DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. (US 20180286126) in view of Kudirka et al. (US 20190134487).
As to claim 1, Schwarz discloses an electronic device comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 1(38): depth sensor system, [0027]: HMD device 18 can include a depth sensor system 38 that generates depth image data, [0028] – [0030]);
one or more displays (Fig. 1(36): see-through display, [0025]: head-mounted display (HMD) 18 comprises at least a partially see-through display 36);
one or more processors (Fig. 1(22), [0023]); and
memory (Fig. 1(20)) storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors ([0023]), the instructions for:
receiving a request to display a first virtual object ([0028]: a selection of a virtual object displayed via the HMD device 18);
determining, via the one or more sensors (Fig. 1(38): depth sensor system), a depth of a physical object ([0027]: depth sensor system 38 can include one or more depth cameras that capture image data 26 from the physical environment 32);
in accordance with a determination that the first virtual object is a head-locked virtual object or a body-locked virtual object, displaying, via the one or more displays (Fig. 1(36): see-through display), the first virtual object ([0032]: HMD device 18 may operate in a body-lock display mode in which one or more virtual objects may be displayed via the HMD device with body-locked positions).
Schwarz does not expressly teach the first virtual object at an apparent depth that is based on at least the depth of the physical object.
Kudirka teaches the first virtual object at an apparent depth that is based on at least the depth of the physical object ([0068]: virtual objects can be scaled, rotated, or transformed such that virtual objects at a selected distance in the virtual coordinate system appear integrated with physical objects in the real-world view at the same distance. Further, the virtual objects can be continually updated to reflect the head orientation and/or gaze direction of the user. In some cases, a user may not perceive a difference between a physical object and a virtual object in a mixed-reality environment. Therefore, it is interpreted that the virtual object at an apparent depth that is based on at least the depth of the physical object, [0067]: virtual object can be head locked).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schwarz’s electronic device by incorporating Kudirka’s idea of having virtual objects at a selected distance in the virtual coordinate system appear integrated with physical objects in the real-world view at the same distance (i.e., virtual object at an apparent depth/distance that is based on at least the depth/distance of the physical object) for user’s convenience so that the user may not perceive a difference between a physical object and a virtual object in a mixed-reality environment (see Kudirka: [0068]).
As to claim 2, Schwarz (as modified by Kudirka) teach the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: receiving a request to display a second virtual object (Schwarz: [0028]: a selection of a virtual object displayed via the HMD device 18); and
in accordance with a determination that the second virtual object is a world-locked virtual object, displaying, via the one or more displays, the second virtual object at a location that is defined relative to a static location within a coordinate system of a three-dimensional environment (Schwarz: [0031]: world-locked virtual object).
As to claim 3, Schwarz teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: repeatedly determining, via the one or more sensors, the depth of the physical object (Schwarz: [0027]: depth sensor system 38 can include one or more depth cameras that capture image data 26 from the physical environment 32).
Schwarz does not explicitly teach repeatedly determining the apparent depth of the first virtual object based on the determined depths of the physical object, wherein repeatedly determining the apparent depth of the first virtual object comprises changing the apparent depth of the first virtual object from a first apparent depth to a second apparent depth that is different than the first apparent depth.
Kudirka teaches repeatedly determining the apparent depth of the first virtual object based on the determined depths of the physical object, wherein repeatedly determining the apparent depth of the first virtual object comprises changing the apparent depth of the first virtual object from a first apparent depth to a second apparent depth that is different than the first apparent depth ([0068]: virtual objects can be scaled, rotated, or transformed such that virtual objects at a selected distance in the virtual coordinate system appear integrated with physical objects in the real-world view at the same distance. Further, the virtual objects can be continually updated to reflect the head orientation and/or gaze direction of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schwarz’s electronic device by incorporating Kudirka’s idea of continually updating the depth/distance of the virtual objects for user’s convenience so that the user may not perceive a difference between a physical object and a virtual object in a mixed-reality environment (see Kudirka: [0068]).
As to claim 4, Schwarz teaches the electronic device defined in claim 3, wherein determining, via the one or more sensors, the depth of the physical object (Schwarz: [0027]: depth sensor system 38 can include one or more depth cameras that capture image data 26 from the physical environment 32).
Schwarz does not explicitly teach changing the apparent depth of the first virtual object from the first apparent depth to the second apparent depth comprises changing the apparent depth of the first virtual object from the first apparent depth to the second apparent depth during a transition period.
Kudirka teaches changing the apparent depth of the first virtual object from the first apparent depth to the second apparent depth comprises changing the apparent depth of the first virtual object from the first apparent depth to the second apparent depth during a transition period ([0068]: virtual objects can be scaled, rotated, or transformed such that virtual objects at a selected distance in the virtual coordinate system appear integrated with physical objects in the real-world view at the same distance. Further, the virtual objects can be continually updated to reflect the head orientation and/or gaze direction of the user, [0149]: smooth transitions between different views… FIG. 6G is a conceptual view of a field of view 658 of a pitcher transitioning between a virtual environment of FIG. 6A and an unobstructed view of FIG. 6E. Note: time period of the virtual object’s movement from one position to another is interpreted as the transition period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schwarz’s electronic device by adapting Kudirka’s idea of continually updating the depth/distance of the virtual objects for user’s convenience so that the user may not perceive a difference between a physical object and a virtual object in a mixed-reality environment (see Kudirka: [0068]).
As to claim 5, Schwarz (as modified by Kudirka) does not teach the electronic device defined in claim 4, wherein the transition period is greater than 5 milliseconds.
However, it is obvious for the electronic device of Schwarz (as modified by Kudirka) to have the transition period is greater than 5 milliseconds since it is a very little time for updating the depth/distance of the virtual objects based on the physical object’s depth/distance.
As to claims 8-12, it is the operation performed by the apparatus of claims 1-5. Please see claims 1-5 for detail analysis.
As to claims 15-19, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for performing the functions of the apparatus of claims 1-5. Please see claims 1-5 for detail analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628