DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 and 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II and nonelected Species II and Species III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 September 2026. Please note that the Applicant elected Species I over the phone after mistakenly filing an incomplete response. Also note that an error was made in the Requirement for Restriction/Election dated 23 September 2026; claims 9-11 are drawn to Invention II, NOT Invention I, and are therefore withdrawn from further consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “row” in line 4 should be “rows” for further clarity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “first pixels” in lines 23 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same first pixels of the first and third unit pixel groups mentioned previously or different first pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same first pixels of the first and third unit pixel groups mentioned previously. Additionally, “first pixels” in line 24 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same pixel signals of the second and fourth unit pixel groups mentioned previously or different first pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same first pixels of the second and fourth unit pixel groups mentioned previously.
Claims 2-6 and 8 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, “second pixels” in line 7 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the second pixels of the first and third unit pixels groups mentioned previously or different second pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same second pixels of the first and third unit pixels groups mentioned previously. Additionally, “second pixels” in line 8 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same second pixels of the second and fourth unit pixel groups mentioned previously or different second pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same second pixels of the second and fourth unit pixel groups mentioned previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (KR 20200129022 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shim teaches an image sensor (¶1, The technical concept of the present invention relates to an image sensor) comprising: a pixel array (110_1) including a plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) having different color filters (see figure 3a, first sub-pixel array 110_1 (i.e. pixel array) including pixel groups PG1-PG4, having different color filters), wherein a plurality of micro lenses (ML) are respectively arranged in the plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) (see figure 3a, microlenses ML in each pixel group PG1-PG4), wherein each of the plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) includes a plurality of pixels (SPX) arranged in row and columns (see figure 3a, each pixel group PG1-PG4 including a plurality of sub-pixels SPX (i.e. pixels) arranged in rows and columns); a readout circuit (150/130) configured to readout a pixel signal output from the pixel array (110_1) and generate image data based on the readout pixel signal (see figure 2, signal reading unit 150 and signal processing unit 130 (together making up the readout circuit); ¶25, the control unit (120) can control the signal reading unit (150) to measure the level of the pixel signal provided by the pixel array; ¶16, The processor (1200) receives a first image signal and a second image signal from the signal processing unit (130); and ¶28, The signal processing unit (130) can perform signal processing based on the digital signal received from the buffer (155)); and a signal processor (1200) configured to receive and process the image data (see figure 1, processor 1200; ¶16, The processor (1200) receives a first image signal and a second image signal from the signal processing unit (130) and can perform a phase difference operation using the first image signal and the second image signal; and see remainder of ¶16 for further details), wherein each of the plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) includes a plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) (see figure 3a, pixel groups PG1-PG4 each comprising a plurality of pixels PX_X (i.e. unit pixel groups)), wherein each of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) includes a first pixel (SPX) and a second pixel (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) of the plurality of micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, each unit pixel group PX_X comprising two pixels SPX sharing a microlens ML), wherein the image data includes: first image data generated based on pixel signals of respective first pixels (SPX) and respective second pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) (see figure 3a; and ¶36, an AF function can be performed using a pixel signal output by a first subpixel (SPX11) of a first pixel group (PG1) and a pixel signal output by a second subpixel (SPX12) of a first pixel group (PG1). Accordingly, the image sensor according to the present disclosure can perform an AF function on a pixel-by-pixel basis in a first mode, i.e., a high-resolution mode. In an exemplary embodiment, in high-resolution mode, a plurality of pixels (PX_X) included in the first sub-pixel array (110_1) can all perform AF functions); and second image data generated based on pixel signals of the respective first pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) (see figure 3a; ¶37, On the other hand, the image sensor according to the present disclosure may also perform an AF function in pixel group units in a second mode, i.e., a low-resolution mode. For example, the AF function may be performed by processing pixel signals corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated in each of the photodiodes of the first subpixel (SPX11), third subpixel (SPX13), fifth subpixel (SPX15), and seventh subpixel (SPX17) of the first pixel group (PG1); and see ¶76 for further details), wherein the respective first pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) include: a first pixel (SPX11) of a first unit pixel group (PX_X) and a first pixel (SPX15) of a third unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in a first column and including different micro lenses (ML); and a first pixel (SPX13) of a second unit pixel group (PX_X) and a first pixel (SPX17) of a fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in a second column and including different micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, first pixel SPX11 of first unit pixel group PX_X and first pixel SPX15 of second unit pixel group PX_X each having different microlenses ML, and first pixel SPX13 of third unit pixel group PX_X and first pixel SPX17 of fourth unit pixel group PX_X), and wherein the signal processor (1200) is configured to generate third image data based on pixel signals of first pixels (SPX11/SPX15) of the first unit pixel group (PX_X) and the third unit pixel group (PX_X), excluding pixel signals of first pixels (SPX13/SPX17) of the second unit pixel group (PX_X) and the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) (see figure 3a; and ¶39, Alternatively, the image sensor according to the present disclosure may perform an AF function in units of multiple pixels (PX_X) that are included in a single pixel group and arranged in the same column in a third mode, i.e., an intermediate resolution mode. For example, the AF function may be performed by calculating a pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated in each of the photodiodes of the first subpixel (SPX11) and the fifth subpixel (SPX15) of the first pixel group (PG1)).
