DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/21/2025, 9/4/2025, and 3/31/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 4/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: potential control unit in claims 1-19 and optical device, control device, processing device, display device, storage device, and mechanical device of claims 18 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Kobayashi (US Patent Pub. # 2023/0171514).
As to claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a photoelectric conversion device comprising:
a plurality of pixels (pixel unit 110) arranged in a plurality of columns (plurality of pixel columns) (Para 19);
a first signal line (signal lines 113a) arranged corresponding to each of the plurality of columns (plurality of pixel columns), the first signal line (113a) used to read out a signal from a first pixel group out of the plurality of pixels (110) in a first scanning mode (high-speed operation mode) (Para 32 and 52);
a second signal line (signal lines 113b) arranged corresponding to each of the plurality of columns (plurality of pixel columns), the second signal line (113b) used to read out a signal from a second pixel group out of the plurality of pixels (110) in a second scanning mode (normal operation mode) (Para 32 and 52); and
a potential control unit (P-type transistor 702) configured to supply a predetermined potential (power supply voltage line) to the second signal line (113b) in a period in which readout in the first scanning mode (high-speed operation mode) is performed and readout in the second scanning mode (normal operation mode) is not performed (Para 86-88).
As to claim 2, Kobayashi teaches wherein the potential control unit (702) includes a switch (P-type transistor) configured to control connection between a potential line having a fixed potential (power supply voltage line)and the second signal line (113b) (Para 86-88).
As to claim 3, Kobayashi teaches wherein the fixed potential (power supply voltage line) is a power supply potential (power supply voltage line) (Para 86-88).
As to claim 4, Kobayashi teaches wherein the switch (702) includes a P-type MOS transistor (P-type transistor) having a first main electrode and a second main electrode, wherein the first main electrode is connected to the potential line (power supply voltage line), and wherein the second main electrode is connected to the second signal line (113b) (Para 86-88).
As to claim 11, Kobayashi (Fig. 7B) teaches wherein a period in which the signal is read out in the first scanning mode (high-speed operation mode) and a period in which the signal is read out in the second scanning mode (normal operation mode) do not overlap with each other (Para 52 and 86-88).
As to claim 12, Kobayashi (Fig. 7B) teaches wherein the period in which the signal is read out in the first scanning mode (high-speed operation mode) and the period in which the signal is read out in the second scanning mode (normal operation mode) are alternately repeated (Para 52 and 86-88).
As to claim 13, Kobayashi (Fig. 7B) teaches wherein the potential control unit (701) supplies the predetermined potential (power supply voltage line) to the first signal (113a) line in a period in which readout in the second scanning mode (normal operation mode) is performed and readout in the first scanning mode (high-speed operation mode) is not performed (Para 52 and 86-88).
As to claim 18, Kobayashi discloses equipment (equipment 1100) comprising: the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above); and at least any one of: an optical device (optical apparatus 1104) adapted for the photoelectric conversion device, a control device (control apparatus 1105) configured to control the photoelectric conversion device, a processing device (processing apparatus 1106) configured to process a signal output from the photoelectric conversion device, a display device (display apparatus 1107) configured to display information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device, a storage device (storage apparatus 1108) configured to store information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device, and a mechanical device (mechanical apparatus 1109) configured to operate based on information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device (Para 117-125).
As to claim 19, Kobayashi teaches wherein the processing device (1106) processes image signals generated by a plurality of photoelectric conversion units (image capturing system 1110) and acquires distance information (distance acquisition unit 1114) on a distance (distance) from the photoelectric conversion device (1110) to an object (target object) (Para 123).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US Patent Pub. # 2023/0171514) in view of Kobayashi (US Patent Pub. # 2023/0179890).
As to claim 5, Kobayashi teaches wherein each of the plurality of pixels (110) includes an N-type MOS transistor (transfer transistor 202, reset transistor 203, amplification transistor 204, selection transistor 205) (Para 30). Kobayashi does not teach wherein the N-type MOS transistor is arranged in a first substrate and wherein the P-type MOS transistor is arranged in a second substrate stacked on the first substrate. Kobayashi (890) (Fig. 15) teaches wherein the N-type MOS transistor (pixel 10) is arranged in a first substrate (substrate 1001) and wherein the P-type MOS transistor (processing circuits 110 and control circuit 50) is arranged in a second substrate (substrate 1002) stacked on the first substrate(1001) (Para 67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a two substrates as taught by Kobayashi (890) to the photoelectric conversion apparatus of Kobayashi, it is possible to suppress that the wiring length, so that the parasitic capacitance of the wiring pattern can be reduced (Para 67 of Kobayashi (890)).
As to claim 14, Kobayashi (890) (Fig. 14) teaches further comprising: a third signal line (signal line 32) arranged corresponding to each of the plurality of columns (one column), the third signal line (32) used to read out a signal from a third pixel group out of the plurality of pixels (10) in the first scanning mode; and a fourth signal line (signal line 33) arranged corresponding to each of the plurality of columns (one column), the fourth signal line (33) used to read out a signal from a fourth pixel group out of the plurality of pixels (10) in the second scanning mode (Para 59). Kobayashi teaches wherein the potential control unit (702) further supplies the predetermined potential (power supply voltage line) to the fourth signal line (33) in the period in which readout in the first scanning mode (high-speed operation mode) is performed and readout in the second scanning mode (normal operation mode) is not performed (Para 86-88).
As to claim 15, Kobayashi (890) teaches wherein the first pixel group (10) and the second pixel group (10) have sensitivity to light of a first color (red, blue, green), and wherein the third pixel group (10) and the fourth pixel group (10) have sensitivity to light of a second color (red, blue, green) (Para 65).
As to claim 16, Kobayashi teaches wherein the potential control unit (702) supplies the predetermined potential (power supply voltage line) to the second signal line (31) at first time and supplies the predetermined potential (power supply voltage line) to the fourth signal line at second time (33) (Para 86-88).
As to claim 17, Kobayashi (890) teaches further comprising an analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion 110) configured to convert an analog signal read out to the first signal line (30) into a digital signal, wherein the first time is before the analog-to-digital conversion unit converts an analog signal based on a reset state of the first pixel group into the digital signal, and wherein the second time is later than the first time and before the analog-to-digital conversion unit converts (110)an analog signal based on incident light on the first pixel group into the digital signal (Para 38 and 39).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US Patent Pub. # 2023/0171514) in view of Nakamizo (US Patent Pub. # 2024/0145516).
As to claim 6, note the discussion above in regards to claim 1. Kobayashi does not teach wherein the potential control unit includes a dummy pixel configured to output a signal having a fixed potential to the second signal line. Nakamizo (Fig. 23) teaches wherein the potential control unit (dummy pixel group 10D) includes a dummy pixel (dummy pixel) configured to output a signal having a fixed potential to the second signal line (column signal line 71) (Para 124-126). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a dummy pixel group as taught by Nakamizo to the photoelectric conversion apparatus of Kobayashi, it is possible to change the current flowing through the amplification transistor AMP of each of the pixel group 10S and the dummy pixel group 10D in the reset period and the readout period, and it is possible to adjust the potential of the column signal line 61 to an optimum operating point (operating range) of the differential amplifier above the operating point unique to the differential amplifier. As a result, the conversion efficiency of the amplification transistor of the pixel group 10S can be improved, the linearity can be improved, and the dynamic range can be further increased (Para 130 of Nakamizo).
As to claim 7, Nakamizo teaches wherein the dummy pixel (10D) includes a light-shielded photoelectric conversion unit (shielded by a metal film), and outputs a black level signal (Para 121).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER K PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 9/4/2026