DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/21/25 and 10/09/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0001, recites “Applications” which should be changed to “Application”.
Paragraph 0040, recites “Adc” as a unit for current ripple that should be changed to “A” or the correct unit of measure.
Paragraph 0046, recites “Adc” as a unit for current ripple that should be changed to “A” or the correct unit of measure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites, inter alia, “wherein in a first configuration, the primary series assembly and an input capacitor are connected in series between the first node and the second node, and the control module is electrically connected to the input switch assembly; or, in a second configuration, the first node is electrically connected to a third node via a back-to-back switch assembly, wherein the third node is formed by two input capacitors connected in series, and the control module is electrically connected to the input switch assembly and the back-to-back switch assembly” and then further recites, inter alia, “the method comprises: configuring the control module to perform operations comprising: controlling the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and off complementarily; for the first configuration: in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode… for the second configuration: in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode...”. This claim limitation is confusing because it is unclear if this claim is trying to recite two different physical configurations or two different operational configurations. Based on the drawings and specification the first configuration cannot exist within the second configuration and vice versa and thus the operational configurations cannot co-exist together either. Such a claim is indefinite because it does not clearly lay out what the Applicant is trying to claim. For purposes of examination the Examiner has taken the interpretation that only one configuration has to be taught by the prior art to meet the claim limitations as currently recited.
Regarding claim 14-20, claims 14-20 depend upon claim 13 therefore inherit the deficiencies of claim 13 and are thus also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites, inter alia, “wherein the control module is configured to receive at least one command instructing the power converter to be configured for the first configuration or the second configuration.” This claim adds even further ambiguity in that it seems to define that the physical configuration of a circuit can be changed based on a command signal. The physical layout of a circuit cannot be changed based on an electrical command signal unless both configurations exist within the system which is not what was recited in claim 14 from which claim 20 depends upon. For purposes of examination the Examiner has taken the interpretation that this claim means that a command signal is sent by the control module to control the switches.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jovanovic (US 2015/0078036 A1) in view of Fujimoto (US 11811299 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Jovanovic teaches a power converter (Figures 3(a)-3(c)), comprising: a transformer (Figure 3(a) Component TR) including a primary side of the transformer (Figure 3(a) Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 3(a) Components S1-S4) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 3(a) Components S4+S3) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 3(a) Components S1+S2), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 3(a) Component S4) and a second switch (Figure 3(a) Component S3) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 3(a) Component B), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 3(a) Component S2) and a fourth switch (Figure 3(a) Component S1) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 3(a) Component A), and the input switch assembly is configured to operate in a full-bridge mode or a half-bridge mode (Abstract); wherein the primary winding and an input capacitor (Figure 3(a) Component Cr) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 3(a) Components Cr and Np are connected in series between Components A and B); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 3(a) Component Controller); wherein the control module is configured to perform operations comprising: controlling the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and off complementarily (Figure 3(b) shows Components S1 and S2 are complementarily switched); in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the first switch asynchronous with a control signal for the fourth switch to be reduced to zero gradually (Figure 3(b) shows the transition from full-bridge to half-bridge wherein the signal for S4, which switches asynchronously with the signal for S1, has a duty cycle that is reduced to zero gradually during the transition period), and controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the second switch asynchronous with a control signal for the third switch to be raised to one gradually (Figure 3(b) shows the transition from full-bridge to half-bridge wherein the signal for S3, which switch asynchronously with the signal for S2, has a duty cycle that is increased to 100% or a high ‘1’ output gradually during the transition period); and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the first switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the first switch asynchronous with the control signal for the fourth switch (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge wherein the signal for S4 has a duty cycle that is gradually increased during the transition period to be asynchronous with the signal for S1), and controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the second switch to be reduced from one gradually to make the control signal for the second switch asynchronous with the control signal for the third switch, to control the first switch and the second switch to be turned on and off complementarily (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge wherein the signal for S3 has a duty cycle that is gradually decreased during the transition period to be asynchronous with the signal for S2).
