DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/21/2025, 03/16/2026, and 06/26/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (CN 112947790), see attached translated document.
Consider claim 1. The translated document of Huang et al teaches A drive circuit, (Fig. 3 and highlighted section of page 6, touch drive circuit 20).
configured to provide a drive voltage to a capacitive load, (abstract, the touch control driving circuit is used for outputting the driving signal to drive the touch electrode of the touch display device. Page 2 highlighted section, capacitor CL represents the capacitance of the touch electrode, thus providing a drive voltage to a capacitive load).
and comprising a first voltage generation circuit, (page 6 highlighted section, The first positive voltage VDD may be a power supply voltage generated by the power supply voltage generating circuit.).
at least one energy storage element, (Fig. 3 and highlighted sections of pages 6 and 7, storage capacitors CS1 and CS2).
and a switch circuit, (Fig. 3 and highlighted sections of pages 6 and 7, switch circuit 201).
wherein the first voltage generation circuit and the at least one energy storage element are connected to the load through the switch circuit, (Fig. 3, VDD, CS1 and CS2 are connected to capacitive load CL through the switch circuit 201).
the first voltage generation circuit is configured to output a first power supply voltage, (page 6 highlighted section, The first positive voltage VDD may be a power supply voltage generated by the power supply voltage generating circuit.).
and the switch circuit is configured to control the first voltage generation circuit to charge the load in a first phase until a voltage of the load reaches the first power supply voltage, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the power voltage generating circuit in the first time period; charging the touch electrode by the first positive voltage, so that the voltage at two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage VDD).
control the load to discharge to the at least one energy storage element sequentially in a second phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the first energy storage capacitor CS1 in the second time period, the first energy storage capacitor CS1 can store the charge released by the touch electrode).
control the load to discharge to ground in a third phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the ground terminal GND in the third time period).
and control the at least one energy storage element to charge the load sequentially in a fourth phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the second energy storage capacitor CS2 in the fourth time period, the second energy storage capacitor CS2 transfers the stored charge to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage VC2).
so that the voltage of the load rises and falls stepwise between different phases. (Fig. 4 and highlighted section of page 9, As shown in FIG. 4, a waveform diagram of a driving signal provided by the embodiment of the invention, the driving signal can be generated by the touch driving circuit shown in FIG. 3, and the value of the second positive voltage VC1 and the second negative voltage VC2 are substantially stable. can be seen, the waveform of the driving signal is step-shaped).
Consider claim 20. The translated document of Huang et al teaches A touch panel, (abstract). comprising
a drive circuit (Fig. 3 and highlighted section of page 6, touch drive circuit 20).
and a touch electrode connected to the drive circuit, (abstract, the touch control driving circuit is used for outputting the driving signal to drive the touch electrode).
wherein the drive circuit is configured to provide a drive voltage to the touch electrode, (abstract, the touch control driving circuit is used for outputting the driving signal to drive the touch electrode).
the drive circuit comprising:
a first voltage generation circuit, (page 6 highlighted section, The first positive voltage VDD may be a power supply voltage generated by the power supply voltage generating circuit.).
at least one energy storage element, (Fig. 3 and highlighted sections of pages 6 and 7, storage capacitors CS1 and CS2).
and a switch circuit, (Fig. 3 and highlighted sections of pages 6 and 7, switch circuit 201).
wherein the first voltage generation circuit and the at least one energy storage element are connected to the load through the switch circuit, (Fig. 3, VDD, CS1 and CS2 are connected to capacitive load CL through the switch circuit 201).
the first voltage generation circuit is configured to output a first power supply voltage, (page 6 highlighted section, The first positive voltage VDD may be a power supply voltage generated by the power supply voltage generating circuit.).
and the switch circuit is configured to control the first voltage generation circuit to charge the load in a first phase until a voltage of the load reaches the first power supply voltage, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the power voltage generating circuit in the first time period; charging the touch electrode by the first positive voltage, so that the voltage at two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage VDD).
control the load to discharge to the at least one energy storage element sequentially in a second phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the first energy storage capacitor CS1 in the second time period, the first energy storage capacitor CS1 can store the charge released by the touch electrode).
