DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 4/22/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202420835085.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 4/22/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202420843382.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
See the Priority Document Exchange Failure Status reports of 9/22/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 60, 62, and 101.
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 11 appears to have reference number 70 where there should be reference number 71.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 12, 15, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 currently states “…the peripheral surface of the non-cylindrical portion further including two third sides which are oppositely disposed and parallel planar surfaces.” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…the peripheral surface of the non-cylindrical portion further [[including]] includes two third sides which are oppositely disposed and parallel planar surfaces.”
Claim 12 currently states “… wherein the pin is configured to enter or exit the slot along the second slot portion as the door panel rotates between open and closed when the pin is in the first position and move selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “… wherein the pin is configured to enter or exit the slot along the second slot portion as the door panel rotates between being open and closed when the pin is in the first position, and [[move]] moves selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.”
Claim 15 currently states “… the door panel rotates between open and closed when the pin is in the first position and move selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…the door panel rotates between being open and closed when the pin is in the first position, and [[move]] moves selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.”
Claim 16 currently states “…the two pins is integrally molded with the actuator.” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…the two pins [[is]] are integrally molded with the actuator.”
The claims have been interpreted below as the Examiner believes they were intended to be written. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 includes a limitation drawn to “…two slots respectively disposed on the edge member and each of the two slots configured to confront the corresponding pin when the door panel is closed, the slot comprising…” This is confusing based on what is shown in the figures. It appears as though the Applicant intended to claim something along the lines of “…two slots, each respectively disposed on [[the]] an edge member and each of the two slots configured to confront [[the]] a corresponding pin when the door panel is closed, [[the]] each slot comprising…”
Claim 15 further states “…the second slot portion having a slot entrance configured to receive the pin…” Because there are 2 pins, the Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…the second slot portion having a slot entrance configured to receive [[the]] a respective pin…”
Claim 15 also states (with the Examiner interpretation from above) “…the pin is configured to enter or exit the corresponding slot along the second slot portion as the door panel rotates between being open and closed when the pin is in the first position, and moves selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.” This is confusing based on what is shown in the figures. The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…[[the]] each pin is configured to enter or exit [[the]] their corresponding slot along the second slot portion as [[the]] their door panel rotates between being open and closed when the pin is in the first position, and moves selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.”
Claim 17 currently states “…the two slots are substantially L-shaped.” This is confusing as it can be interpreted as either the two slots combine to make an L-shape or each slot can be shaped like an L. The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…the two slots are each substantially L-shaped.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (CN 217049420) (hereinafter Song) (cited by Applicant – with enclosed WIPO translation).
Regarding Claim 1
Song teaches a collapsible organizer comprising (below – Fig. 1-3): a bottom panel (1); a side panel (2) pivotally engaged to the bottom panel via a hinge (Fig. 3) and configured to pivot about the hinge between a use position (Fig. 1) perpendicular to the bottom panel and a collapsed position (Fig. 2) parallel to the bottom panel; and wherein the hinge comprising: a hinge member (shown at 211) fixedly engaged with the side panel; and a hinge receiver (shown at 112) fixedly engaged with the bottom panel and configured to receive a hinge pin body (211) of the hinge member; wherein the hinge pin body comprises a non-cylindrical portion which is a columnar configuration with non-uniform thickness and comprises a plurality of thicknesses including a first thickness (shown below) defining a minimum thickness. Song further teaches the hinge pin body is permitted to detach from the hinge receiver only when a direction of the first thickness is substantially parallel to the bottom panel, and when the direction of the first thickness is substantially parallel to the bottom panel, the side panel is capable of being positioned between the use position and the collapsed position (i.e. in a transition from the collapsed position to the use position) (Pg. 2, Ln., 30 – Pg. 3, Ln. 14).
[AltContent: textbox (First thickness)][AltContent: ]
Regarding Claim 4
Song teaches the hinge member (211) is integrally moulded with and extends downwardly from a lower edge of the side panel (2).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6
Song teaches the hinge receiver has a pair of lugs (112), and the non-cylindrical portion (211) is received between the lugs, as can be seen in the figures above. Song further
teaches at least one of the lugs (112) is configured to be slightly deformable (Pg. 3, Ln. 6-14).
