DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed April 21, 2025, claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted April 21, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (July 21, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed April 21, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed April 21, 2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428,46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046,29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Omum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CPR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application No. 18442772 (US Patent 12299933 B2). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each because of their similarity to the limitations claimed in application No. 18106655 (US Patent 11915453 B2).
This is an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Application 19184579
Patent 12299933 B2
Patent 11915453 B2
1. Eyewear, comprising: a camera configured to generate an image; a display; an inertial measurement unit (IMU); a pose tracker; and a processor configured to: use the pose tracker to generate trajectories of the eyewear; use the IMU to align the trajectories of the pose tracker; detect a remote user having a remote device in an environment, wherein the remote device is configured to generate trajectories using a remote pose tracker; identify a point on the remote device or a point on a symmetry plane of a face of the remote user; and align the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device, wherein the processor is configured to use the identified point to align the trajectories.
1. Eyewear, comprising: a camera configured to generate an image; a display; an inertial measurement unit (IMU); a six degrees of freedom (6DOF) pose tracker; and a processor configured to: use the 6DOF pose tracker to generate trajectories of the eyewear; use the IMU to align the trajectories of the 6DOF pose tracker; detect a remote user having a remote device in an environment, wherein the remote device is configured to generate trajectories using a remote 6DOF pose tracker; identify a point on the remote device; and align the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device, wherein the processor is configured to use the identified point to align the trajectories.
1. Eyewear, comprising: a camera configured to generate an image; a display; an inertial measurement unit (IMU); a six degrees of freedom (6DOF) pose tracker; and a processor configured to: use the 6DOF pose tracker to generate trajectories of the eyewear; use the IMU to align the trajectories of the 6DOF pose tracker; detect a remote user having a remote device in an environment, wherein the remote device is configured to generate trajectories using a remote 6DOF pose tracker; identify a point on a symmetry plane of a face of the remote user; and align the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device, wherein the processor is configured to use the identified point to align the trajectories.
The other claims map as follows:
19184579
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
12299933
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
11915453
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Claim Interpretation
7. Claims 1-20 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Use of the words “a camera configured to, a processor configured to, a remote device is configured to:” in claim 1, and “a camera configured to” in claims 8 and 15, with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovitt et al. US 10595149 Bl in view of Sommer et al. US 20210349676 Al.
As to Claim 1:
Lovitt discloses eyewear (Lovitt, see column 4 lines 62-66, where Lovitt discloses that AR systems without NEDs may take a variety of forms, such as head bands, hats, hair bands, belts, watches, wrist bands, ankle 65 bands, rings, neckbands, necklaces, chest bands, eyewear frames, and/or any other suitable type or form of apparatus ), comprising: a camera configured to generate an image (Lovitt, see column 4 lines 51-55, where Lovitt discloses that as shown in FIG. 1, system 100 may include a frame 102 and a camera assembly 104 that is coupled to frame 102 and configured to gather information about a local environment by observing the local environment); a display (Lovitt, see column 4 line 67 and column 5 lines 1-3, where Lovitt discloses an AR system
100 may include other types of screens or visual feedback devices ( e.g., a display screen integrated into a side of frame 102)); an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof); a pose tracker (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof); and a processor (Lovitt, see processor 402 in figure 4), configured to: use the pose tracker to generate trajectories of the eyewear (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location); use the IMU to align the trajectories of the pose tracker (Lovitt, see column 7 lines 37-42, where Lovitt discloses that as the microphone array detects sounds, controller 225 may populate an audio data set with the information. In embodiments in which AR system 200 includes an inertial measurement unit, controller 225 may compute all inertial 40 and spatial calculations from the IMU located on eyewear device 202); detect a remote user having a remote device in an environment (Lovitt, see 701, 704 and position A , position B and position C in figure 7 and column 16 lines 53-65), wherein the remote device is configured to generate trajectories using a remote pose tracker (Lovitt, see 701, 704 and position A , position B and position C in figure 7 and column 16 lines 53-65, where Lovitt discloses that as shown in FIG. 7, user 701 may be wearing an AR headset 702 that forms an initial beam 703A directed toward user 704 at position A. Because the location identifying module 409 may be configured to determine future device/sound source locations 410 on a continually updated basis, the beam steering module 411 may steer one beam to one location and begin steering another beam to another location. Thus, multiple audio beams may be formed toward the moving user 704. Thus, in FIG. 7, while user 704 moves from position A to position B, to position C, and then to position D, the beam steering module 411 may form beam 703A at position A, beam 703B at position B, beam 703C at position C and beam 703D at position D), identify a point on the remote device or a point on a symmetry plane of a face of the remote user (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location), wherein the processor is configured to use the identified point to align the trajectories (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location).
