DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Application filed April 21, 2025, in which Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5, 13, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 2020/0354867) in view of Oordt (US 2020/0022457).
Regarding Claim 1, Mueller discloses a method of manufacturing a knit material, the method comprising: simultaneously knitting a knit outer face layer (i.e. outer knit layer 1), a knit inner face layer (i.e. inner knit layer 1), and a knit intermediate layer (2) with one another to define a unitary knit structure (as seen in Fig.2; para.21); and wherein said knitting is such that the knit intermediate layer is disposed between the knit outer face layer and the knit inner face layer at a plurality of first zones (11) and absent from or present in a lesser amount or density in a plurality of second zones (12)(as seen in Fig.2), the first zones alternating with the second zones in a longitudinal direction (as seen in Fig.2), and the unitary knit structure having a greater modulus of elasticity in the longitudinal direction in the first zones than in the second zones (i.e. 11 are thicker and therefore would be stiffer/greater modulus of elasticity along the stripe than 12), and having greater breathability in the second zones than in the first zones (i.e. the second zones are thinner and therefore would have greater breathability than the thicker first zones). Mueller does not disclose the knit material forming a footwear upper defining a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region of the footwear upper; the first zones alternating with the second zones in a longitudinal direction of the footwear upper. However, Oordt teaches a footwear upper (100) formed of a seamless knit material (Abstract); the integrally knit material defining a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region of the footwear upper (as seen in Fig.1); and having first zones (132) alternating with second zones (136) in a longitudinal direction of the footwear upper (as seen in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the knit material of Mueller into a footwear upper having first zones alternating with second zones in a longitudinal direction of the footwear upper, as taught by Oordt, in order to provide a knit upper with a decorative appearance desired by the user, for aesthetic purposes. When in combination Mueller and Oordt teach the knit outer face layer, knit inner face layer, and knit intermediate layer are integrally knit with one another to define a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region of the footwear upper.
Regarding Claim 2, When in combination, Mueller and Oordt a method of manufacturing of claim 1, further comprising: assembling the unitary knit structure in an article of footwear such that the knit outer face layer (Mueller: i.e. outer knit layer 1) is disposed at an outer side of the unitary knit structure and the knit inner face layer (Mueller: i.e. inner knit layer 1) is disposed at an inner side of the unitary knit structure (Mueller: as seen in Fig.2 & Oordt: as seen in Fig.1-2).
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, When in combination, Mueller and Oordt teach a method of manufacturing of claim 1, wherein said knitting is such that: an average fore-aft width of the second zones in the forefoot region (12 of Mueller/136 of Oordt in the forefoot) is greater than an average fore-aft width of the second zones in the heel region (12 of Mueller/136 of Oordt in the heel); and the second zones progressively increase in fore-aft width in a forward direction at least from the midfoot region to the forefoot region (as seen in Fig.1 of Oordt). Mueller and Oordt do not explicitly disclose an average fore-aft width of the first zones in the heel region is greater than an average fore-aft width of the first zones in the forefoot region; and the first zones progressively increase in fore-aft width in a rearward direction at least from the forefoot region to the midfoot region. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have formed the fore-aft width of the first zones in the heel region of modified Mueller to be greater than an average fore-aft width of the first zones in the forefoot to midfoot region, in order to provide a shoe upper with the pattern desired by the user, for aesthetic purposes. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct an average fore-aft width of the first zones in the heel region to be greater than an average fore-aft width of the first zones in the forefoot region, since applicant has not disclosed that this solves any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing the desired decorative appearance. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966).
Regarding Claim 4, When in combination, Mueller and Oordt teach a method of manufacturing of claim 3, wherein said knitting is such that boundaries between adjacent ones of the first zones (11 of Mueller/132 of Oordt in the forefoot) and the second zones (12 of Mueller/136 of Oordt in the forefoot) extend substantially linearly in a transverse direction of the footwear upper (as evidenced by Fig.1 & 2 of Oordt).
Regarding Claim 13, Mueller discloses a method of manufacturing of claim 1, wherein said knitting is such that the knit inner face layer, the knit outer face layer, and the knit intermediate layer (para.4). Mueller does not disclose comprise the yarns being recyclable by melting the yarns and re-extruding melted material of the melted yarns. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the yarns of Mueller to be recyclable by melting the yarns and re-extruding melted material of the melted yarns in order to reduce waste and environmental impact. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 15, Mueller discloses a method of manufacturing of claim 1, wherein said knitting is such that the unitary knit structure is substantially free of yarn comprising a thermoset material (i.e. Mueller does not disclose the use of a thermoset yarn material.