Jovanovic does not teach two transformers, wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly; wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor are connected in series between the first node and the second node.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Regarding claim 2, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 1. Jovanovic further teaches wherein in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge), there is a phase shift between the control signal for the first switch and the control signal for the fourth switch, and wherein the phase shift is set within a phase-shift range, which is greater than 0 degree and not more than 180 degree (Figure 3(c) shows that there is a phase shift between the signals for S1 and S4).
Regarding claim 6, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 1. Jovanovic further teaches wherein the control module is configured to control the input switch assembly to be switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode in response to determining an input voltage associated with the input switch assembly being greater than a voltage threshold (Paragraph 0029), and the control module is configured to control the input switch assembly to be switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode in response to determining the input voltage being less than or equal to the voltage threshold (Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 13 (See 112(b) Rejection for Interpretation), Jovanovic teaches a power converter control method (Figures 3(a)-3(c)), applied to a power converter comprising a transformer (Figure 3(a) Component TR), an input switch assembly (Figure 3(a) Components S1-S4), and a control module (Figure 3(a) Component Controller), a primary side the transformer (Figure 3(a) Component Np), the input switch assembly comprises a first bridge arm (Figure 3(a) Components S4+S3) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 3(a) Components S1+S2), the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 3(a) Component S4) and a second switch (Figure 3(a) Component S3) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 3(a) Component B), and the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 3(a) Component S2) and a fourth switch (Figure 3(a) Component S1) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 3(a) Component A), wherein the input switch assembly is configured to operate in a full-bridge mode or a half-bridge mode (Abstract); wherein in a first configuration, the primary winding and an input capacitor (Figure 3(a) Component Cr) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 3(a) Components Cr and Np are connected in series between Components A and B), and the control module is electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 3(a) Component Controller); or, in a second configuration, the first node is electrically connected to a third node via a back-to-back switch assembly, wherein the third node is formed by two input capacitors connected in series, and the control module is electrically connected to the input switch assembly and the back-to-back switch assembly (This limitation does not have to be met due to the ‘or’ clause and the interpretation taken under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)); wherein the method comprises: configuring the control module to perform operations comprising: controlling the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and off complementarily (Figure 3(b) shows Components S1 and S2 are complementarily switched); for the first configuration: ); in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the first switch asynchronous with a control signal for the fourth switch to be reduced to zero gradually (Figure 3(b) shows the transition from full-bridge to half-bridge wherein the signal for S4, which switches asynchronously with the signal for S1, has a duty cycle that is reduced to zero gradually during the transition period), and controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the second switch asynchronous with a control signal for the third switch to be raised to one gradually (Figure 3(b) shows the transition from full-bridge to half-bridge wherein the signal for S3, which switch asynchronously with the signal for S2, has a duty cycle that is increased to 100% or a high ‘1’ output gradually during the transition period); and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the first switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the first switch asynchronous with the control signal for the fourth switch (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge wherein the signal for S4 has a duty cycle that is gradually increased during the transition period to be asynchronous with the signal for S1), and controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the second switch to be reduced from one gradually to make the control signal for the second switch asynchronous with the control signal for the third switch, to control the first switch and the second switch to be turned on and off complementarily (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge wherein the signal for S3 has a duty cycle that is gradually decreased during the transition period to be asynchronous with the signal for S2); for the second configuration: in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the first switch asynchronous with a control signal for the fourth switch to be reduced to zero gradually, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the second switch asynchronous with a control signal for the third switch to be reduced to zero gradually, and controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned on; and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the first switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the first switch asynchronous with the control signal for the fourth switch, and controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the second switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the second switch asynchronous with the control signal for the third switch, to control the first switch and the second switch to be turned on and off complementarily, and controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned off (This limitation does not have to be met due to the ‘or’ clause between the configurations and the interpretation taken under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)).
