DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 8/13/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding figures 1-4 of the drawings, the grayscale shading should be replaced with non-shaded elements. The drawings currently fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(b) and 37 CFR 1.84(m). If shading is unnecessary and doesn’t further aid in the understanding of the invention, it should be omitted. In contrast, photographs/gray shading may be accepted when it is the only way to reasonably demonstrate the invention (e.g. a CT image). See MPEP 608.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210330292) hereinafter Song.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches:
An acoustic signaling and imaging device (abstract), comprising:
an acoustic emitter configured for emitting an ultrasound (US) signal in a direction defined by an orientation of the acoustic emitter ([0038]-[0042], ultrasound transducer 110 is provided for emitting ultrasound signal in a direction defined by how the transducer is positioned as depicted in figure 1);
a reflector aligned with the direction for receiving the US signal and reflecting the US signal towards a sensing surface, the sensing surface adjacent an imaging region ([0038]-[0042], redirecting reflector 106 of figure 1 forms a reflector that is aligned with the ultrasound signal reception and reflects the ultrasound towards a sensing surface as shown in figure 1 as the imaging planes within the region of interest); and
an acoustic medium between the acoustic emitter and the sensing surface, the acoustic medium engaged with the reflector for mitigating signal abatement ([0040], housing may be filled with an acoustic conduction medium 114 which includes ultrasound gel, which as part of the housing 102 in figure 1, forms a medium between the acoustic emitter and the sensing surface; see also [0038]-[0039] and [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Song further teaches:
wherein the acoustic medium is disposed in simultaneous contact with the acoustic emitter, the reflector and the sensing surface and occupies the line of sight between the acoustic emitter and reflector, and between the reflector and the sensing surface ([0040], housing may be filled with an acoustic conduction medium 114 which includes ultrasound gel, which as part of the housing 102 in figure 1, forms a medium that is in simultaneous contact with the emitter and reflect and sensing surface, as it fills the housing and makes contact with each element for acoustic transmission; see also [0038]-[0039] and [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Song further teaches:
further comprising a containment housing the reflector and encapsulating the acoustic medium in an orientation in contact with the acoustic emitter and the sensing surface ([0038]-[0042], as depicted in figure 1, housing 102 forms a containment housing the reflector and encapsulating the acoustic gel within contact with the emitter and sensing surface).
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Song further teaches:
wherein the acoustic emitter is disposed on the sensing surface and irradiates the US signal in a direction parallel to the sensing surface, the acoustic reflector oriented at a 45o angle for reflecting the US signal normal to the sensing surface ([0038]-[0042], as depicted in figure 1, the ultrasound signal is provided parallel to the surface across the housing 102 and directed to the acoustic reflector 106. The acoustic reflector is oriented at a relative 45 degree angle and then reflects the signal normal to the signal surface and to the target region of interest as depicted by the ultrasound scanning planes).
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Song further teaches:
further comprising a plurality of acoustic reflectors disposed in a path of the US signal, the US signal reflected towards an imaging target based on an aggregate angular orientation of the plurality of acoustic reflectors ([0038]-[0042], as depicted in figure 1, the device includes additional acoustic reflector disposed in the path as tilting reflector assembly 104 forms a second acoustic reflector in the path. When combined with reflector 106, the reflection to the imaging target is based upon the aggregate angular orientation as depicted in figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Song further teaches:
wherein the acoustic emitter further comprises an array of one or more transducer elements, each of the transducer elements configured to send and receive an acoustic signal, wherein a received acoustic signal is indicative of an imaged feature ([0068]-[0069], ultrasound transducers 110 includes an array of one or more transducers).