Regarding Claim 18, Oordt further teaches a method of manufacturing of claim 1, further comprising: forming an ankle opening (140,142) in the unitary knit structure beginning at a rear edge of the unitary knit structure and ending at the rear edge of the unitary knit structure. Oordt does not explicitly disclose cutting an ankle opening beginning at a rear edge of the unitary knit structure and ending at the rear edge of the unitary knit structure. However, Oordt does teach cutting material elements of an upper (para.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the ankle opening of Oordt by cutting, as also disclosed by Oordt, in order to provide the upper in a shape that can be easily assembled into footwear.
Regarding Claim 19, When in combination, Mueller and Oordt teach a method of manufacturing of claim 1, further comprising: securing a sole structure (Oordt: 110) directly to an outer surface of the knit outer face layer along an outer perimeter of the unitary knit structure (of Mueller; as evidenced by Fig.1 of Oordt; para.20).
Regarding Claim 20, When in combination, Mueller and Oordt teach a method of manufacturing of claim 1, wherein said knitting is such that the knit inner face layer and the knit outer face layer are coextensive (Mueller: as seen in Fig.2), one-piece layers, each extending to and defining an entire outer perimeter of the unitary knit structure including a medial edge, a lateral edge, a rear edge, and a front edge and characterized by an absence of sewn seams (Oordt: as seen in Fig.1 & 2).
2. Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 2020/0354867) and Oordt (US 2020/0022457), in view of Blore (US 4,133,191).
Regarding Claim 6, Mueller and Oordt disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Mueller does not disclose the knit outer face layer comprises a mesh pattern including first knitted-in holes of a first size; and the knit inner face layer comprises a mesh pattern including second knitted-in holes of a second size larger than the first size and overlapping with the first knitted-in holes. However, Blore discloses a knit material having a knit outer face layer (i.e. back layer with smaller mesh holes) comprises a mesh pattern including first knitted-in holes of a first size (as seen in Fig.3); and a knit inner face layer (i.e. front layer with larger mesh holes) comprises a mesh pattern including second knitted-in holes of a second size larger than the first size and overlapping with the first knitted-in holes (as seen in Fig.3; Col.4, lines 53-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the knit outer and inner face layers of modified Mueller to have knit holes, with the knit inner face layer having holes larger than the knit outer face layer holes, as taught by Blore, in order to provide a knit material which is breathable and keeps a wearer's foot dry during use.
Regarding Claim 7, When in combination, modified Mueller and Blore teach a method of manufacturing of claim 6, wherein the knit outer face layer (of Mueller) does not include the second knitted-in holes (i.e. front layer with larger mesh holes of Blore are not present in the outer face layer of Mueller) such that a surface of the knit outer face layer is smoother (i.e. has smaller holes) than a surface of the knit inner face layer at each of the first zones and at each of the second zones (Mueller: Fig.2 & Blore: Fig.3).
Regarding Claim 8, When in combination, modified Mueller and Blore teach a method of manufacturing of claim 6, wherein said knitting is such that: the first knitted-in holes of the knit outer face layer each have a first maximum length in the longitudinal direction (as seen in Fig.3 of Blore); the second knitted-in holes of the knit inner face layer each have a second maximum length in the longitudinal direction (as seen in Fig.3 of Blore); and the second maximum length is from about two to about four times the first maximum length (as seen in Fig.3 of Blore, the length of the larger mesh holes in the front layer are “about” two times the length of the smaller mesh holes in the back layer).
Regarding Claim 9, When in combination, modified Mueller and Blore teach a method of manufacturing of claim 8, wherein the second maximum length is greater than a maximum width of each of the second knitted-in holes such that the modulus of elasticity of the unitary knit structure in the second zones is greater in the longitudinal direction than in a transverse direction (see annotated Figure below; i.e. the knit hole dimensions would be capable of providing a modulus of elasticity of the unitary knit structure in the second zones is greater in the longitudinal direction than in a transverse direction).