Jovanovic does not teach a power converter comprising two transformers; and wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly; and the primary series assembly and an input capacitor are connected in series between the first node and the second node.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Regarding claim 14, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 13. Jovanovic further teaches wherein in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, there is a phase shift between the control signal for the first switch and the control signal for the fourth switch, and wherein the phase shift is set within a phase-shift range, which is greater than 0 degree and not more than 180 degree (Figure 3(c) shows that there is a phase shift between the signals for S1 and S4).
Regarding claim 15, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 13. Jovanovic further teaches wherein the control module is configured to control the input switch assembly to be switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode in response to determining an input voltage associated with the input switch assembly being greater than a voltage threshold, and the control module is configured to control the input switch assembly to be switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode in response to determining the input voltage being less than or equal to the voltage threshold (Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 20 (See 112(b) Rejection for Interpretation), Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 13. Jovanovic further teaches wherein the control module is configured to receive at least one command instructing the power converter to be configured for the first configuration or the second configuration (Figure 3(a) Controller sends a command signal).
Claims 3-5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jovanovic (US 2015/0078036 A1) in view of Fujimoto (US 11811299 B2) and in further view of Ye (US 2017/0063251 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 1. Jovanovic does not teach wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary series assembly.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Ye teaches a power converter (Figure 2A), comprising: a transformer (Figure 2A Component 212) having a primary winding forming a primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 2A Component 202) having a first bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a first node (Figure 2A Components Q1+Q2 and Node T1) and a second bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a second node (Figure 2A Components Q3+Q4 and Node T2); an input capacitor connected with the primary assembly between the first node and the second node (Figure 2A Components Cr1 and Np are connected in series between Nodes T1 and T2), wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Cr1 is between Node T1 and Component Np).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic to move the capacitor to be between the first node and the primary winding as taught by Ye. The advantage of this design is that it blocks DC magnetizing current and prevents transformer-core saturation while retaining the series resonant current path.
Regarding claim 4, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 1. Jovanovic further teaches wherein secondary sides of the transformer are connected in series to form a secondary series assembly (Figure 3(a) Components Ns), the secondary series assembly is connected to an output switch assembly in parallel (Figure 3(a) Components D1 and D2).
Jovanovic does not teach two transformers; and the output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60), wherein secondary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a secondary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 322 and 312), the secondary series assembly is connected to an output switch assembly in parallel (Figure 1 Components 41+42), and the output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Ye teaches a power converter (Figure 2A), comprising: a transformer (Figure 2A Component 212) having a primary winding forming a primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 2A Component 202) having a first bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a first node (Figure 2A Components Q1+Q2 and Node T1) and a second bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a second node (Figure 2A Components Q3+Q4 and Node T2); an input capacitor connected with the primary assembly between the first node and the second node (Figure 2A Components Cr1 and Np are connected in series between Nodes T1 and T2), wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Cr1 is between Node T1 and Component Np); a control circuit (Abstract); and an output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module (Figure 2A Component 214; Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate MOSFETs in place of diodes on the secondary side as taught by Ye. The advantage of this design is that the output voltage can be more actively controlled thus increasing the efficiency of the overall system in providing accurate output voltages to the load.
Regarding claim 5, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 4. Jovanovic does not teach wherein the secondary sides of the two transformers are connected to form a first contact, the output switch assembly comprises a fifth switch and a sixth switch connected in series to form a second contact, and an output capacitor is electrically connected between the first contact and the second contact.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60), wherein secondary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a secondary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 322 and 312), the secondary series assembly is connected to an output switch assembly in parallel (Figure 1 Components 41+42), and the output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module, wherein the secondary sides of the two transformers are connected to form a first contact (Figure 1 Component 51), the output switch assembly comprises a fifth switch and a sixth switch (Figure 1 Components 41+42) connected in series to form a second contact (Figure 1 Component 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Ye teaches a power converter (Figure 2A), comprising: a transformer (Figure 2A Component 212) having a primary winding forming a primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 2A Component 202) having a first bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a first node (Figure 2A Components Q1+Q2 and Node T1) and a second bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a second node (Figure 2A Components Q3+Q4 and Node T2); an input capacitor connected with the primary assembly between the first node and the second node (Figure 2A Components Cr1 and Np are connected in series between Nodes T1 and T2), wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Cr1 is between Node T1 and Component Np); a control circuit (Abstract); an output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module (Figure 2A Component 214; Abstract); and an output capacitor is electrically connected between a first contact and a second contact (Figure 2A Component C0 is between Components T5 and T6 through Components Q5 and Q8, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate MOSFETs in place of diodes on the secondary side as taught by Ye. The advantage of this design is that the output voltage can be more actively controlled thus increasing the efficiency of the overall system in providing accurate output voltages to the load.
