DETAILED ACTION
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hooks, knots, and carabiner (claim2), a side release buckle (claim 3) is shown in figure 2, but only being attachable to the belay connection element not the belt loop as would be required by the claim, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: the terms “as hooks” “as knots” “as carabiner” is grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, it is unclear if “each” in line 2 is referring to “at least one chest connection belt” or all the elements that preceding “each,” rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 3, the term “alamari” is indefinite as this appears to be a non-English term that is not found in the dictionary. The meaning of every term should be apparent and if the applicant intended to be their own lexicographer term must specifically be defined, which is currently not done as the specification describes “basically” what the element could be (see MPEP 2173.05(a)).
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear what defines the chest loop connection element and how “an eyelet” could/would be attached to both the belay connection element and the belt loop, it appears this would need to be at least two separate eyelets.
Regarding claim 14, “the chest loop connector” lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears the claim should depend from 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN109603027).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a harness comprising a belt loop (009), a chest loop (006), at least one chest loop connection element (012; fig.3), at least one chest connection belt (011), each having a first chest loop connection end (adjacent to where 011 interacts with 3) and an opposite second chest loop connection end (adjacent 012), and a belay connection element (10 between 006 and 009), wherein: the belt loop and the chest loop are connected to one another via the belay connection element, each first chest loop connection end and the chest loop are connected to one another, and the belt loop and the belay connection element are configured for alternatively and detachably connecting with the respective second chest loop connection end via the respective at least one chest loop connection element (the hook 012 is capable of attaching to either of the previously described belay connection element or the belt loop, i.e. this is placing a hook over a strap).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein the at least one chest loop connection element as a hook (012).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses wherein the respective first chest loop connection end is connected to a backside of the chest loop and the belay connection element is connected to an opposite frontside of the chest loop (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein the belay connection element is connected to a front side of the belt loop (fig.3) and the belt loop is capable of being connected on an opposite back side via the respective at least one chest loop connection element.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein two first chest loop connection ends (adjacent to where 011 interacts with 3) are distantly connected from the chest loop (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses two shoulder belts (10; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses wherein the two shoulder belts are distantly connected with respective opposite ends to a backside and a front side of the chest loop (10 spaced apart as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses wherein each shoulder belt is provided as one-piece with one of the at least one chest connection belt (fig.3 shows the harness formed as a single unit, i.e. one-piece).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses wherein the belt loop comprises a belt loop connection area (where 10 extends down and connects with 009) for connecting the belay connection element.
Regarding claim 12, Li disclose, wherein the belt loop connection area is provided as belt connection loop connecting the belay connection element (the entire belt 009 is a loop and the belay connection element is connected to it).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Li discloses wherein the chest loop comprises a first chest loop end, an opposite second chest loop end and a chest loop connector buckle (008) for detachably connecting the first chest loop end and the second chest loop end.
Regarding claim 15, Li disclose wherein at least one of the belt loop, the at least one chest connection belt, the belay connection element and the chest loop are provided as flat webbing (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16 and 17, Li discloses two leg loops (016 and 015) distantly connected to the belay connection element (fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diplphys (DE 3632537)
Regarding claims 1 and 18 Diplphys discloses a method for putting on a harness comprising a belt loop (14), a chest loop (18), at least one chest loop connection element (24), at least one chest connection belt (21), each having a first chest loop connection end (23) and an opposite second chest loop connection end, and a belay connection element (16), wherein: each first chest loop connection end and the chest loop are connected to one another (fig. 1), and comprising the steps of: connecting the belt loop and the chest loop via the belay connection element together (shown connected in figure 1), and detachably connecting each second chest loop connection end via the respective at least one chest loop connection element alternatively to the belt loop (fig. 2-5 disclose the element being alternatively connected to the belt loop) or to the belay connection element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN109603027) in view of Leggett (4,273,215).
Regarding claim 3, Li lacks disclosing the at least one chest loop connection element is a side release buckle.
Legett teaches that it is known in the art for a connection element (24) to include a side release buckle (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use a buckle release connection element similar to Legett to increase safety by providing an attachment around 360 degree and reducing the chances of slipping off.
/DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637