DETAILED ACTION
1.This action is response to application filed on 04/21/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double patenting
5. Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
6. Claims 1, 4-7, 8, 11-13 and 14, 17-19 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7 of U.S. Patent # 11,966,317. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both of them describe a similar method for operating a mode for controlling an electronic device based upon number of persons obtained from image data.
The current application 19184810
US Patent No. 11,966,317
Explanation
1.A method for controlling an electronic device, the method comprising:
obtaining, by the electronic device, image data regarding persons around the electronic device;
identifying, by the electronic device, a number of persons based on the obtained image data;
determining, by the electronic device, a user mode of the electronic device based on the identified number of persons; and
performing, by the electronic device, an operation of the electronic device based on the determined user mode.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a relationship between persons in the obtained image data.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the relationship is determined based on facial features of the persons.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the image data is obtained by a camera of the electronic device.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a smartphone.
1.A method for controlling an electronic device, the method comprising:
obtaining, by the electronic device, image data regarding persons around the electronic device;
providing, by the electronic device, a display based on the obtained image data;
identifying, by the electronic device, a number of persons in the obtained image data;
determining, by the electronic device, a user mode of the electronic device based on the identified number of persons; and
performing, by the electronic device, a camera-related operation of the electronic device according to the determined user mode.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a relationship between persons in the obtained image data.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the relationship is determined based on facial features of the persons.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the image data is obtained by a camera of the electronic device.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a smartphone.
Similar remarks apply to the instant claims 8, 11-13 and 14, 17-19.
7. Claims 1+2, 8+9, and 14+15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of U.S. Patent # 12,298,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both of them describe a similar method for operating a mode for controlling an electronic device based upon number of persons obtained from image data.
The current application 19184810
US Patent No. 12,298,879
Explanation
1.A method for controlling an electronic device, the method comprising:
obtaining, by the electronic device, image data regarding persons around the electronic device;
identifying, by the electronic device, a number of persons based on the obtained image data;
determining, by the electronic device, a user mode of the electronic device based on the identified number of persons; and
performing, by the electronic device, an operation of the electronic device based on the determined user mode.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on identification that the number of persons being singular, determining, by the electronic device, a first user mode; and based on identification that the number of persons being plural, determining, by the electronic device, a second user mode different from the first user mode.
1. A method for controlling an electronic device, the method comprising: obtaining, by the electronic device, an image regarding at least one person around the electronic device; analyzing, by the electronic device, the image to determine a number of persons in the image; based on determining the number of persons in the image to be one person, determining, by the electronic device, a first service to be provided to the one person based on a context of the one person, and providing, by the electronic device, the first service; and based on determining the number of persons in the image to be a plurality of persons, determining, by the electronic device, a second service to be provided to the plurality of persons based on a relationship between the plurality of persons, and providing, by the electronic device, the second service.
Similar remarks apply to the instant claims 8+9, and 14+15.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (CN 109508583 A) in view of Hattori et al. (WO-2018167851-A1)
Regarding claim 1:
A method for controlling an electronic device, the method comprising:
obtaining, by the electronic device, image data regarding persons around the electronic device: (the captured image is analyzed to obtain the number of people (a total of how many people) in the image: Tong, abstract; page 2; page 3);
identifying, by the electronic device, a number of persons based on the obtained image data: (the image analyzing and processing to obtain the number of people (a total of how many people), or crowd density distribution (which persons gathering more, higher density), Tong: page 3);
determining, by the electronic device, a user mode of the electronic device based on the identified number of persons: (the image analyzing and processing to obtain some people distribution feature included in the image, for example, counting the number of people (a total of how many people), or crowd density distribution (which persons gathering more, higher density), thereby determining the important monitoring of the scene area: Tong; page 7).
However, Tong does not explicitly teach performing, by the electronic device, an operation of the electronic device based on the determined user mode.