Regarding claim 16, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 13. Jovanovic does not teach wherein in the first configuration, the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary series assembly.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Ye teaches a power converter (Figure 2A), comprising: a transformer (Figure 2A Component 212) having a primary winding forming a primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 2A Component 202) having a first bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a first node (Figure 2A Components Q1+Q2 and Node T1) and a second bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a second node (Figure 2A Components Q3+Q4 and Node T2); an input capacitor connected with the primary assembly between the first node and the second node (Figure 2A Components Cr1 and Np are connected in series between Nodes T1 and T2), wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Cr1 is between Node T1 and Component Np).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic to move the capacitor to be between the first node and the primary winding as taught by Ye. The advantage of this design is that it blocks DC magnetizing current and prevents transformer-core saturation while retaining the series resonant current path.
Regarding claim 17, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 13. Jovanovic further teaches wherein in the first configuration or the second configuration, secondary sides of the transformer are connected in series to form a secondary series assembly (Figure 3(a) Components Ns), the secondary series assembly is connected to an output switch assembly in parallel (Figure 3(a) Components D1 and D2).
Jovanovic does not teach two transformers; and the output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60), wherein secondary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a secondary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 322 and 312), the secondary series assembly is connected to an output switch assembly in parallel (Figure 1 Components 41+42), and the output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Ye teaches a power converter (Figure 2A), comprising: a transformer (Figure 2A Component 212) having a primary winding forming a primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 2A Component 202) having a first bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a first node (Figure 2A Components Q1+Q2 and Node T1) and a second bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a second node (Figure 2A Components Q3+Q4 and Node T2); an input capacitor connected with the primary assembly between the first node and the second node (Figure 2A Components Cr1 and Np are connected in series between Nodes T1 and T2), wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Cr1 is between Node T1 and Component Np); a control circuit (Abstract); and an output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module (Figure 2A Component 214; Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate MOSFETs in place of diodes on the secondary side as taught by Ye. The advantage of this design is that the output voltage can be more actively controlled thus increasing the efficiency of the overall system in providing accurate output voltages to the load.
Regarding claim 18, Jovanovic and Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 17. Jovanovic does not teach wherein the secondary sides of the two transformers are connected to form a first contact, the output switch assembly comprises a fifth switch and a sixth switch connected in series to form a second contact, and an output capacitor is electrically connected between the first contact and the second contact.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60), wherein secondary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a secondary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 322 and 312), the secondary series assembly is connected to an output switch assembly in parallel (Figure 1 Components 41+42), and the output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module, wherein the secondary sides of the two transformers are connected to form a first contact (Figure 1 Component 51), the output switch assembly comprises a fifth switch and a sixth switch (Figure 1 Components 41+42) connected in series to form a second contact (Figure 1 Component 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
Ye teaches a power converter (Figure 2A), comprising: a transformer (Figure 2A Component 212) having a primary winding forming a primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 2A Component 202) having a first bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a first node (Figure 2A Components Q1+Q2 and Node T1) and a second bridge arm with two switches connected serially forming a second node (Figure 2A Components Q3+Q4 and Node T2); an input capacitor connected with the primary assembly between the first node and the second node (Figure 2A Components Cr1 and Np are connected in series between Nodes T1 and T2), wherein the input capacitor is electrically connected between the first node and the primary assembly (Figure 2A Component Cr1 is between Node T1 and Component Np); a control circuit (Abstract); an output switch assembly is electrically connected to the control module (Figure 2A Component 214; Abstract); and an output capacitor is electrically connected between a first contact and a second contact (Figure 2A Component C0 is between Components T5 and T6 through Components Q5 and Q8, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate MOSFETs in place of diodes on the secondary side as taught by Ye. The advantage of this design is that the output voltage can be more actively controlled thus increasing the efficiency of the overall system in providing accurate output voltages to the load.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein in the second configuration, the two input capacitors are connected in series to form an input capacitor assembly connected to the input switch assembly in parallel.
