DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Przygoda, Jr. et al. (U.S. 5,438,607) in view of Wang (CN 117250476A) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 5,504,903).
Claim 1, Przygoda teaches:
An input/output module (Przygoda, Fig. 1: 16) comprising:
a plurality of ports including input ports and output ports (Przygoda, Fig. 4: 276, 278, 280, 282, Col. 12, Lines 38-45, The I/O sections are part of microcontroller 90, which is a part of overall circuitry 88 within the base unit 16 (see Przygoda, Col. 11, Lines 32-34).);
a self-test mode activation unit (Przygoda, Fig. 1: 22T) configured to activate the input/output module to enter a self-test mode (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 48-60, The test switch 22T activates a diagnostic self-test mode of the base unit 16, wherein an internal transmitter is activated to test the operation of the radio frequency (RF) receiver section and the microcomputer within the base unit 16.);
any port can be selected for a self-test by pressing the port switching unit multiple times (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 48-60, When the test switch 22T is activated, the base unit 16 runs a self-test mode, allowing the ports of the base unit 16 to be tested each time the test switch 22T is activated, i.e. multiple times. The test switch 22T is functionally equivalent to this function of the port switching unit.);
a port unit configured to select a port currently being tested in the self-test mode (Przygoda, Col. 13, Lines 65-68 through Col. 13, Lines 1-5, A radio frequency signal is generated to test the receiver circuitry to ensure that it is operating, in response to the user pressing the test switch 22T.); and
a plurality of port indicator lights (Przygoda, Fig. 1: 24) disposed corresponding to the plurality of ports respectively and configured to display selected states and connection results of the corresponding ports (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 67-68 through Col. 7, Lines 1-17, The two-dimensional alphanumeric display 24 includes one or more rows of characters 25 and a power on light 26, and may be any conventional or suitable type, e.g. light-emitting diode (LED) display. In the example of an LED display, each individual LED or groups of LEDs are equivalent to a plurality of indicator lights. The display of the display 24 indicates whether the base unit 16 is operating, including an example wherein a connection with “Dr. Smith Office 254-4190” which is a state and connection result of a corresponding I/O port.).
Przygoda does not specifically teach:
A port switching unit configured to switch and select a port currently being tested in the self-test mode; and, wherein the port switching unit cycles sequentially among the plurality of ports so that any port can be selected for a self-test by pressing the port switching unit multiple times;
wherein the self-test mode activation unit, the port switching unit and the plurality of port indicator lights are all installed on the input/output module itself; and
the plurality of port indicator lights configured to display detection results of the corresponding ports, wherein when the port switching unit selects a certain port, a port indicator light corresponding to the port lights up.
As per the limitation of the plurality of port indicator lights configured to display detection results of the corresponding ports, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the display of the display 24 to be indicative of detection results of the corresponding ports, i.e. if the base unit 16 is operating properly, then the corresponding ports have “passed” a detection results.
Wang teaches:
A port switching unit configured to switch and select a port currently being tested in the self-test mode (Wang, Page 3, “The self-test application circuit of the switching circuit”, The self-test application circuit switches between test0, test1, test2, and test led for testing corresponding circuits.); and, wherein the port switching unit cycles sequentially among the plurality of ports so that any port can be selected for a self-test by activating the port switching unit multiple times (Wang, Page 3: “The self-test module starts sending 256 frames of 64 bytes to the IMP port… output from the IMP port through port 0, port 1, port 2, port 3, port 4, and port 5”. The self-test application circuit applies the self-test to the ports in sequence and each time the self-test application circuit is activated, the ports are tests in sequence, i.e. multiple times.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Przygoda by integrating the teaching of the self-test application circuit, as taught by Wang.
The motivation would be to reduce the time by improving the efficiency of testing devices (see Wang, Page 1: “Background technique”).