Regarding claim 4, Shim teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein the respective second pixels (SPX) include: a second pixel (SPX12) of the first unit pixel group (PX_X) and a second pixel (SPX16) of the third unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in the first column and including different micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, second pixel SPX12 of first unit pixel group PX_X and second pixel SPX16 of third unit pixel group PX_X arranged in a first column, each having different microlenses ML); and a second pixel (SPX14) of the second unit pixel group (PX_X) and a second pixel (SPX18) of the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in the second column and including different micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, second pixel SPX14 of second pixel unit group PX_X and second pixel SPX18 of fourth unit pixel group PX_X arranged in a second column, each having different microlenses ML), wherein the signal processor (1200) is further configured to generate fourth image data based on pixel signals of second pixels (SPX12/SPX16) of the first unit pixel group (PX_X) and the third unit pixel group (PX_X), excluding pixel signals of second pixels (SPX14/SPX18) of the second unit pixel group (PX_X) and the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) (see figure 3a; and ¶39, Alternatively, the image sensor according to the present disclosure may perform an AF function in units of multiple pixels (PX_X) that are included in a single pixel group and arranged in the same column in a third mode, i.e., an intermediate resolution mode. For example, the AF function may be performed by calculating… a pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated in each of the photodiodes of the second subpixel (SPX12) and the sixth subpixel (SPX16) of the first pixel group (PG1)).
Regarding claim 5, Shim teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels (SPX) included in each of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) share a floating diffusion area (FD1) (see figure 5, each pixel unit group comprising two pixels sharing floating diffusion FD1; and ¶6, each of the plurality of pixels includes a first subpixel including a first photodiode, a second subpixel including a second photodiode, and a single microlens, and the first subpixel and the second subpixel are arranged adjacent to each other and share a floating diffusion region).
Regarding claim 6, Shim teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein each of the first unit pixel group (PX_X), the second unit pixel group (PX_X), the third unit pixel group (PX_X), and the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) includes two pixels (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) (see figure 3a, each of the unit pixel groups PX_X comprising two pixels SPX sharing a microlens ML).
Regarding claim 8, Shim teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) include a first pixel group (PG1) having a first color filter, a second pixel group (PG2) having a second color filter, a third pixel group (PG3) having a third color filter, and a fourth pixel group (PG4) having a fourth color filter (see figure 3a, each pixel group PG1-PG4 comprising color filters), wherein the first pixel group (PG1) includes a plurality of first unit pixel groups (PX_X), each of the plurality of first unit pixel groups (PX_X) including two pixels (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) (see figure 3a, first pixel group PG1 comprising four unit pixel groups PX_X having pixels SPX11-SPX18, each unit pixel group sharing a microlens ML), wherein the second pixel group (PG2) includes a plurality of second unit pixel groups (PX_X), each of the plurality of second unit pixel groups (PX_X) including two pixels (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) (see figure 3a, second pixel group PG2 comprising four unit pixel groups PX_X having pixels SPX21-SPX28, each unit pixel group sharing a microlens ML), wherein the third pixel group (PG3) includes a plurality of third unit pixel groups (PX_X), each of the plurality of third unit pixel groups (PX_X) including two pixels (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) (see figure 3a, third pixel group PG3 comprising four unit pixel groups PX_X having pixels SPX31-SPX38, each unit pixel group sharing a microlens ML), and wherein the fourth pixel group (PG4) includes a plurality of fourth unit pixel groups (PX_X), each of the plurality of fourth unit pixel groups (PX_X) including two pixels (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) (see figure 3a, fourth pixel group PG4 comprising four unit pixel groups PX_X having pixels SPX41-SPX48, each unit pixel group sharing a microlens ML).