Lovitt differs from the claimed subject matter in that Lovitt does not explicitly disclose align the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device.
However in an analogous art, Sommer discloses aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device (Sommer, see paragraph [0025], where Sommer discloses that various implementations disclosed herein provide a display device sharing experience in a shared simulated reality (SR) setting. In some implementations, the display device has a display and is in communication with a first SR device used by a first user. For instance, the first user wears a head mounted device (HMD) and holds a smartphone in his hand, where through wired or wireless connection in communications range, the HMD and the smartphone are paired. When the first user provides a gesture input associated with the display device, e.g., moving or tilting the smartphone towards a second user, the second user is provided with an SR representation of the display device, e.g., projecting the display of the display device on a wall viewable by the second user, displaying the user interface of the display device in a TV in the SR setting, and/or displaying a floating panel in the SR setting representing the display device. Moreover, the second user is provided with controls of the display device, so that the second user can enter input directives to be executed on the display device. In some implementations, the input directives from the second user are obtained by the second SR device, and packaged as input messages to be transmitted to the first SR device. The first SR device then forwards the input messages to the display device for execution. For instance, in the shared SR setting, the second user can emulate receipt of the SR representation of the display device from the first user, emulate movements of the SR representation of the display device in the SR setting, emulate placing it on a surface in the SR setting, and/or emulate touch inputs to the SR representation of the display device etc. Thus, through the shared SR setting, the second user can interact with the display device and share the control and operation of the display device with the first user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lovitt with Sommer. One would be motivated to modify Lovitt by disclosing align the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device as taught by Sommer, and thereby providing an improved systems that enables individuals to directly interact with and/or sense the physical settings through touch, sight, smell, hearing, and taste. (Sommer, see paragraph [0002]).
As to Claim 2:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the pose tracker comprises a visual inertial odometry (VIO) tracker (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof), wherein the processor is configured to generate gravity (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof) aligned trajectories (Lovitt, see initial position 603A and new position 603B in figure 6).
As to Claim 3:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the processor determines a position of the remote user eyewear as an (x, y) coordinate in the image (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803).
As to Claim 4:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the eyewear has a local coordinate system, and the processor is configured to align the local coordinate system with a local coordinate system of the remote device (Lovitt, see column 16 lines 42-50, where Lovitt discloses that any or all of the sensor data and location data may also be passed to a local or remote server (e.g., a cloud server). Using this data, the server may continuously monitor the location of each user using their AR devices. The server may thus be aware of where each user currently is, and where each user has been previously. This historical movement data 623 may be implemented by the location identifying module 609 to learn users' movement patterns and determine where the user is most likely to move next).
As to Claim 6:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured such that a user of the eyewear and the remote user of the remote device see the same 3D virtual content in a same place on the respective display based on the shared coordinate system (Sommer, see paragraph [0079], where Sommer discloses that the method 700 continues, in block 710, with the first SR device transmitting an SR representation of the first display device to a second SR device in response to obtaining the gesture input. In some implementations, the SR representation of the first display device is streamed in real time (e.g., without substantial delay) to the shared SR setting. In the shared SR setting, the SR representation of the first display device can be live images of the first display of the first display device and/or a rendering (e.g., 3D rendering) of the first display device. For example, in the example environment as shown in FIG. 6B, the SR representation 620 is a true scale 3D rendering of the display device floating in the air).
