DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenzie et al. (US 2024/0103677) in view of Donahue et al. (US 2021/0097208).
As to claim 1, Mckenzie teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) (a wearable display device HMD, see ¶ 56, Fig 1B) configured to:
identify an identity of a user wearing the HMD (See ¶309, ¶316, and ¶320 explained the indicator 744A identify a face ID of a user when wearing the HMD);
identify a content access tier of the user based on the identity of the user (See ¶309, ¶316, and ¶320 explained allow the indicator includes information indicating a number and identity of one or more participants with whom the respective content is shared and who are accessing the respective content, e.g., viewing the shared content );
access a private virtual object authorized by the content access tier of the user; (See ¶286 and Fig 7B explained allow the user accesses to a private content in response the gaze inputs);
identify public content displayed from a physical display (Figs 7A, 7D, ¶ 204, ¶209 explained HMD 700 identifies the public content 744A displayed from a physical display, e.g., a TV 740B);
partially display the private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, the displayed private virtual object being partially overlaid on the public content displayed from the physical display (¶315, Fig 7i2, and Fig 7j explained partially display "stop sharing" content to the user when the user views the shared window, the displayed "stop sharing" content being partially overlaid on the TV);
subsequent to a determination that the user is not viewing the public content, cease to display the private virtual object to the user (¶250, ¶286 and Fig 7L explained at least one gaze inputs move from the public content (e.g. 764-1) to the third private content 764, and cease displaying the third private content to the user).
McKenzie does not disclose in the above-cited embodiment "fully display the private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, the displayed private virtual object being fully overlaid on the public content displayed from the physical display."
Donahue teaches fully displaying the private virtual display region 1110 to the user when the user views the shared virtual display region 1112, the displayed private virtual display region 1110 being fully overlaid on the shared virtual display region 1112 displayed from the physical local display device 1108. See Donahue ¶109-¶111 and Fig 11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to have fully displaying the private virtual display region 1110 to the user when the user views the shared virtual display region 1112, the displayed private virtual display region 1110 being fully overlaid on the shared virtual display region 1112 displayed from the physical local display device 1108, as Donahue teaches, to modify the McKenzie . The motivation for doing so would eliminate or reduce the risk that the user will inadvertently release private information to others; further, it does so without asking the user to perform burdensome preparatory actions. See Donahue's abstract.
As to claim 8, A method comprising: identifying, by a computer system or a head-mounted display (HMD), an identity of a user wearing the HMD; identifying, by the computer system or the HMD, a content access tier of the user based on the identity of the user; accessing, by the HMD, a private virtual object authorized by the content access tier of the user; identifying, by the HMD, public content displayed from a physical display; displaying, by the HMD, the private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, the displayed private virtual object being overlaid on the public content displayed from the physical display; and subsequent to a determination that the user is not viewing the public content, ceasing, by the HMD, to display the private virtual object to the user.
(The limitation of claim 8 is the same as those of claim 1 and therefore the claim will be rejected using the same rationale.)
As to claim 15, One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums storing instructions, that, when executed by one or more computing systems including a head-mounted display (HMD), cause the one or more computing systems to perform operations comprising: identifying an identity of a user wearing the HMD; identifying a content access tier of the user based on the identity of the user; accessing a private virtual object authorized by the content access tier of the user; identifying public content displayed from a physical display; displaying the private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, the displayed private virtual object being overlaid on the public content displayed from the physical display; and subsequent to a determination that the user is not viewing the public content, ceasing, by the HMD, to display the private virtual object to the user.
(The limitation of claim 15 is the same as those of claim 1 and therefore the claim will be rejected using the same rationale.)
As to claims 2 and 9, McKenzie teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the private virtual object is not displayed to a second user by a second HMD worn by the second user due to a content access tier of the second user not authorizing display of the private virtual object to the second user. (See McKenzie ¶247 disclosed At FIG. 7i1, in response to second computer system 760 receiving the gaze inputs from the second user requesting to cease sharing the contents of word processing window 742 with other participants).
As to claims 4, 11, and 17, McKenzie teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the private virtual object indicates a location of the public content that a second user is viewing; or a location of the private virtual object overlaid on the public content indicates a line of sight of the second user looking at the public content. (See McKenzie ¶220, and Fig 7B2).
As to claims 5, 12, and 18, McKenzie teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the HMD is further configured to: determine an indication from the user to grant a second user wearing a second HMD access to the private virtual object; and transmit the indication to the second HMD, wherein, subsequent to the transmitting, the second HMD displays the private virtual object to the second user when the second user views the public content. (See McKenzie ¶243 and Fig 7F for HMD user 2).
As to claims 6, 13, and 19, McKenzie teaches the HMD of claim 1: wherein a second user wears a second HMD and views a second private virtual object overlaid on the public content by the second HMD when the second user views the public content; and the HMD is further configured to: receive an indication from the second user to grant the user access to the second private virtual object; and display the second private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, the displayed second private virtual object being overlaid on the public content displayed. (See McKenzie ¶244-¶245 and Fig 7B for HMD user 2).
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, McKenzie teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein:
the HMD displays the private virtual object only on the public content (See McKenzie ¶244-¶245 and Fig 7B for HMD user 2); the public content is viewable by users regardless of content access tiers assigned to the users; and the public content is viewable by users not wearing HMDs (both Mckenzie and Donahue disclose the TV or the laptop is displaying the public contents when the users are not wearing HMDs).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKenzie and Donahue as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Aman et al. (US 11,025,892).