As per the limitation of wherein the self-test mode activation unit, the port switching unit and the plurality of port indicator lights are all installed on the input/output module itself, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, and in the combination of Przygoda in view of Wang, to modify the location of the test button and display in Przygoda and the self-test application circuit in Wang, to be located on the base unit of Przygoda, as a matter of engineering and/or design choice. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Przygoda in view of Chen does not specifically teach:
Wherein when the port switching unit selects a certain port, a port indicator light corresponding to the port lights up.
Chen teaches:
Wherein when the port switching unit selects a certain port, a port indicator light corresponding to the port lights up (Chen, Fig. 12: 117, 118, Col. 19, Lines 26-33, A pair of LEDs 117 and 118 to pines RC0 and RC1 of port C indicate the condition of an auto-programming routine.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Przygoda in view of Chen by integrating the teaching of a visual indication, as taught by Chen.
The motivation would be to make an operator aware of an absence of error or an error in the programming (see Chen, Col. 19, Lines 26-33).
Claim 2, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 1, wherein each of the output ports is communicatively connected to a first external module (Przygoda, Fig. 4: 276-282, As can be seen from Fig. 4, each of the I/O sections 276-282 is connected to a module external to microcontroller 90.).
Claim 3, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 2, further comprising: a bus port communicatively connected to a second external module (Przygoda, Fig. 4: 276-282, As can be seen from Fig. 4, each of the I/O sections 276-282 is addressed through the common internal bus 270, therefore, each I/O section is equivale to a bus port communicatively connected to another module external to microcontroller 90.).
Claim 4, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 3, further comprising: a mode indicator light disposed corresponding to the self-test mode activation unit and configured to display an operation mode of the input/output module (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 67-68 through Col. 7, Lines 1-17, The two-dimensional alphanumeric display 24 includes one or more rows of characters 25 and a power on light 26, and may be any conventional or suitable type, e.g. light-emitting diode (LED) display. In the example of an LED display, each individual LED or groups of LEDs are equivalent to a plurality of indicator lights. The display of the display 24 indicates whether the base unit 16 is operating, including an example wherein a connection with “Dr. Smith Office 254-4190” which is a state and connection result of a corresponding I/O port.).
Claim 5, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 4, wherein the self-test mode activation unit and the port switching unit are respectively configured as a first button switch (Przygoda, Fig. 1: 22T) and a second button switch (Wang, Page 1: “The self-testing system suitable for switching circuits provided by the present invention includes: using four external PIN pins as test pins, namely test0, test1, test2, and test led”, wherein each pin represents a switchable pin, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the switchable pin to correspond to a button, e.g. Przygoda, Fig. 1: 22T. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Claim 6, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
A self-test method for an input/output module, the self-test method being applied to the input/output module according to claim 5 (Przygoda, Fig. 1: 16, The Examiner notes that claim 6, as currently presented, is interpreted as being dependent on claim 5.), wherein the self-test mode activation unit, the port switching unit and the plurality of port indicator lights are all installed on the input/output module itself (Przygoda, Fig. 1, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, and in the combination of Przygoda in view of Wang, to modify the location of the test button and display in Przygoda and the self-test application circuit in Wang, to be located on the base unit of Przygoda, as a matter of engineering and/or design choice. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.), the self-test method comprising:
a mode selection step of controlling the input/output module to enter a self-test mode through the self-test mode activation unit (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 48-60, The test switch 22T activates a diagnostic self-test mode of the base unit 16, wherein an internal transmitter is activated to test the operation of the radio frequency (RF) receiver section and the microcomputer within the base unit 16.);
a port selection step of selecting a port to be tested through the port switching unit (Wang, Page 3, “The self-test application circuit of the switching circuit”, The self-test application circuit switches between test0, test1, test2, and test led for testing corresponding circuits.), wherein the port switching unit cycles sequentially among the plurality of ports so that any port can be selected for a self-test by pressing the port switching unit multiple times (Wang, Page 3: “The self-test module starts sending 256 frames of 64 bytes to the IMP port… output from the IMP port through port 0, port 1, port 2, port 3, port 4, and port 5”. The self-test application circuit applies the self-test to the ports in sequence and each time the self-test application circuit is activated, the ports are tests in sequence, i.e. multiple times.), and when the port switching unit is pressed to select a certain port, a port indicator light corresponding to the port lights up (Chen, Fig. 12: 117, 118, Col. 19, Lines 26-33, A pair of LEDs 117 and 118 to pines RC0 and RC1 of port C indicate the condition of an auto-programming routine.); and
a port testing step of transmitting a test signal to the port to be tested through the self-test mode activation unit (Przygoda, Col. 13, Lines 65-68 through Col. 13, Lines 1-5, A radio frequency signal is generated to test the receiver circuitry to ensure that it is operating, in response to the user pressing the test switch 22T.).