In similar art, Hattori teaches the foreground map generation unit converts the image coordinates of the contact point of the person information acquired so far into road surface coordinates, and then converts the foreground image to a plurality of positions where the density of the persons becomes a predetermined value in the road surface coordinate system. For example, the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid (Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 2:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Tong-Hattori further teaches based on identification that the number of persons being singular, determining, by the electronic device, a first user mode; and based on identification that the number of persons being plural, determining, by the electronic device, a second user mode different from the first user mode: (Hattori teaches the foreground map generation unit converts the image coordinates of the contact point of the person information acquired so far into road surface coordinates, and then converts the foreground image to a plurality of positions where the density of the persons becomes a predetermined value in the road surface coordinate system. For example, the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid (Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 3:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Tong-Hattori further teaches the operation performed by the electronic device comprises driving a component of the electronic device: (the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit 2044 randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid: Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 6:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Tong-Hattori further teaches the image data is obtained by a camera of the electronic device (image captured by camera: Tong abstract).
Regarding claim 8:
An electronic device comprising:
a display; a camera (Tong, abstract); and a processor comprising processing circuity configured to:
obtain image data regarding persons around the electronic device, using the camera: (the captured image is analyzed to obtain the number of people (a total of how many people) in the image: Tong, abstract; page 2; page 3);
identify a number of persons based on the obtained image data: (the image analyzing and processing to obtain the number of people (a total of how many people), or crowd density distribution (which persons gathering more, higher density), Tong: page 3);
determine a user mode of the electronic device based on the identified number of persons: (the image analyzing and processing to obtain some people distribution feature included in the image, for example, counting the number of people (a total of how many people), or crowd density distribution (which persons gathering more, higher density), thereby determining the important monitoring of the scene area: Tong; page 7).
However, Tong does not explicitly teach control an operation of the electronic device based on the determined user mode.
In similar art, Hattori teaches the foreground map generation unit converts the image coordinates of the contact point of the person information acquired so far into road surface coordinates, and then converts the foreground image to a plurality of positions where the density of the persons becomes a predetermined value in the road surface coordinate system. The crowd foreground image is generated by pasting. For example, the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit 2044 randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid (Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 9:
In addition to the rejection claim 8, Tong-Hattori further teaches based on identification that the number of persons being singular, determine a first user mode; and based on identification that the number of persons being plural, determine a second user mode different from the first user mode: (Hattori teaches the foreground map generation unit converts the image coordinates of the contact point of the person information acquired so far into road surface coordinates, and then converts the foreground image to a plurality of positions where the density of the persons becomes a predetermined value in the road surface coordinate system. For example, the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid (Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 10:
In addition to the rejection claim 8, Tong-Hattori further teaches the operation controlled by the processor comprises driving a component of the electronic device: (the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit 2044 randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid: Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 14:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, configure the processor to perform operations comprising:
obtaining, by the electronic device, image data regarding persons around the electronic device: (the captured image is analyzed to obtain the number of people (a total of how many people) in the image: Tong, abstract; page 2; page 3);
identifying, by the electronic device, a number of persons based on the obtained image data: (the image analyzing and processing to obtain the number of people (a total of how many people), or crowd density distribution (which persons gathering more, higher density), Tong: page 3);
determining, by the electronic device, a user mode of the electronic device based on the identified number of persons: (the image analyzing and processing to obtain some people distribution feature included in the image, for example, counting the number of people (a total of how many people), or crowd density distribution (which persons gathering more, higher density), thereby determining the important monitoring of the scene area: Tong; page 7).
However, Tong does not explicitly teach performing, by the electronic device, an operation of the electronic device based on the determined user mode.