As to claims 3 and 10, McKenzie and Donahue fail to teach "wherein the HMD is further configured to: access a second private virtual object authorized by the content access tier of the user; and display the second private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, wherein the second private virtual object is displayed to the second user by the second HMD worn by the second user due to the content access tier of the second user authorizing display of the second private virtual object to the second user, and wherein the private virtual object and the second private virtual object are displayed concurrently."
Aman teaches a system and method for use in implementing a physical-virtual gaming layer within a destination such as a theme park or museum, wherein guests interact with a multiplicity of game access points distributed throughout the destination. Variations of a game access point were taught to include any of actuated device and secret message output devices, where the presence of one or more gamers is automatically detected by a gamer/device detector that facilitates interaction between the gamer and the game access point. The present invention further adapts the game access point to include a multiple sub-channel video-audio output device and to employ the gamer/device detector for determining a sub-set of pixels within the video output device for presenting a secret message to a gamer, such that multiple gamers are concurrently receiving private video from the video output device through a combination of different sub-channels and different sub-sets of pixels (primarily FIG. 6a.) A variation of this game access point is shown that replaces the automatic provision of content using a gamer/device detector with the self-serve provision of content using a multiplicity of gamer stations (primarily FIG. 6b.) The use of privacy mode is shown (primarily FIG. 6c) that is combinable with either the automatic game access points or self-serve game access points, where the privacy mode provides improved concurrent private and public images. A preferred form of the video output device used as a game access point is shown as either a curved display, cylindrical pillar (primarily FIG. 7a) or a flat display, hexagonal pillar (primarily FIG. 7b,) where both pillars are approachable from all directions by gamers. A system and method for simultaneously presenting private images comprising where at least first and second viewers whose wearing universal sun eyeglasses (special glasses) or HMD looking through eye filters perceive the private videos or private images or private streams V1, V2, V3 and V4 are displayed concurrently. See Aman abstract, Col. 16, lines 49 to Col. 17, line 15; and See also Col. 20, lines 43-53, and Col. 22, lines 9-46, See also figures 2N, 7B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to have a system and method for simultaneously presenting private images comprising where at least first and second viewers whose wearing the universal sun eyeglasses looking through eye filters perceive the private videos or private images or private streams V1, V2, V3 and V4 are displayed concurrently, as Aman teaches, to modify the McKenzie and Donahue. The motivation for doing so would improve concurrent private and public images. See Aman Col. 17, lines 5-16.
As claim 16, McKenzie teaches "wherein the private virtual object is not displayed to a second user by a second HMD worn by the second user due to a content access tier of the second user not authorizing display of the private virtual object to the second user" ( See McKenzie ¶247 disclosed At FIG. 7i1, in response to second computer system 760 receiving the gaze inputs from the second user requesting to cease sharing the contents of word processing window 742 with other participants ).
As modified, Aman teaches "accessing a second private virtual object authorized by the content access tier of the user; and displaying the second private virtual object to the user when the user views the public content, wherein the second private virtual object is displayed to the second user by the second HMD worn by the second user due to the content access tier of the second user authorizing display of the second private virtual object to the second user, and wherein the private virtual object and the second private virtual object are displayed concurrently."
( Aman teaches interacting with a multiplicity of game access points distributed throughout the destination. Variations of a game access point were taught to include any of actuated device and secret message output devices, where the presence of one or more gamers is automatically detected by a gamer/device detector that facilitates interaction between the gamer and the game access point. The present invention further adapts the game access point to include a multiple sub-channel video-audio output device and to employ the gamer/device detector for determining a sub-set of pixels within the video output device for presenting a secret message to a gamer, such that multiple gamers are concurrently receiving private video from the video output device through a combination of different sub-channels and different sub-sets of pixels (primarily FIG. 6a.) A variation of this game access point is shown that replaces the automatic provision of content using a gamer/device detector with the self-serve provision of content using a multiplicity of gamer stations (primarily FIG. 6b.) The use of privacy mode is shown (primarily FIG. 6c) that is combinable with either the automatic game access points or self-serve game access points, where the privacy mode provides improved concurrent private and public images. A preferred form of the video output device used as a game access point is shown as either a curved display, cylindrical pillar (primarily FIG. 7a) or a flat display, hexagonal pillar (primarily FIG. 7b,) where both pillars are approachable from all directions by gamers. A system and method for simultaneously presenting private images comprising where at least first and second viewers whose wearing universal sun eyeglasses looking through eye filters perceive the private videos or private images or private streams V1, V2, V3 and V4 are displayed concurrently. See Aman abstract, Col. 16, lines 49 to Col. 17, line 15; and See also Col. 20, lines 43-53, and Col. 22, lines 9-46, See also figures 2N, 7B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to have a system and method for simultaneously providing private images comprising where at least first and second viewers whose wearing the universal sun eyeglasses looking through eye filters perceive the private videos or private images or private streams V1, V2, V3 and V4 are displayed concurrently, as Aman teaches, to modify the McKenzie and Donahue. The motivation for doing so would improve concurrent private and public images. See Aman Col. 17, lines 5-16. )
Conclusion
KEVIN M NGUYEN
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628