Regarding claim 18, Shim teaches an image processing device (¶16, The processor (1200) receives a first image signal and a second image signal from the signal processing unit (130) and can perform a phase difference operation using the first image signal and the second image signal) comprising: a pixel array (110_1) including a plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) having different color filters (see figure 3a, first sub-pixel array 110_1 (i.e. pixel array) including pixel groups PG1-PG4, having different color filters), wherein each of the plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) includes a plurality of pixels (SPX) arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (see figure 3a, each pixel group PG1-PG4 including a plurality of sub-pixels SPX (i.e. pixels) arranged in two dimensions); a readout circuit (150/130) configured to readout a pixel signal output from the pixel array (110_1) and generate image data based on the readout pixel signal (see figure 2, signal reading unit 150 and signal processing unit 130 (together making up the readout circuit); ¶25, the control unit (120) can control the signal reading unit (150) to measure the level of the pixel signal provided by the pixel array; ¶16, The processor (1200) receives a first image signal and a second image signal from the signal processing unit (130); and ¶28, The signal processing unit (130) can perform signal processing based on the digital signal received from the buffer (155)); a signal processor (130) configured to generate first image data and second image data sampled based on the image data (see figure 2, signal processing unit 130; ¶16, The processor (1200) receives a first image signal and a second image signal from the signal processing unit (130); and ¶28, The signal processing unit (130) can perform signal processing based on the digital signal received from the buffer (155)); and a processor (1200) configured to receive data on a phase difference, which is based on the first image data and the second image data, from the signal processor (130) (see figure 1, processor 1200; ¶16, The processor (1200) receives a first image signal and a second image signal from the signal processing unit (130) and can perform a phase difference operation using the first image signal and the second image signal; and see remainder of ¶16 for further details), wherein each of the plurality of pixel groups (PG1-PG4) includes a plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) (see figure 3a, pixel groups PG1-PG4 each comprising a plurality of pixels PX_X (i.e. unit pixel groups)), wherein each of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) includes a first pixel (SPX) and a second pixel (SPX) sharing one micro lens (ML) (see figure 3a, each unit pixel group PX_X comprising two pixels SPX sharing a microlens ML), wherein the image data includes: full image data generated based on pixel signals of first pixels (SPX) and second pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) (see figure 3a; and ¶36, an AF function can be performed using a pixel signal output by a first subpixel (SPX11) of a first pixel group (PG1) and a pixel signal output by a second subpixel (SPX12) of a first pixel group (PG1). Accordingly, the image sensor according to the present disclosure can perform an AF function on a pixel-by-pixel basis in a first mode, i.e., a high-resolution mode. In an exemplary embodiment, in high-resolution mode, a plurality of pixels (PX_X) included in the first sub-pixel array (110_1) can all perform AF functions); and third image data generated based on pixel signals of the first pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) (see figure 3a; and ¶37, On the other hand, the image sensor according to the present disclosure may also perform an AF function in pixel group units in a second mode, i.e., a low-resolution mode. For example, the AF function may be performed by processing pixel signals corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated in each of the photodiodes of the first subpixel (SPX11), third subpixel (SPX13), fifth subpixel (SPX15), and seventh subpixel (SPX17) of the first pixel group (PG1); and see ¶76 for further details), wherein the first pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) include: a first pixel (SPX11) of a first unit pixel group (PX_X) and a first pixel (SPX15) of a third unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in a first column and including different micro lenses (ML); and a first pixel (SPX13) of a second unit pixel group (PX_X) and a first pixel (SPX17) of a fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in a second column and including different micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, first pixel SPX11 of first unit pixel group PX_X and first pixel SPX15 of second unit pixel group PX_X each having different microlenses ML, and first pixel SPX13 of third unit pixel group PX_X and first pixel SPX17 of fourth unit pixel group PX_X), and wherein the signal processor (130) is configured to generate the first image data based on pixel signals of the first pixels (SPX11/SPX15) of the first unit pixel group (PX_X) and the third unit pixel group (PX_X), excluding pixel signals of the first pixels (SPX13/SPX17) of the second unit pixel group (PX_X) and the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) (see figure 3a; and ¶39, Alternatively, the image sensor according to the present disclosure may perform an AF function in units of multiple pixels (PX_X) that are included in a single pixel group and arranged in the same column in a third mode, i.e., an intermediate resolution mode. For example, the AF function may be performed by calculating a pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated in each of the photodiodes of the first subpixel (SPX11) and the fifth subpixel (SPX15) of the first pixel group (PG1)).
