 2014/0306397 A1) in view of Sekido (JP 2007076887 A)
As to claim 14, Kawashima teaches a sheet support apparatus (46) comprising:
a sheet support portion (46A) configured to support a sheet (paragraph [0040]);
a regulation portion (one of 713) supported by the sheet support portion (46A) such that the regulation portion (one of 713) is configured to move in a first direction (back direction in figure 2) and a second direction opposite to the first direction (forward direction in figure 2), the first direction being a direction orthogonal to both a sheet conveyance direction and a vertical direction (figure 2), the regulation portion being configured to regulate a position of a downstream edge, in the first direction, of the sheet supported by the sheet support portion (paragraph [0042]).
Kawashima does not explicitly teach a brake unit configured to produce a first frictional force between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the second direction, and produce a second frictional force larger than the first frictional force between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the first direction.
Sekido teaches a brake unit configured to produce a first frictional force (Fn) between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the second direction (direction of arrow Fn in figure 1), and produce a second frictional force (Fw) larger than the first frictional force (figure 1 and paragraph [0039]) between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the first direction (direction of arrow Fw in figure 1; paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kawashima to have a brake unit configured to produce a first frictional force between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the second direction, and produce a second frictional force larger than the first frictional force between the sheet support portion and the regulation portion in a case where the regulation portion moves toward the first direction as taught by Sekido because it improves movement resistance in the opening direction while maintaining ease of use by the user (paragraphs [0008]-[0013]) with predictable results.
As to claim 19, Kawashima as modified teaches (citations to Kawashima unless otherwise indicated) further comprising a feeding portion (461, 701) configured to feed a sheet (paragraph [0060]), supported by the sheet support portion (46), in a feeding direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction are orthogonal to the feeding direction (figures 1 and 2).
As to claim 20, Kawashima as modified teaches (citations to Kawashima unless otherwise indicated) further comprising:
an apparatus body (10), and
a manual feed cover (46) supported by the apparatus body (10) such that the manual feed cover (46) is configured to be opened (figure 8) and closed (figure 2),
wherein the sheet support portion (46A) is configured to be supported by the manual feed cover (figure 1).
As to claim 21, Kawashima as modified teaches (citations to Kawashima unless otherwise indicated) an image forming apparatus (figure 1) comprising:
the sheet support apparatus (46) according to claim 14 (as noted above in detail for claim 14); and
an image forming portion (30) configured to form an image on a sheet fed from the sheet support apparatus (paragraphs [0059]-[0060]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Imai (US 2019/0119056 A1) and Ogasawara (US PGPub 2019/0337743 A1) teach systems with similarities to the disclosed invention.
/JENNIFER BAHLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853