DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballatine et al. (US 2012/0267952 A1) in view of Loftus et al. (US 2015/0217656 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Ballatine discloses, in figure 9, an energy system (900) configured to carry a power load (726a, 726b) for a generator (704a) configured to output a first AC signal (first output AC signal of 704a to power generation bus 705; Par 0077, 0079), the energy system comprising: a battery bank (714a, 714b) comprising a plurality of batteries (714a, 714b) and configured to output a first DC signal to a DC bus (716, 738) (first output DC signal of 714a, 714b to DC bus 716, 738; Par 0081); an AC/DC converter (740) configured to receive and convert the first AC signal from the generator (704a) into a second DC signal (Par 0079; AC/DC converter 740 receives the first AC signal output from generator 704a in power generation bus 705, and converts to a second DC signal output to a common DC bus 738), wherein the second DC signal (output DC signal of 740) and the first DC signal (output DC signal of 714a, 714b) are tied together on the DC bus (DC bus 738; Par 0079, 0084); a DC/AC converter (752) coupled to the DC bus (738) and configured to receive and convert the first DC signal or the second DC signal (output DC signal of 740) into a second AC signal (output AC signal of 752; Par 0087-0088), one or more controllers (902) operable to control the AC/DC converter (740) and the DC/AC converter (752), wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to select a second mode of operation (Par 0099; the controller 902 may communicate with the energy storage devices 714a, 714b to manage the state of the charge via DC/DC converter 746), wherein during the second mode of operation, the AC/DC converter (740) is configured to output the second DC signal (output DC signal of 740) to the battery bank (714a, 714b) to recharge the battery bank (Par 0084; “power electronics device 746 may increase or decrease the voltage and/or current of the energy received from and/or sent to the energy storage bus 716 and/or the common DC bus 738. In an embodiment, power electronics device 746 may control the charging and/or discharge of the energy storage devices 714a and/or 714b” thus the second DC output signal of 740 converted from generator 704a provides DC voltage to bus 738 which provides charging of battery bank 714a, 714b via DC/DC converter 746); wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to select a first mode of operation (Par 0088), wherein during the first mode of operation, the DC/AC converter (752) is configured to receive and convert the first DC signal into the second AC signal (output AC signal of 752; Par 0087-0088), which is output to the AC outlet interface (AC outlet 20 as taught in Loftus), wherein the first mode is a battery discharge mode (Par 0084, DC/DC converter 746 receives first output DC signal from batteries 714a, 714b in energy storage bus 716, and converts to a second DC signal output to a common DC bus 738, which the DC/AC converter 752 converts to a second AC signal, thus shows a battery discharge mode), and the second mode is a battery recharge mode (Par 0084, AC/DC converter 740 outputs DC signal converted from AC generator 704a to DC bus 738, which DC/DC converter 746 performs charging the batteries 714a, 714b from DC bus 738, thus shows a battery recharge mode).
Ballatine does not disclose wherein the second AC signal is output to an AC outlet interface.
However, Loftus discloses, in figure 4, wherein the second AC signal (output AC signal of 34) is output to an AC outlet interface (AC outlet 20) (Par 0020, 0024, “The DC/AC inverter 34 can be configured to receive a DC voltage from the EV ESD 8 and convert it to an AC voltage that can be provided as output at the AC outlet 20”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replace Ballatine’s loads with an AC outlet interface as taught by Loftus in order to provide AC output for higher power levels for high-current loads also providing a higher number of outlets (Loftus; Par 0020).
In regards to claim 2, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 1. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to output a shutdown signal to the generator to stop outputting the first AC signal when the one or more controllers selects the first mode of operation (Par 0094-0096; “the various power generators, energy storage devices, loads, and/or power electronics devices, etc. comprising the DC micro-grid 900 may include wired and/or wireless modems and logic to enable communication between the controller 902 and various DC micro-grid 900 devices and various logic and controls (e.g., switches, transistors, relays, etc.) to enable the various DC micro-grid 900 devices to perform operations (such as power output changes, start-ups, shut downs, disconnects, discharges, etc.) in response to signals received from the controller 902”…“As examples, communications signals from the controller 902 received via the series of wires 906 may indicate to a fuel cell generator 706b to go off line, may switch storage devices 722a and 722b from charge to discharge mode, and/or may direct power electronics device 756 to disconnect load bus 736 from the common DC bus 738,” thus shows the controller is able to perform disconnecting AC signals from generator 704a and perform discharging the battery bank 714a, 714b to the loads in the first mode).