Claim 7, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The self-test method for an input/output module according to claim 6, wherein in the mode selection step, the self-test mode is entered/exited by a long press of the first button switch (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 48-58, The diagnostic self-=test mode is activated in response to a momentary pressing of the switch 22T. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for a momentary pressing of the switch 22T to include “short” and “long” presses.).
Claim 8, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The self-test method for an input/output module according to claim 6, wherein in the port selection step, when the second button switch is pressed to select a certain port, a port indicator light corresponding to the port lights up (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 67-68 through Col. 7, Lines 1-17, The two-dimensional alphanumeric display 24 includes one or more rows of characters 25 and a power on light 26, and may be any conventional or suitable type, e.g. light-emitting diode (LED) display. In the example of an LED display, each individual LED or groups of LEDs are equivalent to a plurality of indicator lights. The display of the display 24 indicates whether the base unit 16 is operating, including an example wherein a connection with “Dr. Smith Office 254-4190” which is a state and connection result of a corresponding I/O port. In the combination of Przygoda in view of Wang, “The self-test application circuit of the switching circuit” of Wang controls the switching of the self-test mode to each of the I/O sections 276-282, wherein the display 24 of Przygoda displays the operational status of each of the I/O sections 276-282.).
Claim 9, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The self-test method for an input/output module according to claim 6, further comprising: an input port testing step of adjusting a certain input port to a simulated active state and transmitting the simulated active state when the input/output module polls the input port (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 48-60, The test switch 22T activates a diagnostic self-test mode of the base unit 16, wherein an internal transmitter is activated to test the operation of the radio frequency (RF) receiver section and the microcomputer within the base unit 16. Transmitting from the internal transmitter to a corresponding I/O receiver is equivalent to polling the input port.); and a test result displaying step of determining a state of the input port according to the port indicator light and/or the second external module corresponding to the input port (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 67-68 through Col. 7, Lines 1-17, The two-dimensional alphanumeric display 24 includes one or more rows of characters 25 and a power on light 26, and may be any conventional or suitable type, e.g. light-emitting diode (LED) display. In the example of an LED display, each individual LED or groups of LEDs are equivalent to a plurality of indicator lights. The display of the display 24 indicates whether the base unit 16 is operating, including an example wherein a connection with “Dr. Smith Office 254-4190” which is a state and connection result of a corresponding I/O port. In the combination of Przygoda in view of Wang, “The self-test application circuit of the switching circuit” of Wang controls the switching of the self-test mode to each of the I/O sections 276-282, wherein the display 24 of Przygoda displays the operational status of each of the I/O sections 276-282.).
Claim 10, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The self-test method for an input/output module according to claim 6, further comprising: an output port testing step of transmitting an adjustment signal to the output port to switch an output state of the output port (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 48-60, The test switch 22T activates a diagnostic self-test mode of the base unit 16, wherein an internal transmitter is activated to test the operation of the radio frequency (RF) receiver section and the microcomputer within the base unit 16. Transmitting from the internal transmitter to a corresponding I/O receiver is equivalent to switching a state of the output port.); and a test result displaying step of determining a state of the output port according to the port indicator light and/or the first external module corresponding to the output port (Przygoda, Col. 6, Lines 67-68 through Col. 7, Lines 1-17, The two-dimensional alphanumeric display 24 includes one or more rows of characters 25 and a power on light 26, and may be any conventional or suitable type, e.g. light-emitting diode (LED) display. In the example of an LED display, each individual LED or groups of LEDs are equivalent to a plurality of indicator lights. The display of the display 24 indicates whether the base unit 16 is operating, including an example wherein a connection with “Dr. Smith Office 254-4190” which is a state and connection result of a corresponding I/O port. In the combination of Przygoda in view of Wang, “The self-test application circuit of the switching circuit” of Wang controls the switching of the self-test mode to each of the I/O sections 276-282, wherein the display 24 of Przygoda displays the operational status of each of the I/O sections 276-282.).
