DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is a lack of undue burden based on related and/or overlapping claimed inventions. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-II are directed to specific inventions (i.e. different process and composition) that require differing search strategies and databases (class/subclass) and/or the search for a particular invention would not necessarily lead to the same and overlapping prior art for the supplementary invention - thus leading to an undue burden on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-10 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 and 11 recite the limitation "The metal alkoxide-surface modified MXene" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 is dependent on claim 11 thus inherits the same deficiency.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “halogen elements”, and the claim also recites “(F, Cl, Br, and I) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wojciechowski (NPL cited in the IDS).
Wojciechowski discloses a 2D Ti3C2 MXene surface-modified with Al/G/In/group 1 alkoxides (abs, sections 2 and 3, Fig 1 with accompanying text). Further, Wojciechowski discloses the halogen components and group 1 carbon/alkyl chain (pg. 1-4, Fig 1 with accompanying text).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (CN-116459390-A, a machine translation is provided).
Feng discloses a Nb2C MXene material modified with sodium ethoxide (abs, examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojciechowski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ghidiu (US-20170294546-A1) or Cho (US-20200102444-A1).
The Wojciechowski reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of the ink application. In an analogous art, the Ghidiu or Cho reference discloses that inks comprising surface modified MXene are well known in the art (Ghidiu: abs, ¶18-21, 55, 58, 65, 77-80, 90, 237-257 and 278-285 & Cho: abs, ¶6-23, 49-62, 73-88, 109-132 and examples). Further, Ghidiu or Cho discloses the claimed organic solvents (e.g. ethanol) and concentration levels (Ghidiu: abs, ¶18-21, 55, 58, 65, 77-80, 90, 237-257 and 278-285 & Cho: abs, ¶6-23, 49-62, 73-88, 109-132 and examples ). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying and optimizing the known ink implementation of Ghidiu or Cho to the teachings of Wojciechowski would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems, methods and compositions since Wojciechowski aims to provide the MXeme for various implementations (pg. 1). See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution/implementation would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Conclusion
/TRI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764