DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed April 21, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
2. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “point cloud sensor”, “matching pose calculation part” and “uncertainty estimation part” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebrahimi, U.S. Patent Application Publicaiton No. 2024/0324838.
As to claim 1, Ebrahimi teaches a mobile robot utilizing the uncertainty of map matching poses for localization, the mobile robot comprising:
a point cloud sensor which acquires point cloud data through scanning (see para. 736);
a matching pose calculation part which applies a pre-registered point cloud map and the point cloud data to a pre-registered scan-map matching algorithm to calculate a map-matching pose of the mobile robot (see para. 737-738 and 742); and
an uncertainty estimation part which estimates uncertainty of the map-matching pose on the basis of a probability distribution of a preset pose space around the map-matching pose (see para. 737-738 and 742).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi in view of Myeong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0303908 (referred to hereafter as Myeong).
As to claim 2, Ebrahimi teaches the mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the matching pose calculation part calculates the map-matching pose by applying a SLAM as the scan-map matching algorithm.
Ebrahimi does not explicitly teach applying normal distribution transform (NDT) algorithm to the matching algorithm. However, Myeong teaches a system and method for determining a pose of a robot by applying normal distribution transform (NDT) algorithm (see para. 5 and 71-72). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use normal distribution transform (NDT) algorithm in Ebrahimi as taught by Myeong. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Myeong that doing so would improve a 3D data matching success rate of a laser scanner in consideration of movement characteristics of a ground robot.
As to claim 3, Ebrahimi in view of Myeong teaches the mobile robot of claim 2. Ebrahimi further teaches the uncertainty estimation part calculates the probability distribution of the pose space by applying a histogram filter algorithm to the pose space (see para. 788).
As to claim 4, Ebrahimi in view of Myeong teaches the mobile robot of claim 3. Ebrahimi further teaches the histogram filter algorithm divides the pose space into a plurality of grid cells, and calculates a posterior probability of each of the grid cells to calculate the probability distribution of the pose space (see para. 748 and 775).
As to claim 5, Ebrahimi in view of Myeong teaches the mobile robot of claim 4. Ebrahimi further teaches the uncertainty estimation part calculates the posterior probability of each of the grid cells by using a likelihood calculated in the process of calculating the map-matching pose of the scan-map matching algorithm (see para. 748 and 775).
As to claim 6, Ebrahimi in view of Myeong teaches the mobile robot of claim 5. Ebrahimi further teaches the uncertainty estimation part calculates the posterior probability of each of the grid cells by applying Bayes' rule.
As to claim 7, Ebrahimi in view of Myeong teaches the mobile robot of claim 5. Ebrahimi further teaches the uncertainty estimation part estimates the uncertainty by calculating a covariance of the probability distribution for the posterior probability of the plurality of grid cells (see para. 781).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669