In regards to claim 3, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 1. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to output a startup signal to the generator to start outputting the first AC signal when the one or more controllers selects the second mode of operation (Par 0094-0096; “the various power generators, energy storage devices, loads, and/or power electronics devices, etc. comprising the DC micro-grid 900 may include wired and/or wireless modems and logic to enable communication between the controller 902 and various DC micro-grid 900 devices and various logic and controls (e.g., switches, transistors, relays, etc.) to enable the various DC micro-grid 900 devices to perform operations (such as power output changes, start-ups, shut downs, disconnects, discharges, etc.) in response to signals received from the controller 902”…“As examples, communications signals from the controller 902 received via the series of wires 906 may indicate to a fuel cell generator 706b to go off line, may switch storage devices 722a and 722b from charge to discharge mode, and/or may direct power electronics device 756 to disconnect load bus 736 from the common DC bus 738”).
In regards to claim 4, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 1. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to control the recharging of the battery bank (714a, 714b) such that the generator (704a), when running, operates at an optimal and/or full load (Par 0084, 0099), and wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to control the discharge of the battery bank (714a, 714b), such that an operational runtime of the generator is minimized (Par 0084, 0099).
In regards to claim 5, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 1. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, further comprising a DC bus interface (756) configured to couple to the DC bus (738), wherein the DC bus interface (756) is configured to electrically couple an electric device (734a, 734b) to the DC bus (738) such that one of the first DC signal or the second DC signal (output DC signal of 740) are output to the electric device (734a, 734b) (Par 0087), wherein the electric device (734a, 734b) is one or more of electrical vehicle chargers, battery-powered construction equipment, electrical equipment, and consumer electrical devices (Par 0085, “Loads 730a, 730b, 734a, and 734b, may be any type DC loads, such as information technology (IT) loads, electric vehicle loads, medical device loads, DC motors, etc. IT loads, (i.e., devices operating in an IT system) may include one or more of computer(s), server(s), router(s), rack(s), power supply connections, and other components found in a data center environment”).
In regards to claim 6, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 1. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, further comprising one or more additional generators (704b), wherein each of the one or more additional generators (704b) are configured to output respective third AC signals (output AC signal of 704b), wherein the AC/DC converter (740) is configured to receive and convert the first AC signal from the generator (704a) and the respective third AC signals from the one or more additional generators (704b) into the second DC signal (Par 0079; AC/DC converter 740 receives the first AC signal output from generators 704a and 704b in power generation bus 705, and converts to the second DC signal output to DC bus 738).
In regards to claim 7, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 6. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more additional generators (704b) are electrically coupled in parallel to the AC/DC converter (740) (Par 0094; generator 704b is coupled in parallel to AC/DC converter 740), such that the third AC signals (output of 704b) and the first AC signal (704a) are in parallel (output AC signal of 704b and 704a are in parallel).
Claims 8-12, 14-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballatine et al. (US 2012/0267952 A1) in view of Loftus et al. (US 2015/0217656 A1) in further view of Pan et al. (US 2013/0197704 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Ballatine in view of Loftus disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 6. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, further comprising one or more additional battery banks (718a, 718b), wherein during the second mode of operation, each of the one or more additional AC/DC converters (26 as taught by Pan) is configured to output the respective third DC signals to the one or more additional battery banks (718a, 718b) to recharge the one or more additional battery banks (Par 0084).
Ballatine and Loftus does not disclose one or more additional AC/DC converters, each configured to receive and convert the first AC signal from the generator and the respective third AC signals from the one or more additional generators into respective third DC signals.
However, Pan discloses, in figure 1, further comprising one or more additional AC/DC converters (AC/DC rectifiers 26 in subsystem 23), each configured to receive and convert the first AC signal from the generator (generators 24 in subsystem 23) and the respective third AC signals from the one or more additional generators (generators 24 in subsystem 23) into respective third DC signals (output DC signals of 26) (Par 0018-0019).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Ballatine’s hybrid energy system to include one or more additional AC/DC converters, each configured to receive and convert the first AC signal from the generator and the respective third AC signals from the one or more additional generators into respective third DC signals as taught by Pan in order to reduce the total cost of the power converters and improve the overall system efficiency and performance (Pan; Par 0003).
In regards to claim 9, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 8. Pan further discloses, in figure 1, comprising one or more additional DC/AC converters (DC/AC converters 64 in converter module 59), each configured to receive and convert either the first DC signal or respective ones of the third DC signals into respective fourth AC signals (output AC signals of 64) (Par 0023), wherein each of the fourth AC signals (output AC signals of 64) are output to a respective AC outlet interface (AC outlet 20 as discussed by Loftus).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Ballatine’s hybrid energy system and Loftus’s energy transfer apparatus by including one or more additional DC/AC converters, each configured to receive and convert either the first DC signal or respective ones of the third DC signals into respective fourth AC signals, wherein each of the fourth AC signals are output to a respective AC outlet interface as taught by Pan in order to reduce the total cost of the power converters and improve the overall system efficiency and performance (Pan; Par 0003).