As to Claim 7:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the eyewear of claim 6, wherein the processor is configured to synchronize the eyewear 3D virtual content with the 3D virtual content of the remote device (Sommer, see paragraph [0079], where Sommer discloses that the method 700 continues, in block 710, with the first SR device transmitting an SR representation of the first display device to a second SR device in response to obtaining the gesture input. In some implementations, the SR representation of the first display device is streamed in real time (e.g., without substantial delay) to the shared SR setting. In the shared SR setting, the SR representation of the first display device can be live images of the first display of the first display device and/or a rendering (e.g., 3D rendering) of the first display device. For example, in the example environment as shown in FIG. 6B, the SR representation 620 is a true scale 3D rendering of the display device floating in the air).
As to Claim 8:
Lovitt discloses an interactive augmented reality method for use of eyewear (Lovitt, see column 4 lines 62-66, where Lovitt discloses that AR systems without NEDs may take a variety of forms, such as head bands, hats, hair bands, belts, watches, wrist bands, ankle 65 bands, rings, neckbands, necklaces, chest bands, eyewear frames, and/or any other suitable type or form of apparatus) having a camera configured to generate an image (Lovitt, see column 4 lines 51-55, where Lovitt discloses that as shown in FIG. 1, system 100 may include a frame 102 and a camera assembly 104 that is coupled to frame 102 and configured to gather information about a local environment by observing the local environment), a display (Lovitt, see column 4 line 67 and column 5 lines 1-3, where Lovitt discloses an AR system 100 may include other types of screens or visual feedback devices ( e.g., a display screen integrated into a side of frame 102)), an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof), a pose tracker (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof), and a processor (Lovitt, see processor 402 in figure 4), the processor (Lovitt, see processor 402 in figure 4): using the pose tracker to generate trajectories of the eyewear (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location); using the IMU to align the trajectories of the pose tracker (Lovitt, see column 7 lines 37-42, where Lovitt discloses that as the microphone array detects sounds, controller 225 may populate an audio data set with the information. In embodiments in which AR system 200 includes an inertial measurement unit, controller 225 may compute all inertial 40 and spatial calculations from the IMU located on eyewear device 202); detecting a remote user having a remote device in an environment (Lovitt, see 701, 704 and position A , position B and position C in figure 7 and column 16 lines 53-65), wherein the remote device generates trajectories using a remote pose tracker (Lovitt, see 701, 704 and position A , position B and position C in figure 7 and column 16 lines 53-65, where Lovitt discloses that as shown in FIG. 7, user 701 may be wearing an AR headset 702 that forms an initial beam 703A directed toward user 704 at position A. Because the location identifying module 409 may be configured to determine future device/sound source locations 410 on a continually updated basis, the beam steering module 411 may steer one beam to one location and begin steering another beam to another location. Thus, multiple audio beams may be formed toward the moving user 704. Thus, in FIG. 7, while user 704 moves from position A to position B, to position C, and then to position D, the beam steering module 411 may form beam 703A at position A, beam 703B at position B, beam 703C at position C and beam 703D at position D); identifying a point on the remote device (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location), wherein the processor uses the identified point to align the trajectories (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location).
Lovitt differs from the claimed subject matter in that Lovitt does not explicitly disclose aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device.
