DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 21-38 are pending in this application. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office Action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 04/13/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed feature "the first conduit including an upper portion having a semi-circular shape" in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). None of the conduits 234 in Fig. 6 appears to have a semi-circular shape. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
In claim 21, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "the first conduit including an upper portion having a semi-circular shape".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the first conduit including an upper portion having a semi-circular shape". However, the original disclosure does not set forth the above feature. The specification only states that the upper barrier layer 216 is molded to define a curved upper portion of each conduit 234 in paragraph 0058. In addition, none of the conduits 234 in Fig. 6 appears to have a semi-circular shape. Therefore, claiming the limitation must be cancelled from the claim, since the claim appears to be new matter.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 33-35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker (US 4,817,304 A) in view of Mankau (EP 1738889 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Parker discloses a sole structure (sole structure 12; figs. 1-2; col. 4, ll. 15-28; claim 1) for an article of footwear (shoe 10; fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 15-28), the sole structure comprising:
a fluid-filled bladder (insert 20 inflated with a gaseous medium; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 25-30) including a first barrier layer (upper layer 24; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 29-41) and a second barrier layer (lower layer 26; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 29-41) that cooperate to define a first segment (longitudinal tube 21 or 23; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 31-41) extending along a medial side of the sole structure (fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 31-41), a second segment (longitudinal tube 23 or 21; fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 31-41) extending along a lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 31-41), and a first conduit (a first transverse tube 25; see annotated fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 38-41) extending between and coupling the first segment and the second segment (transverse tubes 25 connecting the longitudinal tubes 21, 23; figs. 2, 4; col. 4, ll. 38-41), the first conduit including an upper portion (see annotated fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 5-8) defined by the first barrier layer (defined by upper layer 24; see annotated fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 29-41) and a lower portion (see fig. 1 and annotated fig. 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8) defined by the second barrier layer (defined by lower layer 26; see annotated fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 29-41); and
Annotated Figs. 1-2 from US 4,817,304 A
a cushioning member (outer member 22 of midsole 16; figs. 1-2; col. 4, ll. 25-28) including a pocket (a space for accommodating the insert 20; figs. 1-2, 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8) having a first recess (a longitudinal recess for accommodating medial tube 21 or 23; see annotated fig. 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14) extending along the medial side of the sole structure and receiving the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder (see fig. 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14), a second recess (a longitudinal space for accommodating lateral tube 21 or 23; see annotated fig. 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14) extending along the lateral side of the sole structure and receiving the second segment of the fluid- filled bladder (fig. 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14), and a first channel (a first transverse channel for accommodating the first transverse tube 25 exists because the outer member 22 fills the space in the valleys along both the upper and lower surfaces of said insert; see fig. 2 and annotated figs. 1, 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14) extending between the first recess and the second recess and receiving the first conduit of the fluid-filled bladder (figs. 2, 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14), the first segment and the second segment extending beyond a peripheral surface of the cushioning member (medial and lateral sides 28, 30 of insert 20 extending beyond the medial and lateral sides of the outer member 22; figs. 2, 4; col. 6, ll. 8-16).
Annotated Fig. 4 from US 4,817,304 A
Parker does not disclose explicitly disclose wherein the upper portion of the first conduit having a semi-circular shape and the lower portion of the first conduit being substantially flat. However, the original disclosure does not set forth any criticality for the shape of the upper portion of the first conduit being semi-circular and the shape of the lower portion of the first conduit being substantially flat (see para. 0058). In addition, Parker, in Figs. 1-2, does appear to depict the upper upper portion of each conduit 25, including the first conduit, having a semi-circular shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shape of the first conduit of Parker, to have the upper portion having a semi-circular shape and the lower portion being substantially flat. Such a configuration does not affect normal function of the fluid-filled bladder. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results, therefore is not considered to be a patentably distinct limitation. See MPEP 2144.04, IV, B.
Further, Mankau, in an analogous art, teaches a sole structure (shoe sole 7; figs. 5-10; see English translation; paras. 0011-0013) comprising a fluid-filled bladder (figs. 5-10), the fluid-filled bladder comprising at least a first conduit (hollow bodies 1; figs. 5-10, 13, 16; paras. 0011-0014) including an upper portion having a semi-circular shape (figs. 13, 16) defined by a first barrier layer (an upper film; figs. 13, 16; para. 0014) and a substantially flat lower portion (figs. 13, 16) defined by a second barrier layer (a lower film which is thicker and harder than the upper film; figs. 13, 16; para. 0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shape of the first conduit as disclosed by Parker, with wherein the upper portion of the first conduit having a semi-circular shape and the lower portion of the first conduit being substantially flat as taught by Mankau, in order to provide the first conduit with another suitable shape for providing cushioning function when inflated.