In regards to claim 10, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan disclose the hybrid energy system of claim 8. Pan further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the one or more additional generators (24) are in parallel with the one or more additional AC/DC converters (26) (Par 0018-0019; wind turbine generators 24 are in parallel with AC/DC rectifiers 26 together in each subsystem 23).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Ballatine’s hybrid energy system by including wherein the one or more additional generators are in parallel with the one or more additional AC/DC converters in order to reduce the total cost of the power converters and improve the overall system efficiency and performance (Pan; Par 0003).
In regards to claim 11, Ballatine discloses, in figure 9, a system (900) configured to carry a power load (726a, 726b) for a generator (704a) configured to output a first AC signal (first output AC signal of 704a to power generation bus 705; Par 0077, 0079), the system comprising: a battery bank (714a, 714b) comprising a plurality of batteries (714a, 714b) and configured to output a first DC signal (716, 738) (first output DC signal of 714a, 714b to DC bus 716, 738; Par 0081); a plurality of AC/DC converters (740), each configured to receive and convert the first AC signal from the generator (704a) into a plurality of respective second DC signals (Par 0079; AC/DC converter 740 receives the first AC signal output from generator 704a in power generation bus 705, and converts to a second DC signal output to a common DC bus 738); a plurality of DC/AC converters (752), each configured to receive and convert either the first DC signal or respective ones of the plurality of second DC signals (output DC signal of 740) into respective second AC signals (output AC signal of 752; Par 0087-0088) wherein the second AC signals (output AC signal of 752) are output to a plurality of respective AC outlet interfaces (20 as taught by Loftus); one or more controllers (902) operable to control the plurality of AC/DC converters (740) and the plurality of DC/AC converters (752), wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to select a second mode of operation (Par 0099; the controller 902 may communicate with the energy storage devices 714a, 714b to manage the state of the charge via DC/DC converter 746), wherein during the second mode of operation, a first AC/DC converter (740) of the plurality of AC/DC converters is configured to output one of the plurality of second DC signals (output DC signal of 740) to the battery bank (714a, 714b) to recharge the battery bank (Par 0084; “power electronics device 746 may increase or decrease the voltage and/or current of the energy received from and/or sent to the energy storage bus 716 and/or the common DC bus 738. In an embodiment, power electronics device 746 may control the charging and/or discharge of the energy storage devices 714a and/or 714b” thus the second DC output signal of 740 converted from generator 704a provides DC voltage to bus 738 which provides charging of battery bank 714a, 714b via DC/DC converter 746); wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to select a first mode of operation (Par 0088), wherein during the first mode of operation, each of the plurality of DC/AC converters (752) is configured to receive and convert the first DC signal into the respective second AC signals (output AC signal of 752; Par 0087-0088), wherein each of the plurality of AC outlet interfaces (20 as taught by Loftus) are configured to output respective AC output signals, wherein the first mode is a battery discharge mode (Par 0084, DC/DC converter 746 receives first output DC signal from batteries 714a, 714b in energy storage bus 716, and converts to a second DC signal output to a common DC bus 738, which the DC/AC converter 752 converts to a second AC signal, thus shows a battery discharge mode) and the second mode is a battery recharge mode (Par 0084, AC/DC converter 740 outputs DC signal converted from AC generator 704a to DC bus 738, which DC/DC converter 746 performs charging the batteries 714a, 714b from DC bus 738, thus shows a battery recharge mode).
Ballatine does not disclose a plurality of respective AC outlet interfaces.
However, Loftus discloses, in figure 2, a plurality of respective AC outlet interfaces (AC outlet 20) (Par 0020, 0024, “The DC/AC inverter 34 can be configured to receive a DC voltage from the EV ESD 8 and convert it to an AC voltage that can be provided as output at the AC outlet 20”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replace Ballatine’s loads with a plurality of respective AC outlet interfaces as taught by Loftus in order to provide AC output for higher power levels for high-current loads also providing a higher number of outlets (Loftus; Par 0020).
Ballatine and Loftus does not disclose a plurality of AC/DC converters and a plurality of DC/AC converters.
However, Pan discloses, in figure 1, a plurality of AC/DC converters (AC/DC rectifiers 26 in subsystem 23) and a plurality of DC/AC converters (DC/AC converters 64 in converter module 59).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Ballatine’s hybrid energy system by including a plurality of AC/DC converters and a plurality of DC/AC converters as taught by Pan in order to reduce the total cost of the power converters and improve the overall system efficiency and performance (Pan; Par 0003).