However in an analogous art, Sommer discloses aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device (Sommer, see paragraph [0025], where Sommer discloses that various implementations disclosed herein provide a display device sharing experience in a shared simulated reality (SR) setting. In some implementations, the display device has a display and is in communication with a first SR device used by a first user. For instance, the first user wears a head mounted device (HMD) and holds a smartphone in his hand, where through wired or wireless connection in communications range, the HMD and the smartphone are paired. When the first user provides a gesture input associated with the display device, e.g., moving or tilting the smartphone towards a second user, the second user is provided with an SR representation of the display device, e.g., projecting the display of the display device on a wall viewable by the second user, displaying the user interface of the display device in a TV in the SR setting, and/or displaying a floating panel in the SR setting representing the display device. Moreover, the second user is provided with controls of the display device, so that the second user can enter input directives to be executed on the display device. In some implementations, the input directives from the second user are obtained by the second SR device, and packaged as input messages to be transmitted to the first SR device. The first SR device then forwards the input messages to the display device for execution. For instance, in the shared SR setting, the second user can emulate receipt of the SR representation of the display device from the first user, emulate movements of the SR representation of the display device in the SR setting, emulate placing it on a surface in the SR setting, and/or emulate touch inputs to the SR representation of the display device etc. Thus, through the shared SR setting, the second user can interact with the display device and share the control and operation of the display device with the first user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lovitt with Sommer. One would be motivated to modify Lovitt by disclosing aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote deviceas taught by Sommer, and thereby providing an improved systems that enables individuals to directly interact with and/or sense the physical settings through touch, sight, smell, hearing, and taste. (Sommer, see paragraph [0002]).
As to Claim 9:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the pose tracker comprises a visual inertial odometry (VIO) (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof), wherein the processor generates gravity (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof) aligned trajectories (Lovitt, see initial position 603A and new position 603B in figure 6).
As to Claim 10:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the processor determines a position of the eyewear as an (x, y) coordinate in the image (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803).
As to Claim 11:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the eyewear has a local coordinate system, and the processor aligns the local coordinate system with a local coordinate system of the remote device (Lovitt, see column 16 lines 42-50, where Lovitt discloses that any or all of the sensor data and location data may also be passed to a local or remote server (e.g., a cloud server). Using this data, the server may continuously monitor the location of each user using their AR devices. The server may thus be aware of where each user currently is, and where each user has been previously. This historical movement data 623 may be implemented by the location identifying module 609 to learn users' movement patterns and determine where the user is most likely to move next).
As to Claim 13:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the method of claim 8, wherein a user of the eyewear and the remote user of the remote device see the same 3D virtual content in a same place on the respective display based on the shared coordinate system Sommer, see paragraph [0079], where Sommer discloses that the method 700 continues, in block 710, with the first SR device transmitting an SR representation of the first display device to a second SR device in response to obtaining the gesture input. In some implementations, the SR representation of the first display device is streamed in real time (e.g., without substantial delay) to the shared SR setting. In the shared SR setting, the SR representation of the first display device can be live images of the first display of the first display device and/or a rendering (e.g., 3D rendering) of the first display device. For example, in the example environment as shown in FIG. 6B, the SR representation 620 is a true scale 3D rendering of the display device floating in the air).
As to Claim 14:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the processor synchronizes the eyewear 3D virtual content with the 3D virtual content of the remote device (Sommer, see paragraph [0079], where Sommer discloses that the method 700 continues, in block 710, with the first SR device transmitting an SR representation of the first display device to a second SR device in response to obtaining the gesture input. In some implementations, the SR representation of the first display device is streamed in real time (e.g., without substantial delay) to the shared SR setting. In the shared SR setting, the SR representation of the first display device can be live images of the first display of the first display device and/or a rendering (e.g., 3D rendering) of the first display device. For example, in the example environment as shown in FIG. 6B, the SR representation 620 is a true scale 3D rendering of the display device floating in the air).