Regarding Claim 7
Song teaches a collapsible organizer (Fig. 1-3) comprising: a bottom panel (1); a side panel (2) pivotally engaged to the bottom panel via a hinge and configured to pivot about the hinge between a use position (Fig. 1) perpendicular to the bottom panel and a collapsed position (Fig. 2) parallel to the bottom panel; and wherein the hinge comprising: a hinge member (211) fixedly engaged with the side panel; and hinge receiver (112) fixedly engaged with the bottom panel and configured to receive a hinge pin body (211) of the hinge member; wherein the hinge pin body comprises a non-cylindrical portion, and a peripheral surface of the non-cylindrical portion comprises two first sides (shown below) oppositely arranged as parallel planar surfaces and two second sides (shown below) oppositely arranged as arcuate surfaces; wherein a perpendicular distance between the two first sides defines a minimum dimension of a thickness of the non-cylindrical portion. Song further teaches wherein the hinge pin body is permitted to detach from the hinge receiver only when the two first sides are substantially perpendicular to the bottom panel, and when the two first sides are substantially perpendicular to the bottom panel, the side panel is capable of being positioned between the use position and the collapsed position (i.e. in a transition from the collapsed position to the use position) (Pg. 2, Ln., 30 – Pg. 3, Ln. 14).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second sides)][AltContent: textbox (First sides)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior art – Song (cited above) – teaches a substantial portion of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach when the direction of the first thickness is substantially parallel to the bottom panel and the side panel is positioned between the use position and the collapsed position, an angle between the side panel and the bottom panel is 30 to 60 degrees, or more specifically 45 degrees (claims 2, 3, 8, 9); or the peripheral surface of the non-cylindrical portion further includes two third sides which are oppositely disposed and parallel planar surfaces (claim 10). Claim 11 depends from claim 10.
Claims 12-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Closest prior art – Wang (CN 219707574) (cited by Applicant) – teaches an organizer (Fig. 1-3) comprising: a door frame (21) having an opening and a straight frame member; a door panel (22) pivotally engaged in the opening, the door panel having a straight edge member (top edge) configured to confront the frame member when the door panel is closed and move away from the frame member when the door panel is opened; and a latch assembly (23).
However, the closest prior art does not teach the latch assembly comprising an actuator disposed on the frame member; and a pin engaged with the actuator and extending from the actuator into the opening along a direction perpendicular to the frame member; a slot disposed on the edge member and confronting the pin when the door panel is closed, the slot comprising: a first slot portion extending along a direction parallel to the edge member; and a second slot portion extending along a direction perpendicular to the first slot portion and in communication with the first slot portion, the second slot portion having a slot entrance configured to receive the pin; wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the pin to move selectively between a first position and a second position along a direction parallel to the frame member; and wherein the pin is configured to enter or exit the slot along the second slot portion as the door panel rotates between being open and closed when the pin is in the first position, and moves selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.
Claims 15-17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior art – Wang (CN 219707574) (cited by Applicant) – teaches an organizer (Fig. 1-3) comprising: a door frame (21) having an opening and a straight frame member; two door panels (22) pivotally engaged in the opening, each of the two door panels having a straight edge member (top edge) configured to confront the frame member when the door panel is closed and move away from the frame member when the door panel is opened; and a latch assembly (23).
However, the closest prior art does not teach the latch assembly comprising: an actuator disposed on the frame member; and two pins engaged with the actuator and extending from the actuator into the opening along a direction perpendicular to the frame member; two slots, each respectively disposed on an edge member and each of the two slots configured to confront a corresponding pin when the door panel is closed, each slot comprising: a first slot portion extending along a direction parallel to the edge member; and a second slot portion extending along a direction perpendicular to the first slot portion and in communication with the first slot portion, the second slot portion having a slot entrance configured to receive a respective pin; wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the two pins to move selectively between a first position and a second position along a direction parallel to the frame member; and wherein each pin is configured to enter or exit their corresponding slot along the second slot portion as their door panel rotates between being open and closed when the pin is in the first position, and moves selectively between the first position and the second position along the first slot portion when the door panel is closed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 24 June 2026