In regards to claim 12, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan the system of claim 11. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, further comprising a plurality of hybrid energy systems, wherein a first hybrid energy system (900) comprises the battery bank (714a, 714b), the one or more controllers (902), the first AC/DC converter (740), a first DC/AC converter (752) of the plurality of DC/AC converters, and a first AC outlet interface (Fig. 2; 20 as taught by Loftus) of the plurality of AC outlet interfaces, and wherein a second hybrid energy system (22, 50 as taught by Pan) comprises a second AC/DC converter (26 as taught by Pan) of the plurality of AC/DC converters, a second DC/AC converter (64 as taught by Pan) of the plurality of DC/AC converters, and a second AC outlet interface (Fig. 2; 20 as taught by Loftus) of the plurality of AC outlet interfaces, wherein the first and second AC outlet interfaces are in parallel via the common bus (output of DC/AC converter 752 output AC signal to parallel loads 726a, 726b which are replaced with AC outlet interfaces 20 as taught by Loftus), such that the first hybrid energy system and the second hybrid energy system output respective second AC signals in parallel (DC/AC converter 752 output parallel second AC signals to loads).
In regards to claim 14, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan the system of claim 11. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to output a shutdown signal to the generator to stop outputting the first AC signal when the one or more controllers selects the first mode of operation (Par 0094-0096; “the various power generators, energy storage devices, loads, and/or power electronics devices, etc. comprising the DC micro-grid 900 may include wired and/or wireless modems and logic to enable communication between the controller 902 and various DC micro-grid 900 devices and various logic and controls (e.g., switches, transistors, relays, etc.) to enable the various DC micro-grid 900 devices to perform operations (such as power output changes, start-ups, shut downs, disconnects, discharges, etc.) in response to signals received from the controller 902”…“As examples, communications signals from the controller 902 received via the series of wires 906 may indicate to a fuel cell generator 706b to go off line, may switch storage devices 722a and 722b from charge to discharge mode, and/or may direct power electronics device 756 to disconnect load bus 736 from the common DC bus 738,” thus shows the controller is able to perform disconnecting AC signals from generator 704a and perform discharging the battery bank 714a, 714b to the loads in the first mode).
In regards to claim 15, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan the system of claim 11. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more controllers (902) is operable to output a startup signal to the generator to start outputting the first AC signal when the one or more controllers selects the second mode of operation (Par 0094-0096; “the various power generators, energy storage devices, loads, and/or power electronics devices, etc. comprising the DC micro-grid 900 may include wired and/or wireless modems and logic to enable communication between the controller 902 and various DC micro-grid 900 devices and various logic and controls (e.g., switches, transistors, relays, etc.) to enable the various DC micro-grid 900 devices to perform operations (such as power output changes, start-ups, shut downs, disconnects, discharges, etc.) in response to signals received from the controller 902”…“As examples, communications signals from the controller 902 received via the series of wires 906 may indicate to a fuel cell generator 706b to go off line, may switch storage devices 722a and 722b from charge to discharge mode, and/or may direct power electronics device 756 to disconnect load bus 736 from the common DC bus 738”).
In regards to claim 18, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan the system of claim 11. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, further comprising one or more additional generators (704b), each configured to output respective third AC signals (output AC signal of 704b), wherein each of the plurality of AC/DC converters (740) are configured to receive and convert the first AC signal and/or one or more of the third AC signals from respective ones of the one or more additional generators (704b) into the plurality of respective second DC signals (Par 0079; AC/DC converter 740 receives the first AC signal output from generators 704a and 704b in power generation bus 705, and converts to the second DC signal output to DC bus 738).
In regards to claim 19, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan the system of claim 18. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the one or more additional generators (704b) are electrically in parallel with the generator (704a) such that the first AC signal and the respective third AC signals are in parallel (generators 704a and 704b are electrically in parallel such that the output AC signals are in parallel).
In regards to claim 20, Ballatine, Loftus, and Pan the system of claim 11. Ballatine further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the plurality of AC outlet interfaces (20 as discussed in Loftus) is configured to output respective AC outlet signals either in parallel to a load (output of DC/AC converter 752 output AC signal to parallel loads 726a, 726b which are replaced with AC outlet interfaces 20 as taught by Loftus) via a common bus (738) or as separate respective AC output signals to separate respective loads (output of DC/AC converter 752 output separate AC signals to parallel loads 726a, 726b which are replaced with AC outlet interfaces 20 as taught by Loftus).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEX W LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2842