Regarding claim 8, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Song further teaches:
wherein the acoustic reflector is transparent to optical signals, further comprising an optical medium projecting optical signals through the acoustic reflector ([0095]-[0096], optically-transparent acoustic reflector 1912 for photoacoustic signals).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches:
A method of gathering an ultrasound (US) image, comprising:
orienting an ultrasound emitter adjacent an imaged feature in an imaging region, the orientation unaligned with an emission trajectory of an US signal from the ultrasound emitter ([0038]-[0042], ultrasound transducer 110 is provided for emitting ultrasound signal in a direction defined by how the transducer is positioned as depicted in figure 1. Emission trajectory is unaligned with the emitter as the reflections provide a changing alignment);
disposing an acoustic reflector in the emission trajectory of ultrasound emitter, the acoustic reflector oriented at an angle based on the imaged feature ([0038]-[0042], redirecting reflector 106 of figure 1 forms a reflector that is angled with the ultrasound signal reception and reflects the ultrasound towards a sensing surface as shown in figure 1 as the imaging planes within the region of interest);
applying a nonliquid acoustic medium between the ultrasound emitter and the acoustic reflector ([0040], housing may be filled with an acoustic conduction medium 114 which includes ultrasound gel, which as part of the housing 102 in figure 1, forms a medium between the acoustic emitter and the sensing surface and is nonliquid; see also [0038]-[0039] and [0041]-[0042]); and
redirecting the US signal from the ultrasound emitter to the imaged feature via reflection from the acoustic reflector ([0038]-[0042], redirecting reflector 106 of figure 1 forms a reflector that is angled with the ultrasound signal reception and reflects the ultrasound towards a sensing surface as shown in figure 1 as the imaging planes within the region of interest).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Song further teaches:
further comprising:
placing the ultrasound emitter on a sensing surface, the sensing surface obscuring the imaged feature ([0038]-[0042], ultrasound transducer 110 is provided for emitting ultrasound signal on a sensing surface, which obscures an imaged figure within the patient and under the sensing surface as depicted in figure 1 with the imaged ultrasound planes);
applying the acoustic medium in communication with the ultrasound emitter, the acoustic reflector and the sensing surface ([0040], housing may be filled with an acoustic conduction medium 114 which includes ultrasound gel, which as part of the housing 102 in figure 1, forms a medium that is in simultaneous contact with the emitter and reflect and sensing surface, as it fills the housing and makes contact with each element for acoustic transmission; see also [0038]-[0039] and [0041]-[0042]); and
transmitting the US signal from the ultrasound emitter to the acoustic reflector, and from the acoustic reflector to the sensing surface through the acoustic medium ([0038]-[0042], as depicted in figure 1, the ultrasound transducer provides a US signal to the acoustic reflector and travels through the acoustic medium gel of housing 102 to the sensing surface and then the patient target regions of interest).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Song further teaches:
wherein the ultrasound emitter is an ultrasound array of one or more ultrasound transducers ([0068]-[0069], ultrasound transducers 110 includes an array of one or more transducers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song as applied to claims 1 or 9 above, and further in view of Fayolle et al. (WO2025/172322) hereinafter Fayolle (see attached combined WO Publication and English translation for citations).
Regarding claim 4, primary reference Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Song further fails to teach:
wherein the acoustic medium is selected from the group consisting of gelatin, agarose, and gel wax
However, the analogous art of Fayolle of an ultrasound capture device and ultrasound transducer system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the acoustic medium is selected from the group consisting of gelatin, agarose, and gel wax ([0055], agarose, gelatin or wax used for the acoustic propagation material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound reflector device of Song to incorporate the acoustic medium made from either gelatin, agarose, or wax as taught by Fayolle because it provides optimized contact between the ultrasound transducer and the skin of a user (Fayolle, [0003]). This leads to higher quality signal acquisition through improved acoustic coupling.
Regarding claim 12, primary reference Song teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Primary reference Song further fails to teach:
wherein the acoustic medium is selected from the group consisting of gelatin, agarose, and gel wax
However, the analogous art of Fayolle of an ultrasound capture device and ultrasound transducer system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the acoustic medium is selected from the group consisting of gelatin, agarose, and gel wax ([0055], agarose, gelatin or wax used for the acoustic propagation material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound reflector device of Song to incorporate the acoustic medium made from either gelatin, agarose, or wax as taught by Fayolle because it provides optimized contact between the ultrasound transducer and the skin of a user (Fayolle, [0003]). This leads to higher quality signal acquisition through improved acoustic coupling.
Conclusion
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798