control the load to discharge to ground in a third phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the ground terminal GND in the third time period).
and control the at least one energy storage element to charge the load sequentially in a fourth phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the second energy storage capacitor CS2 in the fourth time period, the second energy storage capacitor CS2 transfers the stored charge to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage VC2).
so that the voltage of the load rises and falls stepwise between different phases. (Fig. 4 and highlighted section of page 9, As shown in FIG. 4, a waveform diagram of a driving signal provided by the embodiment of the invention, the driving signal can be generated by the touch driving circuit shown in FIG. 3, and the value of the second positive voltage VC1 and the second negative voltage VC2 are substantially stable. can be seen, the waveform of the driving signal is step-shaped).
Consider claim 12. The translated document of Huang et al further teaches The drive circuit according to claim 1, wherein a branch circuit where at least part of the at least one energy storage element is located is configured to have enabling and disabling functions. (See at least Fig. 3 where the capacitor Cs1 is controlled to enable and disabled by a switch within the switch circuit 201).
Consider claim 13. The translated document of Huang et al further teaches The drive circuit according to claim 1, wherein the load is a pen tip electrode of a capacitive active pen, or the load is a touch electrode in a touch panel. (abstract, touch electrode of the touch display device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (CN 112947790), see attached translated document, in view of Meng et al (pub # 20200125188).
Consider claim 14. The translated document of Huang et al teaches comprising a drive circuit, (Fig. 3 and highlighted section of page 6, touch drive circuit 20). the drive circuit comprising:
a first voltage generation circuit, (page 6 highlighted section, The first positive voltage VDD may be a power supply voltage generated by the power supply voltage generating circuit.).
at least one energy storage element, (Fig. 3 and highlighted sections of pages 6 and 7, storage capacitors CS1 and CS2).
and a switch circuit, (Fig. 3 and highlighted sections of pages 6 and 7, switch circuit 201).
wherein the first voltage generation circuit and the at least one energy storage element are connected to the load through the switch circuit, (Fig. 3, VDD, CS1 and CS2 are connected to capacitive load CL through the switch circuit 201).
the first voltage generation circuit is configured to output a first power supply voltage, (page 6 highlighted section, The first positive voltage VDD may be a power supply voltage generated by the power supply voltage generating circuit.).
and the switch circuit is configured to control the first voltage generation circuit to charge the load in a first phase until a voltage of the load reaches the first power supply voltage, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the power voltage generating circuit in the first time period; charging the touch electrode by the first positive voltage, so that the voltage at two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage VDD).
control the load to discharge to the at least one energy storage element sequentially in a second phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the first energy storage capacitor CS1 in the second time period, the first energy storage capacitor CS1 can store the charge released by the touch electrode).
control the load to discharge to ground in a third phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the ground terminal GND in the third time period).
and control the at least one energy storage element to charge the load sequentially in a fourth phase, (Fig. 3 and page 7 highlighted sections, controlling the touch electrode to connect to the second energy storage capacitor CS2 in the fourth time period, the second energy storage capacitor CS2 transfers the stored charge to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage VC2).
so that the voltage of the load rises and falls stepwise between different phases. (Fig. 4 and highlighted section of page 9, As shown in FIG. 4, a waveform diagram of a driving signal provided by the embodiment of the invention, the driving signal can be generated by the touch driving circuit shown in FIG. 3, and the value of the second positive voltage VC1 and the second negative voltage VC2 are substantially stable. can be seen, the waveform of the driving signal is step-shaped).
Huang et al does not specifically disclose An active pen, and a pen tip electrode connected to the drive circuit, wherein the drive circuit is configured to provide a drive voltage to the pen tip electrode.