As to Claim 15:
Lovitt discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code which, when executed, is operative to cause an electronic processor of eyewear (Lovitt, see column 4 lines 62-66, where Lovitt discloses that AR systems without NEDs may take a variety of forms, such as head bands, hats, hair bands, belts, watches, wrist bands, ankle 65 bands, rings, neckbands, necklaces, chest bands, eyewear frames, and/or any other suitable type or form of apparatus) having a camera configured to generate an image (Lovitt, see column 4 lines 51-55, where Lovitt discloses that as shown in FIG. 1, system 100 may include a frame 102 and a camera assembly 104 that is coupled to frame 102 and configured to gather information about a local environment by observing the local environment); a display (Lovitt, see column 4 line 67 and column 5 lines 1-3, where Lovitt discloses an AR system 100 may include other types of screens or visual feedback devices ( e.g., a display screen integrated into a side of frame 102)), an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof), and a pose tracker (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof to perform the steps of: using the pose tracker to generate trajectories of the eyewear (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location); use the IMU to align the trajectories of the pose tracker (Lovitt, see column 7 lines 37-42, where Lovitt discloses that as the microphone array detects sounds, controller 225 may populate an audio data set with the information. In embodiments in which AR system 200 includes an inertial measurement unit, controller 225 may compute all inertial 40 and spatial calculations from the IMU located on eyewear device 202); detecting a remote user having a remote device in an environment (Lovitt, see 701, 704 and position A , position B and position C in figure 7 and column 16 lines 53-65), wherein the remote device generates trajectories using a remote pose tracker (Lovitt, see 701, 704 and position A , position B and position C in figure 7 and column 16 lines 53-65, where Lovitt discloses that as shown in FIG. 7, user 701 may be wearing an AR headset 702 that forms an initial beam 703A directed toward user 704 at position A. Because the location identifying module 409 may be configured to determine future device/sound source locations 410 on a continually updated basis, the beam steering module 411 may steer one beam to one location and begin steering another beam to another location. Thus, multiple audio beams may be formed toward the moving user 704. Thus, in FIG. 7, while user 704 moves from position A to position B, to position C, and then to position D, the beam steering module 411 may form beam 703A at position A, beam 703B at position B, beam 703C at position C and beam 703D at position D); identifying a point on the remote device (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location); wherein the identified point is used to align the trajectories (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803 and may cause the beam steering module 411 to transition the audio beam back to the direct-path signal 802A as the user moves to the new location).
Lovitt differs from the claimed subject matter in that Lovitt does not explicitly disclose aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device.
However in an analogous art, Sommer discloses aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device (Sommer, see paragraph [0025], where Sommer discloses that various implementations disclosed herein provide a display device sharing experience in a shared simulated reality (SR) setting. In some implementations, the display device has a display and is in communication with a first SR device used by a first user. For instance, the first user wears a head mounted device (HMD) and holds a smartphone in his hand, where through wired or wireless connection in communications range, the HMD and the smartphone are paired. When the first user provides a gesture input associated with the display device, e.g., moving or tilting the smartphone towards a second user, the second user is provided with an SR representation of the display device, e.g., projecting the display of the display device on a wall viewable by the second user, displaying the user interface of the display device in a TV in the SR setting, and/or displaying a floating panel in the SR setting representing the display device. Moreover, the second user is provided with controls of the display device, so that the second user can enter input directives to be executed on the display device. In some implementations, the input directives from the second user are obtained by the second SR device, and packaged as input messages to be transmitted to the first SR device. The first SR device then forwards the input messages to the display device for execution. For instance, in the shared SR setting, the second user can emulate receipt of the SR representation of the display device from the first user, emulate movements of the SR representation of the display device in the SR setting, emulate placing it on a surface in the SR setting, and/or emulate touch inputs to the SR representation of the display device etc. Thus, through the shared SR setting, the second user can interact with the display device and share the control and operation of the display device with the first user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lovitt with Sommer. One would be motivated to modify Lovitt by disclosing aligning the trajectories of the eyewear with the trajectories of the remote device to establish a shared coordinate system between the eyewear and the remote device as taught by Sommer, and thereby providing an improved systems that enables individuals to directly interact with and/or sense the physical settings through touch, sight, smell, hearing, and taste. (Sommer, see paragraph [0002]).