Regarding claim 22, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the cushioning member comprises a polymer foam material (col. 4, ll. 25-28; col. 5, ll. 5-8).
Regarding claim 23, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the fluid-filled bladder (insert 20; fig. 2) includes a second conduit (a second transverse tube 25; see annotated fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 38-41) extending between and fluidly coupling the first segment and the second segment (see annotated fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 38-41).
Regarding claim 24, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the second conduit is spaced apart from the first conduit along a length of the sole structure (separated by a valley; see annotated fig. 2; claims 12, 14).
Regarding claim 25, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 24, and Parker further discloses wherein the cushioning member includes a second channel (similar to the first channel, a second transverse recess for accommodating the second transverse tube 25 exists because the outer member 22 fills the space in the valleys along both the upper and lower surfaces of said insert; see figs. 2, 4 and annotated fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14) extending between the first recess and the second recess and receives the second conduit of the fluid-filled bladder (figs. 2, 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14).
Regarding claim 26, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 25, and Parker further discloses wherein the cushioning member includes a projection (for filling the valley between the first and second transverse tubes 25; see annotated figs. 1-2; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14) extending between the first channel and the second channel (the first and second transverse tubes 25; see annotated figs. 2, 4; col. 5, ll. 5-8; claims 12, 14).
Regarding claim 27, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 26, and Parker further discloses wherein the projection includes a distal end (at the medial side or lateral side of the projection; see annotated figs. 1-2) in contact with a web area (a web area defined between first and second transverse tubes 25; see fig. 1 and annotated fig. 2; col. 4, ll. 57-60; claims 12, 14) of the fluid-filled bladder (insert 20; figs. 1-2), the web area extending between and separating the first segment (longitudinal tube 21 or 23; see annotated figs. 1-2) of the fluid-filled bladder and the second segment (longitudinal tube 23 or 21; see annotated fig. 2) of the fluid-filled bladder.
Regarding claim 33, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the first segment (tube 21 or 23; figs. 2, 4) of the fluid-filled bladder is exposed at the medial side of the sole structure (medial and lateral sides 28, 30 of insert 20 extending beyond the medial and lateral sides of the outer member 22; figs. 2, 4; col. 6, ll. 8-16).
Regarding claim 34, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 33, and Parker further discloses wherein the second segment (tube 23 or 21; figs. 2, 4) of the fluid-filled bladder is exposed at the lateral side of the sole structure (medial and lateral sides 28, 30 of insert 20 extending beyond the medial and lateral sides of the outer member 22; figs. 2, 4; col. 6, ll. 8-16).
Regarding claim 35, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the second segment (tube 23 or 21; figs. 2, 4) of the fluid-filled bladder is exposed at the lateral side of the sole structure (medial and lateral sides 28, 30 of insert 20 extending beyond the medial and lateral sides of the outer member 22; figs. 2, 4; col. 6, ll. 8-16).
Regarding claim 38, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses an article of footwear (shoe 10; fig. 1) incorporating the sole structure (fig. 1).
Claims 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker (US 4,817,304 A) and Mankau (EP 1738889 A1) and in view of Stubblefield (US 2002/0078595 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the first segment (longitudinal tube 21 or 23; fig. 2) of the fluid-filled bladder extends along a first longitudinal axis (see fig. 2) and the second segment (longitudinal tube 23 or 21; fig. 2) of the fluid-filled bladder extends along a second longitudinal axis (see fig. 2).
Parker does not explicitly disclose the first longitudinal axis being convergent with the second longitudinal axis. However, Parker does disclose wherein the fluid-filled bladder is positioned in a heel area extending to a midfoot area of the midsole (see fig. 1), and the first and second segments extending along a medial side or a lateral side of the sole structure respectively (as discussed for claim 21). Further, Stubblefield in an analogous art teaches a bladder (bladder 15; fig. 1; para. 0012) for use in a heel area of a shoe sole (para. 0002) comprising a first fluid-filled segment (chamber 30; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a first longitudinal axis in a medial/lateral side (see fig. 1) and a second fluid-filled segment (chamber 40; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a second longitudinal axis in a lateral/medial side (see fig. 1), the first longitudinal axis being convergent with the second longitudinal axis (see fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the orientation of each of the first and second fluid-filled segments as disclosed by Parker, with wherein the first longitudinal axis being convergent with the second longitudinal axis as taught by Stubblefield, in order to provide each of the first and second fluid-filled segments that fits the anatomical feature of a human's heel and midfoot and imparts both stability and cushioning to the midsole of an athletic shoe (Stubblefield; para. 0002).