Claims 7-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 7, Zhu (US 2014/0119060 A1) teaches a power converter (Figure 3), comprising: one transformer (Figure 3 Component Tr), wherein primary sides of the transformer are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 3 Component Tr Primary Windings); an input switch assembly (Figure 3 Component 310) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 3 Components Q1+Q2) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 3 Components Q3+Q4), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 3 Component Q1) and a second switch (Figure 3 Component Q2) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 3 Component A), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 3 Component Q3) and a fourth switch (Figure 3 Component Q4) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 3 Component B), and the primary series assembly is connected between the first node and the second node (Figure 3 Component Tr Primary Windings are connected in series between Components A and B); wherein the first node is electrically connected to a third node (Figure 3 Node between Components C1 and C2) via a back-to-back switch assembly (Figure 3 Components Q5 and Q6), and the third node is formed by two input capacitors connected in series (Figure 3 Components C1 and C2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly and the back-to-back switch assembly (Figure 3 Component 310 is controlled by controller Component 250 seen in Figure 2).
Zhu does not teach two transformers; wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly; the input switch assembly is configured to operate in a full-bridge mode or a half-bridge mode; and wherein the control module is configured to perform operations comprising: controlling the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and off complementarily; in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the first switch asynchronous with a control signal for the fourth switch to be reduced to zero gradually, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the second switch asynchronous with a control signal for the third switch to be reduced to zero gradually, and controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned on; and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the first switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the first switch asynchronous with the control signal for the fourth switch, and controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the second switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the second switch asynchronous with the control signal for the third switch, to control the first switch and the second switch to be turned on and off complementarily, and controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned off.
Jovanovic teaches a power converter (Figures 3(a)-3(c)), comprising: a transformer (Figure 3(a) Component TR) including a primary side of the transformer (Figure 3(a) Component Np); an input switch assembly (Figure 3(a) Components S1-S4) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 3(a) Components S4+S3) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 3(a) Components S1+S2), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 3(a) Component S4) and a second switch (Figure 3(a) Component S3) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 3(a) Component B), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 3(a) Component S2) and a fourth switch (Figure 3(a) Component S1) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 3(a) Component A), and the input switch assembly is configured to operate in a full-bridge mode or a half-bridge mode (Abstract); wherein the primary winding and an input capacitor (Figure 3(a) Component Cr) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 3(a) Components Cr and Np are connected in series between Components A and B); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 3(a) Component Controller); wherein the control module is configured to perform operations comprising: controlling the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and off complementarily (Figure 3(b) shows Components S1 and S2 are complementarily switched); in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the first switch asynchronous with a control signal for the fourth switch to be reduced to zero gradually (Figure 3(b) shows the transition from full-bridge to half-bridge wherein the signal for S4, which switches asynchronously with the signal for S1, has a duty cycle that is reduced to zero gradually during the transition period), and controlling a duty cycle of a control signal for the second switch asynchronous with a control signal for the third switch to be raised to one gradually (Figure 3(b) shows the transition from full-bridge to half-bridge wherein the signal for S3, which switch asynchronously with the signal for S2, has a duty cycle that is increased to 100% or a high ‘1’ output gradually during the transition period); and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the first switch to be raised from zero gradually to make the control signal for the first switch asynchronous with the control signal for the fourth switch (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge wherein the signal for S4 has a duty cycle that is gradually increased during the transition period to be asynchronous with the signal for S1), and controlling the duty cycle of the control signal for the second switch to be reduced from one gradually to make the control signal for the second switch asynchronous with the control signal for the third switch, to control the first switch and the second switch to be turned on and off complementarily (Figure 3(c) shows the transition from half-bridge to full-bridge wherein the signal for S3 has a duty cycle that is gradually decreased during the transition period to be asynchronous with the signal for S2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhu to incorporate a full bridge half bridge mode switching design as taught by Jovanovic. The advantage of this design is that the converter can be more efficiently run based on load conditions thus not having to utilize every component within the circuit at all times.