In an analogous art Meng et al teaches An active pen, (abstract, stylus pen).
and a pen tip electrode connected to the drive circuit, (abstract, tip electrode).
wherein the drive circuit is configured to provide a drive voltage to the pen tip electrode. (Fig.1 and paragraph 0048, drive circuit 110 provides output signal P/D to tip electrode 101).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch driving circuit of Huang et al to be an active pen as disclosed by Meng et al in order to provide an improved and accurate method of providing inputs by the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 2. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The drive circuit according to claim 1, wherein the drive circuit further comprises a second voltage generation circuit, the second voltage generation circuit is connected in parallel with a first energy storage element among the at least one energy storage element, the second voltage generation circuit is configured to output a second power supply voltage, and the second power supply voltage is smaller than the first power supply voltage, wherein, in the second phase, the load discharges to the first energy storage element until the voltage of the load reaches the second power supply voltage, and in the fourth phase, the first energy storage element charges the load until the voltage of the load reaches the second power supply voltage.
Consider claim 5. The translated document of Huang et al further teaches The drive circuit according to claim 1, wherein a switch unit connected between the first voltage generation circuit and the load in the switch circuit comprises a PMOS device, (highlighted section of page 11, As shown in FIG. 7, is a structure schematic diagram of another touch drive circuit provided by the embodiment of the invention. based on the content disclosed in the embodiment, in the embodiment, the first switch circuit further comprises a first MOS tube SA1, the second switch circuit further comprises a second MOS tube SA2, the fourth switch circuit further comprises a fourth MOS tube SB1; the fifth switch circuit further comprises a fifth MOS tube SB2, the third switch circuit further comprises a third MOS tube SA3 and the sixth MOS tube SB3; wherein the first MOS tube SA1, the sixth MOS tube SB3 and the first bearing tube SCA are P-type MOS tube; the second MOS tube SA2, the third MOS tube SA3, the fourth MOS tube SB1, the fifth MOS tube SB2 and the second bearing tube SCB are N-type MOS tube.).
a switch unit connected between each energy storage element Fig. 3).
and the load in the switch circuit comprises a first group of switches and a second group of switches in parallel, (Fig. 3, switches in switch circuit 201 are in parallel).
However none of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious wherein the first group of switches comprise a PMOS device and a diode in series, the second group of switches comprise an NMOS device and a diode in series, and the diode in the first group of switches and the diode in the second group of switches have opposite conduction directions, and a switch unit connected between the load and ground in the switch circuit comprises an NMOS device.
Consider claim 15. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The active pen according to claim 14, wherein the drive circuit further comprises a second voltage generation circuit, the second voltage generation circuit is connected in parallel with a first energy storage element among the at least one energy storage element, the second voltage generation circuit is configured to output a second power supply voltage, and the second power supply voltage is smaller than the first power supply voltage, wherein, in the second phase, the load discharges to the first energy storage element until the voltage of the load reaches the second power supply voltage, and in the fourth phase, the first energy storage element charges the load until the voltage of the load reaches the second power supply voltage.
Consider claim 18. The translated document of Huang et al further teaches The active pen according to claim 14, wherein a switch unit connected between the first voltage generation circuit and the load in the switch circuit comprises a PMOS device, (highlighted section of page 11, As shown in FIG. 7, is a structure schematic diagram of another touch drive circuit provided by the embodiment of the invention. based on the content disclosed in the embodiment, in the embodiment, the first switch circuit further comprises a first MOS tube SA1, the second switch circuit further comprises a second MOS tube SA2, the fourth switch circuit further comprises a fourth MOS tube SB1; the fifth switch circuit further comprises a fifth MOS tube SB2, the third switch circuit further comprises a third MOS tube SA3 and the sixth MOS tube SB3; wherein the first MOS tube SA1, the sixth MOS tube SB3 and the first bearing tube SCA are P-type MOS tube; the second MOS tube SA2, the third MOS tube SA3, the fourth MOS tube SB1, the fifth MOS tube SB2 and the second bearing tube SCB are N-type MOS tube.).
a switch unit connected between each energy storage element (Fig. 3).
and the load in the switch circuit comprises a first group of switches and a second group of switches in parallel, (Fig. 3, switches in switch circuit 201 are in parallel).
However none of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious wherein the first group of switches comprise a PMOS device and a diode in series, the second group of switches comprise an NMOS device and a diode in series, and the diode in the first group of switches and the diode in the second group of switches have opposite conduction directions, and a switch unit connected between the load and ground in the switch circuit comprises an NMOS device.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624