Regarding claim 29, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21, and Parker further discloses wherein the first recess extends along a first longitudinal axis (corresponding to a first longitudinal axis of longitudinal tube 21 or 23; see fig. 2) and the second recess extends along a second longitudinal axis (corresponding to a second longitudinal axis of longitudinal tube 23 or 21; see fig. 2).
Parker does not explicitly disclose the first longitudinal axis being convergent with the second longitudinal axis. However, Parker does disclose wherein the fluid-filled bladder is positioned in a heel area extending to a midfoot area of the midsole (see fig. 1), and the first and second recesses are configured to receive the first and second segments along a medial side or a lateral side of the sole structure respectively (as discussed for claim 21). Further, Stubblefield in an analogous art teaches a bladder (bladder 15; fig. 1; para. 0012) for use in a heel area of a shoe sole (para. 0002) comprising a first fluid-filled segment (chamber 30; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a first longitudinal axis in a medial/lateral side (see fig. 1) and a second fluid-filled segment (chamber 40; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a second longitudinal axis in a lateral/medial side (see fig. 1), the first longitudinal axis being convergent with the second longitudinal axis (see fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the orientation of each of the first and second fluid-filled segments as disclosed by Parker, with wherein the first longitudinal axis being convergent with the second longitudinal axis as taught by Stubblefield, in order to provide each of the first and second fluid-filled segments that fits the anatomical feature of a human's heel and midfoot and imparts both stability and cushioning to the midsole of an athletic shoe (Stubblefield; para. 0002).
Regarding claim 30, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21. Parker does not explicitly disclose wherein the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder and the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder converge in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure. However, Parker does disclose wherein the fluid-filled bladder is positioned in a heel area extending to a midfoot area of the midsole (see fig. 1), and the first and second segments extending along a medial side or a lateral side of the sole structure respectively (as discussed for claim 21). Further, Stubblefield in an analogous art teaches a bladder (bladder 15; fig. 1; para. 0012) for use in a heel area of a shoe sole (para. 0002) comprising a first fluid-filled segment (chamber 30; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a medial/lateral side (see fig. 1) and a second fluid-filled segment (chamber 40; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a lateral/medial side (see fig. 1), the first segment and the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder converge in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure (see fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the orientation of each of the first and second fluid-filled segments as disclosed by Parker, with wherein the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder and the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder converge in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure as taught by Stubblefield, in order to provide each of the first and second fluid-filled segments that fits the anatomical feature of a human's heel and midfoot and imparts both stability and cushioning to the midsole of an athletic shoe (Stubblefield; para. 0002).
Regarding claim 31, Parker, Mankau and Stubblefield, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 30. Parker does not explicitly disclose wherein the first recess of the cushioning member and the second recess of the cushioning member converge in a direction from the heel region of the sole structure to the forefoot region of the sole structure. However, Parker does disclose wherein the first and second recesses are configured to receive the first and second segments along a medial side and a lateral side of the sole structure respectively (as discussed for claim 21). As the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder and the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder converge in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure (discussed for claim 30), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the orientation of each of the first recess and the second recess of the cushioning member as disclosed by Parker, to converge in a direction from the heel region of the sole structure to the forefoot region of the sole structure as well, in order to match the orientation of the first and second segments of the fluid-filled bladder therefore receiving the first and second segments of the fluid-filled bladder. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 32, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21. Parker does not explicitly disclose wherein the first recess of the cushioning member and the second recess of the cushioning member converge in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure. However, Parker does disclose wherein the fluid-filled bladder is positioned in a heel area extending to a midfoot area of the midsole (see fig. 1), and the first and second recesses are configured to receive the first and second segments along a medial side or a lateral side of the sole structure respectively (as discussed for claim 21). Further, Stubblefield in an analogous art teaches a bladder (bladder 15; fig. 1; para. 0012) for use in a heel area of a shoe sole (para. 0002) comprising a first fluid-filled segment (chamber 30; fig. 1; paras. 0012) and a second fluid-filled segment (chamber 40; fig. 1; para. 0012) extending along a medial side and a lateral side respectively (see fig. 1; para. 0014), the first fluid-filled segment being convergent with the second fluid-filled segment (see fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the orientation of each of the first and second fluid-filled segments as disclosed by Parker, with wherein the first segment being convergent with the second segment, as taught by Stubblefield, in order to provide each of the first and second fluid-filled segments that fits the anatomical feature of a human's heel and midfoot and imparts both stability and cushioning to the midsole of an athletic shoe (Stubblefield; para. 0002). By combination of Parker and Stubblefield, in order to receive the first and second segments of the fluid-filled bladder, the first recess of the cushioning member and the second recess of the cushioning member would also converge in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker (US 4,817,304 A) and Mankau (EP 1738889 A1) and further in view of in view of Kilgore (EP 0456434 A2).