However, the combination of Zhu and Jovanovic does not teach two transformers, wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly; wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor are connected in series between the first node and the second node; and the control module is configured to perform operations comprising: in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned on; and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned off.
Fujimoto teaches a power converter (Figure 1), comprising: two transformers (Figure 1 Components 31 and 32), wherein primary sides of the two transformers are connected in series to form a primary series assembly (Figure 1 Components 311 and 321 are primary sides connected in series); an input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component SW1) comprising a first bridge arm (Figure 1 Components 21+22) and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (Figure 1 Components 23+24), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch (Figure 1 Component 21) and a second switch (Figure 1 Component 22) connected in series to form a first node (Figure 1 Component P1), the second bridge arm comprises a third switch (Figure 1 Component 23) and a fourth switch (Figure 1 Component 24) connected in series to form a second node (Figure 1 Component P2), wherein the primary series assembly and an input capacitor (Figure 1 Component 33) are connected in series between the first node and the second node (Figure 1 Components 321+311 and 33 are connected in series between Components P1 and P2); and a control module electrically connected to the input switch assembly (Figure 1 Component 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jovanovic and incorporate two transformers with serially connected primary windings as taught by Fujimoto. The advantage of this design is that the independent transformers will allow for one transformer to transfer energy through its associated secondary circuit while the other independently stores energy for the next switching interval thus reducing output ripple and peak stress on the secondary rectifying devices.
However, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests the control module is configured to perform operations comprising: in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the full-bridge mode to the half-bridge mode, controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned on; and in response to the input switch assembly being switched from the half-bridge mode to the full-bridge mode, controlling the back-to-back switch assembly to be turned off.
Claims 8-12 depend upon claim 7 therefore are also allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (CN 111262442 A) teaches a resonant converter-based ON/OFF control, comprising a primary side square wave inverter circuit I, a primary side LLC resonant circuit II, a transformer T, the secondary side full-bridge rectifying circuit III and output load resistor Ro, wherein: adding two accessorial two-way switches primary side square wave inverter circuit I, accessorial two-way switch is ON/OFF control so that the resonance converter not only can work in the full-bridge LLC resonant converter mode, it also can work in the half-bridge LLC resonant converter mode.
Frost (US 2015/0180345 A1) teaches a full bridge resonant converter network in various modes of operation, at least one mode may include operating in a half bridge converter mode of operation. The resonant converter network includes a switching network, a resonant network, an output rectifier network, and a controller. The controller is configured to: receive feedback input signals and provide output signals to operate the converter in its most efficient operating mode. In the half bridge operating mode, the controller will provide output signals to one set of switches based on the received feedback input signals and provide output signals to another set of switches to maintain an active signal state of a first switch and to maintain an inactive signal state of a second switch.
Nishikawa (US 2009/0184698 A1) teaches a switching power supply that includes a half-bridge circuit including a first series circuit formed of switching devices Q1 and Q2 and connected between the output terminals of a DC power supply; and a second series circuit connecting primary inductance Lr1 of transformer T1, primary inductance Lr2 of transformer T2 and capacitor Cr in series. The second series circuit is connected between the output terminals of the half-bridge circuit, and is made to conduct a series resonance operation. The switching devices Q1 and Q2 is controlled at the ON-duties of 0.5 for reducing the breakdown voltages of rectifying diodes D1 and D2 on the secondary side of transformers T1 and T2 and for improving the conversion efficiency of the switching device.
/Shahzeb K Ahmad/Examiner, Art Unit 2838