Claim 11, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 1, wherein the input ports each are configured to receive a signal input and include an open/short state, an active state, and a standby state when operating normally (Przygoda, Col. 12, Lines 30-45, The ports 276-282 are I/O ports, wherein the input aspect of the port is equivalent to an active state and when the port is not inputting, the state is equivalent to a standby state. As per the open/short state, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the port to further include an open/short state. For example, if an error is determined for a port, an operator of the system may disconnect the port in order to service the port, wherein the servicing of the port is interpreted as part of the “normal” operation of the port. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Claim 12, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 1, wherein each output port is configured as a normally open/normally closed contact to transmit a control signal while switching between a normally open state and a normally closed state (Przygoda, Col. 12, Lines 30-45, Each of the I/O ports are “normally” closed, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the I/O port to “close” when outputting, and “open” when not outputting, e.g. to allow for the input aspect of the I/O port to function.).
Claim 13, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 1, wherein a port indicator light corresponding to a port reflects different states of the corresponding port through different illumination states including steady off indicating an unselected state (Przygoda, Col. 16, Lines 38-53, A Schmitt trigger 410 may be turned on and off to control an LED output circuit 228 including an LED 26 to pull the microcontroller 90 into a reset to restart the program. During the reset period, the LEDs are indicative of an unselected state.), blinking indicating a selected state (Przygoda, Col. 16, Lines 54-59, The selected state is when the microcontroller 90 is down but the power is up.), and steady on indicating an in-test/in-work state (Chen, Col. 19, Lines 26-33, The lit aspect of the LEDs is a steady on state indicating an in-work state.).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Przygoda, Jr. et al. (U.S. 5,438,607) in view of Wang (CN 117250476A) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 5,504,903) in view of Ahn (KR 102397126 B1).
Claim 14, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen further teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 1, wherein a port indicator light corresponding to a port reflects different detection results of the corresponding port through different illumination colors including green indicating a normal test state (Chen, Fig. 12: 117, Col. 19, Lines 26-33, Green indicates no error.), red indicating an activated state (Chen, Fig. 12: 118, Col. 19, Lines 26-33, Red indicates an error has occurred while the port C is activated.).
Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen does not specifically teach:
Yellow indicating an abnormal state.
Ahn teaches:
Yellow indicating an abnormal state (Ahn, Fig. 5: 130, Page 5, The yellow LED is displayed when receiving a state abnormal signal for the communication port.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen by integrating the teaching of an output unit, as taught by Ahn.
The motivation would be to allow for a manager to determine a degree of abnormality and quickly respond accordingly (see Ahn, Page 5).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Przygoda, Jr. et al. (U.S. 5,438,607) in view of Wang (CN 117250476A) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 5,504,903) in view of Jin (U.S. 2019/0051078 A1).
Claim 15, Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen teaches:
The input/output module according to claim 1.
Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen does not specifically teach:
Further comprising a DIP switch configured as an 8-bit binary DIP switch for setting a communication address and controlling an input/output state of the input/output module.
Jin teaches:
Further comprising a DIP switch (Jin, Figs. 2 and 3) configured as an 8-bit binary DIP switch (Jin, Paragraph [0040]) for setting a communication address and controlling an input/output state (Jin, Paragraph [0037], The DIP switch includes 8 address bits for setting address bits for IO communications.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Przygoda in view of Wang in view of Chen by integrating the teaching of a DIP switch, as taught by Jin.
The motivation would be to utilize advantages of a DIP switch improve the implementation efficiency of software and hardware implementations (see Jin, Paragraph [0073]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686