Regarding Claim 10, When in combination, modified Mueller and Blore teach a method of manufacturing of claim 6, wherein said knitting is such that: the knit outer face layer does not include the second knitted-in holes (i.e. front layer with larger mesh holes of Blore are not present in the outer face layer of Mueller) and the knit inner face layer does not include the first knitted-in holes (i.e. back layer with smaller mesh holes of Blore are not present in the inner face layer of Mueller); the knit outer face layer includes a first plurality of yarns (Mueller: para.4; i.e. double threaded), the knit inner face layer includes a second plurality of yarns separate and distinct from the first plurality of yarns (Mueller: para.4), the first plurality of yarns are not included in the knit inner face layer and the second plurality of yarns are not included in the knit outer face layer (i.e. the yarns forming the outer face layer of Mueller are not present in the inner face layer, and vice versa, as they are distinct layers); perimeters of the first knitted-in holes are defined by the first plurality of yarns and not by the second plurality of yarns (i.e. back layer with smaller mesh holes of Blore are defined by the first plurality of yarns of Mueller and not by the second plurality of yarns of Mueller); and perimeters of the second knitted-in holes are defined by the second plurality of yarns and not by the first plurality of yarns (i.e. front layer with larger mesh holes of Blore are defined by the second plurality of yarns of Mueller and not by the first plurality of yarns of Mueller).
3. Claim(s) 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 2020/0354867) and Oordt (US 2020/0022457), in view of Sokolowski (US 2008/0110049).
Regarding Claims 11-12, Mueller and Oordt disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Mueller further discloses that the knit outer face layer and the knit inner face layer can be made of any suitable yarn, can be chosen so as to depend on the desired functionality of the knitted fabric. Mueller does not disclose wherein the knit outer face layer comprises one or more monofilament yarns and the knit inner face layer comprises one or more multi-filament yarns; said knitting is such that the knit inner face layer comprises one or more recycled drawn polyester multi-filament yarns. However, Sokolowski teaches a knit upper which may be formed of natural or synthetic fibers/filaments created as a monofilament yarn or a multifilament, in order to impart a variety of physical properties such as strength, stretch, support, stiffness, recovery, fit, and form; said knitting is such that the knit inner face layer comprises one or more drawn polyester multi-filament yarns (para.6 & 50-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the knit outer face layer of Mueller with a monofilament yarn and formed the knit inner face layer of Mueller with a drawn polyester multi-filament yarn, as taught by Sokolowski, in order to provide a knit upper that imparts the desired physical properties. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Mueller, Oordt, and Sokolowski disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Modified Mueller does not disclose the drawn polyester multi-filament yarn being recycled. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have formed the drawn polyester multi-filament yarn of modified Mueller of drawn polyester multi-filament, in order to reduce waste and environmental impact.
Regarding Claim 14, Mueller and Oordt disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Mueller further discloses that the knit outer face layer and the knit inner face layer can be made of any suitable yarn, can be chosen so as to depend on the desired functionality of the knitted fabric. Mueller does not disclose wherein said knitting is such that: the knit outer face layer comprises drawn polyester monofilament yarns; and the knit inner face layer comprises drawn polyester multi-filament yarns; and the knit intermediate layer comprises polyester yarns. However, Sokolowski teaches a knit upper which may be formed of natural or synthetic fibers/filaments created as a monofilament yarn or a multifilament, in order to impart a variety of physical properties such as strength, stretch, support, stiffness, recovery, fit, and form; said knitting is such that the knit inner face layer comprises one or more drawn polyester multi-filament yarns (para.6 & 50-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the knit outer face layer, knit inner face layer, and the knit intermediate layer of Mueller with drawn polyester monofilament yarns, as taught by Sokolowski, in order to provide a knit upper that imparts the desired physical properties. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Mueller, Oordt, and Sokolowski disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Modified Mueller does not disclose the knit intermediate layer comprises cationic dyed polyester yarns. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have dyed the yarns of modified Mueller with cationic dying, in order to provide the knit upper with the desired color. Additionally, it is noted that imparting color to a yarn by dying is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the yarns of modified Mueller to be dyed with cationic dying, since applicant has not disclosed that such solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than aesthetics.
4. Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 2020/0354867) and Oordt (US 2020/0022457), in view of Alfaro (US 2005/0268497)
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, Mueller and Oordt disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Modified Mueller does not disclose fusing or stitching a textile comprising a thermoset material to the unitary knit structure; and wherein the textile is fused to or stitched to the unitary knit structure to define an ankle collar. However, Alfaro teaches an upper (14; para.9) comprising fusing or stitching (40; para.38) a textile (39) comprising a thermoset material (para.39) to the unitary knit structure; and wherein the textile is fused to or stitched to the unitary knit structure to define an ankle collar (as seen in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the upper of modified Mueller to include a textile that is stitched to the unitary knit structure to define an ankle collar, as taught by Alfaro, in order to provide a durable outer layer which resists abrasion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732