As to Claim 16:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code of claim 15, wherein the pose tracker comprises a visual inertial odometry (VIO) (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof), wherein the processor generates gravity (Lovitt, see column 5 lines 19-21, where Lovitt discloses that sensor 240 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of AR system 200 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 210. Sensor 240 may include a position sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a depth camera assembly, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, AR system 200 may or may not include sensor 240 or may include more than one sensor. In embodiments in which sensor 240 includes an IMU, the IMU may generate calibration data based on measurement signals from sensor 240. Examples of sensor 240 may include, without limitation, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, other suitable types of sensors that detect motion, sensors used for error correction of the IMU, or some combination thereof) aligned trajectories (Lovitt, see initial position 603A and new position 603B in figure 6).
As to Claim 17:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code of claim 15, further comprising code configured to determine a position of the eyewear as an (x, y) coordinate in the image (Lovitt, see 602 and initial position 603A and pose tracking generating trajectory of new position 603B of user 602 in figure 6 and 803 and 802B in figure 8 and column 17 lines 36-43, where Lovitt discloses that if the user 803 of FIG. 8 moves at a later time to a new position, user 801's AR headset may determine that the signal strengths of signals 802A and 802B have changed. Based on this change, the location identifying module 409 may identify a new future location 410 for the user 803).
As to Claim 18:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code of claim 15, wherein the eyewear has a local coordinate system, and the code is configured to align the local coordinate system with a local coordinate system of the remote device (Lovitt, see column 16 lines 42-50, where Lovitt discloses that any or all of the sensor data and location data may also be passed to a local or remote server (e.g., a cloud server). Using this data, the server may continuously monitor the location of each user using their AR devices. The server may thus be aware of where each user currently is, and where each user has been previously. This historical movement data 623 may be implemented by the location identifying module 609 to learn users' movement patterns and determine where the user is most likely to move next).
As to Claim 20:
Lovitt in view of Sommer discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code of claim 15, further comprising code configured to synchronize the eyewear 3D virtual content with 3D virtual content of the remote device (Sommer, see paragraph [0079], where Sommer discloses that the method 700 continues, in block 710, with the first SR device transmitting an SR representation of the first display device to a second SR device in response to obtaining the gesture input. In some implementations, the SR representation of the first display device is streamed in real time (e.g., without substantial delay) to the shared SR setting. In the shared SR setting, the SR representation of the first display device can be live images of the first display of the first display device and/or a rendering (e.g., 3D rendering) of the first display device. For example, in the example environment as shown in FIG. 6B, the SR representation 620 is a true scale 3D rendering of the display device floating in the air).
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovitt et al. US 10595149 Bl in view of Sommer et al. US 20210349676 Al in further view of Baier et al. US 20210248827 Al (IDS submitted prior art).
As to Claim 5:
Lovitt in view of Sommer differ from the claimed subject matter in that Lovitt in view of Sommer does not explicitly discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system. However in an analogous art, Baier discloses wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system Baier, see figure 7 and paragraph [0074], where Baier discloses that FIG. 7 illustrates an example of virtual object colocation across multiple environments, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, MR systems 702 and 704 may occupy a first environment (e.g., a first room), and MR systems 705 and 706 may occupy a second environment (e.g., a second room). In some embodiments, MR systems 702, 704, 705, and 706 may be in the same colocation session and may share persistent coordinate systems (e.g., those in use and/or those nearby) and/or transformation data. Because MR systems 702 and 704 may occupy a different environment than MR systems 705 and 706, MR systems 702 and 704 may not utilize common persistent coordinate systems with MR systems 705 and 706. In some embodiments, MR systems 702 and 704 can determine that they share at least one common persistent coordinate system (e.g., persistent coordinate systems 710 and/or 712) and colocate virtual content with each other (e.g., using persistent coordinate systems 710 and/or 712). In some embodiments, MR systems 705 and 706 can determine that they share at least one persistent coordinate system ( e.g., persistent coordinate systems 714 and/or 716) and colocate virtual content with each other ( e.g., using persistent coordinate systems 714 and/or 716).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lovitt and Sommer with Baier. One would be motivated to modify Lovitt and Sommer by disclosing wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system as taught by Baier, and thereby providing improved systems that enable consistent placement of virtual objects across multiple XR systems (Baier, see paragraph [0008]).