In similar art, Hattori teaches the foreground map generation unit converts the image coordinates of the contact point of the person information acquired so far into road surface coordinates, and then converts the foreground image to a plurality of positions where the density of the persons becomes a predetermined value in the road surface coordinate system. The crowd foreground image is generated by pasting. For example, the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit 2044 randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid (Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 15:
In addition to the rejection claim 14, Tong-Hattori further teaches based on identification that the number of persons being singular, determining a first user mode; and based on identification that the number of persons being plural, determining a second user mode different from the first user mode: (Hattori teaches the foreground map generation unit converts the image coordinates of the contact point of the person information acquired so far into road surface coordinates, and then converts the foreground image to a plurality of positions where the density of the persons becomes a predetermined value in the road surface coordinate system. For example, the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid (Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 16:
In addition to the rejection claim 14, Tong-Hattori further teaches driving a component of the electronic device: (the road surface coordinate grid is set at an interval of 50 cm in the road surface coordinate system. That is, the whole grid is 4 [m .sup.2 ]. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 1 is 1 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges four persons in the grid. If the crowd density at crowd level 2 is 2 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit randomly arranges 8 persons in the grid. Assuming that the crowd density at the congestion level 3 is 4 [person / m .sup.2 ], the foreground map generation unit 2044 randomly arranges 16 persons in the grid: Hattori page 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hattori’s ideas into Tong’s system in order to provide an efficient image processing device (Hattori, abstract).
Regarding claim 19:
In addition to the rejection claim 14, Tong-Hattori further teaches the image data is obtained by a camera of the electronic device (image captured by camera: Tong abstract).
9. Claims 4-5, 11-12, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong-Hattori in view of Atsumi (JP 2019111625 A)
Regarding claim 4:
Tong-Hattori discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach determining a relationship between persons in the obtained image data.
In similar art, Atsumi teaches the image analysis unit determines that the person appearing in the acquired image does not match the facial feature of the registrant, the determination unit determines the relationship between the person appearing in the acquired image and the registrant (Atsumi pages 6 and 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 5:
In addition to the rejection claim 4, Tong-Hattori-Atsumi further teaches the relationship is determined based on facial features of the persons: (Atsumi teaches the image analysis unit determines that the person appearing in the acquired image does not match the facial feature of the registrant, the determination unit determines the relationship between the person appearing in the acquired image and the registrant: Atsumi pages 6 and 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 11:
Tong-Hattori discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 8, but does not explicitly teach determining a relationship between persons in the obtained image data.
In similar art, Atsumi teaches the image analysis unit determines that the person appearing in the acquired image does not match the facial feature of the registrant, the determination unit determines the relationship between the person appearing in the acquired image and the registrant (Atsumi pages 6 and 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 12:
In addition to the rejection claim 11, Tong-Hattori-Atsumi further teaches the relationship is determined based on facial features of the persons: (Atsumi teaches the image analysis unit determines that the person appearing in the acquired image does not match the facial feature of the registrant, the determination unit determines the relationship between the person appearing in the acquired image and the registrant: Atsumi pages 6 and 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 17:
Tong-Hattori discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 14, but does not explicitly teach determining a relationship between persons in the obtained image data.
In similar art, Atsumi teaches the image analysis unit determines that the person appearing in the acquired image does not match the facial feature of the registrant, the determination unit determines the relationship between the person appearing in the acquired image and the registrant (Atsumi pages 6 and 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 18:
In addition to the rejection claim 17, Tong-Hattori-Atsumi further teaches the relationship is determined based on facial features of the persons: (Atsumi teaches the image analysis unit determines that the person appearing in the acquired image does not match the facial feature of the registrant, the determination unit determines the relationship between the person appearing in the acquired image and the registrant: Atsumi pages 6 and 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Atsumi’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
10.Claims 7, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong-Hattori in view of AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL et al. (WO 2017214400 A1)
Regarding claim 7:
Tong-Hattori discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the electronic device comprises a smartphone.
In similar art, AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL teaches the video is generated by smartphone (page 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 13:
Tong-Hattori discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 8, but does not explicitly teach the electronic device comprises a smartphone.
In similar art, AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL teaches the video is generated by smartphone (page 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Regarding claim 20:
Tong-Hattori discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 14, but does not explicitly teach a smartphone.
In similar art, AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL teaches the video is generated by smartphone (page 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying AGUILAR-GAMEZ GAMALIEL’s ideas into Tong-Hattori’s system.
Conclusions
/LAN DAI T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444