Regarding claim 20, Shim teaches the image processing device of claim 18, wherein the second pixels (SPX) of the plurality of unit pixel groups (PX_X) include: a second pixel (SPX12) of the first unit pixel group (PX_X) and a second pixel (SPX16) of the third unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in the first column and including different micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, second pixel SPX12 of first unit pixel group PX_X and second pixel SPX16 of third unit pixel group PX_X arranged in a first column, each having different microlenses ML); and a second pixel (SPX14) of the second unit pixel group (PX_X) and a second pixel (SPX18) of the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) arranged in the second column and including different micro lenses (ML) (see figure 3a, second pixel SPX14 of second pixel unit group PX_X and second pixel SPX18 of fourth unit pixel group PX_X arranged in a second column, each having different microlenses ML), wherein the signal processor (130) is further configured to generate the second image data based on pixel signals of the second pixels (SPX12/SPX16) of the first unit pixel group (PX_X) and the third unit pixel group (PX_X), excluding pixel signals of the second pixels (SPX14/SPX18) of the second unit pixel group (PX_X) and the fourth unit pixel group (PX_X) (¶39, Alternatively, the image sensor according to the present disclosure may perform an AF function in units of multiple pixels (PX_X) that are included in a single pixel group and arranged in the same column in a third mode, i.e., an intermediate resolution mode. For example, the AF function may be performed by calculating… a pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated in each of the photodiodes of the second subpixel (SPX12) and the sixth subpixel (SPX16) of the first pixel group (PG1)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the image sensor of claim 1 as claimed, wherein the signal processor is further configured to: receive the first image data and the second image data from the readout circuit and pre-process the first image data and the second image data; and more specifically in combination with receive the pre-processed second image data and generate the third image data, based on the pre-processed second image data.
Claim 3 would be allowable for its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the image processing device of claim 18 as claimed, wherein the signal processor is further configured to: receive the full image data and the third image data from the readout circuit and perform pre-processing on the full image data and the third image data; and more specifically in combination with receive the pre-processed third image data and generate the first image data based on the pre-processed third image data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (USPGPub 20250080867 A1): Park teaches an image sensor and image processor that selectively reads out left and right pixels of specific pixel pair (see figure 8; and ¶¶61-66).
Park et al. (USPGPub 20240031692 A1): Park teaches an image sensor with both a full-image readout mode and a kernel selective readout mode for outputting certain pixels of the array (see figures 18-21; and see ¶¶149-158).
Shim et al. (USPGPub 20210120168 A1): Shim teaches autofocusing pixel groups with selective readout lines (see figures 3 and 12A-13C for examples).
Shim (USPGPub 20240147063 A1): Shim teaches an image sensor with auto focusing that comprises selective outputting circuitry.
Hoshino (USPGPub 20200358989 A1): Hoshino teaches an image sensor that detects a phase difference, the sensor having selective pixel output (see figures 6-12).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878