Regarding claim 36, Parker and Mankau, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 21. Parker does not explicitly disclose wherein the sole structure further comprising a first outsole attached to the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder on an opposite side of the first segment from the first recess, the first outsole defining a first ground-contacting surface of the sole structure. However, Parker does disclose wherein the sole structure further comprising an outsole extending from a toe end to a heel end (outsole 18; fig. 1; col. 4, ll, 22-23). Further, Kilgore, in an analogous art, teaches a sole structure (sole structure 12; fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 46-58) for an article of footwear (shoe 10; fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 46-58), the sole structure comprising: a fluid-filled bladder (insert 20; figs. 1, 3; col. 5, ll. 46-58) including a first segment (longitudinally extending tubes 21 or 23; figs. 1, 3; col. 6, ll. 21-40) extending along a medial side of the sole structure (figs. 1, 3; col. 6, ll. 21-40), and a second segment (longitudinally extending tubes 23 or 21; figs. 1, 3; col. 6, ll. 21-40) extending along a lateral side of the sole structure (figs. 1, 3; col. 6, ll. 21-40), the sole structure further comprising a first outsole (a first traction element 15; figs. 1-2; col. 7, ll. 37-39) attached to the first segment (tubes 21 or 23; figs. 1, 3) of the fluid-filled bladder an opposite side of the first segment than a first recess (defined between outer member 22 and outsole 18, comprising a first recess 13; figs. 1, 3-4; col. 6, ll. 14-20; col. 7, ll. 37-50) of a cushion member (midsole 16, 22; figs. 1, 4; col. 5, ll. 46-58; col. 6, ll. 14-20; col. 7, ll. 12-20), the first outsole defining a first ground-contacting surface of the sole structure (figs. 1-2; col. 7, ll. 37-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the outsole as disclosed by Parker, with wherein the sole structure further comprising a first outsole attached to the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder on an opposite side of the first segment from the first recess, the first outsole defining a first ground-contacting surface of the sole structure as taught by Kilgore, in order to protect the first segment of the fluid-filled bladder as well as providing effective traction with the ground.
Regarding claim 37, Parker, Mankau and Kilgore, in combination, disclose the sole structure of Claim 36. Parker does not explicitly disclose the sole structure further comprising a second outsole attached to the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder on an opposite side of the second segment from the second recess, the second outsole defining a second ground-contacting surface of the sole structure. However, Kilgore further teaches the sole structure (sole structure 12; fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 46-58) further comprising a second outsole (a second traction element 15; figs. 1-2; col. 7, ll. 37-39) attached to the second segment (tubes 23 or 21; figs. 1, 3) of the fluid-filled bladder on an opposite side of the second segment than a second recess (figs. 1-2; col. 7, ll. 37-39) of the cushioning member, the second outsole defining a first ground-contacting surface of the sole structure (figs. 1-2; col. 7, ll. 37-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the outsole as disclosed by Parker, with the sole structure further comprising a second outsole attached to the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder on an opposite side of the second segment from the second recess, the second outsole defining a second ground-contacting surface of the sole structure as taught by Kilgore, in order to protect the second segment of the fluid-filled bladder as well as providing effective traction with the ground.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Further, Applicant's arguments filed on 04/13/2026 have been fully considered and addressed as follows.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that Parker is silent as to a fluid-filled bladder including a first barrier layer and a second barrier layer; rather, the insert (20) of Parker is formed as a single, sealed material, no distinct barrier layers.
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Even if the insert 20 of Parker is a sealed material, the insert is a chamber defined by two separate/distinct layers which are barrier layers to a gas. In addition, nowhere in Parker discloses or indicates that the insert 20 is a single material. Therefore, Applicant's argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732