As to Claim 12:
Lovitt in view of Sommer does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the processor uses the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system. However in an analogous art, Baier discloses wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system Baier, see figure 7 and paragraph [0074], where Baier discloses that FIG. 7 illustrates an example of virtual object colocation across multiple environments, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, MR systems 702 and 704 may occupy a first environment (e.g., a first room), and MR systems 705 and 706 may occupy a second environment (e.g., a second room). In some embodiments, MR systems 702, 704, 705, and 706 may be in the same colocation session and may share persistent coordinate systems (e.g., those in use and/or those nearby) and/or transformation data. Because MR systems 702 and 704 may occupy a different environment than MR systems 705 and 706, MR systems 702 and 704 may not utilize common persistent coordinate systems with MR systems 705 and 706. In some embodiments, MR systems 702 and 704 can determine that they share at least one common persistent coordinate system (e.g., persistent coordinate systems 710 and/or 712) and colocate virtual content with each other (e.g., using persistent coordinate systems 710 and/or 712). In some embodiments, MR systems 705 and 706 can determine that they share at least one persistent coordinate system ( e.g., persistent coordinate systems 714 and/or 716) and colocate virtual content with each other ( e.g., using persistent coordinate systems 714 and/or 716).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lovitt and Sommer with Baier. One would be motivated to modify Lovitt and Sommer by disclosing wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system as taught by Baier, and thereby providing improved systems that enable consistent placement of virtual objects across multiple XR systems (Baier, see paragraph [0008]).
As to Claim 18:
Lovitt in view of Sommer does not explicitly disclose that the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code of claim 15, further comprising code configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system. However in an analogous art, Baier discloses wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system (Baier, see figure 7 and paragraph [0074], where Baier discloses that FIG. 7 illustrates an example of virtual object colocation across multiple environments, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, MR systems 702 and 704 may occupy a first environment (e.g., a first room), and MR systems 705 and 706 may occupy a second environment (e.g., a second room). In some embodiments, MR systems 702, 704, 705, and 706 may be in the same colocation session and may share persistent coordinate systems (e.g., those in use and/or those nearby) and/or transformation data. Because MR systems 702 and 704 may occupy a different environment than MR systems 705 and 706, MR systems 702 and 704 may not utilize common persistent coordinate systems with MR systems 705 and 706. In some embodiments, MR systems 702 and 704 can determine that they share at least one common persistent coordinate system (e.g., persistent coordinate systems 710 and/or 712) and colocate virtual content with each other (e.g., using persistent coordinate systems 710 and/or 712). In some embodiments, MR systems 705 and 706 can determine that they share at least one persistent coordinate system ( e.g., persistent coordinate systems 714 and/or 716) and colocate virtual content with each other ( e.g., using persistent coordinate systems 714 and/or 716).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lovitt and Sommer with Baier. One would be motivated to modify Lovitt and Sommer by disclosing wherein the processor is configured to use the aligned trajectories to transform poses of the eyewear into the shared coordinate system as taught by Baier, and thereby providing improved systems that enable consistent placement of virtual objects across multiple XR systems (Baier, see paragraph [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Faaborg (US 10795449 B2) discloses methods and apparatus using gestures to share private windows in shared virtual environments are disclosed herein. An example method includes detecting a gesture of a user in a virtual environment associated with a private window in the virtual environment, the private window associated with the user, determining whether the gesture represents a signal to share the private window with another, and, when the gesture represents a signal to share the private window, changing the status of the private window to a shared window.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571)270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624